DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US 20220239937 A1) in view of Li et al. (Xiang Li, Guichun Li, Xiaozhong Xu, Shan Liu, " Non-CE4: On prediction refinement with optical flow ", Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11, JVET-O0281-v2, 15th Meeting: Gothenburg, SE, July 3-12, 2019).
Regarding claim 1,
PARK teaches for video encoding (an image encoding/decoding method and apparatus and a method of transmitting a bitstream, and, more particularly, to an image encoding/decoding method and apparatus for performing weighted prediction in consideration of prediction refinement with optical flow “PROF” [0002]), comprising:
obtaining, by an encoder, a first reference picture and a second reference picture associated with a video block that is coded by affine mode within the video signal (Parameters of an affine motion model may be used to derive a motion vector of each pixel in a CU [0279]);
obtaining, by the encoder, first and second horizontal and vertical gradient values based on first prediction samples and second prediction samples associated with the first reference picture and the second reference picture (Spatial gradients gx(i, j) and gy(i, j) of the predicted sub-block is calculated at each sample position. In this case, a 3-tap filter may be used, and filter coefficient may be [−1, 0, 1]. For example, the spatial gradients may be calculated as follows:
gx(i,j)=I(i+1,j)−I(i−1,j)
gy(i,j)=I(i,j+1)−I(i,j−1) [0283]; [0264] -[0266])
obtaining, by the encoder, first and second horizontal and vertical motion refinements based on control point motion vectors “CPMVs” associated with the first reference picture and the second reference picture (In the above, “v0x, v0y”, “v1x, v1y” and “v2x, v2y” respectively correspond to a top-left CPMV, a top-right CPMV and a bottom-left CPMV, and w and h respectively denote the width and height of the CU [0290] ; Eq. 6 [0270]);
obtaining, by the encoder, first and second prediction refinements based on the first and second horizontal and vertical gradient values and the first and second horizontal and vertical motion refinements (Eq. 7 [0271]);
obtaining, by the encoder, first and second refined samples based on the first prediction samples, the second prediction samples, and the first and second prediction refinements (Eq. 8 [0272]);
and obtaining, by the encoder, final prediction samples of the video block based on the first and second refined samples and prediction parameters (Finally, a final prediction block I′(i, j) may be generated based on the calculated luma prediction refinement ΔI(i, j) and the predicted sub-block I(i, j). For example, a final prediction block I′ may be generated as follows.
I′(i,j)=I(i,j)+ΔI(i,j) [0291]; PROF may be performed on a block encoded in an affine mode, as a method similar to BDOF [0293]; Figs. 20-22); wherein the prediction parameters comprise parameters for weighted prediction “WP” or parameters for bi-prediction with coding unit “CU”-level weight “BCW” (Fig. 24 is a flowchart illustrating another example of performing PROF, BCW, WP and/or average sum according to the present disclosure [0320]).
obtaining, by the encoder, the first and second prediction refinements based on the first and second horizontal and vertical gradient values and first and second horizontal and vertical motion refinements ([0285]-[0286]).
PARK did not explicitly teach clipping, by the encoder, the first and second prediction refinements based on a prediction refinement threshold, wherein the prediction refinement threshold is equal to a max value of either a coding bit-depth plus one or 13, wherein obtaining, by the encoder, the first and second refined samples comprises: obtaining, by the encoder, the first and second refined samples respectively based on the first prediction samples, the second prediction samples, and the clipped first and second prediction refinements.
Li teaches clipping, by the encoder, the first and second prediction refinements based on a prediction refinement threshold, wherein the prediction refinement threshold is equal to a max value of either a coding bit-depth plus one or 13 (Luma prediction refinement is calculated by the optical flow equation, Introduction; Variables bitDepth and shift1 are derived as follows: The variable bitDepth is set equal to BitDepthY. The variable shift1 is set to equal to Max( 6, bitDepth − 6 ). The variable dILimit is set equal to 1 << (BitDepthY – 1), Section 8.5.6.7 Prediction refinement with optical flow process: it is obvious to select various clipping ranges, for example 13 as in Step 3 “Introduction”); wherein obtaining, by the encoder, the first and second refined samples comprises: obtaining, by the encoder, the first and second refined samples respectively based on the first prediction samples, the second prediction samples, and the clipped first and second prediction refinements (pbSamples[ x ][ y ] = predSamples[ x + 1 ][ y + 1 ] + Clip3( -dILimit, dILimit - 1, ( dI + 1 ) >> 1 ) ); Section 8.5.6.7 Prediction refinement with optical flow process).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Li to the teachings of PARK. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve PROF (Li, section 4 Conclusion).
Regarding claim 2, is rejected under PARK in view of Li for the same reasoning as claim 1, where PARK teaches right shift ([0268] [0272]), and it is obvious apply these left and right shifts to be determined to be a fixed value (PARK [0268]); Li (Section 8.5.6.7 Prediction refinement with optical flow process).
Regarding claim 3,
PARK in view of Li teaches disabling, at the encoder, the WP and BCW in response to determining that the PROF is applied to one affine CU (Park, In general, a BCW weight index "bcw_idx" is signaled only when WP is not available. Accordingly, bcw_idx and weight factors of WP are not simultaneously signaled [0306]; Figs. 23-24).
Regarding claims 4-8,
Claims 4-8 CRM and processors are rejected under the same reasoning as claims 1-3 encoding method, PARK in view of Li, as shown above, where PARK further teaches an image encoding/decoding method and apparatus for performing weighted prediction in consideration of prediction refinement with optical flow "PROF" [0002].
Further regarding claims 7-8,
The only portion of the language in claims 7-8 that is given patentable weight is the preamble limitation of claim 7, because this is an article of manufacture. All of the other limitations of claims 7-8 body are not given patentable weight. This is because there is no functional relationship between the bitstream and any related computer.
According to MPEP 2111.05, “To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated.” Furthermore, for machine-readable media, “When determining the scope of a claim directed to a computer-readable medium containing certain programming, the examiner should first look to the relationship between the programming and the intended computer system. Where the programming performs some function with respect to the computer with which it is associated, a functional relationship will be found. For instance, a claim to computer-readable medium programmed with attribute data objects that perform the function of facilitating retrieval, addition, and removal of information in the intended computer system, establishes a functional relationship such that the claimed attribute data objects are given patentable weight. See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d at 1035. However, where the claim as a whole is directed to conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the intended computer system, and/or the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. For example, a claim to a memory stick containing tables of batting averages, or tracks of recorded music, utilizes the intended computer system merely as a support for the information. Such claims are directed toward conveying meaning to the human reader rather than towards establishing a functional relationship between recorded data and the computer.”
The body limitations in claims 7-8 perform no function with respect to a computer with which it is associated. In other words, the body limitations in claims 7-8 do not perform a function or cause the associated computer to perform a function. An encoding, obtaining and applying method has already taken place. The bitstream does not perform an encoding, obtaining and applying method. The data stream also does not cause an associated computer to perform an encoding, obtaining and applying method.
Furthermore, the limitations in claims 7-8 convey a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the intended computer system. The message is a bitstream that is to be seen by a human reader after decoding. The bitstream in claims 7-8 merely serves as a support for information and data. Additionally, any computer-readable medium that stores such a bitstream is merely a support for data.
While the body of claims 7-8 is not given patentable weight, the claim limitations are rejected using prior art in order to compact prosecution. In order for the body of claim 7-8 to be given patentable weight, Examiner suggest amending the claim to recite function, such as the function in claims 1-6.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,335,512 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 of the instant application are broader than, and therefore taught by, claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,335,512 .
Conclusion
/JAMES M PONTIUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488