DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-10 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,846,491. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 11-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-20 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 11,846,491. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 11-20 anticipate claims 11-20 of the instant application.
Claims 11-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-19 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 11,846,491. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 11-20 anticipate claims 11-20 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rosen et al (US 2021/0293510) [hereinafter Rosen].
Regarding claim 11, Rosen discloses a firearm sight 200, comprising: a housing having a rearward end, a forward end, and bottom side, and a top side (clearly seen in Fig. 4 and 5); and
an optical sighting element comprising a lens supported by the housing (Par. 0040: “An optical element (not shown), such as a lens, may be contained in the front side 210”);
wherein the housing has a portion that extends at least partially around a perimeter of the lens (Fig. 4 and 5); and wherein said portion has a rearward-facing side and a forward-facing side, the rearward- facing having serrations (Par. 0043 and 0044: “while in the embodiment shown the texture 215 is provided only on the front side 210 of the sighting device 200, and more specifically on the entirety of the front side 210, it will be appreciated that in further embodiments, only a portion or multiple portions of the front side 210 may include a texture and/or one or more additional sides (e.g., rear side, left and/or right side 208, and top side 209) may include a texture on all or one or more portions”).
Applicant should note that the texture 215 can be reasonably and broadly construed as serrations and cover the same structure disclosed by the applicant (Par. 0043: “In further embodiments, the texture 215 may have a different geometry or configuration, including, but not limited to, dimples, lines, grooves, circles, squares or any feature or combination of these and other features that would provide a tactile sensation to a user and help keep the sighting device 200 in position.”)
Regarding claim 12, Rosen further discloses wherein the serrations are positioned around at least half of the perimeter of the lens (Par. 0044).
Regarding claim 13, Rosen further discloses wherein the rearward-facing side is positioned rearwardly of the lens (Fig. 4 and 5; Par. 0040).
Regarding claim 14, Rosen further discloses wherein the rearward-facing side is oblique to the bottom side of the housing (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, Rosen further discloses, wherein serrations positioned above the lens are positioned forward of serrations positioned laterally outward of the lens (Fig. 4 and 5, Par. 0044).
Regarding claim 16-19, Rosen further discloses wherein the serrations comprise elongate peaks having lengths, widths, and heights (Par. 0043).
Regarding claim 20, Rosen further discloses wherein the forward-facing side of the portion is free of serrations (Fig. 4-5; Par. 0044: “it will be appreciated that in further embodiments, only a portion or multiple portions of the front side 210 may include a texture and/or one or more additional sides (e.g., rear side, left and/or right side 208, and top side 209) may include a texture on all or one or more portions”; see provisional 62/992,586: Par. 0012: “In one embodiment, the disclosure relates to a sighting device comprising one or more textured surfaces” clearly indicates only one side is needed to be textured; Par. 0017-0018: In one embodiment, the sighting device having one or more textured surfaces will help keep the sighting device in the original position in which it was placed and help to ensure the sighting device does not slip off. In one embodiment, the sighting device has at least a textured front surface (embodiment 1). In still another embodiment, the sighting device has one or more textured side surfaces (embodiment 2; only sides). In still another embodiment, the sighing device has a textured front surface and one or more textured side surface (embodiment 3, front and sides). In still another embodiment, the sighting device has a back surface that is textured (embodiment 4; only back surface is textured).” The applicant clearly disclose an embodiment where only the back surface is textured.”
Conclusion
/JOSHUA E FREEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641