Detailed Action
The communications received 09/15/2026 have been filed and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claim Analysis
Applicant is advised that should claim 9 be found allowable, claim 10 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof (as one J/m is equal to one N). When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martin et al (US 2021/0071364) hereinafter MAR.
As for claim 1 MAR teaches A method for making a web material structuring belt [0078], the method comprising the steps of:
a. providing a support layer (supporting layer) that exhibits an air perm of greater than 300 scfm (675 cfm which falls within the claimed range), [0255]; and
b. providing a structuring layer (web contacting layer) associated with the support layer such that the structuring layer extends at least 5% into the support layer, but less than entirely through the support layer (embedding distance between the supporting layer and web contacting layer which is 0.05-0.6 mm, the bonding area is not through the thickness of the woven structure, and the thickness of the support layer can for example be 0.9 mm which puts the percentages at 5.5-66% which falls within the claimed range) [0025; 0077-78; 0237-239];
wherein a first portion of the structuring layer that extends into the support layer is bonded to the support layer at one or more bond sites, and wherein a second portion of the structuring layer that extends into the support layer is unbonded (some parts are laser welded while some are not) [0078; 0141]; and
wherein the association between the support layer and the structuring layer exhibits a Peak Peel Force value of greater than 0.1 N (at least 650 gf/in which is at least 6.37 N which falls within the claimed range) [0078].
As for claim 2, MAR teaches claim 1 and that the support layer comprises a woven fabric [0078].
As for claim 3, MAR teaches claim 1 and that the structuring layer comprises a pattern (spiral winding, can be woven) [0078; 0154].
As for claim 4, MAR teaches claim 1 and wherein the structuring layer comprises a polymer [0140; 0154].
As for claim 5, MAR teaches claim 1 and wherein the structuring layer comprises a film [0154; 0274].
As for claim 6, MAR teaches claim 1 and wherein the structuring layer comprises a resin [0047-50; 0154].
As for claim 7, MAR teaches claim 1 and wherein the associating layer is mechanically entangled with the support layer (via welds) [0158].
As for claim 8, MAR teaches claim 1 and wherein at least a portion of the associating layer that extends into the support layer is bonded to the support layer at one or more bond sites (at the welds) [0158].
As for claim 9, MAR teaches claim 1 and it is understood that the peak peel force would also occur with substantially the same value of greater than 0.1 N using this test (at least 650 gf/in which is at least 6.37 N which falls within the claimed range) [0078].
As for claim 10, MAR teaches claim 1 and teaches claim 9
As for claim 11, this claim is substantially claims 1 and 2 except that the structuring layer extends into the support layer by at least 100 microns but less than entirely through the support layer and the penetrating of the woven portion of the support layer with the structuring layer both of which are taught by MAR (0.05-0.6 mm embedding distance which falls within the claimed range) [0078; see claims 1-2].
As for claim 12, this claim is substantially claim 11 but without the requirement that the support layer be a woven layer. This is taught by MAR [see claim 11].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al (US 2021/0071364) hereinafter MAR.
Ass for claim 13, this claim is substantially claim 11 except the structuring layer extends greater than about 1 filament into the support layer, the filaments can be disclosed at 0.35 mm thickness and 0.27x0.22 cross section thickness [0255] with the embedding distance at 0.05-0.6 mm [0078], therefore the range of extension overlaps the range greater than 1 filament into the support layer.
In accordance with the MPEP, ‘ In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)’ therefore the overlapping range is obvious [see e.g. MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Conclusion
/E.V./ Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/RITA P ADHLAKHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711