DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the correspondence filed on 05/12/25. Claims 1-20 are still pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 13-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Segev et al. (10,148,680) in view of Salunke et al. (2018/0039555).
Claim 1: Segev et al. discloses a method comprising:
creating an anomaly detection model(anomaly detection system detecting undesirable events using a dataset of MDDPs) [column 3, lines 55-65 | column 4, lines 15-25 & 45-55] including a singular value matrix(matrix of singular value A) [column 4, lines 55-65 | column 5, lines 5-20] and a data pattern matrix from a matrix of historical network traffic data(anomaly detection system receives input from a variety of sources including historian/network traffic data, which can be organized in a matrix and used as a training set for the anomaly detection system) [column 10, lines 25-35 | column 15, lines 5-25];
storing the singular value matrix and the data pattern matrix of the anomaly detection model(constructing a dictionary D and an embedded spaced based on received MDDPs) [column 4, lines 40-50];
receiving streaming network traffic data(streamed data) [column 4, lines 1-10];
performing a log transform on the streaming network traffic data(each newly arrived MDDP is processed through the training/detection process which includes storing a logarithmic value of the NAMDDP) [column 14, lines 45-55 | column 27, lines 50-60];
applying the anomaly detection model to a matrix of the streaming network traffic data(online detection functions) [column 25, lines 55-67 | column 26, lines 1-20]; and
detecting at least one anomalous pattern in the streaming network traffic data based on patterns identified by the anomaly detection model(classify MDDP/NAMDDP as abnormal) [column 27, lines 45-55 | column 28, lines 10-20];
but does not explicitly disclose associating the at least one anomalous pattern in the streaming network traffic data with at least one internet protocol address.
However, Salunke et al. discloses a similar invention [page 6, paragraph 0075] and further discloses associating the at least one anomalous pattern in the streaming network traffic data with at least one internet protocol address(example information includes IP address) [page 8, paragraph 0093].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the disclosure of Segev et al. with the additional features of Salunke et al., in order to leverage learned behavior to generate baselines that are tailored to the specific environment under examination, as suggested by Salunke et al. [page 2, paragraph 0035].
Claim 6: Segev et al. and Salunke et al. disclose the method of claim 1, and Segev et al. further discloses further comprising: scoring a severity of the at least one anomalous pattern in the streaming network traffic data(MDDP parameters of the anomalies are scored from strong to weak) [column 13, lines 5-15 | column 14, lines -35-45].
Claim 7: Segev et al. and Salunke et al. disclose the method of claim 6, and Segev et al. further discloses wherein the severity of the at least one anomalous pattern in the streaming network traffic data is scored based on the patterns identified by the anomaly detection model [column 13, lines 5-15 | column 14, lines -35-45].
Claim 8: Segev et al. discloses a system comprising:
a memory [column 12, lines 5-15];
a network interface [column 12, lines 20-30]; and
one or more processors in communication with the memory and the network interface, the one or more processors configured to [column 12, lines 35-45]:
create an anomaly detection model [column 3, lines 55-65 | column 4, lines 15-25 & 45-55] including a singular value matrix [column 4, lines 55-65 | column 5, lines 5-20] and a data pattern matrix from a matrix of historical network traffic data [column 10, lines 25-35 | column 15, lines 5-25];
store the singular value matrix and the data pattern matrix of the anomaly detection model [column 4, lines 40-50];
receive streaming network traffic data [column 4, lines 1-10];
perform a log transform on the streaming network traffic data [column 14, lines 45-55 | column 27, lines 50-60];
apply the anomaly detection model to a matrix of the streaming network traffic data [column 25, lines 55-67 | column 26, lines 1-20]; and
detect at least one anomalous pattern in the streaming network traffic data based on patterns identified by the anomaly detection model [column 27, lines 45-55 | column 28, lines 10-20];
but does not explicitly disclose associate the at least one anomalous pattern in the streaming network traffic data with at least one internet protocol address.
However, Salunke et al. discloses a similar invention [page 6, paragraph 0075] and further discloses associate the at least one anomalous pattern in the streaming network traffic data with at least one internet protocol address [page 8, paragraph 0093].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the disclosure of Segev et al. with the additional features of Salunke et al., in order to leverage learned behavior to generate baselines that are tailored to the specific environment under examination, as suggested by Salunke et al. [page 2, paragraph 0035].
Claim 13: Segev et al. and Salunke et al. disclose the system of claim 8, and Segev et al. further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: score a severity of the at least one anomalous pattern in the streaming network traffic data [column 13, lines 5-15 | column 14, lines -35-45].
Claim 14: Segev et al. and Salunke et al. disclose the system of claim 13, and Segev et al. further discloses wherein the severity of the at least one anomalous pattern in the streaming network traffic data is scored based on the patterns identified by the anomaly detection model [column 13, lines 5-15 | column 14, lines -35-45].
Claim 15: Segev et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations, the operations comprising:
creating an anomaly detection model [column 3, lines 55-65 | column 4, lines 15-25 & 45-55] including a singular value matrix [column 4, lines 55-65 | column 5, lines 5-20] and a data pattern matrix from a matrix of historical network traffic data [column 10, lines 25-35 | column 15, lines 5-25];
storing the singular value matrix and the data pattern matrix of the anomaly detection model [column 4, lines 40-50];
receiving streaming network traffic data [column 4, lines 1-10];
performing a log transform on the streaming network traffic data [column 14, lines 45-55 | column 27, lines 50-60];
applying the anomaly detection model to a matrix of the streaming network traffic data [column 25, lines 55-67 | column 26, lines 1-20]; and
detecting at least one anomalous pattern in the streaming network traffic data based on patterns identified by the anomaly detection model [column 27, lines 45-55 | column 28, lines 10-20];
but does not explicitly disclose associating the at least one anomalous pattern in the streaming network traffic data with at least one internet protocol address.
However, Salunke et al. discloses a similar invention [page 6, paragraph 0075] and further discloses associating the at least one anomalous pattern in the streaming network traffic data with at least one internet protocol address [page 8, paragraph 0093].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the disclosure of Segev et al. with the additional features of Salunke et al., in order to leverage learned behavior to generate baselines that are tailored to the specific environment under examination, as suggested by Salunke et al. [page 2, paragraph 0035].
Claim 20: Segev et al. and Salunke et al. disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, and Segev et al. further discloses wherein the operations further comprise: scoring a severity of the at least one anomalous pattern in the streaming network traffic data [column 13, lines 5-15 | column 14, lines -35-45].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 9-12 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,108,795.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions are directed to a substantially similar technique of creating and applying an anomaly detection model to detect anomalous patterns in streaming network traffic data, which specifically includes a singular value matrix and a data pattern matrix from a matrix of historical network traffic data.
Furthermore, Examiner notes that each and every limitation of the instant claims appear to be substantially anticipated by the corresponding patented claims.
Therefore, Examiner respectfully submits that the instant claims and the patented claims are not directed to patentably distinct inventions; thus, properly rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,301,598.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions are directed to a substantially similar technique of creating and applying an anomaly detection model to detect anomalous patterns in streaming network traffic data, which specifically includes a singular value matrix and a data pattern matrix from a matrix of historical network traffic data.
Furthermore, Examiner notes that each and every limitation of the instant claims appear to be substantially anticipated by the corresponding patented claims.
Therefore, Examiner respectfully submits that the instant claims and the patented claims are not directed to patentably distinct inventions; thus, properly rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dupont et al. (2012/0137367).
/EDWARD ZEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435