DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-13, 15-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama et al. (US 20120145282) in view of Rossio (US 5868874).
As to claim 1, Kodama et al. discloses a chemical conversion solution comprising an aqueous solution; a water soluble zirconium carboxylate (zirconium acetate, see 0040, 0054, Example 5); organic acid (oxalic acid, see Example 5); and a nonionic surfactant (polyoxyethylene alkyl ether- see Example 5). Kodama et al. further states a sulfuric acid can be used to adjust the pH of the composition (see 0063).
As to claim 11, Kodama et al. teaches applying a chemical conversion coating solution onto a metallic base (see 0069) where the composition comprises an aqueous solution; a water soluble zirconium carboxylate (zirconium acetate, see 0040, 0054, Example 5); organic acid (oxalic acid, see Example 5); and a nonionic surfactant (polyoxyethylene alkyl ether- see Example 5). Kodama et al. further states a sulfuric acid can be used to adjust the pH of the composition (see 0063).
Kodama et al. fails to teach adding one of the claimed accelerators as required by claims 1 and 11.
Rossio teaches a conversion coating that can include an accelerator such as hydroxylamine sulfate or sodium nitrobenzene sulfonates (see col. 5,lines 51-57 and the use of zirconium compounds including zirconium acetate and zirconium oxalate (see col. 5,lines 16-17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Kodama et al. to include the accelerator as taught by Rossio. One would have been motivated to do so since both are directed to conversion coatings that can comprise zirconium acetate and Rossio further teaches the use of accelerators that are capable of accelerate or promote conversion coating formation.
As to claims 3 and 20, the zirconium compound is zirconium acetate (see Example 5 of Kodama et al.).
As to claims 4 and 16, Kodama teaches the organic acid can comprise carboxylic acids (see 0055).
As to claims 7, 8, 15, and 17, Kodama teaches the surfactant can be polyoxyethylene alkyl ether (see Example 5), the zirconium compound is zirconium acetate and the acid can be lactic acid (see 0056, examples).
As to claim 9, Kodama fails to teach the claimed range or zirconium compound, sulfuric acid and organic acid as required. Kodama does teach that zirconium content is preferably 0.1 to 10 mmol/L. Kodama further states concentrations of less than 0.1mmol/L results in inadequate deposition and poor corrosion resistance, whereas concentrations above 10 mmol/L results in excessive zirconium deposition that may reduce adhesion of subsequently applied coatings (see 0054). Kodama teaches the organic compound content is 2.5 to 10 times the zirconium content on a molar basis and further explains an amount below this range does not adequately stabilize zirconium in the conversion solution, while an amount above the range provides excessive stabilization interferes with deposition of the conversion film (see 0057). Kodama states the pH of the treatment solution should be 2.0 to 6.5 and teaches adjusting using an acid such as sulfuric acid and the importance of the pH in relation to coating adhesion, sludge formation, oxide removal and corrosion resistance (see 0063). Kodama shows the amount of zirconium and organic compound (organic acid) and sulfuric acid are result effective variables.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the concentrations of zirconium, organic acid and sulfuric acid through routine experimentation in order to obtain an adequate deposition, stabilization, pH, corrosion resistance, and coating adhesion especially since there is no evidence of criticality in using the claimed ranges.
As to claim 10, Kodama et a. teaches a concentration of 1 g/L of polyoxyethylene alkyl ether (see Example 5) which corresponds to about 0.1 wt.% in a dilute aqueous solution of 1 kg/l. Rossio teaches an accelerator in the range of 0.05 to 20 g/l which corresponds to about 0.005 – 2 wt.% in a dilute aqueous solution having a density of about 1kg/L. This overlaps the claimed range of 0.5 to 5 wt.%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
As to claim 12, the substrate is exposed to paint (see 0081).
As to claim 13, the substrate comprises steel, aluminum, or zinc (see 0045-0046).
As to claim 18, Kodama et a. teaches a concentration of 1 g/L of polyoxyethylene alkyl ether (see Example 5) which corresponds to about 0.1 wt.% in a dilute aqueous solution of 1 kg/l. Rossio teaches an accelerator in the range of 0.05 to 20 g/l which corresponds to about 0.005 – 2 wt.% in a dilute aqueous solution having a density of about 1kg/L. This overlaps the claimed range of 0.5 to 5 wt.%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Kodama fails to teach the claimed range or zirconium compound, sulfuric acid and organic acid as required. Kodama does teach that zirconium content is preferably 0.1 to 10 mmol/L. Kodama further states concentrations of less than 0.1mmol/L results in inadequate deposition and poor corrosion resistance, whereas concentrations above 10 mmol/L results in excessive zirconium deposition that may reduce adhesion of subsequently applied coatings (see 0054). Kodama teaches the organic compound content is 2.5 to 10 times the zirconium content on a molar basis and further explains an amount below this range does not adequately stabilize zirconium in the conversion solution, while an amount above the range provides excessive stabilization interferes with deposition of the conversion film (see 0057). Kodama states the pH of the treatment solution should be 2.0 to 6.5 and teaches adjusting using an acid such as sulfuric acid and the importance of the pH in relation to coating adhesion, sludge formation, oxide removal and corrosion resistance (see 0063). Kodama shows the amount of zirconium and organic compound (organic acid) and sulfuric acid are result effective variables.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the concentrations of zirconium, organic acid and sulfuric acid through routine experimentation in order to obtain an adequate deposition, stabilization, pH, corrosion resistance, and coating adhesion especially since there is no evidence of criticality in using the claimed ranges.
Conclusion
/CACHET I. PROCTOR/
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/CACHET I PROCTOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712