2623
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0093039) in view of Kimura (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0105279).
As to claim 1, Tang teaches a driving method of a pixel circuit (driving an OLED of the display, [0001], lines 1-3 and light emission control signal [0045], lines 1-11), comprising:
providing a preset light-emission control signal (Fig. 4A, providing a timing of a display frame with a normal frame rate) to the pixel circuit (the display frame is to four light emission control pulse periods, [0043] teaches applying the timing diagram to the OLED of the display, which is interpreted as pixel circuit), wherein the pixel circuit comprises a light-emitting element (Fig. 1 shows a circuit diagram of a display unit f a general OLED display panel, therefore the pixel circuit has a light emitting element OLED);
the light-emitting element while the light-emitting element emits light according to the preset light-emission control signal (during the normal frame rate of 60Hz, the light emitting elements emits light according to the emission control signal EM shown in Fig. 4A, [0044], lines 4-7 and paragraph [0022], lines 1-10 teaches the pulse widths provide brightness to the OLEDs), thereby obtaining an initial instantaneous brightness waveform of the light-emitting element (this timing of a display frame with a normal frame rate of 60Hz is considered an initial instantaneous brightness waveform because it is the normal frame rate, the signal EM is instantaneous brightness waveform being applied to the OLED);
modulating (here modulating is interpreted as varying specific characteristic of a pulse such as width a number of plural pulse signals (modulating a plurality of pulse signals of EM when the display frame rate of the OLED display is reduced from the normal frame rate of 60Hz to a low frame rate of 30Hz, [0045], lines 1-11) included in each display frame of the preset light-emission control signal (the modulation occurs of the present light emission control signal shown in Fig. 4A and modulated to the frame rate shown in Fig. 4B) and a pulse width of each of the pulse signals according to the initial instantaneous brightness waveform (In Fig. 4C, the frame rate compensates the pulse width of the four emission control pulse periods and repeat that, therefore the modulation is based on the preset light emission control signal of Fig. 4A and the pulse width compensated is based on the pulse width of the preset light emission control signal EM, [0044], lines 4-7 and [0046], lines 1-5), thereby generating a compensated light-emission control signal (the emission control signals EM are compensated, [0046], lines 1-4); and
providing the compensated light-emission control signal to the pixel circuit (Fig. 4C, the compensated control signal EM is applied to the OLED, [0046], lines 1-143), wherein in response to the light-emitting element emitting light according to the compensated light-emission control signal (the control signal EM being applied to the OLED, [0046], lines 11-14), an instantaneous brightness waveform of the light-emitting element appears to converge in each display frame (as can be seen in Fig. 4C, the rapid brightness waveform pulses are being converged in each display frame having 30Hz).
Tang does not teach measuring the light-emitting element while the light-emitting element emits light,
Kimura teaches measuring the light-emitting element while the light-emitting element emits light (the ammeter 107 measures the OLED current flowing in all the pixels while the OLED 105 emits light, [0062], lines 1-4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the measuring of the light emitting element emitting light of Kimura to the driving method of Tang because to read the average or maximum value of the current flowing during the measurement period, [0062], lines 7-9.
As to claim 11, Tang teaches the driving method of claim 1,
Tang does not teach a color analyzer,
Kimura teaches using a display color analyzer (ammeter) to measure the light-emitting element (an ammeter for each color or OLEDs of a plurality of colors, [0058], lines 1-6) while the light-emitting element emits light according to the preset light-emission control signal (the ammeter 107 measures the OLED current flowing in all the pixels while the OLED 105 emits light, [0062], lines 1-4, [0058] teaches the ammeter can be used for each color, therefore by combining paragraphs [0062] and [0058] we can conclude that the measurement (interpreted as analyzing) the display color for each color when the OLED current flowing in all the pixels; Also examiner has to note that here the claim does not require the analyzing to be done for each color separately, therefore it is clear from paragraph [0062] that the measurement is done for all OLEDs and the display is a color display, thus the ammeter is acting as a display color analyzer sending information of the current of the display to the correction circuit 108).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added the measuring of the light emitting element emitting light of Kimura to the driving method of Tang because to read the average or maximum value of the current flowing during the measurement period, [0062], lines 7-9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are allowed.
Claims 2-10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 is objected to because the prior art references do not teach the number of pulse signals during the refresh frame and the at least one skip frame in each preset light emission control signal and each of the refresh frame and the at least one skip frame in each display frame of the compensated light emission control signal. Wherein the limitation shown below overcomes the prior art references: each display frame comprises a refresh frame and at least one skip frame, wherein each of the refresh frame and the at least one skip frame in each display frame of the preset light-emission control signal comprises one pulse signal, wherein each of the refresh frame and the at least one skip frame in each display frame of the compensated light-emission control signal comprises at least two pulse signals, wherein the pixel circuit is operated at a low refresh rate.
Claim 13 is objected to because the prior art references do not teach the pulse width of each of the pulse signals are determined based on a brightness magnitude at corresponding time points in the initial instantaneous brightness waveform. Here, the prior art references do not teach determining the pulse width of the signals based on brightness magnitude
Claim 14 is allowed because the limitations of “wherein each display frame comprises a refresh frame and at least one skip frame, wherein each of the refresh frame and the at least one skip frame in each display frame of the preset light-emission control signal comprises one pulse signal, wherein each of the refresh frame and the at least one skip frame in each display frame of the compensated light-emission control signal comprises at least two pulse signals.” are similar to the limitations of claim 2. Wherein the prior art references do not teach the number of pulse signals during the refresh frame and the at least one skip frame in each preset light emission control signal and each of the refresh frame and the at least one skip frame in each display frame of the compensated light emission control signal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0174743) teaches a pixel driving circuit and electroluminescent display device having emission control signals.
Inquiry
/PEGEMAN KARIMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623