DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Preliminary amendment to the claims, filed on 03/04/2026, are accepted and do not introduce new matter.
Claims 1-7 are pending; claims 8-10 were cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobi et al (U.S. 4,033,508) in view of Holtzen (U.S. 4,120,454) and Weise (U.S. 6,951,185).
Regarding claim 1, Jacobi teaches an expansion joint (defined by telescoping section of irrigation system 10, seen in Fig 5-7), comprising:
an inner support member (30) having an elongate body (body of 30 which is an elongate pipe section, as seen in Figs 5-7);
a first external support member (external pipe 11); and
a second external support member (external pipe 11 of another pipe extension; col 7, lines 55-59 discloses that subsequent extensions to the pivot irrigation system to cover a greater area, in this case the subsequent pipe 11 is considered the second external support member), wherein:
each of the first external support member and the second external support member define an open interior that is configured to slidingly receive a respective end of the inner support member (the external supports 11 defined an interior that slidingly receives the inner support member 30; as seen in Fig 5, the inner member 30 is fully within external member 11; as seen in Fig 6, the inner member slides out of the external member 11; in the instance where there are multiple joint sections, this applies to the second external support member).
However, Jacobi does not teach the inner support member terminating in ends having diameters that are larger than a diameter of the elongate body; and each of the first external support member and the second external support member comprise a stop member positioned on either end of the open interior that limit a range of movement of the respective end of the inner support member
If it is found that Jacobi does not teach a second external support member, Holtzen teaches a pivot irrigation apparatus that comprises inner supports members and multiple external support members (as shown below), wherein the inner support members are placed inside the external support members (see parts inner supports 17 and 18 placed inside external support 43, as seen in Fig 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jacobi to incorporate the teachings of Holtzen to provide a second or more external support members in order to extend the reach of the irrigation apparatus when employed in larger fields, i.e. in order to irrigate the entirety of the field depending on its size (as taught by Jacobi in col 7, lines 55-59 and by Holtzen in col 3, lines 16-20).
Weise teaches a telescoping tool wherein an elongate body (body of 24) of an inner support member (24) terminates in ends having diameters that are larger than a diameter of the elongate body (as shown below); and wherein an external support member (22) comprises a stop member (shown below) positioned on either end of the open interior that limit a range of movement of the respective end of the inner support member (as seen in Fig 1, the terminal end of the inner member contacts the stop member of the external member to limit a range of relative movement between the inner and outer member).
Jacobi and Weise are reasonably pertinent to each other, since they both deal with telescoping pipes.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jacobi to incorporate the teachings of Weise to provide structures at respective ends of both the inner and external members in order for the two members to maintain a static relative position (as disclosed in col 3, lines 4-11 of Weise); this would ensure that the members don’t expand past each other and become unlinked. In combination, both first and second external support members (as modified by Holtzen) would have a stop member (as modified by Weise) positioned on either end of the inner member, as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, Jacobi, Holtzen and Weise teach the expansion joint of claim 1, wherein: in a compressed state (seen in Fig 5 of Jacobi), the ends of the inner support member are positioned against stops that are positioned at a distal end of each of the first external support member and the second external support member (in combination with Weise, the ends of the inner support member would be positioned against the stops on the distal end of the external member in an compressed state, as seen in Fig 2 of Weise); and in an expanded state (seen in Fig 6 of Jacobi), the ends of the inner support member are positioned against stops that are positioned at a medial portion of each of the first external support member and the second external support member (in combination with Weise, the ends of the inner support member would be positioned against the stops on a medial portion of the external member in an expanded state, as seen in Fig 1 of Weise).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobi et al (U.S. 4,033,508) in view of Holtzen (U.S. 4,120,454) and Weise (U.S. 6,951,185); further in view of Davis (U.S. 5,435,495).
Regarding claim 2, Jacobi, Holtzen and Weise teach the expansion joint of claim 1. However, they do not teach the joint further comprising: a bushing provided within the open interior of each of the first external support member and the second external support member.
Davis teaches a pivot irrigation system comprising a bushing (gasket 62) provided within an open interior (inner volume of sleeve 60) of each an external support member (sleeve 60) (as seen in Fig 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jacobi to incorporate the teachings of Davis to provide a bushing within the interior of the external support members in order to provide a water sealing connection between the inner and external support members (as disclosed in col 5, lines 6-15 of Davis).
Regarding claim 3, Jacobi, Holtzen, Weise and Davis teach the expansion joint of claim 2, wherein: each stop member is formed from an interior-facing end of a respective one of the bushings (as seen in Fig 3 of Davis, the bushing 62 is placed within a groove which is interpreted as a surface of a stop structure of the exterior support member 60; furthermore, in combination with Weise, the bushing would be placed adjacent to the stop, since the stop makes contact with the inner support member and the bushing, as taught by Davis, is meant to create a seal between the two structures).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobi et al (U.S. 4,033,508) in view of Holtzen (U.S. 4,120,454) and Weise (U.S. 6,951,185); further in view of Krzak (U.S. 4,357,860).
Regarding claim 4, Jacobi, Holtzen and Weise teach the expansion joint of claim 1. However, they do not teach the joint wherein: a portion of each end of the inner support member is formed from a bushing having a larger diameter than the diameter of the elongate body.
Krzak teaches a telescoping coupling for fluid transport comprising a portion (left portion of 26, seen in Fig 6) of an end of an inner support member (30) is formed from a bushing (O-ring 32) having a larger diameter than a diameter of the elongate body (as seen in Fig 6, the bushing 32 has a larger diameter than a diameter of elongate body 26).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jacobi and Weise to incorporate the teachings of Krzak to provide a bushing at both ends of the inner support member in order to increase sealing effectiveness between the inner and external support members (as disclosed in col 3, lines 36-40 of Krzak).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobi et al (U.S. 4,033,508) in view of Holtzen (U.S. 4,120,454) and Weise (U.S. 6,951,185); further in view of Tippery et al (U.S. 2017/0251589).
Regarding claim 6, Jacobi, Holtzen and Weise teach the expansion joint of claim 1. However, they do not teach the joint further comprising: an additional set of external and inner support members arranged in parallel with the inner support member, the first external support member, and the second external support member.
Tippery teaches an irrigation system (102) having two sets of support member assemblies (108a and 108b) that are parallel with each other (as seen in Fig 2J).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jacobi and Holtzen to incorporate the teachings of Tippery to provide a separate set of support members (inner and external) parallel with the other set in order to increase the amount of water supplied by the support members which would increase irrigation capabilities to the device of Jacobi. Furthermore, it would be beneficial to include a further support member assembly in order to increase stability to the frame as it moves (as disclosed in Par 0220 of Tippery).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add another set of support members, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art; as it was determined in In re Harza, where the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04 VI B). In this case adding another set of support members would yield predictable results; such as increased water supply.
Regarding claim 7, Jacobi, Holtzen, Weise and Tippery teach the expansion joint of claim 6, wherein: at least one reinforcement member (108c of Tippery) that couples the inner support member, the first external support member, and the second external support member with the additional set of external and inner support members (as seen in Fig 2D of Tippery, the reinforcement member 108c couples both parallel support members 108a and 108b; in combination, the reinforcement members would couple the inner and external support members of Jacobi).
Conclusion
If there are any inquiries that are not being addressed by first contacting the Examiner or the Supervisor, you may send an email inquiry to TC3700_Workgroup_D_Inquiries@uspto.gov.
/JUAN C BARRERA/
Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/ARTHUR O. HALL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3752