DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The Drawings filed 13 May 2025 are approved by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner and an initialed copy is attached.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of the certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Citation Notation
The following citations are made for the convenience of the reader:
Citations to PG publications are made to paragraph number under the ¶ format. Citations to other publications made under the format “ col 1/2” or pp 1 are directed to column and line number or to a page - whichever is appropriate. It is noted that any reference to a figure or a table is also directed to any accompanying text in the specification or the document. Notwithstanding those citations, the reference(s) is (are) relied upon for the teachings as a whole.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3 and 8-9 are objected to because of the following informalities: the reference discrepancy between “the flakes” and “the plurality of flakes” throughout the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 18 August 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 18 August 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-6, 8 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. US-12331410-B2. Claims 2-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10-16 of U.S. Patent No. US-12129460-B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant discloses similar dehydrogenated flakes with similar structural and Raman spectra patterns – thus it would have been well within the purview of a skilled artisan to select and optimize the known variables to achieve a similar end-product for the benefit of gain of enhancing the conductivity and stability. Further, there is no evidence nor teaching that the selection and optimization of the composition to arrive at the known electrode would be repugnant to a skilled artisan.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the dehydrogenated graphite" in lines 5 and 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 3-9 are dependent on claim 2 thus inherit the same deficiency.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the coefficient of determination" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Examiner’s remarks:
The “dehydrogenated” limitation in independent claim 2 is construed as encompassing any level of dehydrogenation (such as a partial dehydrogenation).
Regarding the claimed property and/or spectroscopy values such as the defect density and the coefficient of determination in the claims, if a prior art reference teaches the substantially identical structure/material/product, it would be reasonable that the same function, spectroscopy and/property would be imparted or exhibited. See MPEP 2112.01.
Claim(s) 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nazarpour (US20180155520, cited in the IDS).
Claims 2-3 and 8: Nazarpour discloses an electrode with (a) a plurality of graphite/graphene flakes with at least one flake having 2-10 layers and a particle size greater than 10 microns such as 11-25 microns, (b) a defect density based on a range of G/D ratios such as 20, (c) the sp2 and sp3 features, (d) the non-hydrogen functional group, (e) the dehydrogenation feature and (f) various end-products such as electrodes (abs, Figs 3-5 with accompanying text, and ¶1-3, 35-38, 56-63, 65-74, 86-88, 108). The Nazarpour reference discloses the claimed invention with various end-product applications comprising the composition but does not disclose the claimed electrode with the composition with enough specificity to anticipate the instant invention. Nevertheless, given that Nazarpour discloses the electrode as an existing end-product, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the chemical art at the time of the invention to apply the claimed composition to the claimed electrode end-product since Nazarpour teaches both the composition and the electrode. Here, Nazarpour discloses both the claimed composition and electrode and there is no evidence nor teaching that the selection of the application of the composition to arrive at the known electrode would be repugnant to a skilled artisan. Further, obviousness only requires a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Claim 4: Nazarpour discloses a flake with a dimension greater than 10 microns (¶35, 40, 55-61, 108 and Figs 3 and 4 with accompanying text).
Claims 5-7 and 9: Nazarpour disclose bi-layers flakes, the wrinkling feature, the functionalization and a range of D/G ratios (Fig 3 with accompanying text and ¶65-74, 86-88, 108).
Claim(s) 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US-20140202744-A1, cited in the IDS).
Claims 2-3 and 8-9: Kobayashi discloses a conductive composition for electrodes with (a) a plurality of graphite/graphene flakes with at least one flake having a thickness of less than 100 nm and a size greater than 150 nm, (b) a defect density based on a range of G/D ratio greater than 1.8 which corresponds to a D/G ratio of less than 0.55, (c) the sp2 and sp3 features and (d) the crosslinking pattern with mutual bonding schematic (abs, Fig 2 with accompanying text, and ¶1, 9-11, 30-35 and examples). The Kobayashi reference discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the claimed D/G ratio and structural ranges. Given that the Kobayashi reference discloses ratios and ranges that overlap with the presently claimed ratios and ranges, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize any of the taught ratios and ranges, including those presently claimed, to obtain a suitable composition. According to MPEP 2131.03 and MPEP 2144.05, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select the portion of the prior art's range which is within the range of applicant's claims because it has been held to be obvious to select a value in a known range by optimization for the best results. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the D/G and structural variables with the benefit gain of enhancing the conductivity and stability parameters (¶8). Further, obviousness only requires a reasonable expectation of success and there is no evidence nor teaching that the selection or optimization of the claimed components would be repugnant to a skilled artisan.
Claim 4: Kobayashi discloses a flake with a dimension greater than 150 nm such as in the micrometer ranges (¶9-11 and Fig 2 with accompanying text).
Claims 5-7: Kobayashi disclose flakes with a thickness of less than 100 nm, the wrinkling feature and a range of D/G ratios (Fig 2 with accompanying text and ¶9-11, 30-35).
Conclusion
/TRI V NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764