DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea) without significantly more.
The claims recite method and system for multi-platform auction continuous bidding.
Exemplary claim 11 recites in part,
“receiving an instruction to list an item on a first online auction platform and a second online auction platform, the instruction comprising information associated with the item;
generating…first listing data for the item, the first listing data based at least in part on the information associated with the item and at least in part on rules-based data corresponding to information associated with the first online auction platform;
communicating…the first listing data to the first online auction platform;
generating…second listing data for the item, the second listing data based at least in part on the information associated with the item and at least in part on rules-based data corresponding to information associated with the second online auction platform; and
communicating…the second listing data to the second online auction platform”
The above limitations recite the steps of:
1) receiving auction item listings instructions for one or more auction platforms,
2) generating auction parameter for the item listings based on the one or more auction platform rules, and
3) transmitting auction item listings parameter to the one or more auction platforms.
The above limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas, enumerated in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(A), in that they recite fundamental economic practices or principles. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the additional element of one or more computing elements (processor and memory). The additional computer-related elements merely invoke these additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and MPEP 2106.05(h).
When considered individually or in combination, the recited additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The recitation of additional elements is acknowledged as identified above. The discussion with respect to the practical application is equally applicable to consideration of whether the claims amount to significantly more. The additional computer-related elements merely invoke these additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and MPEP 2106.05(h).
Therefore, there are no meaningful recitations, considered in combination, that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Accordingly, claim 11 is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites similar limitations as set forth in claim 11, and therefore is rejected based on the same rationale.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 recite limitations directed to the abstract idea, and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor amount to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2002/0165817 (Rackson et al. – hereinafter Rackson).
Referring to claim 1, Rackson discloses a multi-platform online auction method comprising:
receiving an instruction to list an item on a first online auction platform and a second online auction platform, the instruction comprising information associated with the item; [See paragraphs 0028, 0051, 0054, 0061, 0062]
generating, via a decision engine, first listing data for the item, the first listing data based at least in part on the information associated with the item and at least in part on rules-based data corresponding to information associated with the first online auction platform; [See paragraphs 0063, 0076 – Each remote auction service has an input format for listing items.]
communicating, via a secure communications protocol, the first listing data to the first online auction platform; [See paragraphs 0063-0065]
generating, via the decision engine, second listing data for the item, the second listing data based at least in part on the information associated with the item and at least in part on rules-based data corresponding to information associated with the second online auction platform; and [See paragraphs 0063, 0076 – Each remote auction service has an input format for listing items.]
communicating, via the secure communications protocol, the second listing data to the second online auction platform. [See paragraphs 0064-0065]
Referring to claim 2, Rackson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the information associated with the item comprises at least one item parameter selected from the group consisting of an authentication parameter, inventory data parameter, and pricing parameter. [See paragraphs 0052, 0054, 0061]
Referring to claim 3, Rackson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the information associated with the first online auction platform comprises at least one platform parameter selected from the group consisting of a platform-specific identifier, seller identifier, platform-specific timing/bidding detail, platform-specific authentication, platform-specific inventory data, platform-specific pricing information, platform-specific callback, platform-specific business rule, platform-specific security measure, platform-specific metadata, and platform-specific time zone. [See paragraphs 0021, 0054, 0111]
Referring to claim 4, Rackson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the rules-based data corresponding to information associated with the first online auction platform is at least in part different than the rules-based data corresponding to information associated with the second online auction platform. [See paragraphs 0021, 0054, 0063, 0076, 0111]
Referring to claim 5, Rackson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a time difference exists between operation of the first online auction platform and operation of the second online auction platform, and wherein the rules-based data corresponding to information associated with the first online auction platform and the rules-based data corresponding to information associated with the second online auction platform consider the time difference in synchronizing bidding between the first online auction platform and the second online auction platform, thereby aligning bids between the first online auction platform and the second online auction platform within a unified timeline. [See paragraphs 0067, 0091]
Referring to claim 6, Rackson discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, at the decision engine, via the secure communications protocol, updated information associated with the item listed on the first online auction platform; [See paragraphs 0067, 0069, 0074, 0079, 0101, 0102, 0105]
generating, via the decision engine, updated second listing data for the item, the updated second listing data based at least in part on the updated information associated with the item listed on the first online auction platform and at least in part on the rules-based data corresponding to the information associated with the second online auction platform; and [See paragraphs 0067, 0069, 0074, 0079, 0101, 0102, 0105]
communicating, via the secure communications protocol, the updated second listing data to the second online auction platform. [See paragraphs 0067, 0069, 0074, 0079, 0101, 0102, 0105]
Referring to claim 7, Rackson discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the updated information associated with the item listed on the first online auction platform comprises a current bid price on the first online auction platform. [See paragraphs 0067, 0069, 0074, 0079, 0101, 0102, 0105]
Referring to claim 8, Rackson discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the rules-based data corresponding to information associated with the first online auction platform comprises a current bidding increment on the first online auction platform, and wherein the rules-based data corresponding to information associated with the second online auction platform comprises a bidding increment on the second online auction platform that is adjusted to match the current bidding increment on the first online auction platform, whereby the updated second listing data comprises the current bid price on the first online auction platform and the current bidding increment on the first online auction platform. [See paragraphs 0067, 0069, 0074, 0079, 0101, 0102, 0105]
Referring to claim 9, Rackson discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying, via the decision engine, limited bidding on the item on either the first online auction platform using the rules-based data corresponding to information associated with the first online auction platform or the second online auction platform using the rules-based data corresponding to information associated with the second online auction platform; [See paragraphs 0028, 0051, 0054, 0060, 0061, 0062, 0092 – The multi-auction service can be used for multiple auctions services based on updated bidding information.]
generating, via the decision engine, third listing data for the item, the third listing data based at least in part on the information associated with the item and at least in part on rules-based data corresponding to information associated with a third online auction platform; and [See paragraphs 0028, 0051, 0054, 0060, 0061, 0062, 0092]
communicating, via the secure communications protocol, the third listing data to the third online auction platform. [See paragraphs 0028, 0051, 0054, 0060, 0061, 0062, 0092]
Referring to claim 10, Rackson discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising:
generating, via the decision engine, instructions to remove the first listing data from the first online auction platform or the second listing data from the second online auction platform, based on the identification of the limited bidding on the item; and [See paragraphs 0022, 0114]
communicating, via the secure communications protocol, the instructions to the first online auction platform to remove the first listing data, or the instructions to the second online auction platform to remove the second listing data. [See paragraphs 0022, 0114]
Referring to claims 11-20, they recite similar limitations as set forth in claims 1-10, and therefore are rejected based on similar rationale.
Conclusion
/OLUSEGUN GOYEA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627