DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, 15-23, and 31-35 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,316,304. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 2, and 21 of ‘304 recite all of the limitations in claims 1 and 31 of the instant application including: “a silicon substrate, wherein the silicon substrate has a cavity formed in a portion of a surface of the silicon substrate, wherein the second piezoelectric surface of the piezoelectric substrate shares a boundary with the surface of the silicon substrate, aligned such that the second IDT fits within the cavity without contacting the silicon substrate”. Claims 1 and 31 have been rejected under an “anticipatory type” analysis rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakurai et al. US 2017/0353173, as cited by the Applicant.
As per claims 31-33, Sakurai et al. discloses in Figs. 6a, 6b, and 7 a RF filter (e.g. Paragraph 49, device 300 which is a ladder filter), comprising:
as per claim 31, a piezoelectric substrate (e.g. piezoelectric substrates 12 and 13) having a first piezoelectric surface and a second piezoelectric surface (e.g. top surface of substrate 12 and bottom surface of substrate 13 respectively) opposite the first piezoelectric surface; a first electroacoustic resonator comprising a first IDT (Fig. 3 and Paragraph 46, one or more series resonators S1 that are acoustic resonators 20 in Fig. 3 which include IDT 21) disposed over the first piezoelectric surface of the piezoelectric substrate; and a second electroacoustic resonator comprising a second IDT (Fig. 3 and Paragraph 46, one or more parallel resonators P1 that are acoustic resonators 22 in Fig. 3 which include IDT 23) disposed over the second piezoelectric surface of the piezoelectric substrate; wherein the second electroacoustic resonator is electrically coupled to the first electroacoustic resonator (Resonators 20 and resonators 22 are electrically coupled together.), and wherein a filter characteristic of the RF filter is based on electroacoustic coupling between the first electroacoustic resonator and the second electroacoustic resonator through the piezoelectric substrate (Paragraph 53; Skirt characteristics and a bandwidth of the filter are affected by decreasing or increasing an electromechanical coupling coefficient therein.);
as per claim 32, wherein the piezoelectric substrate comprises a first piezoelectric layer (e.g. substrate 12), the first piezoelectric layer comprising the first piezoelectric surface; and
as per claim 33, wherein the piezoelectric substrate further comprises a second piezoelectric layer (e.g. substrate 13) comprising the second piezoelectric surface; and a spacer layer (e.g. support substrate 11) positioned between and in contact with the first piezoelectric layer and the second piezoelectric layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 15-16, 19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurai et al. US 2017/0353173 in view of Komiyama et al. US 2019/0356297, both cited by the Applicant.
As per claims 1, 4-6, 15-16, 19, and 21-22, Sakurai et al. discloses in Figs. 6a, 6b, and 7 a RF filter (e.g. Paragraph 49, device 300 which is a ladder filter), comprising:
as per claim 1, a piezoelectric substrate (e.g. piezoelectric substrates 12 and 13) having a first piezoelectric surface and a second piezoelectric surface (e.g. top surface of substrate 12 and bottom surface of substrate 13 respectively) opposite the first piezoelectric surface; a first electroacoustic resonator comprising a first IDT (Fig. 3 and Paragraph 46, one or more series resonators S1 that are acoustic resonators 20 in Fig. 3 which include IDT 21) disposed over the first piezoelectric surface of the piezoelectric substrate; and a second electroacoustic resonator comprising a second IDT (Fig. 3 and Paragraph 46, one or more parallel resonators P1 that are acoustic resonators 22 in Fig. 3 which include IDT 23) disposed over the second piezoelectric surface of the piezoelectric substrate; wherein the second electroacoustic resonator is electrically coupled to the first electroacoustic resonator (Resonators 20 and resonators 22 are electrically coupled together.);
as per claim 4, wherein the piezoelectric substrate comprises a first piezoelectric layer (e.g. substrate 12), the first piezoelectric layer comprising the first piezoelectric surface;
as per claim 6, wherein the piezoelectric substrate further comprises a second piezoelectric layer (e.g. substrate 13) comprising the second piezoelectric surface; and a spacer layer (e.g. support substrate 11) positioned between and in contact with the first piezoelectric layer and the second piezoelectric layer;
as per claim 15, wherein the spacer layer comprises a dielectric material (Paragraph 28, sapphire);
as per claim 16, wherein the first piezoelectric layer and the second piezoelectric layer are made from a same piezoelectric material (Paragraph 54; Piezoelectric substrates 12 and 13 are made of the same material.);
as per claim 19, wherein the first electroacoustic resonator and the second electroacoustic resonator are part of a ladder filter (Paragraph 49; The device 300 which includes the resonators S1 and P1 are part of a ladder filter.);
as per claim 21, wherein a filter characteristic of the RF filter is based on electroacoustic coupling between the first electroacoustic resonator and the second electroacoustic resonator through the piezoelectric substrate (Paragraph 53; Skirt characteristics and a bandwidth of the filter are affected by decreasing or increasing an electromechanical coupling coefficient therein.); and
as per claim 22, wherein the first IDT and the second IDT overlap in a vertical direction such that a vertical projection across the piezoelectric substrate of an area on the first piezoelectric surface that includes the first IDT overlaps with an area on the second piezoelectric surface that includes the second IDT (Fig. 7; As shown, the IDT within resonators S1 and P1 overlap one another in a vertical direction thereof such that at least a portion of areas of the resonators overlap one another.).
However, Sakurai et al. does not disclose wherein a thickness of the piezoelectric substrate is less than 20 times a minimum of a pitch of the first IDT and a pitch of the second IDT.
Komiyama et al. exemplarily discloses in Figs. 1a-1b an acoustic resonator comprising a piezoelectric substrate 12 which has a thickness that is greater than 0.2 times the average pitch of fingers 15 therein (Paragraph 67 of Komiyama et al.). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have designed each of the piezoelectric substrates within Sakurai et al. to have been any value equal to a thickness that is greater than 0.2 times an average pitch of fingers therein, such as for example a well-known 0.5 times an average pitch of the fingers therein, as being an obvious design consideration of yielding predictable results as exemplarily taught by Komiyama et al. As an obvious consequence of the modification, the combination would have necessarily included: as per claims 1 and 5, wherein a thickness of the piezoelectric substrate is less than 20 times (i.e. between 0.4 times and 2 times) a minimum of a pitch of the first IDT and a pitch of the second IDT.
Claims 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the above combination, as applied to claim 1, and Panasik US Patent 6,441,703, also cited by the Applicant, and all taken in combination.
As per claims 20 and 23, the above combination discloses the RF filter of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the RF filter is integrated into an RF front-end of a transceiver; and an antenna; and processing circuitry, wherein the antenna and the processing circuitry are communicatively coupled via the RF filter, and wherein the RF filter is configured to filter RF signals traveling between the antenna and the processing circuitry.
Panasik discloses in Fig. 1 an RF front end transceiver 10 comprising filters 16 and 18 which are acoustic ladder filters (Col. 4 lines 40-44 of Panasik). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced each of the generic ladder filters of Panasik with the specific acoustic ladder filter of the above combination as being obvious art substitutions of equivalents.
As an obvious consequence of the modifications, the combination would have necessarily included: wherein the RF filter is integrated into an RF front-end of a transceiver (e.g. RF front end transceiver 10 of Panasik); and an antenna (e.g. antenna 12 of Panasik); and processing circuitry (e.g. circuitry 20, 22, 24, 26, and 28 of Panasik), wherein the antenna and the processing circuitry are communicatively coupled via the RF filter (In the resultant circuit, the defined “processing circuitry” and the antenna 12 are coupled together via the filters 16 and 18 of Panasik to filter signals there-between.), and wherein the RF filter is configured to filter RF signals traveling between the antenna and the processing circuitry.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 17-18, and 34-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RAKESH B PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843