DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a portion of the inner seat surface” in line 2; however, the claim is unclear as to if this recitation refers to the “portion of the inner seat surface” recited in parent claim 1, lines 12-13, or a different element therefrom.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the outer surface of the valve element” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that the recitation “the outer surface of the valve element” in claim 7, lines 2-3, should read --the outer valve surface of the valve element--.
Similarly, claim 9 recites the limitation “the outer surface of the valve element” in lines 2-3 and is rejected for the same reason as claim 7, above.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the portion of the inner seat surface corresponding to a circumferential line axis” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US3614056 (“Alvarez”).
Regarding claim 1, Alvarez discloses a valve assembly comprising:
a valve body (“10”);
a control shaft (“28”) coupled to the valve body;
a valve element (“16”) coupled to the control shaft for movement through a range of positions (between fully open and fully closed positions; see specification col. 4, lines 7-11), the valve element having an outer valve surface (radially outer, spherical surface of ball “16”) defining an outer radial diameter (diameter of radially outer, spherical surface of ball “16”); and
a valve seat (“15”) disposed in the valve body and comprising:
a cylindrical body portion (“15a” and/or “15b”; see fig. 5) having an inner seat surface (“90”) and an opposing outer seat surface (exterior surface of seat portion(s) “15a” and/or “15b” facing away from ball “16”), the inner seat surface defining an inner radial diameter (diameter of surface “90”), and
at least one seal (“92”) disposed around the opposing outer seat surface (see fig. 1) sealingly coupling the valve seat to the valve body,
wherein the cylindrical body portion is configured to self-adjust the inner radial diameter to correspond to the outer radial diameter of the valve element to maintain a portion (portion of seat “15” in zones “A” and/or “B”; see fig. 4) of the inner seat surface in contact with the outer valve surface of the valve element through the range of positions.
Regarding claim 2, Alvarez discloses the control shaft (“28”) rotationally moves (90 degree rotation between fully open and fully closed positions; see specification col. 4, lines 7-11) relative to the valve body (“10”).
Regarding claim 3, Alvarez discloses the valve element (“16”) moves in conjunction with (via interaction between ball groove “32” shaft rib “30”) the control shaft (“28”) relative to the valve body (“10”).
Regarding claim 4, Alvarez discloses the range of positions (between fully open and fully closed positions; see specification col. 4, lines 7-11) of the valve element comprise between and including a closed position (position where ball passage “18” is occluded from inlet port “12”) and a maximum open position (position illustrated in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Alvarez discloses the cylindrical body portion (“15a” and/or “15b”) is formed from a polymeric material (Vespel®; see specification col. 1, lines 43-46) which maintains dimensional stability at temperatures ranging from -40°C to 66°C (Vespel® maintains strength at cryogenic temperatures -196°C to above 480°C).
Regarding claim 6, Alvarez discloses the polymeric material (Vespel®; see specification col. 1, lines 43-46) comprises a polyimide-filled polytetrafluoroethylene compound (Vespel®, which a polyimide-filled polytetrafluoroethylene; see specification col. 1, lines 43-46).
Regarding claim 7, Alvarez discloses the self-adjustment of the inner radial diameter (diameter of surface “90”) of the cylindrical body portion (“15a” and/or “15b”) maintains a portion (portion of seat “15” in zones “A” and/or “B”; see fig. 4) of the inner seat surface (“90”) in contact with the outer surface (spherical outer surface of ball “16”) of the valve element (“16”).
Regarding claim 8, Alvarez discloses the inner seat surface (“90”) defines a cylindrical line axis (longitudinal axis of flow path extending between inlet port “12” and outlet port “14”) which is coextensive with a plane (plane defined by mating surfaces of seat portions “15a” and “15b”) extending through a length (longitudinal length) of the control shaft (“28”) and bisecting the cylindrical body portion (“15a” and/or “15b).
Regarding claim 9, Alvarez discloses the portion (portion of seat “15” in zones “A” and/or “B”; see fig. 4) of the inner seat surface (“90”) corresponding to a circumferential line axis is maintained in contact with the portion (exterior surface portion of ball “15” in zones “A” and/or “B”; see fig. 4) of the outer surface (spherical outer surface of ball “16”) of the valve element (“16”) through the range of positions.
Regarding claim 10, Alvarez discloses the cylindrical body portion (“15a” and/or “15b”) is continuous along a radial length (length along circumference of seat “15”), except at the clearance hole (“26”).
Regarding claim 11, Alvarez discloses the cylindrical body portion (“15a” and/or “15b”) is non-continuous along a radial length (seat material is non-continuous along circumference at clearance hole “26”).
Regarding claim 13, Alvarez discloses a valve seat (“15”) for use in a valve assembly (see fig. 1), the valve assembly comprising a valve body (“10”), the valve body comprising an inner body surface (interior surface of valve body “10” abutting seat “15”); a control shaft (“28”) coupled to the valve body for movement relative to the valve body; and a valve element (“16”) coupled to the control shaft for movement in conjunction with the control shaft relative to the valve body through a range of positions (between fully open and fully closed positions; see specification col. 4, lines 7-11) with the valve element comprising an outer surface (exterior, spherical surface of ball “16”) defining an outer radial diameter (diameter of spherical surface of ball “16”),
the valve seat comprising:
a cylindrical body portion (“15a” and/or “15b”) having an inner seat surface (“90”) and an opposing outer seat surface (exterior surface of seat portion(s) “15a” and/or “15b” facing away from ball “16”), the cylindrical body portion defining a clearance hole (“26”) extending from the inner seat surface and the opposing outer seat surface for receipt of the control shaft, the inner seat surface defining an inner radial diameter (diameter of seat surface “90”), and
wherein the cylindrical body portion is configured to self-adjust the inner radial diameter to correspond to the outer radial diameter of the valve element to maintain a portion (portion of seat “15” in zones “A” and/or “B”; see fig. 4) of the inner seat surface in contact with an outer valve surface (exterior, spherical surface of ball “16”) of the valve element through the range of positions (between fully open and fully closed positions; see specification col. 4, lines 7-11).
Regarding claim 14, Alvarez discloses movement of the control shaft (“28”) comprises rotational movement (90 degree rotation between fully open and fully closed positions; see specification col. 4, lines 7-11).
Regarding claim 15, Alvarez discloses the range of positions (between fully open and fully closed positions; see specification col. 4, lines 7-11) of the valve element (“16”) comprises between and including a closed position (position where ball passage “18” is occluded from inlet port “12”) and a maximum open position (position illustrated in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Alvarez discloses the cylindrical body portion (“15a” and/or “15b”) is formed from a polymeric material (Vespel®; see specification col. 1, lines 43-46).
Regarding claim 17, Alvarez discloses the polymeric material (Vespel®) comprises a polyimide-filled polytetrafluoroethylene compound (Vespel®, which a polyimide-filled polytetrafluoroethylene; see specification col. 1, lines 43-46).
Regarding claim 18, Alvarez discloses the cylindrical body portion (“15a” and/or “15b”) is formed from a material (Vespel®) which maintains dimensional stability at temperatures ranging from -40°C to 66°C (Vespel® maintains strength at cryogenic temperatures -196°C to above 480°C).
Regarding claim 19, Alvarez discloses the cylindrical body portion (“15a” and/or “15b”) is continuous along a radial length (along circumference of seat “15”), except at the clearance hole (“26”).
Regarding claim 20, Alvarez discloses the cylindrical body portion (“15a” and/or “15b”) is non-continuous along a radial length (seat material is non-continuous along circumference at clearance hole “26”).
Regarding claim 21, Alvarez discloses a method for controlling flow of fluid through a valve assembly in a flow pattern (via degree of alignment of inlet port “12” and ball passage “18”), the valve assembly comprising a valve body (“10”), the valve body comprising an inner body surface (surface contacting seat “15”); a control shaft (“28”) coupled to the valve body for movement (rotational movement between fully open and fully closed positions; see specification col. 4, lines 7-11) relative to the valve body; and a valve element (“16”) coupled to the control shaft for movement in conjunction with the control shaft relative to the valve body through a range of positions (between fully open and fully closed positions; see specification col. 4, lines 7-11) with the valve element having an outer surface (outer, spherical surface of ball “16”) defining an outer radial diameter (diameter of spherical surface of ball “16”); and a valve seat (“15”) comprising a cylindrical body portion (“15a” and/or “15b”) having an inner seat surface (“90”) and an opposing outer seat surface (exterior surface of seat portion(s) “15a” and/or “15b” facing away from ball “16”), the cylindrical body portion defining a clearance hole (“26”) extending from the inner seat surface and the opposing outer seat surface for receipt of the control shaft, the inner seat surface defining an inner radial diameter (diameter of surface “90”);
the method comprising:
moving (via control shaft “28”) the valve element from a first position (fully closed position where ball passage “18” is occluded from inlet port “12”) of the range of positions to a second position (see position of fig. 1) of the range of positions, wherein the inner radial diameter of the valve seat is self-adjusted during moving of the valve element to maintain a portion (portion of seat “15” in zones “A” and/or “B”; see fig. 4) of the inner seat surface in contact with the outer surface of the valve element as the valve element moves through the range of positions.
Regarding claim 22, Alvarez discloses movement of the control shaft (“28”) comprises rotational movement (rotational movement between fully open and fully closed positions; see specification col. 4, lines 7-11).
Regarding claim 23, Alvarez discloses the range of positions (rotational movement between fully open and fully closed positions; see specification col. 4, lines 7-11) of the valve element (“16”) comprise between and including a closed position (position where ball passage “18” is occluded from inlet port “12”) and a maximum open position (see position of fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, Alvarez discloses the cylindrical body portion (“15a” and/or “15b”) is formed from a polymeric material (Vespel®, which a polyimide-filled polytetrafluoroethylene; see specification col. 1, lines 43-46) which maintains dimensional stability at temperatures ranging from -40°C to 66°C (Vespel® maintains strength at cryogenic temperatures -196°C to above 480°C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alvarez, as applied to claim 1, in view of US5551467 (“Booth”).
Regarding claim 12, Alvarez discloses the self-adjustment of the inner radial diameter (diameter of surface “90”) of the cylindrical body portion (“15a” and/or “15b”) permits the valve assembly to regulate a flow of a fluid between fluid inlet (“12”) and fluid outlet (“14”) and between the valve element (“16”) and the valve seat (“15”) according to a flow profile (via alignment of ball passage “18” with inlet “12” and/or outlet “14”) through the range of positions (between fully open and fully closed positions; see specification col. 4, lines 7-11).
Alvarez does not disclose the flow profile being a linear flow profile.
However, Booth teaches a valve assembly employed to regulate a flow of a fluid between fluid inlet (“12”) and fluid outlet (“14”) according to a linear flow profile (see claim 3) through a range of positions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Alvarez by configuring the valve element to regular a flow of fluid according to a linear flow profile through the range of positions, as taught by Booth, to be more precisely regulate flow through the valve assembly.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11-14 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11536375 (“Patent A”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the more narrow Patent A claims 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 4, 1, 3, 3, 5, 7, 2, 11, 11, 11, 11, 12, 11, 13, 14, 19, 19, 19, and 19 anticipate the broader Application claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, and 24, respectively.
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-5, 7-12 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12297916 (“Patent B”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the more narrow Patent B claims 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 3, 7, 2, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 9, 9, 9, 10, 9, 11, 12, 15, 15, 15, and 15 anticipate the broader Application claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, and 24, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US6021812 discloses a ball plug valve having linear flow regulation therethrough.
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753