DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-5 in the reply filed on June 8, 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description: Reference number “36” is recited in Specification Page 7 Lines 2, 14, and 19 but is absent in the drawings.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 recites that the closure sheet (24) has two second tear lines (34) parallel to respective first tear lines of the two first tear lines (32). This is ungrammatical, repetitive, or unclear. It is believed that the closure sheet has a pair of second tear lines which are parallel to the pair of first tear lines present on the packaging sheet (20). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malhiot (US 2291050) in view of Miller (US 6698928).
Regarding Claim 1, Malhiot discloses a package comprising a packaging sheet (11) wrapped around said four longitudinal faces of an item (19) and folded to form trapezoid closure flaps (as shown in Figures 4-6) extending over two transverse faces of the article.
Malhiot also discloses a closure sheet (30) wrapped around the article (19) and packaging sheet (11), wherein the closure sheet has two opposite longitudinal sections extending over two opposite longitudinal faces of the four longitudinal faces of the pack and two opposite transverse sections extending over respective transverse faces of the two transverse faces above the respective trapezoid closure flaps as shown in Figures 12 and 13.
Malhiot does not disclose the article is a package of absorbent sanitary articles that have main faces parallel to each other and parallel to a longitudinal direction and two transverse faces orthogonal to the longitudinal axis.
Miller discloses a similar package with a tear strip tab comprising lines of weakness and a pull-tab opened. Miller discloses that the bag is made of polymeric plastic film, paper, or paper composites and may be individually wrapped sanitary articles (Col. 1 Lines 52-66). As shown in Figure 3, such articles (105) are formed into a pack with parallel main faces.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the packaged article of Malhiot to be a pack of absorbent sanitary articles as disclosed in Miller as this represents the simple substitution of one known packaged article for another that would produce no unexpected results in the function of the package.
Furthermore, the orientation of the absorbent pads and the relative positioning of the packaging sheets represents an obvious variation which a person having ordinary skill in the art would implement as a rearrangement of parts or variation in size, proportion or shape that would produce no unexpected results in the function of the package. Please see MPEP 2144.04 IV Section A and MPEP 2144.04 VI Section C.
Regarding Claim 2, Miller discloses that absorbent sanitary articles are typically enclosed in individual pouches or wrappers (Col. 1 Lines 62-63).
Regarding Claim 3, Malhiot discloses that the material used in the packaging sheet may be cellophane, a known transparent material (Col. 2 Lines 40-43). Please compare with Applicant Specification Page 5 Lines 10-14.
Regarding Claim 4, Malhiot discloses the packaging sheet (11) has two first tear lines (17, 18) extending over one of said four longitudinal faces, wherein said two first tear lines are parallel to each other and transverse to said longitudinal direction.
Regarding Claim 5, Malhiot discloses closure sheet has two second tear lines (31, 32) parallel to respective first tear lines.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In particular, please note Sosalla (US 2009/0197231) which includes a band (170) and overwrap (175) for indicia or branding.
/GIDEON R WEINERTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736