DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a user prompt acquiring unit configured to acquire”, “a system prompt selecting unit configured to select”, “an input prompt generating unit configured to generate”, and “a generated image acquiring unit configured to acquire” in claims 1-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a system prompt preset”. The limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether this preset corresponds to the same preset among the plural presets recited earlier in claim 1, or new/different preset among the same plural presets, or new/different preset among new/different plural presets. For the purpose of further examination, the limitation has been interpreted as “a system prompt preset among the system prompt presets” (i.e., one preset chosen from the same plurality of presets from claim 1).
Claim 4 depends from claim 3 and therefore inherits all of the deficiencies of claim 3 discussed above.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “a user”. The limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear whether this user corresponds to the user recited earlier in claim 1 or a new/different user. For the purpose of further examination, the limitation has been interpreted as “the user”.
Claim 5 further recites the limitation “an image property setting value”. The limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear which value is being referred to, and is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claim 3 discussed above. For the purpose of further examination, the limitation has been interpreted “an image property setting value from the image property setting values” (i.e., one value selected from the same plurality of values recited earlier in claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zakharov et al. (US 2024/0295953 A1), hereinafter referred to as Zakharov.
Regarding claim 1, Zakharov teaches a prompt generating apparatus, comprising:
a user prompt acquiring unit configured to acquire a user prompt inputted by a user (Zakharov ¶¶0020: “a base prompt is provided by a user from a user device”; Zakharov Fig. 5: 504-506);
a system prompt selecting unit configured to select a system prompt preset for an image usage specified by the user among system prompt presets that include image property setting values that have been selected of plural image property items for specific image usages (Zakharov ¶¶0021: “one or more of the prompt modifiers are automatically selected based at least partially on the modifier scores. A modified prompt is generated based on the base prompt and the one or more selected prompt modifiers”; Zakharov ¶¶0105: “The prompt modifier module 406 may access (e.g., from the database 128 or other storage component) and select the prompt modifiers from a predefined set of prompt modifiers, e.g., a set of 200 modifiers determined to be useful or relevant to the use case”; Zakharov Fig. 5: 510-514);
an input prompt generating unit configured to generate an input prompt on the basis of the user prompt and the image property setting values in the selected system prompt preset (Zakharov ¶¶0021: “A modified prompt is generated based on the base prompt and the one or more selected prompt modifiers … the modified prompt can include the base prompt with a set of modifiers in the form of additional words appended to the base prompt”; Zakharov Fig. 5: 516); and
a generated image acquiring unit configured to acquire a generated image corresponding to the input prompt using an image generation model (Zakharov ¶¶0021: “The modified prompt is provided as input to an automated image generator to generate the requested image”; Zakharov Fig. 5: 520).
Regarding claim 3, Zakharov teaches the prompt generating apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the system prompt selecting unit (a) selects a system prompt preset for an image usage specified by the user, (b) detects a string of an object type in the user prompt and selects a system prompt preset for the object type of the detected string among system prompt presets that include image property setting values that have been selected of plural image property items for specific image usage (Zakharov ¶¶0021, ¶¶0024, ¶¶0105, Fig. 5: 510-512); and
the input prompt generating unit generates an input prompt on the basis of the user prompt, the image property setting values in the selected system prompt presets for the image usage, and the image property setting values in the selected system prompt preset for the object type (Zakharov ¶¶0154: “classifying items into one of several category values (for example, is this object an apple or an orange?)”; Zakharov ¶¶0156: “In the training phase 902, feature engineering is used to identify features 906 and may include identifying informative, discriminating, and independent features for the effective operation of the machine learning program 900 in pattern recognition, classification, and regression. In some examples, the training data 908 includes labeled data, which is known data for pre-identified features 906 and one or more outcomes”).
Regarding claim 5, Zakharov teaches the prompt generating apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a system prompt managing unit;
wherein the system prompt managing unit generates system prompt preset data that indicates the system prompt preset on the basis of the image usage or the object type specified by a user and an image property setting value, and stores the system prompt preset data into a storage device (Zakharov ¶¶0030: “The interaction servers 124 are communicatively coupled to a database server 126, facilitating access to a database 128 that stores data associated with interactions processed by the interaction servers 124”; Zakharov ¶¶0191: “The memory 1102 can also include a storage device”; Zakharov Fig. 3); and
the system prompt selecting unit reads the system prompt preset data stored in the storage device and thereby acquires the selected system prompt preset (Zakharov ¶¶0030, ¶¶0191, Zakharov ¶¶0194: “the high-speed processor 1130 may manage addressing of the memory 1102 such that the low-power processor 1136 will boot the high-speed processor 1130 any time that a read or write operation involving memory 1102 is needed”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zakharov et al. (US 2024/0295953 A1), in view of Mitchell et al. (US 2025/0022185 A1), hereinafter referred to as Zakharov and Mitchell, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, Zakharov teaches the prompt generating apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the user prompt acquiring unit detects a string of an image property in the user prompt (Zakharov ¶¶0021, ¶¶0105, Fig. 5: 510-512; Zakharov ¶¶0024: “A text object can represent a single character, a word, or a longer string of text. In some examples, a prompt modifier utilized to create a modified prompt includes one or more text objects”); and
when the selected string and the image property setting value in the selected system prompt preset conflict with each other, the input prompt generating unit generates the input prompt by using the detected string (Zakharov ¶¶0022: “a neural network may be trained to predict, for a specific prompt-modifier pair, the difference between an image quality score for an image generated using the prompt alone, and the image quality score for an image generated using the prompt together with the modifier … A neural network may alternatively (or additionally) be trained to predict changes in image quality scores or modifier scores for different combinations of text objects”).
However, Zakharov does not appear to explicitly teach that the detected string is preferentially used.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Mitchell teaches preferentially using the detected string (Mitchell ¶¶0028: “in the case of conflicting prompts, the image tuning system can weigh each received prompt based on user-based information or criteria … determine which prompt to prioritize for image generation based on the ranking or the metric”).
Zakharov and Mitchell are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to prompt generation/modification for image generation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the prompt modification technique (as taught by Zakharov) to preferentially use the detected string (as taught by Mitchell) because the combination can generate images based on users' prompts and evaluate these images for their accuracy and aesthetics, thereby improving the quality of output images (Mitchell ¶¶0022).
Regarding claim 4, Zakharov teaches the prompt generating apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the user prompt acquiring unit detects a string of an image property in the user prompt (Zakharov ¶¶0021, ¶¶0024, ¶¶0105, Fig. 5: 510-512);
when the detected string and the image property setting value in the selected system prompt preset for the image usage or the object type conflict with each other, the input prompt generating unit generates the input prompt by preferentially using the detected string; and
when the image property setting value in the selected system prompt preset for the image usage and the image property setting value in the selected system prompt preset for the object type conflict with each other, the input prompt generating unit generates the input prompt by using the image property setting value in the selected system prompt preset for the image usage (Zakharov ¶¶0022).
However, Zakharov does not appear to explicitly teach that the system preset is preferentially used.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Mitchell teaches preferentially using the system preset (Mitchell ¶¶0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the prompt modification technique (as taught by Zakharov) to preferentially use the detected string (as taught by Mitchell) because the combination can generate images based on users' prompts and evaluate these images for their accuracy and aesthetics, thereby improving the quality of output images (Mitchell ¶¶0022).
Conclusion
/Soo Shin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667 571-272-9753
soo.shin@uspto.gov