DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed on 7/1/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 9-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. See Office Action dated 4/8/2026 for Reasons for Allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by USPGP# 20230415315 of Li et al. (henceforth Li).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches
A power tool (300), comprising:
an electric motor (18);
a power supply management device (380, 26) comprising a power supply (380) configured to supply power to at least the electric motor (para 0040);
a driving device (38) configured to drive the electric motor to operate to implement a main function of the power tool (nailing);
an operating device (39, 322, 40, 42) configured to be operated by a user to output a main function signal corresponding to the main function (para 0053, trigger press of 22) and at least one auxiliary function signal corresponding to each of at least one auxiliary function to the power supply management device (para 0053, detect if nose is pressed using sensor 40, 42), wherein the power supply management device is further configured to output a first enable signal (para 0049 and 0053, the nose is depressed and display this info) when receiving any function signal and output a further enable signal (para 0053, “first control signal”) to the driving device when receiving the main function signal (para 0053); and
a first controller (28) connected to the power supply management device and configured to output a first drive signal (para 0053, “second control signal”) to the driving device when receiving at least the first enable signal, wherein the driving device is further configured to drive the electric motor to operate when receiving the further enable signal and the first drive signal (para 0053).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches
A power tool (300), comprising:
an electric motor (18);
a power supply management device (380) comprising a power supply (380) configured to supply power to at least the electric motor (para 0040);
a driving device (38) configured to drive the electric motor to operate;
an operating device (39, 322, 40, 42) configured to be operated by a user to switch on and off states of the power tool and output a corresponding on signal or off signal (para 0053);
a first controller (26) connected to the operating device and the driving device and configured to output a drive signal to the driving device when receiving the on signal (para 0053); and
a second controller (28) connected to the operating device and the driving device and configured to output a drive enable signal to the driving device when receiving the on signal (para 0053-0057);
wherein the driving device is further configured to drive the electric motor to operate when receiving the drive signal and the drive enable signal (para 0053, 0060).
Regarding claim 7, as shown in claim 6, Li teaches
wherein the first controller is further configured to stop outputting the drive signal to the driving device when receiving the off signal (para 0033, 0043, 0053).
Regarding claim 8, as shown in claim 6, Li teaches
wherein the power supply management device is connected to the first controller (see fig. 4), and the power supply management device is further configured to output a first enable signal (power on the device, para 0033, 0053) to the first controller when receiving the on signal.
Regarding claim 17, as shown in claim 6, Li teaches
wherein the driving device is not capable of driving the electric motor to operate when the driving device receives only the drive signal but does not receive the drive enable signal (para 0060).
Regarding claim 18, as shown in claim 6, Li teaches
wherein the driving device is not capable of driving the electric motor to operate when the driving device receives only the drive enable signal but does not receive the drive signal (para 0060).
Regarding claim 19, as shown in claim 6, Li teaches
wherein the power tool is a nail gun (para 0022).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches
A control method for a power tool (300) having
an operating device (39, 322, 40, 42),
a first controller (26),
a second controller (28),
a driving device (38), and
an electric motor (18),
comprising:
when the power tool is switched to an on state, outputting, by the operating device, an on signal to the first controller and the second controller (para 0033, 0043, 0053);
when receiving the on signal, outputting, by the first controller, a drive signal to the driving device (para 0053);
when receiving the on signal, outputting, by the second controller, a drive enable signal to the driving device (para 0053); and
when receiving the drive signal and the drive enable signal, driving, by the driving device, the electric motor to operate (para 0053-0057 and 0060).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 7/1/2026 have been fully considered:
Amended claims have overcome all 112 (b) or second paragraph rejection/s.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 1, 6 and 20, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant states “Li's first and second control signals are safety-verification signals generated by separate control units based on independent safety determinations, not signals output by a power supply management device in response to main and auxiliary function signals as required by claim 1”
The claim recites “an operating device configured to be operated by a user to output a main function signal corresponding to the main function and at least one auxiliary function signal corresponding to each of at least one auxiliary function to the power supply management device, the power supply management device is further configured to output a first enable signal when receiving any function signal and output a further enable signal to the driving device when receiving the main function signal”. Please note that “power management devices” and “operating devices” are both very broad terms. Examiner has interpreted the operating device as the combination of sensors 39, 40, 42 and trigger 322. Trigger 322 and trigger sensor 39 are operated/depressed by the user to initiate firing of the tool which provides the main function signal. Sensors 40 and 42 are operated by the user by placing the nose in contact with a workpiece which outputs an auxiliary function (safety) signal. The power supply management device is interpreted as battery 380 (for supplying power) and first control unit 26. The first control unit 26 (part of power supply management device) sends an “enable signal” to a display 34 as described in para 0049 to indicate the operational state of the safety sensors such as 40, 42. Additionally, the first control unit 26 outputs a “further enable signal” when receiving the main function signal from the trigger 322/trigger sensor 39. Therefore, the claims, as recited, are anticipated.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant contends “the claimed invention uses a split-path signal architecture, whereas Li uses a parallel-path safety architecture. In claim 1, the function signal is provided to the power supply management device, and the power supply management device separates the downstream processing into different paths: one path provides the first enable signal to the first controller so that the first controller outputs the first drive signal to the driving device, while another path provides a further enable signal to the driving device when the main function signal is received.”
Initially, the claim, as presently recited, does not limit the signal architecture to a split path architecture. Moreover, the signal generation by the sensor and the response by part of the power management device 26, as interpreted, reads on the claims as shown above. Specifically, the power management device 26 outputs “further enable signal” in response to the main function signal from the trigger/trigger sensor 39 as described in para 0053. Additionally, the power management device 26 outputs an enable signal to display the status of the safety sensors (based on the signals from the safety sensors) as described in para 0049.
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Applicant contends “Claim 6 requires an operating device configured to switch on and off states of the power tool and output a corresponding on signal or off signal, a first controller configured to output a drive signal to the driving device when receiving the on signal, and a second controller configured to output a drive enable signal to the driving device when receiving the on signal. The driving device then drives the electric motor when receiving both the drive signal and the drive enable signal. Li, by contrast, describes first and second control units that output first and second control signals only after determining that the relevant safety-related operating characteristics are within safe ranges”.
Examiner is interpreting the safety sensors as being part of the operating device (which is a broad limitation). As such, the “on” signals output by the safety sensors 40, 42 cause the first controller 26 to output a drive signal to the driving device 38. Additionally, the second controller 28 which is also connected to the same safety sensors 40, 42 (i.e. the operating device) outputs a drive enable signal when receiving the “on” signals from sensors 40, 42. The operating device 38 allows the motor 18 to operate when both drive signal and drive enable signal are received from the respective first controller 26 and second controller 28. See para 0053-0060.
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Applicant contends “Li's separate disclosure of a motor control unit does not cure this deficiency, because Li describes the motor control unit as controlling the motor in response to a motor control signal received from the first control unit, not as receiving both a drive signal and a drive enable signal from first and second controllers as required by claim 6.”
Para 0055 states “If one of the control units 26, 28 determines that it is not safe to fire, the associated control signal will not be output to the relevant switching unit 50, 52” and “Only when both of the control units 26, 28 are in agreement with one another will the nail gun 2 be fired”. In other words, Li teaches that to initiate firing of the tool, signals from both controllers (i.e. drive signal from first controller 26 and drive enable signal from second controller 28) are required.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892. For example:
US 20200384664 of Yang et al. teaches A power tool, comprising: an electric motor 17; a power supply management device 46, a driving device 45, an operating device 18, a first controller 41 and second controller 42, 47 as claimed at least in claims 6 and 20.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731