DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to application filed on 5/13/25, in which Claims 1-20 are presented for examination of which Claims 1, 14 and 18 are in independent form.
Drawings
Figures 1 and 9 are objected to, please include suitable descriptive legends as required by CFR 1.84 (o).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Please include “evacuation” into the title.
Claim Objections
Claim 15, line 5, has a period at the end of the line, should it be a comma or a semicolon?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a process for organizing human activity or mental process without adding significantly more. The independent Claims 1 and 14 recite:
receive evacuation data and geographical evacuation zone data for a geographical evacuation zone from the one or more external data sources (human activity: share news of natural disaster in given region);
determine as an eligibility determination that the vehicle is one of one or more eligible vehicles within the geographical evacuation zone based on the one or more vehicle sensors (human activity: determine vehicle is covered on insurance plan); and
transmit the notification to the driver of the vehicle via the notification feature of available evacuation funds based on the eligibility determination (human activity: communicate coverage to vehicle owner).
Independent Claim 18 recites:
request, access to driver financial information associated with the driver of the vehicle (human activity: request access to financial information for a driver looking for quote);
receive, from the driver and via the notification feature, permission to access the driver financial information for a set time period (human activity: driver consents to share information on a given day);
access the driver financial information during the set time period (human activity: driver consents to share information); and
generate an insurance quote based on a plurality of metrics associated with the driver financial information during the set time period (human activity: driver consents to share information on that day); and
transmit the notification of the insurance quote to the driver of the vehicle via the notification feature (human activity: text driver a quote).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there is no particular machine, particular transformation and no meaningful limitations that would amount to significantly more. The claims do not include additional elements.
MPEP 2106.05(e) states that the claim should add meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment to transform the judicial exception into patent-eligible subject matter. MPEP 2106.05(h) states that limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
The requesting, receiving, accessing and determining steps recite an abstract idea.
The generating and transmitting steps recite additional elements. The generating and transmitting limitations are a mere insignificant extra solution activity that does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The recited notification feature, external data source, vehicle sensor, processor and memory, are generic computer components to the abstract idea which is merely applying an abstract idea “with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea”.
The combination of the recited generating, transmitting and computer limitations would not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as it is merely using generic computer components to which the idea is applied to.
The last analysis regarding does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception is similar to the last analysis except that well-understood, routine and conventional devices are consider as part of the analysis. The generating and transmitting limitations are merely insignificant extra solution activity so this doesn’t amount to significantly more. The recited notification feature, external data source, vehicle sensor, processor and memory are generic computer components that the abstract idea is applied to, and again the mere applying of an abstract idea “with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea” does not amount to significantly more. The combination of the recited receiving and computer limitations does not amount to significantly more as it is an application to generic computer components to which the idea is applied to.
Dependent Claims 2-13, 15-17 and 19-20 recite further human activity and hence do not add any particular machine, particular transformation or meaningful limitations that would amount to significantly more and therefore they are rejected as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko (WO 2022149451 A1) in view of Foladare et al. (Foladare; US 20120010906 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kaneko discloses a
one or more user terminals UT1 to UTn are both a browser or a mailer for transmitting/receiving information data to / from the evacuees support server SV1 and a position sensor using, for example, GPS (Global Positioning System)) associated with the vehicle; one or more external data sources remote from the vehicle (Page 2 traffic information server));
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the notification feature, the one or more vehicle sensors, and the one or more external data sources (Page 3 The evacuee support server SV1 is composed of a server computer arranged on the Web or the cloud, for example, and includes a control unit 1 using a hardware processor such as a central processing unit (CPU));
a memory communicatively coupled to the at least one processor (Page 3); and
one or more machine readable instructions stored in the memory that cause the vehicle notification system to perform at least the following when executed by the at least one processor:
receive evacuation data (Abstract emergency, position information for evacuees among a plurality of users, and information indicating an expected evacuation period, are acquired) and geographical evacuation zone data for a geographical evacuation zone (Page 7 Further, in step S24, the schedule information correction processing unit 14 acquires road traffic information of the target area including the evacuation center from the traffic information server SV2…In addition to road traffic information, for example, weather information of the target area is acquired from a server that provides weather information) from the one or more external data sources (Page 2 traffic information server);
determine as an eligibility determination that the user is one of one or more eligible users within the geographical evacuation zone(Page 7 target area) based on the one or more user terminals UT1 to UTn are both a browser or a mailer for transmitting/receiving information data to / from the evacuees support server SV1 and a position sensor using, for example, GPS (Global Positioning System) that measures the position of the own terminal. And prepare. The user terminals UT1 to UTn evacuate the user's vital information measured by the own terminal or the user's vital information measured by another measuring device such as a blood pressure monitor using the above browser as the vital information during evacuation. It also has a function of transmitting to the person support server SV1); and
transmit the notification to the user of the vehicle via the notification feature of available evacuation funds based on the eligibility determination (Page 3 terminal FS used by financial institutions such as insurance companies consists of, for example, a personal computer, and when an inquiry about the availability of disaster compensation insurance subscribed to by an evacuee is received from the evacuee support server SV1, insurance is provided).
Kaneko teaches compensation provided to a user based on location information related to an evacuation situation (Abstract emergency, position information for evacuees among a plurality of users, and information indicating an expected evacuation period, are acquired), but doesn’t teach that the user’s terminal is a vehicle, but a laptop or smartphone (Page 2).
In the same field of endeavor, Foladare discloses a method for providing a customer with a competitive insurance quote from an insurance carrier includes collecting driving information relating to a customer for a time period, generating a driving report for the time period, providing the driving report to at least two potential insurance carriers, requesting insurance bids from the potential insurance carriers, and sending at least one of the insurance bids to the customer.
Foladare discloses a vehicle notification system with a notification feature communicatively coupled to a vehicle to notify a driver of the vehicle of a notification via the vehicle notification system ([0016] feedback mechanism may also include a heads-up display whereby the feedback is projected onto the drivers windshield or dash, a mobile phone message, an audio alert, or any combination of the foregoing) and vehicle sensor ([0006] telematics unit for use in providing competitive insurance quotes, including a driver authentication module to identify the current driver of a vehicle, an interface to a GPS system for receiving location information, a vehicle interface for collecting vehicle status data relating to one of the vehicle's driving parameters or maintenance parameters, an interface to a wireless network configured to transmit information including the identity of the driver, the vehicle's location history and the vehicle status data history to a plurality of insurers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaneko with Foladare using vehicle notification and sensors in order to efficiently provide vital vehicle data to an insurer to determine accurate quotes and more cost effective automobile insurance, as suggested by Foladare ([0002]).
Regarding Claim 2, Kaneko discloses a location of the vehicle is determined for the eligibility determination through one or more sensors indicative of at least one of location information, evacuation data, or geographical zone data (Abstract), the one or more sensors comprising the one or more vehicle sensors, the one or more external data sources, or combinations thereof, the one or more sensors to determine the location
Foladare discloses sensors to determine the location of the vehicle further comprising at least one of: a global positioning system of the vehicle ([0006] telematics unit for use in providing competitive insurance quotes, including a driver authentication module to identify the current driver of a vehicle, an interface to a GPS system for receiving location information).
Regarding Claim 5, Foladare discloses the one or more machine readable instructions cause the vehicle notification system to further perform at least the following when executed by the at least one processor: determine the vehicle is one of the one or more eligible vehicles within the geographical evacuation zone based on (i) location information from the one or more vehicle sensors ([0006]), (ii) the one or more external data sources comprising insurance coverage information for the vehicle, or (iii) combinations thereof.
Regarding Claim 7, Kaneko discloses the one or more machine readable instructions cause the vehicle notification system to further perform at least the following when executed by the at least one processor: generate one or more pre-approved evacuation expenses as part of the available evacuation funds (Abstract provides required supplies).
Regarding Claim 14, Kaneko (WO 2022149451 A1) discloses a method (Abstract) comprising:
receiving evacuation data (Abstract emergency, position information for evacuees among a plurality of users, and information indicating an expected evacuation period, are acquired) and geographical evacuation zone data for a geographical evacuation zone (Page 7 Further, in step S24, the schedule information correction processing unit 14 acquires road traffic information of the target area including the evacuation center from the traffic information server SV2…In addition to road traffic information, for example, weather information of the target area is acquired from a server that provides weather information) from one or more external data sources remote from a vehicle (Page 2 traffic information server);
determining as an eligibility determination that the user (Page 5 The transport instruction transmission processing unit 15 inquires of the terminal FS of a financial institution such as an insurance company whether or not the target evacuees have accident compensation insurance, and receives the response information to the target) is one of one or more eligible users within the geographical evacuation zone (Page 7 target area) based on one or more user terminals UT1 to UTn are both a browser or a mailer for transmitting/receiving information data to / from the evacuees support server SV1 and a position sensor using, for example, GPS (Global Positioning System) that measures the position of the own terminal. And prepare. The user terminals UT1 to UTn evacuate the user's vital information measured by the own terminal or the user's vital information measured by another measuring device such as a blood pressure monitor using the above browser as the vital information during evacuation. It also has a function of transmitting to the person support server SV1); and
transmitting a notification to a user of the vehicle via a notification feature communicatively coupled to the vehicle of available evacuation funds based on the eligibility determination (Page 3 terminal FS used by financial institutions such as insurance companies consists of, for example, a personal computer, and when an inquiry about the availability of disaster compensation insurance subscribed to by an evacuee is received from the evacuee support server SV1, insurance is provided), but doesn’t teach that the sensor is a vehicle sensor.
Kaneko teaches compensation provided to a user based on location information related to an evacuation situation (Abstract emergency, position information for evacuees among a plurality of users, and information indicating an expected evacuation period, are acquired), but doesn’t teach that the user’s terminal is a vehicle, but a laptop or smartphone (Page 2).
Foladare discloses a vehicle sensor ([0006] telematics unit for use in providing competitive insurance quotes, including a driver authentication module to identify the current driver of a vehicle, an interface to a GPS system for receiving location information, a vehicle interface for collecting vehicle status data relating to one of the vehicle's driving parameters or maintenance parameters, an interface to a wireless network configured to transmit information including the identity of the driver, the vehicle's location history and the vehicle status data history to a plurality of insurers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaneko with Foladare using a vehicle sensor in order to efficiently provide vital vehicle data to insurer to determine accurate quotes and more cost effective automobile insurance, as suggested by Foladare ([0002]).
Regarding Claim 18, Kaneko (WO 2022149451 A1) discloses a vehicle notification system (Abstract), the vehicle notification system comprising:
a notification feature communicatively coupled to a vehicle to notify a driver of the vehicle of a notification via the vehicle notification system (Page 2 User terminals UT1 to UTn consist of information communication terminals such as personal computers, tablet terminals, smartphones, and wearable terminals used by residents living in the service area or employees working in the workplace);
one or more a position sensor using, for example, GPS (Global Positioning System) that measures the position of the own terminal);
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the notification feature, the one or more vehicle sensors, and the one or more external data sources (Page 3 The evacuee support server SV1 is composed of a server computer arranged on the Web or the cloud, for example, and includes a control unit 1 using a hardware processor such as a central processing unit (CPU));
a memory communicatively coupled to the at least one processor (Page 3); and
one or more machine readable instructions stored in the memory that cause the vehicle notification system to perform at least the following when executed by the at least one processor:
request, via the notification feature, access to driver financial information associated with the driver of the vehicle (Page 5 The evacuees information acquisition processing unit 12 communicates the evacuees information sent from the user terminals UT1 to UTn when the evacuees evacuate and receive the evacuation status report request from the user terminals UT1 to UTn.);
receive, from the driver and via the notification feature, permission to access the driver financial information the user terminals UT1 to UTn manually input their own attribute information and necessary material information, and finally input normal time vital information for authentication such as a fingerprint);
access the driver financial information during thethe users US1 to US5 first access the evacuees support server SV1 with a browser on their own user terminals UT1 to UTn,); and
generate an insurance quote based on a plurality of metrics associated with the driver financial information during the Based on the attribute information of the evacuees, the financial institution is inquired about whether or not the evacuees can use the funds or insurance, and an approval process for receiving a response from the financial institution to the inquiries is further provided); and
transmit the notification of the insurance quote to the driver of the vehicle via the notification feature (Page 11 M4: When the transportation instruction processing receives a reply from the financial institution to approve the use of the funds or insurance, the transportation instruction information is transmitted to the distribution terminal), but doesn’t specify a vehicle sensor or set time.
Foladare discloses a vehicle sensor ([0006] telematics unit for use in providing competitive insurance quotes, including a driver authentication module to identify the current driver of a vehicle, an interface to a GPS system for receiving location information, a vehicle interface for collecting vehicle status data relating to one of the vehicle's driving parameters or maintenance parameters, an interface to a wireless network configured to transmit information including the identity of the driver, the vehicle's location history and the vehicle status data history to a plurality of insurers). Foladare teaches a set time (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaneko with Foladare using a vehicle sensor and set time in order to efficiently provide vital vehicle data to insurer to determine accurate quotes and more cost effective automobile insurance, as suggested by Foladare ([0002]).
Claims 3-4, 6, 8-13, 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko and Foladare, further in view of Kang (US 20250260660 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Kaneko discloses the one or more machine readable instructions cause the vehicle notification system to further perform at least the following when executed by the at least one processor: identifying,
In the same field of endeavor, Kang discloses a computer system for analyzing evacuation order messages. The computer system includes a rules engine and processor programmed to: detect an evacuation order message associated with an evacuation authority, parse the evacuation order message to determine one or more endpoints of an evacuation area identified in the evacuation order message, determine a geographic area between the one or more endpoints, the geographic area defining the evacuation area, identify, by applying the rules engine, a property location located within the evacuation area, determine, by applying the rules engine, that a parametric insurance policy associated with the property location is triggered, and electronically transmit a notification message to an insured party associated with the parametric insurance policy notifying the party that funds associated with the insurance policy have been transferred. Kang discloses using an artificial intelligence neural network ([0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaneko with Kang using AI in order to avoid inefficiencies, encumbrances, ineffectiveness, and other drawbacks, as suggested by Kang ([0005]).
Regarding Claim 4, Kang discloses the evacuation data and geographical evacuation zone data for the geographical evacuation zone comprises data indicative of a mandatory evacuation associated with the geographical evacuation zone ([0025]).
Regarding Claim 6, Foladare discloses the one or more machine readable instructions cause the vehicle notification system to further perform at least the following when executed by the at least one processor: transmit the notification to the driver via a first type of the notification feature, the notification feature comprising one or more of a speaker feature, a lighting feature, an augmented reality display of the vehicle, a graphical user interface, or combinations thereof ([0016] feedback mechanism may also include a heads-up display whereby the feedback is projected onto the drivers windshield or dash, a mobile phone message, an audio alert, or any combination of the foregoing); and
Kang teaches receiving an acceptance of the available evacuation funds offered via the notification transmitted to the driver through a second type of the notification feature ([0045] the notification message sent to the insured parties notifying them of the transfer of funds and/or a message prompting funds to be distributed to a financial account, or digital wallet).
7>Regarding Claim 8, Kang discloses the one or more pre-approved evacuation expenses comprise expenses associated with gasoline for the vehicle, lodging for the driver, groceries, meals, or combinations thereof ([0052] providing users with funds needed to evacuate (e.g., the users may be able to use funds to acquire transportation such as rent a car, pay for gas, bus or flight fare, or to purchase hotels)).
7>Regarding Claim 9, Kang discloses the one or more machine readable instructions cause the vehicle notification system to further perform at least the following when executed by the at least one processor: generate one or more pre-approved evacuation routes for the driver of the vehicle, wherein the one or more pre-approved evacuation expenses are available on the one or more pre-approved evacuation routes; and transmit the one or more pre-approved evacuation expenses and the one or more pre-approved evacuation routes along with an evacuation plan to the driver prior to an evacuation ([0041] the system computer device may determine an evacuation travel distance, an evacuation travel route, an evacuation travel mode, a travel cost, and/or a travel time; [0052] providing users with funds needed to evacuate (e.g., the users may be able to use funds to acquire transportation such as rent a car, pay for gas, bus or flight fare, or to purchase hotels)).
7>Regarding Claim 10, Kang discloses the one or more machine readable instructions cause the vehicle notification system to further perform at least the following when executed by the at least one processor: determine as an evacuation expense determination when the driver of the vehicle has incurred an expense as one of the one or more pre-approved evacuation expenses in furtherance of evacuation; and approve fund distribution to the driver of the vehicle upon the evacuation expense determination ([0041], [0052]).
Regarding Claim 11, Kang discloses the one or more machine readable instructions cause the vehicle notification system to further perform at least the following when executed by the at least one processor: determine as an evacuation expense determination when the driver of the vehicle has incurred an expense in furtherance of evacuation; and approve fund distribution to the driver of the vehicle upon the evacuation expense determination ([0041], [0052]).
11>Regarding Claim 12, Kang discloses the one or more machine readable instructions cause the vehicle notification system to further perform at least the following when executed by the at least one processor: electronically distribute funds upon approval to the driver of the vehicle in real-time to an associated bank account or digital wallet of the driver ([0041], [0052], [0045] the notification message sent to the insured parties notifying them of the transfer of funds and/or a message prompting funds to be distributed to a financial account, or digital wallet).
11>Regarding Claim 13, Kang discloses the one or more machine readable instructions cause the vehicle notification system to further perform at least the following when executed by the at least one processor: electronically distribute funds upon approval to the driver of the vehicle to an associated bank account or digital wallet of the driver upon a determination based on the one or more vehicle sensors that the vehicle is outside the geographical evacuation zone.
([0041], [0045], [0052]).
Regarding Claim 15, Foladare discloses: determining the vehicle is one of the one or more eligible vehicles within the geographical evacuation zone based on (i) location information from the one or more vehicle sensors ([0006]), (ii) the one or more external data sources comprising insurance coverage information for the vehicle, or (iii) combinations thereof. transmitting the notification to the driver via a first type of the notification feature, the notification feature comprising one or more of a speaker feature, a lighting feature, an augmented reality display of the vehicle, a graphical user interface, or combinations thereof ([0016] feedback mechanism may also include a heads-up display whereby the feedback is projected onto the drivers windshield or dash, a mobile phone message, an audio alert, or any combination of the foregoing); and
Kang teaches receiving an acceptance of the available evacuation funds offered via the notification transmitted to the driver through a second type of the notification feature ([0045] the notification message sent to the insured parties notifying them of the transfer of funds and/or a message prompting funds to be distributed to a financial account, or digital wallet).
Regarding Claim 16, Kang discloses: determining as an evacuation expense determination when the driver of the vehicle has incurred an expense in furtherance of evacuation; and approving fund distribution to the driver of the vehicle upon the evacuation expense determination ([0041], [0052]).
16>Regarding Claim 17, Kang discloses electronically distributing funds upon approval to the driver of the vehicle in real-time to an associated bank account or digital wallet of the driver. ([0041], [0052], [0045] the notification message sent to the insured parties notifying them of the transfer of funds and/or a message prompting funds to be distributed to a financial account, or digital wallet).
Regarding Claim 19, Foladare discloses the one or more machine readable instructions cause the vehicle notification system to further perform at least the following when executed by the at least one processor: transmit the notification to the driver via a first type of the notification feature, the notification feature comprising one or more of a speaker feature, a microphone feature, a lighting feature, an augmented reality display of the vehicle, a graphical user interface, or combinations thereof ([0016] feedback mechanism may also include a heads-up display whereby the feedback is projected onto the drivers windshield or dash, a mobile phone message, an audio alert, or any combination of the foregoing).
Kang teaches receive an acceptance of the insurance quote offered via the notification transmitted to the driver through a second type of the notification feature, wherein the second type of the notification feature is one of the same or different from the first type of the notification feature ([0045] the notification message sent to the insured parties notifying them of the transfer of funds and/or a message prompting funds to be distributed to a financial account, or digital wallet).
Regarding Claim 20, Kang discloses the driver financial information comprises a driver bank account associated with the driver of the vehicle (ACCOUTN), and the plurality of metrics are indicative of an ability of the driver to pay the insurance quote and comprise: an account number; a checking account balance; a savings account balance; a transaction history; account fees; one or more credit card accounts; an account status or combinations thereof ([0041], [0052], [0045] notification message sent to insured parties notifying them of the transfer of funds and/or a message prompting funds to be distributed to a financial account, or digital wallet).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. MATSUSHITA et al. (Matsushita; US 20210016799 A1) discloses a vehicle controller device including: a communication section configured to receive operation information to operate a vehicle from an operation device located externally to the vehicle; acquire peripheral information regarding a periphery of the vehicle from a peripheral information detection section; generate a travel plan for the vehicle based on the peripheral information of the vehicle; control autonomous driving in which the vehicle travels based on the generated travel plan and also control remote driving in which the vehicle travels based on the received operation information; predict that a compromised state in which autonomous driving of the vehicle becomes compromised will arise based on environmental information including meteorological information received by the communication section; and notify the operation device of the compromised state in a case in which the compromised state has been predicted to arise.
b. MANIWA et al. (Maniwa; US 20240372942 A1) discloses a notification system includes a mobile terminal configured to receive, and to perform notification of, notification information regarding a vehicle, and a vehicle control device that is configured to generate the notification information for a driver of the vehicle, and to transmit the notification information to the mobile terminal, in which the vehicle control device includes one or more processors configured to perform control in which notification of the notification information is made to the mobile terminal, while varying a range of the mobile terminal that is controllable by the driver until a predetermined condition is satisfied, in accordance with an urgency of the notification information.
c. Hardy (US 20200167730 A1) teaches a parametric catastrophe insurance method including the steps of electronically automated: Receiving of an Application including submission of verifiable documentation by the applicant, Calculation of Premium based on location and coverage limit sought, applicant Premium Payment and Retrieval of insurance documentation by the policy holder confirming placement of cover for an insurance policy covering a catastrophe in a geographic region. The method includes the step of electronically confirming settlement to the policy owner responsive to the catastrophe for that geographic region. Advantageously, the claim settlement is confirmed responsive to the catastrophe being declared in the geographic region so that settlement can be made immediately without the need for the policy holder lodging a claim or an assessor performing an assessment and settlement to occur, which otherwise introduces undesirable delay.
/MARK S RUSHING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689