DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed with the Office on June 22nd, 2026 in response to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on March 20th, 2026. Per Applicant's response, Claim 1 has been amended. All other claims have been left in their previously-presented form. Consequently, Claims 1-15 still remain pending in the instant application. The Examiner has carefully considered each of Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments, and they will be addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 & 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,762,236 to Foster et al.
In regards to independent Claim 1, and with particular reference to Figure 1 shown above, Foster et al. (Foster) discloses:
A pump (Fig. 1; “trigger sprayer”) comprising: an inlet one-way valve (36); a pump chamber (52) downstream of and in fluid communication with said inlet one-way valve (Fig. 1); wherein the pump chamber comprises a piston bore (50) having a length and an open cross section area (apparent in Fig. 1); a piston (54, 106) slideably engaged with the piston bore of the pump chamber (Fig. 1); wherein the piston defines a piston cavity (i.e. the internal space formed by the piston head 106; labeled by the Examiner in Fig. 1 above, for clarity) that is in fluid communication with the pump chamber (apparent in Fig. 1); a liquid accumulator (the central projection of the piston head 106; see Fig. 1 above; col. 5, lines 1-5 disclose that the piston head 106 is entirely made of resilient polyethylene material, and thus, the central projection forms a diaphragm/bladder type accumulator capable of accumulating liquid with increasing pressure) operable within the piston cavity (labeled by the examiner in Fig. 1 above, for clarity), wherein the liquid accumulator is not downstream of a one-way valve positioned between the pump chamber and the liquid accumulator (apparent in Fig. 1); an outlet one-way valve (38) downstream of and in fluid communication with the pump chamber (Fig. 1); and a housing (22) containing the pump chamber, the piston, the piston cavity (Fig. 1); an actuator (labeled by the examiner above, for clarity; includes both trigger 26 and the rear end surface of the piston body 54) engaged with the piston (Fig. 1); wherein the actuator extends from outside of the housing (i.e. below and left of the housing; Fig. 1) into the housing beyond the pump chamber (Fig. 1 shows how the upper end of the actuator extends into a bottom portion of the housing, beyond where the pump chamber is located), wherein the pump chamber has an upstroke pump chamber volume (i.e. any one of the progressively expanding volumes produced in the pump chamber 52 during the upstroke movement of the piston) and the piston cavity has a piston cavity volume (apparent in Fig. 1 above) and the piston cavity volume is from about 0.2 to about 0.8 of the upstroke pump chamber volume (it is apparent in Figure 1 that there exists a position of the piston 26 during its upstroke movement at which the piston cavity volume will be about 0.2-0.8 of the upstroke pump chamber volume)
Although Foster discloses much of Applicant’s recited invention (as denoted above), Foster does not disclose 1) the piston bore having a length from about 5 to about 35 mm and an open cross section area of from about 4 to about 500 cm2, or 2) the piston cavity volume being from about 0.1 to about 4 mL or 2, as claimed. However, the courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is the recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, the device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device and is therefore not patentably distinct (See MPEP § 2144.04 - Paragraph IV.A; In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). Please note that in lines 13-14 of page 4 of the instant application, as well as page 6, lines 8-17 of the instant application, the claimed piston cavity volume range, piston bore length range, and piston bore open cross section area range have been disclosed, but the applicant has failed to disclose any criticality for the claimed limitations. In other words, Applicant’s specification fails to disclose if (or how) such piston cavity and piston bore dimensions would (or could) provide any difference in pump performance relative to the prior art (such as Foster). In the instance case, Foster clearly discloses the claimed piston chamber, piston bore, and piston slideable therein, and does so within a manual, hand-powered sprayer of nearly identical operation to that of Applicant’s recited pump. Furthermore, it has been held by the courts that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges (see In re AIler, 105 USPQ 233) or an optimum value of a result effective variable (see In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)) involves only routine skill in the art. As such, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have provided a piston cavity volume, a piston bore length, and a piston bore open cross sectional area as claimed by Applicant, since Applicant has not disclosed that such particular cavity/bore dimensions solve any stated problem or are for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the piston cavity and piston bore dimensions shown in Foster. For all of these reasons, Applicant’s limitations “said piston bore having a length from about 5 to about 35 mm”, “said piston bore having an open cross section area of from about 4 to about 500 cm”, and “a piston cavity volume from about 0.1 to about 4 mL” are rendered obvious by Foster.
In regards to Claim 2, Foster’s piston cavity is defined by a piston cavity opening (i.e. right end of head 106) oriented towards said pump chamber (apparent in Fig. 1) and a piston cavity closed end (i.e. left end of head 106) oriented towards the actuator (apparent in Fig. 1) and a piston cavity peripheral wall (at lead line 106) extending from the piston cavity closed end to the piston cavity opening (Fig. 1)
In regards to Claim 3, Foster’s piston cavity peripheral wall is slideably engaged with the pump chamber (apparent in Fig. 1).
In regards to Claim 11, Foster’s actuator is an external surface of the piston (see Claim 1 and Fig. 1 above).
In regards to Claim 12, Foster’s liquid accumulator is a bladder accumulator (see Claim 1).
In regards to Claim 13, Foster’s actuator includes a trigger (26) (Fig. 1).
In regards to Claim 14, Foster’s pump further comprises a dip tube (72) upstream of the inlet one-way valve (Fig. 1).
In regards to Claim 15, Foster’s liquid accumulator is a bladder accumulator positioned entirely within the piston cavity (Fig. 1).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,519,394 to Bauer et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application, if allowed, would improperly extend the "right to exclude" already granted in the patent. In other words, the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the issued patent. Specifically, the patent and the instant application claim common subject matter as follows: a pump having a housing, an inlet one-way valve, a pump chamber downstream of and in fluid communication with said inlet one-way valve, the pump chamber having an upstroke pump chamber volume, a piston bore having a length and a cross section area, a piston slideably engaged with the piston bore, a piston cavity within said piston having a piston cavity volume and being in fluid communication with said pump chamber, a liquid accumulator operable within said piston cavity, an outlet one-way valve downstream of and in fluid communication with said pump chamber, an actuator engaged with said piston, and all functional limitations associated with these common elements. Finally, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the previous application which matured into a patent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Foster et al. (detailed above) specifically teaches away from use of a resilient member engaged with the actuator and biased to expand the pump chamber volume, as recited in Claim 4. As such, there is no prima facie case of obviousness to be made to have added a resilient member to Foster et al. without destroying Foster’s originally intended springless design. Thus, the combination of Claim 1 with the limitations of Claim 4 is not disclosed nor rendered obvious by Foster et al., and as such, is found to be novel and non-obvious over the best available prior art. Claims 5-10 depend, at least indirectly, from Claim 4, and thus, are likewise objected to.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendments filed June 22nd, 2026 have necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER B COMLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
ABC