DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/13/2025, 08/26/2025 and 02/18/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1, 6, 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukashima et al. (US 2020/0179078 A1) in view of Hoeg et al. (US 2006/0084840 A1).
8. With reference to claim 1, Tsukashima teaches A surgical method, comprising: inserting an access device into a patient one of laterally or posterolaterally relative to a vertebra of the patient; (“The system and method are illustrated in relation to spinal surgery. The system and method may be used in brain surgery and other surgeries.” [0006] “FIG. 1 illustrates a patient 1 with target tissue 2 proximate the spine 3 that necessitates surgical intervention. A cannula 4 has been inserted through a surgical opening, with the distal end of the cannula proximate target tissue on the spine. The target tissue may be a vertebral disc, bones of the spine, or other tissue or a foreign object.” [0011] “a surgeon will insert the distal end 6d of the cannula tube into the body of a patient, through a surgical opening (or a natural opening), to place the distal end proximate the target tissue 2 and the tissue portion 10 to be treated, inspected, etc.” [0025]) Tsukashima also teaches receiving an output view from a camera placed within a channel of the access device; (A camera 5 is mounted on the proximal rim of the cannula, with a portion of the camera overhanging the rim of the cannula and disposed over the lumen of the cannula, and is operable to obtain video or still images of the blood mass or other tissue at the distal end of the cannula. The cannula may comprise a cannula tube 6 and a mounting structure 7 may be used to secure the camera to the proximal end 6p of the cannula, to provide a view through the lumen 8 of the cannula tube. … The image display system is operated to display the image obtained by the camera, and shows an image of the body tissue on the display screen in an initial preferred orientation. (The image display system comprises the display screen 11 and an image control system operable to receive image signals from the camera, receive position signals from the sensors, and transmit image data to the display screen, rotated as directed by the user).” [0011-0012] “The surgeon will initially place the camera at a convenient radial location relative to the opening, the patient's position and the surgeon's stance. The surgeon will provide input to the image control system through an input means, indicating that this radial position is a first radial position, and the image control system will then display an image of the surgical field in an initial orientation corresponding to the first radial position on the display screen.” [0025]) Tsukashima further teaches showing on a display the output view from the camera and indication of camera radial position around the access device; (“The sensor is operable to provide a signal to the image control system corresponding to motion of the camera assembly, and the image control system is configured to receive input from a user indicating that the camera is in a first radial position (corresponding, for example, to an initial orientation or an initial preferred orientation) and display an image of the surgical field in a first orientation corresponding to the first radial position on the display screen, and thereafter receive signals corresponding to motion of the camera assembly, and determine the radial position of the camera relative to the first radial position, and, based on this determination, rotate the image presented on the display screen to present an image in the initial orientation or an initial preferred orientation.” [0016]) Tsukashima teaches receiving an input of a desired transformation of the output view based on user perspective of the surgical site; and showing on a display a transformed output view from the camera based on the desired transformation and an updated indication of camera radial position based on the desired transformation. (“an image of the target tissue 2 appears within the annular image of the inside wall of the cannula, and the tissue portion 10 appears at the top of the screen, because it is furthest from the surgeon and the surgeon has selected this as the preferred initial orientation. An image of the surgical tool 9 also appears on the display screen. However, due to the position of the camera, the surgeon may not be able to attack the tissue portion with full confidence, and may not be able to clearly see the tissue to be approached due to the presence of the proximal portions of the tool in the field of view which block the view of the tissue portion 10 of concern. To address this, the surgeon may rotate the camera about an axis of the cannula tube (either by rotating the entire cannula and camera assembly or rotating the camera about the cannula tube, without rotating the camera tube).” [0012] “If the surgeon prefers a different initial preferred orientation, the surgeon may provide input to the image control system to rotate the image (maintaining the camera in its initial radial position) to a desired initial preferred orientation, and provide input to the system indicating that the resultant orientation of the image is the initial preferred orientation. Thereafter, the surgeon may operate the image control system to receive input from the sensors which are indicative of the radial position of the camera (vis-à-vis the initial position), and, when desired to accommodate passage of tools, obtain a view otherwise blocked by tools, etc., rotate the camera to a new position, and operate the image control system to determine the extent of the physical rotation of the camera about the axis of the cannula, while operating the image control system to rotate the displayed image to maintain the image in the preferred initial orientation. In this description, the initial orientation refers to the image obtained upon first placement of the cannula. The initial preferred orientation is the image that the surgeon prefers to work with, and uses the system to set a desired up-down orientation. It could be established by initial placement of the cannula (it could be the initial orientation), or it could be established after initial placement with the system rotating the image as desired by the user to display the initial preferred orientation on the display screen.” [0025])
Tsukashima does not explicitly teach a graphical indication. This is what Hoeg teaches. (“A video display 44 is used to provide the endoscopic image 45 along with an upright direction indicator 46 to the user, as shown in FIG. 4. The indicator 46 is in this embodiment a direction arrow, but it could be any type of graphic object such as a dot or a line. An optional vertical stripe 48 indicates the physical top of the display 44 and provides a reference point for rotating the camera. If the user wants to arrange the endoscopic image 45 such that its up-direction is aligned with the up-direction of the display 44, he can rotate the camera (or image itself if the system has some other means of image rotation) until the indicator 46 lines up with the stripe 48.” [0037]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoeg into Tsukashima, in order to improve the surgeon's ability to understand and control image orientation.
9. With reference to claim 6, Tsukashima teaches the input is received using a control coupled to the camera. (“FIG. 1 illustrates a patient 1 with target tissue 2 proximate the spine 3 that necessitates surgical intervention. A cannula 4 has been inserted through a surgical opening, with the distal end of the cannula proximate target tissue on the spine. The target tissue may be a vertebral disc, bones of the spine, or other tissue or a foreign object. A camera 5 is mounted on the proximal rim of the cannula, with a portion of the camera overhanging the rim of the cannula and disposed over the lumen of the cannula, and is operable to obtain video or still images of the blood mass or other tissue at the distal end of the cannula. …The image display system comprises the display screen 11 and an image control system operable to receive image signals from the camera, receive position signals from the sensors, and transmit image data to the display screen, rotated as directed by the user.” [0011-0012] “The sensor is operable to provide a signal to the image control system corresponding to motion of the camera assembly, and the image control system is configured to receive input from a user indicating that the camera is in a first radial position (corresponding, for example, to an initial orientation or an initial preferred orientation) and display an image of the surgical field in a first orientation corresponding to the first radial position on the display screen,” [0016] “All of the user input described can be provide through an interface, such as a dialog box in the onscreen interface, soft key provided on the display along with a keyboard, or a physical switch or button on the control system, or other input means.” [0025])
10. With reference to claim 7, Tsukashima teaches the control is spaced apart from the camera and the display. (“FIG. 1 illustrates a patient 1 with target tissue 2 proximate the spine 3 that necessitates surgical intervention. A cannula 4 has been inserted through a surgical opening, with the distal end of the cannula proximate target tissue on the spine. The target tissue may be a vertebral disc, bones of the spine, or other tissue or a foreign object. A camera 5 is mounted on the proximal rim of the cannula, with a portion of the camera overhanging the rim of the cannula and disposed over the lumen of the cannula, and is operable to obtain video or still images of the blood mass or other tissue at the distal end of the cannula. …The image display system comprises the display screen 11 and an image control system operable to receive image signals from the camera, receive position signals from the sensors, and transmit image data to the display screen, rotated as directed by the user.” [0011-0012] “The sensor is operable to provide a signal to the image control system corresponding to motion of the camera assembly, and the image control system is configured to receive input from a user indicating that the camera is in a first radial position (corresponding, for example, to an initial orientation or an initial preferred orientation) and display an image of the surgical field in a first orientation corresponding to the first radial position on the display screen,” [0016] “All of the user input described can be provide through an interface, such as a dialog box in the onscreen interface, soft key provided on the display along with a keyboard, or a physical switch or button on the control system, or other input means.” [0025])
11. With reference to claim 11, Tsukashima teaches receiving a second input of camera position from a user based on repositioning of the camera; and showing on the display the output view from the camera and an updated indication of camera position based on the second input of camera position. (“The surgeon will initially place the camera at a convenient radial location relative to the opening, the patient's position and the surgeon's stance. The surgeon will provide input to the image control system through an input means, indicating that this radial position is a first radial position, and the image control system will then display an image of the surgical field in an initial orientation corresponding to the first radial position on the display screen. If the surgeon is satisfied with this image, the surgeon will provide input to the image control system through an input means indicating that this is an initial preferred orientation. If the surgeon prefers a different initial preferred orientation, the surgeon may provide input to the image control system to rotate the image (maintaining the camera in its initial radial position) to a desired initial preferred orientation, and provide input to the system indicating that the resultant orientation of the image is the initial preferred orientation. Thereafter, the surgeon may operate the image control system to receive input from the sensors which are indicative of the radial position of the camera (vis-à-vis the initial position), and, when desired to accommodate passage of tools, obtain a view otherwise blocked by tools, etc., rotate the camera to a new position, and operate the image control system to determine the extent of the physical rotation of the camera about the axis of the cannula, while operating the image control system to rotate the displayed image to maintain the image in the preferred initial orientation. In this description, the initial orientation refers to the image obtained upon first placement of the cannula. The initial preferred orientation is the image that the surgeon prefers to work with, and uses the system to set a desired up-down orientation. It could be established by initial placement of the cannula (it could be the initial orientation), or it could be established after initial placement with the system rotating the image as desired by the user to display the initial preferred orientation on the display screen.” [0025])
12. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukashima et al. (US 2020/0179078 A1) and Hoeg et al. (US 2006/0084840 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Austin et al. (US 2018/0368656 A1).
13. With reference to claim 2, the combination of Tsukashima and Hoeg does not explicitly teach the display includes an augmented reality display. This is what Austin teaches (“Although the virtual display has been described in the context of the auxiliary video cameras 18, other cameras, e.g., virtual reality input cameras, possibly in addition to the auxiliary video cameras 18 may be used. These cameras may be disposed on the viewing platform 9 or elsewhere, such as the third arm 7b. As described herein the displays may provide 3D thus the virtual reality interface may appear in 3D.” [1265] “FIG. 24 shows an example headset or head mounted display that can be used to view images from a mobile display device (e.g., an Oculus Virtual Reality type display), alone or in combination with other images from other displays or devices.” [1498] “The display unit 6000 can include camera controls integrated with a handle as described herein, as well as a forehead rest 6110 and a light shield visor 6120 that reduces ambient light. The display unit 600 can be used to present 3D, stereo, and mixed reality views to the user.” [1816]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Austin into the combination of Tsukashima and Hoeg, in order to provide surgical information in the surgeon's field of view and potentially reduce the need to look away from the surgical site.
14. Claim(s) 3 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukashima et al. (US 2020/0179078 A1) and Hoeg et al. (US 2006/0084840 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hyttinen et al. (US 2019/0149746 A1).
15. With reference to claim 3, the combination of Tsukashima and Hoeg does not explicitly teach the input is received at a second display. This is what Hyttinen teaches (“The system further relates to providing a user interface at the user device for viewing and selecting a video (a camera view associated with a particular camera) from the plurality of cameras of the camera setup. Specifically, the user interface presents the mesh of graphical elements, associated with the directions and distances (spatial positions) of the plurality of cameras with respect to each other and the subject. Each graphical element indicates a camera view (for an active video) that can be seen from a particular camera associated with a particular position. Therefore, by selecting a specific graphical element on the display of the user device, a corresponding camera view can be selected.” [0047] “the determined relative positions of the at least first, second and third camera of the plurality of cameras is shown in the first and second user devices. In an embodiment, if a user is not satisfied with the positions, then graphical elements can be dragged and dropped to appropriate relative positions using the user interface of the user device. Alternatively, if the user agrees with the positions, then the videos of the subject can be recorded using the plurality of cameras thereafter. Specifically, in such instance, the user sends start recording command substantially simultaneously to each of the plurality of cameras and thereafter receives recorded videos (or in real time receives and stores the streamed videos from the plurality of cameras). Specifically, each of the plurality of cameras comprises an application installed therein which is operable to start recording (and storing or streaming content to target device/server) the video substantially at the same time as other cameras. The server has a file or a set of files for reproducing videos from multiple angles. The recorded videos can further be viewed with the user interface of the first and second user devices.” [0098]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hyttinen into Austin, in order to efficiently manage a video of a camera setup having multiple cameras.
16. With reference to claim 8, the combination of Tsukashima and Hoeg does not explicitly teach the indication of camera position is shown temporarily in connection with receiving the input of camera position. This is what Hyttinen teaches (“The system further relates to providing a user interface at the user device for viewing and selecting a video (a camera view associated with a particular camera) from the plurality of cameras of the camera setup. Specifically, the user interface presents the mesh of graphical elements, associated with the directions and distances (spatial positions) of the plurality of cameras with respect to each other and the subject. Each graphical element indicates a camera view (for an active video) that can be seen from a particular camera associated with a particular position. Therefore, by selecting a specific graphical element on the display of the user device, a corresponding camera view can be selected.” [0047] “the method further comprises altering the active video from a first video to a second video when a user moves the rendered mesh of graphical elements in a way that a first graphical element representing the position of a first camera configured to provide the first video is shifted from the middle portion and replaced with a second graphical element representing the position of a second camera configured to provide the second video.” [0082]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hyttinen into the combination of Tsukashima and Hoeg, in order to efficiently manage a video of a camera setup having multiple cameras.
17. With reference to claim 9, the combination of Tsukashima and Hoeg does not explicitly teach the indication of camera position is shown persistently. This is what Hyttinen teaches (“The system further relates to providing a user interface at the user device for viewing and selecting a video (a camera view associated with a particular camera) from the plurality of cameras of the camera setup. Specifically, the user interface presents the mesh of graphical elements, associated with the directions and distances (spatial positions) of the plurality of cameras with respect to each other and the subject. Each graphical element indicates a camera view (for an active video) that can be seen from a particular camera associated with a particular position. Therefore, by selecting a specific graphical element on the display of the user device, a corresponding camera view can be selected.” [0047] “the determined relative positions of the at least first, second and third camera of the plurality of cameras is shown in the first and second user devices. In an embodiment, if a user is not satisfied with the positions, then graphical elements can be dragged and dropped to appropriate relative positions using the user interface of the user device. Alternatively, if the user agrees with the positions, then the videos of the subject can be recorded using the plurality of cameras thereafter. Specifically, in such instance, the user sends start recording command substantially simultaneously to each of the plurality of cameras and thereafter receives recorded videos (or in real time receives and stores the streamed videos from the plurality of cameras). Specifically, each of the plurality of cameras comprises an application installed therein which is operable to start recording (and storing or streaming content to target device/server) the video substantially at the same time as other cameras. The server has a file or a set of files for reproducing videos from multiple angles. The recorded videos can further be viewed with the user interface of the first and second user devices.” [0098]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hyttinen into the combination of Tsukashima and Hoeg, in order to efficiently manage a video of a camera setup having multiple cameras.
18. With reference to claim 10, the combination of Tsukashima and Hoeg does not explicitly teach the indication of camera position is any of a clock reading, a compass reading, a cardinal body direction, a circle degree reading, a quadrant, a spatial direction, a color, a reading from an alphabetic sequence, a reading from a numerical sequence, or a reading from a shape sequence. This is what Hyttinen teaches (“The system further relates to providing a user interface at the user device for viewing and selecting a video (a camera view associated with a particular camera) from the plurality of cameras of the camera setup. Specifically, the user interface presents the mesh of graphical elements, associated with the directions and distances (spatial positions) of the plurality of cameras with respect to each other and the subject. Each graphical element indicates a camera view (for an active video) that can be seen from a particular camera associated with a particular position. Therefore, by selecting a specific graphical element on the display of the user device, a corresponding camera view can be selected.” [0047]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hyttinen into the combination of Tsukashima and Hoeg, in order to efficiently manage a video of a camera setup having multiple cameras.
19. Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukashima et al. (US 2020/0179078 A1), Hoeg et al. (US 2006/0084840 A1) and Austin et al. (US 2018/0368656 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Hyttinen et al. (US 2019/0149746 A1).
20. With reference to claim 4, the combination of Tsukashima, Hoeg and Austin does not explicitly teach the second display shows the indication of camera position. This is what Hyttinen teaches (“The system further relates to providing a user interface at the user device for viewing and selecting a video (a camera view associated with a particular camera) from the plurality of cameras of the camera setup. Specifically, the user interface presents the mesh of graphical elements, associated with the directions and distances (spatial positions) of the plurality of cameras with respect to each other and the subject. Each graphical element indicates a camera view (for an active video) that can be seen from a particular camera associated with a particular position. Therefore, by selecting a specific graphical element on the display of the user device, a corresponding camera view can be selected.” [0047] “the determined relative positions of the at least first, second and third camera of the plurality of cameras is shown in the first and second user devices. In an embodiment, if a user is not satisfied with the positions, then graphical elements can be dragged and dropped to appropriate relative positions using the user interface of the user device. Alternatively, if the user agrees with the positions, then the videos of the subject can be recorded using the plurality of cameras thereafter. Specifically, in such instance, the user sends start recording command substantially simultaneously to each of the plurality of cameras and thereafter receives recorded videos (or in real time receives and stores the streamed videos from the plurality of cameras). Specifically, each of the plurality of cameras comprises an application installed therein which is operable to start recording (and storing or streaming content to target device/server) the video substantially at the same time as other cameras. The server has a file or a set of files for reproducing videos from multiple angles. The recorded videos can further be viewed with the user interface of the first and second user devices.” [0098]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hyttinen into the combination of Tsukashima, Hoeg and Austin, in order to efficiently manage a video of a camera setup having multiple cameras.
21. With reference to claim 5, the combination of Tsukashima, Hoeg and Austin does not explicitly teach the second display shows the indication of camera position constantly and the display shows the indication of camera position temporarily in connection with receiving the input of camera position. This is what Hyttinen teaches (“The system further relates to providing a user interface at the user device for viewing and selecting a video (a camera view associated with a particular camera) from the plurality of cameras of the camera setup. Specifically, the user interface presents the mesh of graphical elements, associated with the directions and distances (spatial positions) of the plurality of cameras with respect to each other and the subject. Each graphical element indicates a camera view (for an active video) that can be seen from a particular camera associated with a particular position. Therefore, by selecting a specific graphical element on the display of the user device, a corresponding camera view can be selected.” [0047] “the determined relative positions of the at least first, second and third camera of the plurality of cameras is shown in the first and second user devices. In an embodiment, if a user is not satisfied with the positions, then graphical elements can be dragged and dropped to appropriate relative positions using the user interface of the user device. Alternatively, if the user agrees with the positions, then the videos of the subject can be recorded using the plurality of cameras thereafter. Specifically, in such instance, the user sends start recording command substantially simultaneously to each of the plurality of cameras and thereafter receives recorded videos (or in real time receives and stores the streamed videos from the plurality of cameras). Specifically, each of the plurality of cameras comprises an application installed therein which is operable to start recording (and storing or streaming content to target device/server) the video substantially at the same time as other cameras. The server has a file or a set of files for reproducing videos from multiple angles. The recorded videos can further be viewed with the user interface of the first and second user devices.” [0098] “the method further comprises altering the active video from a first video to a second video when a user moves the rendered mesh of graphical elements in a way that a first graphical element representing the position of a first camera configured to provide the first video is shifted from the middle portion and replaced with a second graphical element representing the position of a second camera configured to provide the second video.” [0082]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hyttinen into the combination of Tsukashima, Hoeg and Austin, in order to efficiently manage a video of a camera setup having multiple cameras.
Allowable Subject Matter
22. Claims 25-33 are allowed.
Prior art in the record, e.g., existing prior Tsukashima et al. (US 2020/0179078 A1), Hoeg et al. (US 2006/0084840 A1), Austin et al. (US 2018/0368656 A1), and Hyttinen et al. (US 2019/0149746 A1), alone or combined do not teach the claim features of “receiving an input of user position around a circumference of the access device from a perspective indicator coupled to a proximal end of the access device and configured to move about a circumference thereof;” The examiner has not discovered prior art reference teaching the cited limitations during the application prosecution. Thus, it is believed a unique feature in the invention and is suggested to be allowed with the condition set forth above.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE CHIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614