DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iske et al. (Iske US 2009/0120820) in view of Maness (US 8,573,426).
1: Iske teaches a waste receiver (generally shown as 10) capable of receiving unclaimed pharmaceutical waste material and adapted to be releasably coupled to an unclaimed locking assembly secured to an unclaimed fixed surface (unclaimed locking assembly 72/73 capable of being fixed to an unclaimed surface), said waste receiver comprising:
a receiver body (body 12) defining a container volume (volume within 12) and an opening (opening at the top of 12) in fluid communication with said container volume capable of receiving the unclaimed pharmaceutical waste material, said receiver body comprising a front wall, a rear wall opposite said front wall, and opposing sidewalls extending between said front and rear walls (front wall 17, rear wall 13, side walls 12), and a bottom wall (14, Figure 1) extending between said opposing sidewalls, wherein said receiver body defines a lock passageway (passageway between 40 and 13, Figure 1) adapted to receive the unclaimed locking assembly, said lock passageway being separate from said opening and extending through said receiver body between said front and rear walls (see Markup Figures 1-2 below); a support (generally indicated as 22, Figure 1) coupled to said receiver body (within 12) within said container volume (volume within 12), and Iske further teaches that the support (receptacle 22) where the bottom of the receptacle 22 sits on the bottom wall (14) of the receiver body (12).
Iske teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except a reaction agent disposed within a region of said container volume and supported by said support so as to be spaced apart from said bottom wall of said receiver body.
Maness teaches a fluid processor 274 for use with waste (col. 13, ll. 20-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iske such that the teaching of a fluid processor was provided within the waste receptacle 22, wherein the fluid processor/reaction agent is spaced apart from the bottom wall of the receiver body (14, of 12), wherein the fluid processor/reaction agent is spaced apart from bottom wall (14) by the thickness of the bottom of receptacle (22, Figure 1 of Iske) were applied, in order to process waste fluids for disposal, as taught by Maness (col. 13, ll. 20-37).
.
3: Iske-Maness teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Iske-Maness further teaches that two shells joined to one another to form said receiver body with each of said shells defining a portion of said container volume and a portion of said lock passageway (two shells formed by front wall 17, rear wall 13, side walls 12 and container 22).
6: Iske-Maness teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 except a packet including said reaction agent.
Maness teaches a packet (287A) which includes a reaction agent (297, paragraph 0097, Figure 4A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iske-Maness such that the teaching of a packet including said reaction agent were applied in order to react with the fluid pharmaceutical waste to destroy or otherwise chemically and/or physically change the fluid pharmaceutical waste to an unusable and/or unrecoverable form, as taught by Maness (paragraph 0097).
7: Iske teaches a waste receiver (generally shown as 10) capable of receiving unclaimed pharmaceutical waste material and adapted to be releasably coupled to an unclaimed locking assembly secured to an unclaimed fixed surface (unclaimed locking assembly 72/73 capable of being fixed to an unclaimed surface), said waste receiver comprising:
a receiver body (body 12) defining a container volume (volume within 12) and an opening (opening at the top of 12) in fluid communication with said container volume capable of receiving the unclaimed pharmaceutical waste material, said receiver body comprising a front wall, a rear wall opposite said front wall, and opposing sidewalls extending between said front and rear walls (front wall 17, rear wall 13, side walls 12), and a bottom wall (14, Figure 1) extending between said opposing sidewalls, wherein said receiver body defines a lock passageway (passageway between 40 and 13, Figure 1) adapted to receive the unclaimed locking assembly, said lock passageway being separate from said opening and extending through said receiver body between said front and rear walls (see Markup Figures 1-2 below and Iske further teaches that a receptacle (receptacle 22) where the bottom of the receptacle (22) sits on the bottom wall (14) of the receiver body (12).
Iske teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except a reaction agent disposed within said container volume, said reaction agent being positioned to be spaced apart from said bottom wall.
Maness teaches a fluid processor 274 for use with waste (col. 13, ll. 20-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iske such that the teaching of a fluid processor was provided within the waste receptacle 22, wherein the fluid processor/reaction agent is spaced apart from the bottom wall of the receiver body (14, of 12), wherein the fluid processor/reaction agent is spaced apart from bottom wall (14) by the thickness of the bottom of receptacle (22, Figure 1 of Iske) were applied, in order to process waste fluids for disposal, as taught by Maness (col. 13, ll. 20-37).
10: Iske-Maness teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 7 and Iske-Maness further teaches that two shells joined to one another to form said receiver body with each of said shells defining a portion of said container volume and a portion of said lock passageway (two shells formed by front wall 17, rear wall 13, side walls 12 and container 22).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,064,797 and Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,940,513. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions are directed to a waste receiver for receiving pharmaceutical waste material and adapted to be releasably coupled to a locking assembly secured to a fixed surface, said waste receiver comprising: a receiver body defining a container volume and an opening in fluid communication with said container volume for receiving the pharmaceutical waste material, said receiver body comprising a front wall, a rear wall opposite said front wall, opposing sidewalls extending between said front and rear walls, wherein said receiver body defines a lock passageway adapted to receive the locking assembly, said lock passageway being separate from said opening and extending through said receiver body between said front and rear walls; and a reaction agent disposed within said container volume, said reaction agent being positioned to be spaced apart from said bottom wall except a bottom wall extending between said opposing sidewalls and a support coupled to said receiver body within said container volume; and a reaction agent disposed within said container volume and supported by said support so as to be spaced apart from said bottom wall of said receiver body.
Iske teaches a bottom wall (14, Figure 1) extending between said opposing sidewalls and Maness teaches a fluid processor 274 for use with waste (col. 13, ll. 20-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iske such that the teaching of a fluid processor was provided within the waste receptacle 22, wherein the fluid processor/reaction agent is spaced apart from the bottom wall of the receiver body (14, of 12), wherein the fluid processor/reaction agent is spaced apart from bottom wall (14) by the thickness of the bottom of receptacle (22, Figure 1 of Iske) were applied, in order to process waste fluids for disposal, as taught by Maness (col. 13, ll. 20-37).
Conclusion
/King M Chu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735