DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure should be carefully reviewed to ensure that any and all grammatical, idiomatic, and spelling or other minor errors are corrected.
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
Applicant should also submit a revised copy of the claims ensuring claim 15 is not presented with any other sections of the patent application or other parts of the correspondence.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “22” has been used to designate both the first power supply connector [ see at least paragraph 00128 and figure 5] and opaque hollow tubes [see at least paragraph 00166 and figure 8]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: 16 (figure 4). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 5-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 2, line 5, the use of “in particular ...” causes the claim to be indefinite because it is unclear if the limitation following the “in particular” is to be required by the claims.
With respect to claim 3:
Line 3, the use of “in particular ...” causes the claim to be indefinite because it is unclear if the limitation following the “in particular” is to be required by the claims;
Line 3, the claim contains multiple alternative conjunctions including and/or [line 3, two occurrences] which causes the claims to be confusing as there are too many possible combinations. Also, it is unclear if the limitations following the alternative conjunctions are required to be including in the claim. During examination, when an alternative limitation has been considered which occurs before an alternative conjunction (“and/or”) and an additional limitation, the additional limitation will be viewed to NOT be required by the claim; i.e. the additional limitation will only be considered if the last alternative limitation has been considered.
With respect to claim 5:
Line 4: it is unclear if “a particular group” of line 4 is the same “a particular group” previously defined in line 3.
Line 5, the use of “in particular ...” causes the claim to be indefinite because it is unclear if the limitation following the “in particular” is to be required by the claims.
With respect to claim 6:
Line 4: applicant claims “longitudinally offset” but fails to defined a direction; and
Lines 5-6, the use of “in particular ...” causes the claim to be indefinite because it is unclear if the limitation following the “in particular” is to be required by the claims.
With respect to claim 7, line 4, the use of “in particular ...” causes the claim to be indefinite because it is unclear if the limitation following the “in particular” is to be required by the claims.
With respect to claim 8, line 4, the use of “in particular ...” causes the claim to be indefinite because it is unclear if the limitation following the “in particular” is to be required by the claims.
With respect to claim 9, lines 2-3, the use of “in particular ...” causes the claim to be indefinite because it is unclear if the limitation following the “in particular” is to be required by the claims.
With respect to claim 10:
Lines 2, 4 and 8, the use of “in particular ...” causes the claim to be indefinite because it is unclear if the limitation following the “in particular” is to be required by the claims.
Lines 2-3: “the first color” and “the second color” do not have proper antecedent basis.
Line 3: “the range” should be –a range--.
Line 4: “the range” should be –a range--.
With respect to claim 11, lines 19 and 20, the meaning of the terms “permanently couples” and “permanently de-couples” is unclear as a switch normally temporarily couples and decouples connections.
With respect to claim 13, line 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
With respect to claim 14, line 3, the use of “in particular ...” causes the claim to be indefinite because it is unclear if the limitation following the “in particular” is to be required by the claims.
With respect to claim 15, line 2, the use of “in particular ...” causes the claim to be indefinite because it is unclear if the limitation following the “in particular” is to be required by the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Jha et al. (2024/0117952).
With respect to claim 1, Jha discloses an aircraft passenger reading light [2], comprising:
a plurality of pairs of light sources [14], wherein each of the plurality of pairs of light sources includes:
a first light source [14] for emitting light having a first color [see paragraphs 0076, 0078], and
a second tight source [14] for emitting light having a second color, wherein the second color differs from the first color [see paragraphs 0076, 0078]; and
wherein the aircraft passenger reading light [2] comprises, for each of the plurality of pairs of light sources:
a first optical system [one of 181-188] for forming a first light output from the light emitted by the first light source [14]; and
a second optical system [another of 181-188] for forming a second light output from the light emitted by the second light source [14];
wherein the first light source [14], the second light source [14], the first optical system [one of 181-188], and the second optical system [another of 181-188] are arranged and configured to direct the first light output [output from the first light source directed by an optic 181-188] and the second light output [output from the first light source directed by another optic 181-188] to a pair-specific reading zone [3], such that the first light output [output from the first light source directed by an optic 181-188] and the second light output [output from the first light source directed by another optic 181-188] at least partially overlap for providing a mixed-color reading light output in the pair-specific reading zone [3].
With respect to claim 2, Jha discloses the first light source [14], the second tight source [14], the first optical system [one of 181-188], and the second optical system [another of 181-188] are arranged and configured such that, at a distance of 50 cm from the aircraft passenger reading light, the first light output and the second light output are offset form each other by less the 20 mm, in particular by less the 10 mm [the light outputs would overlap].
With respect to claim 3, Jha discloses each of the first and second optical systems includes a light transmissive optical element [8], wherein each of the first and second optical systems in particular includes a lens [8]
With respect to claim 4, Jha discloses
at least one optical element of the first optical system [one of 181-188] and at least one optical element of the second optical system [another of 181-188] are formed integrally with each other [see element 18 of figure 4], or
With respect to claim 9, Jha discloses for each of the plurality of pairs of light sources [14], the first and second light outputs are angled with,
With respect to claim 13, Jha discloses an aircraft, such as an airplane [100; see figure 1]
Claims 1, 3-9 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hessling-Von Heimendahl et al. (2023/0348097).
With respect to claim 1, Hessling-Von Heimendahl discloses an aircraft passenger reading light [2], comprising:
a plurality of pairs of light sources [12], wherein each of the plurality of pairs of light sources [12] includes:
a first light source [12a] for emitting light having a first color [paragraph 0148 “light units 12a, 12b comprise reading light sources of different colors, respectively”], and
a second light source [12b] for emitting light having a second color, wherein the second color differs from the first color [paragraph 0148 “light units 12a, 12b comprise reading light sources of different colors, respectively”]; and
wherein the aircraft passenger reading light [2] comprises, for each of the plurality of pairs of light sources [12a, 12b]:
a first optical system [14a] for forming a first light output from the light emitted by the first light source [12a]; and
a second optical system [14b] for forming a second light output from the light emitted by the second light source [12b];
wherein the first light source [12a], the second light source [12b], the first optical system [14a], and the second optical system [14b] are arranged and configured to direct the first light output and the second light output to a pair-specific reading zone, such that the first light output and the second light output at least partially overlap for providing a mixed-color reading light output in the pair-specific reading zone.
With respect to claim 3, Hessling-Von Heimendahl discloses each of the first and second optical systems [14a, 14b] includes a light transmissive optical element [18],
With respect to claim 4, Hessling-Von Heimendahl discloses
at least one optical element [18] of the first optical system [14a] and at least one optical element of the second optical system [14b] are formed integrally with each other,
With respect to claim 5, Hessling-Von Heimendahl discloses the plurality of pairs of light sources [14] comprise at least one group of pairs of light sources [14, see figure 5 and paragraph 0078], wherein the respective pair-specific reading zones of a particular group of pairs of light sources are laterally offset from each other, wherein the respective pair-specific reading zones of a particular group of pairs of light sources are in particular associated with different passenger seats of a particular passenger seat row location [paragraph 0131].
With respect to claim 6, Hessling-Von Heimendahl discloses the plurality of pairs of light sources [14] comprise multiple groups of pairs of light sources [14, see figure 5], wherein the respective pair-specific reading zones of different ones of the multiple groups of pairs of light sources [14] are longitudinally offset from each other [figure 5; inherently the reading zones of different passengers would be offset from one another], wherein the respective pair-specific reading zones of different ones of the multiple groups of pairs of light sources are in particular associated with different longitudinal passenger seat row locations [paragraph 0131].
With respect to claim 7, Hessling-Von Heimendahl discloses the plurality of pairs of light sources [12a, 12b] and the respective first and second optical systems [14a, 14b] are arranged in an array arrangement [figures 5 and 8a-8c], wherein the multiple groups of pairs of light sources [12a, 12b] and the respective first and second optical systems [14a, 14b] are in particular arranged in adjacent building blocks along the array arrangement.
With respect to claim 8, Hessling-Von Heimendahl discloses the plurality of pairs of light sources [12a, 12b] and the respective first and second optical systems [14a, 14b] are arranged in a rectangular array arrangement, wherein the multiple groups of pairs of light sources [12a. 12b] and the respective first and second optical systems [14a, 14b] are in particular arranged in multiple rows of the array arrangement [see figures 5 and 8a-8c].
With respect to claim 9, Hessling-Von Heimendahl discloses for each of the plurality of pairs of light sources [12a, 12b], the first and second light outputs are angled with,
With respect to claim 12, Hessling-Von Heimendahl discloses at least one dimmer for dimming the light intensity of the first light sources [12a] and/or for dimming the light intensity of the second light sources [12b; paragraph 0148].
With respect to claim 13, Hessling-Von Heimendahl discloses an aircraft [see abstract], such as an airplane reading lights [2] are arranged above the plurality of passenger seat rows [see figure 4].
With respect to claim 14, Hessling-Von Heimendahl discloses a method of operating an aircraft passenger reading light according to claim 1, wherein the method includes:
for at least a subset of the plurality of pairs of light sources, in particular for a particular group of the plurality of pairs of light sources, simultaneously operating the first light source and the second light source for generating mixed-color reading light outputs in the respective pair-specific reading zones [see paragraph 0148].
With respect to claim 15, Hessling-Von Heimendahl discloses the method includes:
for at least the subset of the plurality of pairs of light sources, in particular for the particular group of the plurality of pairs of light sources, setting a light intensity for at least one of the first light source and the second light source for controlling the color of the reading light output of the aircraft passenger reading light [see paragraph 0148].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hessling-Von Heimendahl et al. (2023/0348097).
With respect to claim 10, Hessling-Von Heimendahl does discloses the light color output of the personal reading lights can be different colors [paragraph 0148] but fails to suggest the claimed colors. It would have been an obvious design choice and well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the device of Hessling-Von Heimendahl so that first color output is warm white having a color temperature in the range of between 2700 K and 3600 K; and the second color output is cold white having a color temperature in the range of between 4500 K and 6000 K. or the first color output is white, and wherein the second color output is amber or pink if such would create a desirable light output.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following reference discloses the state of the art: Pawkuczek et al. (10,967,785).
Conclusion
/LAURA K TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875