DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: IMAGE GENERATING SYSTEM FOR INSERTING A GENERATED IMAGE INTO A DOCUMENT.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 2 contains illegible text in reference numerals 111 and 112. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder “unit” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: target image acquiring unit, command detecting unit, user prompt converting unit, and process executing unit in claim 1, right clearance determining unit in claim 3, and generated image allowability determining unit of claim 4.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (CN 116385584; hereinafter “Wu”; machine translation provided for citations).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses An image generating system (“a poster generation method, apparatus, system,” para. n4), comprising: a target image acquiring unit configured to acquire as a target image a document image of a document (“After obtaining the poster template, you can extract the image information from the poster template,” para. n39); a command detecting unit configured to (a) detect in the document image an additionally-written command additionally described to the document and (b) determine a user prompt (“optical character recognition (OCR) can be performed on the layer image source … to obtain textual prompt text,” para. n67) and a process target area corresponding to the additionally-written command in the target image (“the image information of the poster template can be extracted using a Mask Region-based Convolutional Neural Network (Mask R-CNN) model, and the poster template can be segmented into instances to obtain multiple tags. These multiple tags are then used as template prompt text,” para. n39); a user prompt converting unit configured to acquire a keyword in association with the user prompt (“By obtaining a poster template, this application can generate template prompt text. At the same time, it can generate personalized requirement prompt text according to the user's own needs,” para. n31), and add the keyword to the user prompt (“the template prompt text and the requirement prompt text can be concatenated to obtain concatenated prompt text,” para. n53); and a process executing unit configured to (a) acquire using an image generation model a generated image corresponding to the user prompt added the keyword, and (b) insert the generated image to the process target area (“Input the template prompt text and the requirement prompt text into the poster intelligent generation model for processing to obtain the poster image,” para. n52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Seth et al. (US 2025/0342630; hereinafter “Seth”).
Regarding claim 2, Wu does not disclose wherein the user prompt converting unit acquires the keyword from the user prompt using a machine-learned large language model.
In the same art of image generation, Seth teaches wherein the user prompt converting unit acquires the keyword from the user prompt using a machine-learned large language model (“the prompt enrichment engine 124a can add keywords, styles, and suggestions into a user prompt 202 … The prompt enrichment engine 124a either stands alone or is incorporated in the prompt construction unit,” para. 36; “instruct the generative model(s) 126 to generate … a multi-shot prompt,” para. 67; Fig. 1 illustrates generative models 126 including an LLM).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Seth to Wu. The motivation would have been “to provide contextual and/or personal suggestions for users to transform/enhance the graphic design” (Seth, para. 21) and “enhancing the accessibility of a design content creation platform/application for users” (Seth, para. 94).
Regarding claim 4, Wu does not disclose a generated image allowability determining unit configured to determine whether the generated image is ethically allowed or not; wherein the process executing unit discards the generated image if it is determined that the generated image is not ethically allowed.
In the same art of image generation, Seth teaches a generated image allowability determining unit configured to determine whether the generated image is ethically allowed or not; wherein the process executing unit discards the generated image if it is determined that the generated image is not ethically allowed (“moderation services that analyze user request(s)/prompt(s), graphic design images generated by the generative model(s) 126, and/or the user data obtained from the user database 128, to ensure that potentially objectionable or offensive content is not generated or utilized by the application services platform … discards any user data that includes potentially objectionable or offensive content,” paras. 70-71).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Seth to Wu. The motivation would have been that it “provides safeguards against both user-created and model-created content to ensure that prohibited offensive or potentially offensive content is not presented to the user” (Seth, para. 73).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Fei et al. (CN 117115296; hereinafter “Fei”; machine translation provided for citations).
Regarding claim 3, Wu does not disclose a right clearance determining unit configured to determine a probability of whether the generated image conflicts at least one of a copyright, a trademark right and a portrait right or not; wherein the process executing unit discards the generated image if it is determined that the generated image conflicts at least one of a copyright, a trademark right and a portrait right.
In the same art of image generation, Fei teaches a right clearance determining unit configured to determine a probability of whether the generated image conflicts at least one of a copyright, a trademark right and a portrait right or not; wherein the process executing unit discards the generated image if it is determined that the generated image conflicts at least one of a copyright, a trademark right and a portrait right (“if the generated card image infringes on copyright, an infringement warning message is sent to the user terminal, prompting the user to modify and adjust the card description. The user terminal then resends the card image generation request and re-executes the image generation process until the generated image does not contain any infringing or illegal card images,” para. n110).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Fei to Wu. The motivation would have been “preventing the modified card images from continuing to infringe on copyright” (Fei, para. n111).
Conclusion
/RYAN MCCULLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611