DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claims 1-6 have been examined.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of copending Application No. 19553708 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 5 of 19553708 teaches all of the elements of claims 1-6. In particular, the reinforcement member having a separate strip shape and a rod shape may be considered the first and second reinforcement portions with the strip shaped portion being sewn to the sewn portion/divider which divides the pocket opening.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe et al. (JP 2016155541) (“Abe”) in view of JP 60-006356 (“JP ‘356”). Abe teaches a seat trim, comprising: a trim main body (fig. 1: 5) that configures a surface portion of a seatback that supports a back of a seated occupant; a pocket forming member (fig. 1:7) that forms a pocket at a back frace side of the trim main body between the pocket forming member and the trim main body, configuring a bag-shaped section with an edge portion at an opening side of the pocket and formed in a bag shape along a seat width direction; a first reinforcement portion that reinforces the bag-shaped section (fig. 4: 9) and is provided at an interior of the bag-shaped section respectively at a seat width direction; and a second reinforcement portion (fig. 4: 10) that reinforces the bag-shaped section and is provided at the interior of the bag-shaped section
Abe does not teach a seat width direction intermediate portion of the bag-shaped section joined to the trim main body such that the bag-shaped section is divided in the seat width direction with an opening of the pocket divided in the seat width direction; the first reinforcement portion is attached at one side and a seat width direction other side of the divider section of the bag-shaped section and the second reinforcement portion being provided continuously without a break from the seat width direction one side to the seat width direction other side of the divider section of the bag-shaped section. However, JP ‘356 teaches a cloth pocket for the rear of a seat back having the opening/bag portion sewn at the top to be split into one or more different pocket entry areas (fig. 1: y), as is considered old and well known in the art. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to sew one or more pocket areas in order to provide the desired size pockets with the strip 9 sewn to the divider along with the pocket and the rod extending through the upper portion of the pocket.
As concerns claim 2, Abe, as modified, teaches wherein the seat width direction intermediate portion of the bag shaped section is joined to the trim main body by sewing (JP’365, fig. 1: y).
As concerns claim 3, Abe, as modified, teaches wherein the second reinforcement portion is provided at the interior of the bag-shaped section along an end at an open side of the opening of the pocket (as shown in Abe, fig. 4).
As concerns claim 4, Abe, as modified, teaches wherein each of the first reinforcement portions and the second reinforcement portion is configured by a separate body (Abe, fig. 5: 9 and 10 are separate bodies).
As concerns claim 5, Abe, as modified, teaches wherein the second reinforcement is formed in a rod shape (Abe, fig. 5: 9) and the second reinforcement portion is threaded through a gap between an inner face of the bag-shaped section and seam section (when combined with the seam divider of JP’365, it would have been obvious to extend the rod through the seam).
As concerns claim 6, Abe, as modified, teaches a vehicle seat, comprising: a seatback including a seatback main body that supports a back of a seated occupant (Abe, fig. 1: 3); and the seat trim of claim 1 attached to the seatback main body.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY J BRINDLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636