DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such a claim limitation is “a moving mechanism configured to move the protruding portion, wherein the moving mechanism positions the protruding portion onto the top portion of the vehicle body in a case where the solar panel is generating electric power and a temperature of the solar panel is equal to or higher than a predetermined temperature” in claim 3.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
It is noted that the as-filed specification describes a lifting mechanism that raises an lowers each of the protruding portions 15, 16 to and from the top portion of the vehicle body in paragraph [0036]. It is further noted that paragraph [0036] of the as-filed specification describes the configuration of the protruding portion driving unit 44 is not limited to this example, and further describes wherein each of the protruding portions 15, 16 is a contractible component that expands and contracts when gas is injected thereinto or suctioned therefrom, the protruding portion driving unit 44 may include a mechanism that causes each of the protruding portions 15, 16 to expand and contract, and a gas injector that provides power to the mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandgren (US 2011/0035119) in view of Piana et al. (US 2021/0241662).
Regarding claim 1, Sandgren discloses a vehicle (abstract) comprising: a
protruding portion provided on a top portion of a vehicle body (122b in Fig. 3; [0049]).
Sandgren does not explicitly disclose a solar panel provided on a top portion of a
vehicle body.
Piana discloses a vehicle comprising: a solar panel provided on a top portion of a vehicle body (12 in Fig. 1; [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a solar panel, as disclosed by Piana, on a top portion of the vehicle body of Sandgren, because as taught by Piana, solar panels may be positioned on the top of a trailer to power the vehicle and/or the video displays used in the vehicle ([0015]).
Modified Sandgren discloses the protruding portion provided forward (Sandgren – 122b in Fig. 3) of the solar panel on the vehicle body (Piana - 12 in Fig. 1).
While Sandgren does disclose examples of shapes and sizes of eddy disrupter elements which may be employed with the invention, and further discloses that it should be readily apparent that the size, shape, amount and position of the eddy disrupters may vary ([0055]; Fig. 7); modified Sandgren does not explicitly disclose the protruding portion has an apex and a pair of outer edges in a shape in top view, the apex is located at a foremost position of the protruding portion in a front-rear direction of the vehicle body and the pair of outer edges extend from the apex and separate from each other toward a rear side of the vehicle body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the shape of the eddy disrupter elements of Sandgren such that the protruding portion has an apex and a pair of outer edges in a shape in top view, the apex is located at a foremost position of the protruding portion in a front-rear direction of the vehicle body and the pair of outer edges extend from the apex and separate from each other toward a rear side of the vehicle body, because Sandgren discloses examples of shapes and sizes of eddy disrupter elements which may be employed with the invention, and further discloses that it should be readily apparent that the size, shape, amount and position of the eddy disrupters may vary ([0055]; Fig. 7).
Such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 2, modified Sandgren discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sandgren further discloses a height of the protruding portion (Sandgren - height of 122b in Fig. 3) is higher than a height of the solar panel (Piana – 12 in Fig. 1). It is noted that if the depictions of Figures 3 of Sandgren and Figure 1 of Piana do not explicitly disclose a height of the protruding portion is higher than a height of the solar panel, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the protruding portion of modified Sandgren with a height that is higher than that of the solar panel because such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 3, modified Sandgren discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Sandgren further discloses a moving mechanism configured to move the protruding portion (Sandgren - [0050]), wherein the moving mechanism positions the protruding portion onto the top portion of the vehicle body (Sandgren – 122b in Fig. 3; [0050]).
With regard to the recitation “in a case where the solar panel is generating electric power and a temperature of the solar panel is equal to or higher than a predetermined temperature,” the limitation is directed to the manner in which the apparatus is intended to be used and it is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Regarding claim 6, modified Sandgren discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While Sandgren does disclose examples of shapes and sizes of eddy disrupter elements which may be employed with the invention, and further discloses that it should be readily apparent that the size, shape, amount and position of the eddy disrupters may vary ([0055]; Fig. 7); modified Sandgren does not explicitly disclose the protruding portion has, in the shape in top view, a triangular front portion including the apex and a quadrangular rear portion continuous with a rear side of the triangular front portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the shape of the eddy disrupter elements of Sandgren such that the protruding portion has, in the shape in top view, a triangular front portion including the apex and a quadrangular rear portion continuous with a rear side of the triangular front portion, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 7, modified Sandgren discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While Sandgren does disclose examples of shapes and sizes of eddy disrupter elements which may be employed with the invention, and further discloses that it should be readily apparent that the size, shape, amount and position of the eddy disrupters may vary ([0055]; Fig. 7); modified Sandgren does not explicitly disclose the protruding portion has a triangular shape defined by the apex and the outer edges in the shape in the top view, and has, in a shape in side view, a triangular shape having a height that decreases toward a front side of the vehicle body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the shape of the eddy disrupter elements of Sandgren such that the protruding portion has, in the shape in top view, a triangular front portion including the apex and a quadrangular rear portion continuous with a rear side of the triangular front portion, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 8, modified Sandgren discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While Sandgren does disclose examples of shapes and sizes of eddy disrupter elements which may be employed with the invention, and further discloses that it should be readily apparent that the size, shape, amount and position of the eddy disrupters may vary ([0055]; Fig. 7); modified Sandgren does not explicitly disclose the protruding portion has a triangular shape defined by the apex and the outer edges in the shape in top view, and has a quadrangular shape in a shape in side view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the shape of the eddy disrupter elements of Sandgren such that the protruding portion has a triangular shape defined by the apex and the outer edges in the shape in top view, and has a quadrangular shape in a shape in side view, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 9, modified Sandgren discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
While Sandgren does disclose examples of shapes and sizes of eddy disrupter elements which may be employed with the invention, and further discloses that it should be readily apparent that the size, shape, amount and position of the eddy disrupters may vary ([0055]; Fig. 7); modified Sandgren does not explicitly disclose the protruding portion has, in both the shape in top view and a shape in side view, a triangular shape having an apex on a front side of the vehicle body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the shape of the eddy disrupter elements of Sandgren such that the protruding portion has, in both the shape in top view and a shape in side view, a triangular shape having an apex on a front side of the vehicle body, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Perlman et al. (US 2003/0095041 A1) discloses a vehicle comprising a solar panel provided on a top portion of a vehicle body (910 and 915 on 905 in Fig. 9; [0111]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues Sandgren does not teach or suggest the features “the protruding portion has an apex and a pair of outer edges in a shape in top view, the apex is located at a foremost position of the protruding portion in a front-rear direction of the vehicle body and the pair of outer edges that extend from the apex and separate from each other toward a rear side of the vehicle body.”
In response to Applicant’s argument, paragraph [0055] of Sandgren discloses
Fig. 7 illustrates, among other things, examples of shapes and sizes of eddy disrupter elements which may be employed with the invention. Paragraph [0055] of Sandgren further discloses that it should be readily apparent that the size, shape, amount and position of the eddy disrupters may vary.
Based on the teachings of Sandgren, specifically the teachings of paragraph [0055] and Figure 7, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the shape of the eddy disrupter elements of Sandgren such that the protruding portion has an apex and a pair of outer edges in a shape in top view, the apex is located at a foremost position of the protruding portion in a front-rear direction of the vehicle body and the pair of outer edges extend from the apex and separate from each other toward a rear side of the vehicle body, because such modification would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to claims 1-3 and 6-9 have been considered but are moot because the remaining arguments are not directed to the current rejection(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726