DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is responsive to the application filed on May 12, 2025. Claims 1-20 were presented and are pending examination.
Drawings
The drawings filed on May 12, 2025, are accepted.
Examiner’s Note about the Format of 35 U.S.C. 102/103 Rejections
Generally, limitations of a claim are reproduced identically and followed by examiner’s explanation with citation from prior art in Italic enclosed by a parenthesis, (), for each limitation. In examiner’s explanation, the mapping of the key elements of a limitation to the disclosed elements of prior art is shown by stating the disclosed element immediately followed by the claimed element inside a parenthesis. Specific quotation from prior art is delineated with quotation mark, ““. If primary art fails to teach a limitation or part of the limitation, the limitation or the part of the limitation is placed inside double square brackets, [[ ]], for better understandability, and appropriate secondary art(s) is/are applied later addressing the deficiency of the primary art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 10, 13-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US PGPUB No. US 20210326167 A1), hereinafter, Yang.
Regarding claim 1:
Yang teaches:
A method for deploying a virtualized network function (VNF) performed by a communication device, comprising (Fig. 3):
obtaining a first virtualized network function descriptor (VNFD) template, wherein the first VNFD template is for deploying a deployment unit of a first VNF, and comprises a plurality of key/value pairs including a first key/value pair (paragraph 0075 discloses obtaining a VNFD for deploying a container service instance (deployment unit) of a VNF as stated, “The NFVO or the VNFM obtains deployment information of a container service instance from a VNFD corresponding to a VNF that needs to be instantiated.” );
obtaining a first set of values formed of values of the plurality of key/value pairs, wherein a value of the first key/value pair indicates that the first key/value pair does not function on deployment of the deployment unit of the first VNF (paragraph 0066 discloses the VNFD description include key value pair. Paragraphs 0077 and 0078 disclose name or ID of the container service instance based on the key value of the VNFD. Paragraph 0079 discloses the container service instance is not deployable); and
sending a first request message to a container as a service (CaaS) manager based on the first VNFD template and the first set of values, wherein the first request message requests to deploy the deployment unit of the first VNF on a node that meets the first VNFD template and the first set of values (paragraph 0079 discloses sending message for physical server or virtual machine for deploying the container service instance of the VNF as stated, “Optionally, if the selected CaaS cluster does not have sufficient resources, and the NFVO or the VNFM has a capability of applying for a CaaS cluster resource from a VIM, the NFVO or the VNFM may apply for a physical server or a virtual machine resource from the VIM, and add the physical server or the virtual machine resource to a CaaS manager of the corresponding CaaS cluster for capacity expansion.”).
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Yang further teaches wherein the value of the first key/value pair is a value of a KEY parameter in the first key/value pair (paragraph 0068 discloses key value pair in name of cluster).
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Yang further teaches wherein the value of the first key/value pair is a value of a VALUE parameter in the first key/value pair (paragraph 0068 discloses key value pair in name of cluster).
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated. Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 5 as shown above.
Yang further teaches wherein the value of the first key/value pair is a value of one of a plurality of VALUE parameters in the first key/value pair (paragraph 0068 discloses key value pair include multiple values for cluster).
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Yang further teaches wherein to request to deploy the deployment unit of the first VNF on the node that meets the first VNFD template and the first set of values, the first request message requests to re-deploy the deployment unit of the first VNF on the node that meets the first VNFD template and the first set of values, or the first request message requests to deploy deployment units of the first VNF on the node that meets the first VNFD template and the first set of values (paragraph 0079 discloses sending message for physical server or virtual machine for deploying the container service instance of the VNF as per the key value pair of VNFD).
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 10 is directed towards a communication apparatus performing the method of claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 13 is directed towards a communication apparatus performing the method of claim 4. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 14 is directed towards a communication apparatus performing the method of claim 5. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 15 is directed towards a communication apparatus performing the method of claim 6. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 16 is directed towards a communication apparatus performing the method of claim 7. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17:
Claim 17 is directed towards a system performing the method of claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20 recites limitations similar to claims 4 and 5. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Mukherjee et al. (US Patent No. US 11687355 B1), hereinafter, Mukherjee.
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Yang does not teach wherein the deployment unit is a point of deployment (Pod), or the deployment unit is a virtual machine (VM).
Mukherjee teaches wherein the deployment unit is a point of deployment (Pod), or the deployment unit is a virtual machine (VM) (Col. 3, lines 46-47, discloses VNF deployment on a POD as stated, “At 168, after VNF validation, the VNF installation is planned for a specific POD; in some cases, this may be several VNFs together”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang to incorporate the teaching of Mukherjee about POD. One would be motivated to do that since POD can support different types of network function and the process can be automated (see the background section of Mukherjee).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 8, 11, 12, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
September 12, 2026
/KAMAL M HOSSAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444