DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “rial” in paragraph 0029 should read “rail”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140254157 to Engelen et al. (hereinafter, "Engelen") in view of US 10017984 to Marzilli et al. (hereinafter, "Marzilli") and US 12288482 to Mos et al. (hereinafter, “Mos”).
Regarding claim 1, Engelen teaches a retractable lighting fixture comprising: providing a frame (housing 320), where a lighting tube (LED layer mandrel 327) is provided having a first end and a second end, and a display tube (optical layer mandrels 328A, 328B) is provided having a first end and a second end; providing a light panel (LED layer 330) extending from the lighting tube (327), the light panel (330) having a plurality of light sources (LEDs 334A, 334B) disposed thereon, the light sources (334A, 334B) configured to be in electrical communication with a power source (power source 12; ¶0070); and providing a display panel (optical layers 340A, 340B), the display panel (340A, 340B) extending from the display tube (328A, 328B) and positioned such that the outer surface for display faces away from the light panel (330), the lighting tube (327) and the display tube (328A, 328B) are mounted to the frame (housing 320), the light panel (327) and the display tube (328A, 328B) are each separately configured to move between a deployed position where the light panel (327) and the display tube (328A, 328B) are extended from the lighting tube (327) and the display tube (328A, 328B), respectively, and a retracted position where the light panel (330) is wrapped around the light tube (327) and the display panel (340A, 340B) is wrapped around the display tube (328A, 328B), the light sources (334A, 334B) of the light panel (330) are configured to backlight the surface for display on the display panel (340A, 340B) when the light panel (330) and the display panel (340A, 340B) are both in the deployed position.
Engelen does not teaches the housing having a first and second bracket or the display panel having indicia.
Mos teaches a retractable lighting fixture comprising a frame (housing 11) with a first bracket (end cap 110a) and a second bracket (110b) configured to be mounted to the frame (11), where a tube (rotatable drum 120) is provided having a first end and a second end each configured to be rotatably mounted to one of the first bracket (110a ) and the second bracket (110b), respectively; providing a light panel (LED layer 21) extending from the tube (120), the light panel (21) having a plurality of light sources (plurality of LEDs 210) disposed thereon, the light sources (210) configured to be in electrical communication with a power source (column 9, lines 21-33); and providing a display panel (optical layer 22) having indicia (information) for display thereon (column 5, lines 46-49), the display panel (22) extending from the tube (120) and positioned such that the indicia for display faces away from the light panel (21), the tube (120) is mounted to the first bracket (110a) and the second bracket (110b), the light panel (21) and the display panel (22) are configured to move between a deployed position where the light panel (21) and the display panel (22) are extended from the tube (120), and a retracted position where the light panel (21) is wrapped around the tube (120) and the display panel (22) is wrapped around the tube (120), the light sources (210) of the light panel (21) are configured to backlight the indicia for display on the display panel when the light panel (21) and the display panel (22) are both in the deployed position.
Marzilli teaches an apparatus for supports two blind rollers comprising: mounting a frame to a surface (column 6, line 39-44) with a first bracket (end brackets 100a) and a second bracket (end brackets 100b) configured to be mounted to the frame, where a first tube (rollers 10a) is provided having a first and second end (9a) each configured to be rotatably mounted to one of the first bracket (100a) and the second bracket (11b), respectively, and where a second tube (roller 10b) is provided having a first and second end (10b) each configured to be rotatably mounted to one of the first bracket (100a) and the second bracket (100b), respectively; providing a first panel (blind 12a) extending from the first tube (10a); and providing a second panel (blind 12b) extending from the second tube (10b), the first tube (10a) and the second tube (10b) are mounted to the first bracket (100a) and the second bracket (100b), the first panel (12a) and the second panel (12b) are each separately configured to move between a deployed position where the first panel (12a) and the second panel (12b) are extended from the first tube (10a) and the second tube (10b), respectively, and a retracted position where the first panel (12a) is wrapped around the first tube (10a) and the second panel (12b) is wrapped around the second tube (10b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct display panel (optical layers 340A, 340B), taught by Engelen with indicia (information) for display as taught by Mos with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to convey a message to the viewer and/or enhance the aesthetic appearance of the lighting fixture. In addition, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the tubes of the lighting fixture taught by Engelen on a first and second bracket as taught by Marzilli with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to mount the lighting fixture on a support surface such as a wall and/or ceiling.
Regarding claim 2, Marzilli teaches the first bracket (100a) comprises a first set of mounting plugs (blind control mechanisms 30a and 20a) and the second bracket comprises a second set of mounting plugs (blind control mechanisms 30b and 20b) each of the first and second sets of mounting plugs (20a, 20b, 30a, and 30b) configured to be inserted into one of the ends of one of the first tube (10a) and the second tube (10b) to rotatably mount the first tube (10a) and the second tube (10b) to the first and second brackets (100a. 100b).
Regarding claim 3, Marzilli teaches one of the first set of mounting plugs (30a and 20a) and the second set of mounting plugs (30b and 20b) includes a pull chain (26a, 26b) configured to actuate rotation thereof.
Regarding claim 4, Marzilli teaches a first rail (bottom profiles 14a) on the light panel opposite the first tube (10a).
Regarding claim 5, Marzilli teaches the first rail (14a) is configured to hold the first panel (12a) in the deployed position.
Regarding claim 6, Marzilli teaches a second rail (bottom profiles 14b) on the second panel (12b) opposite the display tube (10b).
Regarding claim 7, Marzilli teaches the second rail (14b) is configured to hold the second panel (12b) in the deployed position.
Regarding claim 8, Engelen teaches the light panel (LED layer 330) and the display panel (optical layers 340A, 340B) are flexible and configured to be wrapped around the lighting tube and the display tube, respectively, in the retracted position.
Regarding claim 9, Engelen teaches the light sources (334A, 334B) disposed on the light panel (330) are any of an array of planar LED lights, a cold cathode ray tube, an electroluminescent display, and a fiber optic lighting system.
Regarding claim 11, Engelen teaches the display panel (optical layers 340A, 340B) may be a flexible optical diffuser sheet (¶0064). The examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that diffusing layers, sheets or panels can be translucent. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct display panel (optical layers) taught by Engelen of a translucent material with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means help minimize the appearance of light form the light source.
Regarding claim 14, Engelen teaches the frame is configured to be mounted to a vertical surface. Marzilli teaches the frame is configured to be mounted to a vertical surface such as wall (column 6, line 39-42).
Regarding claim 15, Marzilli teaches the vertical surface is one of a residential door, a garage door, a billboard, or a stand (column 14, lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 16, Engelen teaches a retractable lighting fixture comprising: providing a frame (housing 320) having a first end and a second end, the frame (320) configured to be mounted to a vertical surface; connecting a power source (power source 12) to the frame (320); providing a lighting unit including a first tube (LED layer mandrel 327) and a light panel (LED layer 330) extending therefrom, the first tube (327) having a first end and a second end each configured to be rotatably mounted to one of the frame, respectively, the light panel (330) having a plurality of light sources (LEDs 334A, 334B) disposed thereon, the light sources (LEDs 334A, 334B) configured to be in electrical communication with the power source (12); and providing a display unit including a second tube (optical mandrels 328A, 328B) and a display panel (optical layer 340A, 340B) extending therefrom, the second tube (328A, 328B) having a first end and a second end each configured to be rotatably mounted to one of the frame (320), respectively, the display panel (optical layer 340A, 340B) mounted parallel to the light panel (330) and separately extendible relative to the light panel (330).
the display panel (340A, 340B) having indicia for display provided thereon,
Engelen does not teaches the housing having a first and second bracket or the display panel having indicia.
Mos teaches a retractable lighting fixture comprising a frame (housing 11) with a first bracket (end cap 110a) and a second bracket (110b) configured to be mounted to the frame (11), where a tube (rotatable drum 120) is provided having a first end and a second end each configured to be rotatably mounted to one of the first bracket (110a ) and the second bracket (110b), respectively; providing a light panel (LED layer 21) extending from the tube (120), the light panel (21) having a plurality of light sources (plurality of LEDs 210) disposed thereon, the light sources (210) configured to be in electrical communication with a power source (column 9, lines 21-33); and providing a display panel (optical layer 22) having indicia (information) for display thereon (column 5, lines 46-49), the display panel (22) extending from the tube (120) and positioned such that the indicia for display faces away from the light panel (21), the tube (120) is mounted to the first bracket (110a) and the second bracket (110b), the light panel (21) and the display panel (22) are configured to move between a deployed position where the light panel (21) and the display panel (22) are extended from the tube (120), and a retracted position where the light panel (21) is wrapped around the tube (120) and the display panel (22) is wrapped around the tube (120), the light sources (210) of the light panel (21) are configured to backlight the indicia for display on the display panel when the light panel (21) and the display panel (22) are both in the deployed position.
Marzilli teaches an apparatus for supports two blind rollers comprising: mounting a frame to a surface (column 6, line 39-44) with a first bracket (end brackets 100a) and a second bracket (end brackets 100b) configured to be mounted to the frame, where a first tube (rollers 10a) is provided having a first and second end (9a) each configured to be rotatably mounted to one of the first bracket (100a) and the second bracket (11b), respectively, and where a second tube (roller 10b) is provided having a first and second end (10b) each configured to be rotatably mounted to one of the first bracket (100a) and the second bracket (100b), respectively; providing a first panel (blind 12a) extending from the first tube (10a); and providing a second panel (blind 12b) extending from the second tube (10b), the first tube (10a) and the second tube (10b) are mounted to the first bracket (100a) and the second bracket (100b), the first panel (12a) and the second panel (12b) are each separately configured to move between a deployed position where the first panel (12a) and the second panel (12b) are extended from the first tube (10a) and the second tube (10b), respectively, and a retracted position where the first panel (12a) is wrapped around the first tube (10a) and the second panel (12b) is wrapped around the second tube (10b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct display panel (optical layers 340A, 340B), taught by Engelen with indicia (information) for display as taught by Mos with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to convey a message to the viewer and/or enhance the aesthetic appearance of the lighting fixture. In addition, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the tubes of the lighting fixture taught by Engelen on a first and second bracket as taught by Marzilli with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to mount the lighting fixture on a support surface such as a wall and/or ceiling.
Regarding claim 17, Marzilli teaches the first bracket (100a) comprises a first mounting plug (blind control mechanisms 30a or 20a) and the second bracket comprises a second mounting plug (blind control mechanisms 30b or 20b), each of the first and second mounting plugs (20a, 20b, 30a, and 30b) configured to be inserted into the ends of one of the first tube (10a) of the lighting unit until to rotatably mount the first lighting unit to the first and second brackets (100a, 100b).
Regarding claim 18, Marzilli teaches the first bracket (100a) comprises a third mounting plug (blind control mechanisms 30a or 20a) and the second bracket comprises a fourth mounting plug (blind control mechanisms 30b or 20b), each of the mounting plugs configured to be inserted into the ends of the second tube (10b) of the display unit to rotatably mount the display unit to the first and second brackets (100a, 100b).
Regarding claim 19, Engelen teaches the lighting unit (LED layer 330 and LEDS 334A, 334B) further comprises a first rail (end cap 317) provided on the light panel (330) opposite the first tube (327). Marzilli teaches a first rail (bottom profiles 14a) on the light panel opposite the first tube (10a).
Regarding claim 20, Engelen teaches the display unit (340A, 340B) further comprises a second rail (end cap 317) provided on the display panel (340A, 340B0 opposite the second tube (328A, 328B). Marzilli teaches a second rail (bottom profiles 14b) on the second panel (12b) opposite the display tube (10b).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140254157 to Engelen et al. (hereinafter, "Engelen") in view of US 10017984 to Marzilli et al. (hereinafter, "Marzilli") and US 12288482 to Mos et al. (hereinafter, “Mos”) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of US 3466776 to Paige
Regarding claim 10, Engelen does not teach the display panel made of cloth material.
Paige teaches a moving message sign comprising a message bearing member 12 includes a length of rollable material 18 which may be, for example, fabric, paper or plastic, and which is fixedly secured along one edge thereof to a spring-loaded roller 20 (column 4, lines 31-35).
Since the applicant does not disclose that constructing the display panel of cloth material solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, it appears that constructing the display panel of any suitable material as taught by Paige would perform equally well displaying information thereon.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the display panel of the retractable lighting fixture taught by Engelen of cloth material as taught by Paige with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an alternate means to display information.
Claims 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140254157 to Engelen et al. (hereinafter, "Engelen") in view of US 10017984 to Marzilli et al. (hereinafter, "Marzilli") and US 12288482 to Mos et al. (hereinafter, “Mos”) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of US 5443563 of Hindel et al. (hereinafter, “Hindel”).
Regarding claim 12, Hindel teaches a protective layer (outer sheets of PVC material 30) configured to cover the display panel (outer sheets of PVC material 28).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the optical layers of the retractable lighting fixture taught by Engelen of protective layer as taught by Hindel with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to strengthen the layers.
Regarding claim 13, Hindel teaches the protective layer is a plastic material (PVC).
Conclusion
/CASSANDRA DAVIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631