DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on applications filed in China on August 22, 204, March 11, 2025, March 31, 2025 and April 21, 2025. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copies of the Chinese applications as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein a step part is arranged on a surface of the handle located on the second side”. The second side is defined with respect to the clamping assembly, not the handle. It is unclear if the applicant is reciting a second side of the handle or a side of the handle that is the faces parallel with respect to the direction which the second side faces.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fan (U.S. Publication No. 20160230921). Fan teaches a selfie stick, comprising: a handle 62 for being held by a user; a connecting mechanism 2 configured to mount external equipment (figs. 4-5) and rotatably connected to the handle, to enable the connecting mechanism and the handle to switch between an unfolded use state and a folded storage state; and a locking assembly 5 arranged on the connecting mechanism and the handle (see fig. 3), wherein the locking assembly is configured to lock the connecting mechanism to the handle when the connecting mechanism and the handle are in the storage state. The locking assembly is configured to lock the connecting mechanism to the handle in any state, including when the connecting mechanism and the handle are in the storage state. Language in italics is considered intended use and is not being given patentable weight.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoerger (U.S. Patent No. 12235569). Hoerger teaches a selfie stick, comprising: a handle 100 for being held by a user; a connecting mechanism 125 configured to mount external equipment (fig. 1) and rotatably connected to the handle, to enable the connecting mechanism and the handle to switch between an unfolded use state and a folded storage state (see fig. 1 and fig. 2 respectively); and a locking assembly 134/144 arranged on the connecting mechanism and the handle (see fig. 2), wherein the locking assembly is configured to lock the connecting mechanism to the handle when the connecting mechanism and the handle are in the storage state. See fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (U.S. Publication No. 20240117919) in view of Zhu (CN107191769). Li teaches a selfie stick convenient for being operated with an index finger, which is configured to support external equipment (2000) to take a photo, and comprises: a clamping assembly (40) having a main surface for facing the external equipment located on a first side (45, see figs. 1-2 and 20), wherein a surface of the clamping assembly located on a second side faces away from the main surface (401, see figs. 5-6 and 22); a supporting member comprising a base (10) and a first connecting part (see annotated fig. 24 below) connected to the base, wherein one end of the base away from the first connecting part is connected to the clamping assembly (at 30/31/32); an extension and retraction mechanism (21) comprising an extendable arm (¶127, “the rod body 21 is a telescopic rod.”) and a second connecting part arranged at one end of the extendable arm (see annotated fig. 24 below), wherein the second connecting part is connected to the first connecting part (fig. 24), and the extendable arm is capable of extending and retracting to adjust a length of the selfie stick (¶127, “In this way, the user can not only telescopically adjust the rod body 21 as needed to suit different scenarios, but also fold or reduce the rod body 21 to a small size for easy portability and storage.”); a handle (25) connected to one end of the extendable arm away from the second connecting part for holding, wherein a step part (26) is arranged on a surface of the handle located on the second side; the step part is a protruding structure that protrudes towards the second side (the handle of Li is rotatable. Compare figs. 1 and 2. The step part is arranged at any of the 360° positions, including towards the second side) ; the step part comprises a first surface (26) for abutting against the index finger of a user; (language in italics is considered intended use. The stepped part of Li is operable with the index finger of a user) the first surface is at least a portion of a surface of the step part close to the second connecting part (see fig. 3); from one side close to the second connecting part to one side away from the second connecting part, a distance between at least a portion of the first surface and an axis of the handle gradually increases (see double arrows of annotated fig. 3), or the first surface is perpendicular to the axis of the handle. Li teaches a button arranged on the first surface and configured to be operated with the index finger of the user but does not teach the button is a shutter button to control the external equipment to take a photo. While language in italics is considered an intended use and not given patentable weight, the following is presented to expedite prosecution. Zhu teaches in fig. 2 that it was known to use a shutter button (120) on the handle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Zhu for the purpose of remotely triggering a shutter release.
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches from the side close to the second connecting part to the side away from the second connecting part, the distance between the first surface and the axis of the handle gradually increases; the step part further comprises a second surface; the second surface is connected to the first surface and the surface of the handle located on the second side; and from the side close to the second connecting part to the side away from the second connecting part, a distance between the second surface and the axis of the handle gradually decreases. The applicant is directed to review annotated fig. 3 above.
Regarding claim 7, ¶205 of Li teaches that the step part is detachably connected to the handle.
Regarding claim 8, ¶205 of Li teaches the step part is detachably connected to the handle.
The step part inherently has a first portion (inside facing portion) and a second portion (external portion); the first portion is connected to the handle; the second portion is detachably connected to the first portion through a positioning structure; and the second portion has the first surface. See figs. 1-3, 10 and 15.
Regarding claim 9, Li as modified teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for a battery module arranged at the second part, the battery module is electrically connected to the wireless connection module to supply power to the wireless connection module; the battery module comprises a mounting component and a battery that are detachably mounted at the second part; the mounting component comprises a mounting plate and a cover plate connected to the mounting plate; the step part is provided with a mounting port; the cover plate is covered at the mounting port; and the battery is arranged on the mounting component. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize a battery module is electrically connected to the wireless connection module to supply power to the wireless connection module; the battery module comprises a mounting component and a battery that are detachably mounted at the second part for the purpose of providing replaceable power to the remote control. Access to the battery is typically on the back of remote controls. This would place the access door on the mounting component.
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches a third connecting part (22) and three supporting legs (24) capable of achieving separable supporting; one end of each of the three supporting legs is rotatably connected to the third connecting part; and the step part is arranged on the supporting leg located on the second side.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 10-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liu (WO2019056557) teaches a trigger button on an angled step portion (fig. 23). Kim (KR101667394) teaches a removable remote of a selfie stick.
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852