DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In response to communications filed on 24 July 2026, claims 1-20 are presently pending in the application, of which, claims 1, 9 and 15 are presented in independent form. The Examiner acknowledges amended claims 1, 9, and 15. No claims were cancelled or newly added.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
All objections and/or rejections issued in the previous Office Action, mailed 24 April 2026, have been withdrawn, unless otherwise noted in this Office Action.
Applicant’s arguments, pages 3-5, filed 24 July 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kumar, Sundeep, et al (U.S. 2019/0279281 and known hereinafter as Kumar)(newly presented).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadad, Yaron, et al (U.S. 2019/0290172 and known hereinafter as Hadad) in view of Kumar, Sundeep, et al (U.S. 2019/0279281 and known hereinafter as Kumar)(newly presented).
As per claim 1, Hadad teaches a method comprising:
obtaining a food product model trained using a plurality of data items (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0088-0091], which discloses a food analysis system that can create, update, and/or utilize food ontology, where the system can continuously receive, analyze, and organize nutrition information of all food types into the food ontology.), the plurality of data items each labeled with values corresponding to a set of attributes across matching food supplied by different sources (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0234-0242], which discloses insights and recommendation engine that can analyze a collection of data aggregated and then suggest a meal plan recommendation that includes specific foods to consume, where to find the specific foods, basic ingredients for the specific food, how to prepare the specific food.), wherein the set of attributes include one or more of:
a visual attribute, a categorical attribute, or a quantitative non-nutritional attribute of the matching food supplied by the different sources (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0118-0125], which discloses the food analysis system can perform optical character recognition to extract textual information from the images, where the food system can also implement a convolutional neural network (CNN) to extract information from various icons that often appear on packaged foods. Additionally, see paragraphs [0132-0134], which discloses the food analysis stem may include food image recognition engine to classify foods from images, and analyze the content, volume and nutritional values of the food (e.g. sets of attributes.).);
providing, to the food product model, an input associated with a user, wherein the input includes a food product supplied by a first food product source (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0214-0221], which discloses the metric for comparing the food based on similarity or metrics for comparing and assessing similarities among the nodes in the food ontology to develop a score representative of the meal.);
determining, using the food product model, a confidence score that the input has a first value corresponding to a first food product attribute of the set of attributes across the matching food (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0214-0221], which discloses the metric for comparing the food based on similarity or metrics for comparing and assessing similarities among the nodes in the food ontology to develop a score representative of the meal.).
Haddad does not explicitly disclose returning, using the food product model, a set of results including a second food product supplied by a substitute food product source.
Kumar teaches returning, using the food product model, a set of results including a second food product supplied by a substitute food product source (e.g. Kumar, see paragraphs [0083, 0095, 0102, 0110], which discloses returning a recommended substitute food items, where the user can select the purchase items in the virtual shopping cart.).
Hadad is directed to food analysis and personalized recommendation. Kumar is directed to heterogenous data stream processing for a smart cart. Both are analogous art because they are directed to classifying food and selecting food products and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Hadad with the teachings of Kumar to include the claimed features with the motivation to improve food substitution items in a data store.
As per claim 2, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the input associated with the user includes one or more of: a set of images or a set of text (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0132-0134], which discloses the food analysis stem may include food image recognition engine to classify foods from images, and analyze the content, volume and nutritional values of the food (e.g. sets of images or text.).).
As per claim 3, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the set of attributes includes at least one of:
variety, origin, size, storage method, organic status, or physical appearance (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0132-0134], which discloses the food analysis stem may include food image recognition engine to classify foods from images, and analyze the content, volume and nutritional values of the food (e.g. sets of attributes.).).
As per claim 4, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second food product is included in the set of results based on one or more of:
a food usage history associated with the user or one or more attributes of the set of attributes associated with the user (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0088-0091], which discloses a food analysis system that can create, update, and/or utilize food ontology, where the system can continuously receive, analyze, and organize nutrition information of all food types into the food ontology. See further paragraphs [0132-0134], which discloses the food analysis stem may include food image recognition engine to classify foods from images, and analyze the content, volume and nutritional values of the food (e.g. sets of attributes.).).
As per claim 5, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the food usage history associated with the user includes one or more previous food product orders made by the user (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0088-0091], which discloses a food analysis system that can create, update, and/or utilize food ontology, where the system can continuously receive, analyze, and organize nutrition information of all food types into the food ontology.).
As per claim 6, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the confidence score is based on identifying a threshold number of attributes for the food product (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0214-0221], which discloses the metric for comparing the food based on similarity or metrics for comparing and assessing similarities among the nodes in the food ontology to develop a score representative of the meal.).
As per claim 7, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said determining the confidence score further includes a scoring weight applied to each attribute of the set of attributes (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0214-0221], which discloses the metric for comparing the food based on similarity or metrics for comparing and assessing similarities among the nodes in the food ontology to develop a score representative of the meal.).
As per claim 8, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
displaying the set of results on a hosted marketplace application (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0088-0091], which discloses a food analysis system that can create, update, and/or utilize food ontology, where the system can continuously receive, analyze, and organize nutrition information of all food types into the food ontology.).
As per claim 9, Hadad teaches a method comprising:
providing, to a food product model via a user, an input that refers to a first food product supplied by a first food product source (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0210-0222], which discloses a textual query ‘BLT’ is received to which the food analysis system performs a query upon.);
comparing, using the food product model, values associated with a set of attributes across matching food of the first food product with values associated with the set of attributes across the matching food supplied by other food product sources (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0234-0242], which discloses insights and recommendation engine that can analyze a collection of data aggregated and then suggest a meal plan recommendation that includes specific foods to consume, where to find the specific foods, basic ingredients for the specific food, how to prepare the specific food.), wherein the set of attributes include one or more of:
a visual attribute, a categorical attribute, or a quantitative non-nutritional attribute of the matching food supplied by the other food product sources (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0118-0125], which discloses the food analysis system can perform optical character recognition to extract textual information from the images, where the food system can also implement a convolutional neural network (CNN) to extract information from various icons that often appear on packaged foods. Additionally, see paragraphs [0132-0134], which discloses the food analysis stem may include food image recognition engine to classify foods from images, and analyze the content, volume and nutritional values of the food (e.g. sets of attributes.).);
generating, using the food product model, a set of scores between the first food product and other food products that correspond to the first food product and are supplied by different sources (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0214-0221], which discloses the metric for comparing the food based on similarity or metrics for comparing and assessing similarities among the nodes in the food ontology to develop a score representative of the meal.).
determining, using the food product model, a confidence score that the input has a first value corresponding to a first food product attribute of the set of attributes across the matching food (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0214-0221], which discloses the metric for comparing the food based on similarity or metrics for comparing and assessing similarities among the nodes in the food ontology to develop a score representative of the meal.).
Haddad does not explicitly disclose returning, using the food product model, a set of results including a second food product supplied by a substitute food product source.
Kumar teaches returning, using the food product model, a set of results including a second food product supplied by a substitute food product source (e.g. Kumar, see paragraphs [0083, 0095, 0102, 0110], which discloses returning a recommended substitute food items, where the user can select the purchase items in the virtual shopping cart.).
Hadad is directed to food analysis and personalized recommendation. Kumar is directed to heterogenous data stream processing for a smart cart. Both are analogous art because they are directed to classifying food and selecting food products and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Hadad with the teachings of Kumar to include the claimed features with the motivation to improve food substitution items in a data store.
As per claim 10, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the set of attributes includes a set of patterns associated with at least one of:
color, fat marbling, or shape (e.g. Hadad, see paragraph [0186-0187], which discloses a food analysis system that includes estimate range of nutrients, such as total fat.).
As per claim 11, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the set of results includes one or more food products from vendors within a particular proximity to a location of the user (e.g. Hadad, see paragraph [0271], which discloses insight and recommendation engine, where parameters are used to generate a prediction model for passive food tracking, where the parameter includes the user’s geolocation using GPS to generate a list of available foods in the vicinity of the user.).
As per claim 12, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the second food product is included in the set of results based on a food usage history associated with the user and a particular subset of attributes of the set of attributes associated with the user (e.g. Hadad, see paragraph [0328], which discloses providing recommendation, where based on the history of the user or complied histories of two or more users, the food analysis module can suggest a change to the user’s consumption of foods or individual foods.).
As per claim 13, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the food product model is trained to identify attributes of the first food product from packaging information visible in an image of the first food product (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0214-0221], which discloses the metric for comparing the food based on similarity or metrics for comparing and assessing similarities among the nodes in the food ontology to develop a score representative of the meal.).
As per claim 14, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
storing respective sets of attributes across matching food in an indexed database configured to link one or more food products with a corresponding set of attributes defining the one or more food products (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0219-0220], which discloses storing food intake via APIs and fed into one or more databases, where the data stored in the database is mapped to a food ontology.).
As per claim 15, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches a system comprising:
a food product machine learning model (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0088-0091], which discloses a food analysis system that can create, update, and/or utilize food ontology, where the system can continuously receive, analyze, and organize nutrition information of all food types into the food ontology.) configured using a plurality of data items each labeled with values corresponding to a set of attributes across matching food supplied by different food product sources (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0234-0242], which discloses insights and recommendation engine that can analyze a collection of data aggregated and then suggest a meal plan recommendation that includes specific foods to consume, where to find the specific foods, basic ingredients for the specific food, how to prepare the specific food.), wherein the set of attributes include one or more of:
a visual attribute, a categorical attribute, or a quantitative non-nutritional attribute of the matching food supplied by the different food product sources (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0118-0125], which discloses the food analysis system can perform optical character recognition to extract textual information from the images, where the food system can also implement a convolutional neural network (CNN) to extract information from various icons that often appear on packaged foods. Additionally, see paragraphs [0132-0134], which discloses the food analysis stem may include food image recognition engine to classify foods from images, and analyze the content, volume and nutritional values of the food (e.g. sets of attributes.).); and
a search engine configured to receive an input including a food product from a user (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0232-0235], which discloses an insights and recommendation engine that can access the food ontology in the food analysis system, access a plethora of personal biomarkers data from the device, analyze how food affects a user’s biomarkers, and generating personal nutrition recommendations.), the search engine configured to
(i) use the food product machine learning model to link the input to a first food product supplied by a first food product source based on the values corresponding to the set of attributes across the matching food (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0214-0221], which discloses the metric for comparing the food based on similarity or metrics for comparing and assessing similarities among the nodes in the food ontology to develop a score representative of the meal.).
determining, using the food product model, a confidence score that the input has a first value corresponding to a first food product attribute of the set of attributes across the matching food (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0214-0221], which discloses the metric for comparing the food based on similarity or metrics for comparing and assessing similarities among the nodes in the food ontology to develop a score representative of the meal.).
Haddad does not explicitly disclose returning, using the food product model, a set of results including a second food product supplied by a substitute food product source.
Kumar teaches returning, using the food product model, a set of results including a second food product supplied by a substitute food product source (e.g. Kumar, see paragraphs [0083, 0095, 0102, 0110], which discloses returning a recommended substitute food items, where the user can select the purchase items in the virtual shopping cart.).
Hadad is directed to food analysis and personalized recommendation. Kumar is directed to heterogenous data stream processing for a smart cart. Both are analogous art because they are directed to classifying food and selecting food products and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Hadad with the teachings of Kumar to include the claimed features with the motivation to improve food substitution items in a data store.
As per claim 16, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the search engine is further configured to provide a score for each food product in the set of results to indicate a degree of match to the input.
As per claim 17, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the system of claim 15, further comprising: a user interface configured to display the set of results (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0088-0091], which discloses a food analysis system that can create, update, and/or utilize food ontology, where the system can continuously receive, analyze, and organize nutrition information of all food types into the food ontology.).
As per claim 18, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the search engine is further configured to include in the set of results a third food product previously paired with the first food product.
As per claim 19, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the second food product is determined based on a previously ordered food product associated with the user (e.g. Hadad, see paragraph [0271], which discloses insight and recommendation engine, where parameters are used to generate a prediction model for passive food tracking, where the parameter includes the user’s geolocation using GPS to generate a list of available foods in the vicinity of the user.).
As per claim 20, the modified teachings of Hadad and Kumar teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the second food product is determined based on a previously ordered food product associated with different users associated with the first food product (e.g. Hadad, see paragraphs [0088-0091], which discloses a food analysis system that can create, update, and/or utilize food ontology, where the system can continuously receive, analyze, and organize nutrition information of all food types into the food ontology. See further paragraphs [0132-0134], which discloses the food analysis stem may include food image recognition engine to classify foods from images, and analyze the content, volume and nutritional values of the food (e.g. sets of attributes.).).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See attached PTO-892 that includes additional prior art of record describing the general state of the art in which the invention is directed to.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/FARHAN M SYED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161 September 17, 2026