DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of 06/22/2026 has been entered and fully considered by the examiner. Claims 1 and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application with claims 1 and 10 being independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11, 12, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.03).
Claim 1 is directed to an “apparatus” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a machine.
Claim 20 is directed to a “method” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a process.
Step 2A of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.04).
Prong One:
Claims 1 and 20 recite (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of a mental process, substantially as follows: “generate a breast schematic diagram divided into a plurality of regions, display the breast schematic diagram, in each of the plurality of predetermined positions on a breast of a subject, determine based a plurality of ultrasonic images, a category of a glandular tissue component in each of the plurality of positions of the breast, determining whether all plurality of positions are completed and repeat a determination until all of the plurality of positions are completed in determining.”
In claims 1 and 20, the above recited steps can be practically performed in the human mind, with the aid of a pen and paper or with a generic computer, in a computer environment, or merely using the generic computer as a tool to perform the steps. If a person were to visually examine, i.e., perform an observation of the ultrasound image data either in a printout or an electronic format, he/she would be able to identify the category of the glandular tissue by experience. Therefore, a person would be able to perform the identification and selection mentally or with a generic computer.
Prong Two: Claims 1 and 2- do not include additional elements that integrate the mental process into a practical application.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recites (1) captured a ultrasound images corresponding to a plurality of predetermined positions and (2) outputting the determined category of the tissue by a processor.
The step in (1) corresponds to data gathering as a pre-solution activity and is recited at a high level of generality and step in (2) represents merely notification outputting by a processor as a post-solution activity and is recited at a high level of generality.
As a whole, the additional elements merely serve to gather and feed information to the abstract idea and to output a notification based on the abstract idea, while generically implementing it on conventionally used tools. There is no practical application because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improvement to the technology is evident, and the estimated bio-information is not outputted in any way such that a practical benefit is realized. Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.05).
Claims 1 and 20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Accordingly, The claims hence are considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent Claims
The following dependent claims merely further define the abstract idea and are, therefore, directed to an abstract idea for similar reasons:
Extracting the mammary gland region and performing the determination step based on the extraction (claims 3 and 9)
Analyzing the image (claim 5, 12, 15, 19)
Calculating a mathematical ratio (claim 11)
Taken alone and in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at least because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. They also do not add anything significantly more than the abstract idea. Their collective functions merely provide computer/electronic implementation and processing, and no additional elements beyond those of the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, output device, improves technology other than the technical field of the claimed invention, etc. Therefore, the claims are rejected as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nagase et al. (JP 2008/154833) hereinafter “Nagase” in view of Oonuki (U.S. Publication No. 6,454,712) hereinafter “Oonuki”.
Regarding claim 1, Nagase discloses an ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus [apparatus of Nagase; see abstract] comprising:
a monitor; [display unit 46; see page 7, paragraph before last of Kobayashi] and
a processor [display processing unit 29 and signal processing unit 26 together make up the processor of Nagase] configured to:
generate a breast schematic diagram divided into a plurality of regions; [see FIG. 4 and page 9, third paragraph]
display the breast schematic diagram on the monitor; [see FIG. 5 and page 9, fourth paragraph]
in each of a plurality of predetermined positions on a breast of a subject [a plurality of ultrasound images 114, 116, 118 from the breast tissue in different locations; see page 9, paragraph before last and FIG. 5] corresponding to the plurality of regions of the breast schematic diagram, [see page 9, paragraph before last and FIG. 5]
determine, based on an ultrasound image including a mammary gland region in the breast of the subject, a category of a glandular tissue component; [see page 8, paragraph before last, step S103; 3D diagnosis is repeated performed on each part of the breast and a disease or a pathological condition is detected or not ]
output the determined category of the glandular tissue component; [see page 8, last paragraph continued in page 9]
Nagase does not expressly disclose determine whether outputs of the determined category in all of the plurality of predetermined positions are completed; and while the outputs in all of the plurality of predetermined positions are not completed, automatically continue processes of determining the category and outputting the category; upon completion of the outputs in all of the plurality of predetermined positions, automatically end the process of determining the category and outputting the category.
Oonuki, directed towards an ultrasound imaging process and apparatus [see abstract of Oonouki] further discloses that the method includes steps to determine whether outputs of the determined category in all of the plurality of predetermined positions are completed; [see [0031] of Oounuki and FIG. 6, steps S6, S7 and S8 are repeated until there is no more item to be measured in the predetermined list of areas to be imaged] and while the outputs in all of the plurality of predetermined positions are not completed, automatically continue processes of determining the category and outputting the category; [see FIG. 6 and [0028]-[0031]; the loop continues while any areas to be image exists in the predetermined list of areas to be imaged] upon completion of the outputs in all of the plurality of predetermined positions, automatically end the process of determining the category and outputting the category. [see FIG. 6 when the answer to question after step S6 is Yes, the loop ends and the algorithm contuse to the steps after imaging]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the teachings of Nagase further such that it includes whether outputs of the determined category in all of the plurality of predetermined positions are completed; and while the outputs in all of the plurality of predetermined positions are not completed, automatically continue processes of determining the category and outputting the category; upon completion of the outputs in all of the plurality of predetermined positions, automatically end the process of determining the category and outputting the category according to the teachings of Oonuki in order to automate the process of sequence imaging and reduce error is missing one area by mistake [see [0010] of Oounuki]. Further, it has been held that broadly providing an automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192.
Regarding claim 19, Nagase further discloses wherein the ultrasonic image is a three-dimensional ultrasonic image, [see FIG. 5, paragraph before last disclosing that the probe is a 3D probe providing 3D images] and the processor is configured to determine the category of the glandular tissue component based on the three-dimensional ultrasonic image [a plurality of ultrasound images 114, 116, 118 (3D ultrasound images) from the breast tissue in different locations; see page 9, paragraph before last and FIG. 5]
Regarding claim 20, Nagase discloses a method of controlling an ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus, [see abstract of Nagase] the method comprising:
generating a breast schematic diagram divided into a plurality of regions; [see FIG. 4 and page 9, third paragraph]
displaying the breast schematic diagram [see FIG. 5 and page 9, fourth paragraph]
on a monitor; [display unit 46; see page 7, paragraph before last of Kobayashi]
determining, based on a plurality of ultrasonic images including a mammary gland region in a breast of a subject [a plurality of ultrasound images 114, 116, 118 from the breast tissue in different locations; see page 9, paragraph before last and FIG. 5] corresponding to the plurality of regions of the breast schematic diagram, [see page 9, paragraph before last and FIG. 5] a category of a glandular tissue component in each of the plurality of positions of the breast; [see page 8, paragraph before last, step S103; 3D diagnosis is repeated performed on each part of the breast and a disease or a pathological condition is detected or not ] and
outputting the determined category of the glandular tissue component in each of the plurality of positions; [see page 8, last paragraph continued in page 9]
determining whether outputs in all of the plurality of positions are completed; and repeating a determination of the category and an output of the category until that the outputs in all of the plurality of positions are completed is determined. [see page 8, paragraph before last, step S103; 3D diagnosis is repeated performed on each part of the breast and a disease or a pathological condition is detected or not]
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nagase et al. (JP 2008/154833) hereinafter “Nagase in view of Oonuki (U.S. Publication No. 6,454,712) hereinafter “Oonuki” as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kobayashi (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0052247) hereinafter “Kobayashi”.
Regarding claim 2, Nagase in view of Oonuki discloses all the limitations of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1 above]
Nagase as modified Oonuki does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to determine the category of the glandular tissue component using a trained model that has been trained through machine learning based on a plurality of training data each including the ultrasonic image in which the breast is imaged and the category of the glandular tissue component in the breast.
Kobayashi, directed towards categorizing breast tissue based on ultrasound images [see abstract of Kobayashi] further discloses wherein the processor is configured to determine the category of the glandular tissue component using a trained model that has been trained through machine learning based on a plurality of training data each including the ultrasonic image in which the breast is imaged and the category of the glandular tissue component in the breast. [see [0120]-[0121] of Kobayashi]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuki further such that the processor is configured to determine the category of the glandular tissue component using a trained model that has been trained through machine learning based on a plurality of training data each including the ultrasonic image in which the breast is imaged and the category of the glandular tissue component in the breast according to the teachings of Kobayashi in order to increase the accuracy of the categorization of each section [see [0122] of Kobayshi]
Claims 3-10 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nagase et al. (JP 2008/154833) hereinafter “Nagase in view of Oonuki (U.S. Publication No. 6,454,712) hereinafter “Oonuki” as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Xu et al. (“Medical breast ultrasound image segmentation by machine learning”, ultrasonics, 91, 2019) hereinafter “Xu” and Kobayashi (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0052247) hereinafter “Kobayashi.
Regarding claim 3, Nagase in view of Oonuki discloses all the limitations of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1 above]
Nagase as modified Oonuki does not disclose wherein the processor is configured to: extract the mammary gland region from the ultrasonic image in which the breast of the subject is imaged; and determine the category of the glandular tissue component in the breast based on the mammary gland region.
Xu, directed towards segmentation of ultrasound images of breast to determine different types of tissue [see abstract of Xu] further discloses that the processor is configured to: extract the mammary gland region from the ultrasonic image in which the breast of the subject is imaged; [see page 2, right column, first paragraph disclosing: “the CNNs take image blocks centered at a pixel as inputs and produced the tissue class of the center pixel as the output. Taking the images segmented by clinicians as the ground truth, we trained the CNN models to distinguish skin, fibroglandular tissues, and masses.”]
Kobayashi further discloses that the processor is configured to determine the category of the glandular tissue component in the breast based on the mammary gland region. [see [0120]-[0121] of Kobayashi]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuki further such that the processor is configured to: extract the mammary gland region from the ultrasonic image in which the breast of the subject is imaged according to the teachings of Xu in order to help discriminate between different functional tissues, providing more precise and consistent tumor localization and diagnosis of breast cancer [see page 1, section under “Introduction”, left column, last two lines continued in right column of Xu]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuki further such that the processor is configured to determine the category of the glandular tissue component in the breast based on the mammary gland region according to the teachings of Kobayashi in order to increase the accuracy of the categorization of each section [see [0122] of Kobayashi]
Regarding claim 4, Nagase in view of Oonuki, Xu and Kobayashi discloses all the limitations of claim 3 [see rejection of claim 3 above]
Xu further discloses that wherein the processor is configured to determine the category of the glandular tissue component using a trained model that has been trained through machine learning based on a plurality of training data each including the ultrasonic image including the mammary gland region in the breast, the extracted mammary gland region, and the category of the glandular tissue component in the breast [see page 2, right column, first paragraph disclosing that the trained CNN models are used to distinguish between different types of tissues]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuki, Xu and kobayashi further such that the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region by image-analyzing the ultrasonic image according to the teachings of Xu in order to help discriminate between different functional tissues, providing more precise and consistent tumor localization and diagnosis of breast cancer [see page 1, section under “Introduction”, left column, last two lines continued in right column of Xu]
Regarding claim 5, Nagase in view of Oonuki, Xu Kobayashi discloses all the limitations of claim 3 [see rejection of claim 3 above]
Xu further discloses wherein the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region by image-analyzing the ultrasonic image. [see page 6, right column, first paragraph disclosing that the training data are ultrasound images of the breast]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuki, Xu and Kobayashi further such that the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region by image-analyzing the ultrasonic image according to the teachings of Xu in order to help discriminate between different functional tissues, providing more precise and consistent tumor localization and diagnosis of breast cancer [see page 1, section under “Introduction”, left column, last two lines continued in right column of Xu]
Regarding claim 6, Nagase in view of Oonuki, Xu and Kobayashi discloses all the limitations of claim 3 [see rejection of claim 4 above]
Xu further discloses wherein the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region by image- analyzing the ultrasonic image. [see page 6, right column, first paragraph disclosing that the training data are ultrasound images of the breast]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuki, Xu and Kobayashi further such that the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region by image-analyzing the ultrasonic image according to the teachings of Xu in order to help discriminate between different functional tissues, providing more precise and consistent tumor localization and diagnosis of breast cancer [see page 1, section under “Introduction”, left column, last two lines continued in right column of Xu]
Regarding claim 7, Nagase as modified by Oonuki, Xu and Kobayashi discloses all the limitations of claim 3 [see rejection of claim 3 above]
Xu further discloses wherein the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region using a trained model that has been trained through machine learning based on a plurality of training data each including the ultrasonic image in which the breast is imaged and the mammary gland region in the breast. [see page 2, right column, first paragraph disclosing that the trained CNN models are used to distinguish between different types of tissues]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuki, Xu and Kobayashi further such that the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region by image-analyzing the ultrasonic image according to the teachings of Xu in order to help discriminate between different functional tissues, providing more precise and consistent tumor localization and diagnosis of breast cancer [see page 1, section under “Introduction”, left column, last two lines continued in right column of Xu]
Regarding claim 8, Nagase as modified by Oonuki, Xu and Kobayashi discloses all the limitations of claim 4 [see rejection of claim 4 above]
Xu further discloses wherein the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region using a trained model that has been trained through machine learning based on a plurality of training data each including the ultrasonic image in which the breast is imaged and the mammary gland region in the breast. [see page 2, right column, first paragraph disclosing that the trained CNN models are used to distinguish between different types of tissues]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuki, Xu and Kobayashi further such that the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region by image-analyzing the ultrasonic image according to the teachings of Xu in order to help discriminate between different functional tissues, providing more precise and consistent tumor localization and diagnosis of breast cancer [see page 1, section under “Introduction”, left column, last two lines continued in right column of Xu]
Regarding claim 9, Nagase as moidified by Oonuki discloses all the limitations of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1 above]
Nagase as modified by Oonuki does not disclose that diagnostic apparatus according to wherein the processor is configured to: extract the mammary gland region from the ultrasonic image in which the breast of the subject is imaged; extract a glandular tissue component region including a mammary duct, a lobule, and perilobular stroma in the mammary gland region, from the extracted mammary gland region and determine the category of the glandular tissue component in the breast based on the extracted glandular tissue component region.
Xu further discloses that diagnostic apparatus according to wherein the processor is configured to: extract the mammary gland region from the ultrasonic image in which the breast of the subject is imaged; [see page 6, right column, first paragraph disclosing that the training data are ultrasound images of the breast] extract a glandular tissue component region including a mammary duct, a lobule, and perilobular stroma in the mammary gland region, from the extracted mammary gland region; [see page 3, right column, first 3 paragraphs discloses that the glandular tissue is being distinguished; it is inherent that the glandular tissue includes a duct, a lobule and perilobar stroma]
Kobayashi further discloses to determine the category of the glandular tissue component in the breast based on the extracted glandular tissue component region. [see [0120]-[0121] of Kobayashi]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuki further such that the processor is configured to that diagnostic apparatus according to wherein the processor is configured to: extract the mammary gland region from the ultrasonic image in which the breast of the subject is imaged; extract a glandular tissue component region including a mammary duct, a lobule, and perilobular stroma in the mammary gland region, from the extracted mammary gland region according to the teachings of Xu in order to help discriminate between different functional tissues, providing more precise and consistent tumor localization and diagnosis of breast cancer [see page 1, section under “Introduction”, left column, last two lines continued in right column of Xu]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuki further such that the processor is configured to determine the category of the glandular tissue component in the breast based on the extracted glandular tissue component region according to the teachings of Kobayashi in order to increase the accuracy of the categorization of each section [see [0122] of Kobayashi]
Regarding claim 10, Nagase in view of Oonuki and Kobayashi discloses all the limitations of claim 9 [see rejection of claim 9 above]
Kobayashi further discloses wherein the processor is configured to determine the category of the glandular tissue component using a trained model that has been trained through machine learning based on a plurality of training data each including the ultrasonic image in which the glandular tissue component region is imaged and the category of the glandular tissue component in the breast. [see [0120]-[0121] of Kobayashi]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuki and Kobayashi further such that the processor is configured to determine the category of the glandular tissue component using a trained model that has been trained through machine learning based on a plurality of training data each including the ultrasonic image in which the glandular tissue component region is imaged and the category of the glandular tissue component in the breast according to the teachings of Kobayashi in order to increase the accuracy of the categorization of each section [see [0122] of Kobayashi]
Regarding claim 12, Nagase in view of Oonuki and Kobayashi discloses all the limitations of claim 9 [see rejection of claim 9 above]
Xu further discloses wherein the processor is configured to extract the glandular tissue component region by image-analyzing the ultrasonic image in which the mammary gland region is imaged [see page 6, right column, first paragraph disclosing that the training data are ultrasound images of the breast]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase in view of Oonuki and Kobayashi further such that the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region by image-analyzing the ultrasonic image according to the teachings of Xu in order to help discriminate between different functional tissues, providing more precise and consistent tumor localization and diagnosis of breast cancer [see page 1, section under “Introduction”, left column, last two lines continued in right column of Xu]
Regarding claim 13, Nagase in view of Oonuki and Kobayashi discloses all the limitations of claim 10 [see rejection of claim 10 above]
Xu further discloses wherein the processor is configured to extract the glandular tissue component region by image-analyzing the ultrasonic image in which the mammary gland region is imaged. [see page 6, right column, first paragraph disclosing that the training data are ultrasound images of the breast]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuki further such that the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region by image-analyzing the ultrasonic image according to the teachings of Xu in order to help discriminate between different functional tissues, providing more precise and consistent tumor localization and diagnosis of breast cancer [see page 1, section under “Introduction”, left column, last two lines continued in right column of Xu]
Regarding claim 14, Nagase in view of Oonuki and Kobayashi discloses all the limitations of claim 11 [see rejection of claim 11 above]
Xu further discloses wherein the processor is configured to extract the glandular tissue component region by image-analyzing the ultrasonic image in which the mammary gland region is imaged. [see page 6, right column, first paragraph disclosing that the training data are ultrasound images of the breast]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuki and kobayashi further such that the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region by image-analyzing the ultrasonic image according to the teachings of Xu in order to help discriminate between different functional tissues, providing more precise and consistent tumor localization and diagnosis of breast cancer [see page 1, section under “Introduction”, left column, last two lines continued in right column of Xu]
Regarding claim 15, Nagase in view of Oonuki and Kobayashi discloses all the limitations of claim 9 [see rejection of claim 9 above]
Xu further discloses wherein the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region by image- analyzing the ultrasonic image. [see page 6, right column, first paragraph disclosing that the training data are ultrasound images of the breast]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuki and Kobayshi further such that the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region by image-analyzing the ultrasonic image according to the teachings of Xu in order to help discriminate between different functional tissues, providing more precise and consistent tumor localization and diagnosis of breast cancer [see page 1, section under “Introduction”, left column, last two lines continued in right column of Xu]
Regarding claim 16, Nagase in view of Oonuki and Kobayashi discloses all the limitations of claim 9 [see rejection of claim 9 above]
Xu further discloses wherein the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region using a trained model that has been trained through machine learning based on a plurality of training data each including the ultrasonic image in which the breast is imaged and the mammary gland region in the breast. [see page 6, right column, first paragraph disclosing that the training data are ultrasound images of the breast]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Xu and Kobayashi further such that wherein the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region using a trained model that has been trained through machine learning based on a plurality of training data each including the ultrasonic image in which the breast is imaged and the mammary gland region in the breast according to the teachings of Xu in order to in order to help discriminate between different functional tissues, providing more precise and consistent tumor localization and diagnosis of breast cancer [see page 1, section under “Introduction”, left column, last two lines continued in right column of Xu]
Regarding claim 17, Nagase in view of Xu and Kobayashi discloses all the limitations of claim 10 [see rejection of claim 10 above]
Xu further discloses wherein the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region using a trained model that has been trained through machine learning based on a plurality of training data each including the ultrasonic image in which the breast is imaged and the mammary gland region in the breast. [see page 2, right column, first paragraph disclosing that the trained CNN models are used to distinguish between different types of tissues]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuk. Xu and Kobayashi further such that wherein the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region using a trained model that has been trained through machine learning based on a plurality of training data each including the ultrasonic image in which the breast is imaged and the mammary gland region in the breast according to the teachings of Xu in order to help discriminate between different functional tissues, providing more precise and consistent tumor localization and diagnosis of breast cancer [see page 1, section under “Introduction”, left column, last two lines continued in right column of Xu]
Regarding claim 18, Nagase in view of Oonuki, Xu and Kobayashi discloses all the limitations of claim 11 [see rejection of claim 11 above]
Xu further discloses wherein the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region using a trained model that has been trained through machine learning based on a plurality of training data each including the ultrasonic image in which the breast is imaged and the mammary gland region in the breast. [see page 2, right column, first paragraph disclosing that the trained CNN models are used to distinguish between different types of tissues]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuki, Xu and Kobyashi further such that wherein the processor is configured to extract the mammary gland region using a trained model that has been trained through machine learning based on a plurality of training data each including the ultrasonic image in which the breast is imaged and the mammary gland region in the breast according to the teachings of Xu in order to help discriminate between different functional tissues, providing more precise and consistent tumor localization and diagnosis of breast cancer [see page 1, section under “Introduction”, left column, last two lines continued in right column of Xu]
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nagase et al. (JP 2008/154833) hereinafter “Nagase in view of Oonuki (U.S. Publication No. 6,454,712) hereinafter “Oonuki” as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Xu et al. (“Medical breast ultrasound image segmentation by machine learning”, ultrasonics, 91, 2019) hereinafter “Xu” and Kobayashi (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0052247) hereinafter “Kobayashi as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (“Glandular tissue component on breast ultrasound in dense breast: a new imaging biomarker for breast cancer risk”, Radiology, 2022) hereinafter “Lee”.
Regarding claim 11, Nagase in view of Oonuki, Xu and Kobayashi discloses all the limitations of claim 9 [see rejection of claim 9 above]
Nagase in view of Oonuki, Xu and Kobayashi does not expressly discloses wherein the processor is configured to: calculate a ratio of the glandular tissue comment to the mammary gland region and determine the category of the glandular tissue component of the subject based on the calculated ratio of the glandular tissue component region to the mammary gland region.
Lee, directed towards categorizing breast tissue using ultrasound imaging [see abstract of Lee] further discloses wherein the processor is configured to: calculate a ratio of the glandular tissue comment to the mammary gland region and determine the category of the glandular tissue component of the subject based on the calculated ratio of the glandular tissue component region to the mammary gland region.[see page 576, left column, last paragraph continued in right paragraph disclosing the ratio of GTC in the breast determining the likelihood of cancer ; see Also FIG. 3A-B and caption]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the design of Nagase as modified by Oonuki, Xu and Kobayashi further such that wherein the processor is configured to: calculate a ratio of the glandular tissue comment to the mammary gland region and determine the category of the glandular tissue component of the subject based on the calculated ratio of the glandular tissue component region to the mammary gland region according to the teachings of Lee in order to diagnose the breast abnormalities with more accuracy and consistency; [see introduction section of Lee]
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARJAN SABOKTAKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795