DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 7-15 in the reply filed on 11 September 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-6 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11 September 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 31 July 2025, have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings received on 13 May 2025 are accepted.
Specification
1. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: at page 1, paragraph 0001, U.S. Patent Application No. 18/320,107 is now United States Patent No. 12,311,680.
2. The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner’s Note
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa (US 2017/0190190). The examiner notes to applicant that Yoshikawa claims priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 to Japanese Patent Application No. 2016-000398, filed 05 January 2016.
With respect to claim 7, Yoshikawa discloses a non-transitory medium with instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
receiving input (Fig. 7, Start) that is indicative of a request to print an image (paragraph 0091);
detecting (Fig. 7, Step S14, Yes) a defective nozzle (Fig. 8, element 35) among a plurality of nozzles (Fig. 3, array of element 73) that are responsible for ejecting eject ink onto a medium (Fig. 2, element P) to form the image (paragraph 0044); and
implementing a compensation scheme (Fig. 7, Step S15) in which a pixel to be printed (paragraph 0095) by the defective nozzle is
(i) assigned to a fully complementary nozzle (paragraph 0055, i.e. supplementing nozzle) when at least one fully complementary nozzle is available (Fig. 8, supplementing nozzle), and
(ii) assigned to a partially complementary nozzle (paragraph 0108, i.e. substitute process) when no fully complementary nozzles are available.
The examiner notes to applicant that the limitations “complimentary” and “partially complementary” are broad in scope and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Yoshikawa as applied above.
With respect to claim 8, Yoshikawa discloses the fully complementary nozzle (paragraph 0055, i.e. supplementing nozzle) is able to print in the same locations as the defective nozzle (Fig. 8, element 35), and wherein the partially complementary nozzle (paragraph 0108, i.e. substitute process) is able to print in the same raster row as the defective nozzle but in opposite odd (Fig. 8, i.e. odd raster lines) or even positions (Fig. 8, i.e. even raster lines).
With respect to claim 9, Yoshikawa discloses the processor (Fig. 1, element 12) is part of a printer (Fig. 1, element 1a) that includes the plurality of nozzles (Fig. 1, element 7).
With respect to claim 10, Yoshikawa discloses as part of the compensation scheme (Fig. 7, Step S15), when no fully (paragraph 0055, i.e. supplementing nozzle) or partially complementary (paragraph 0108, i.e. substitute process) nozzles are available, a value of a neighboring pixel to be printed by a neighboring nozzle is modified (paragraph 0113, i.e. different nozzle group) to account for the defective nozzle (Fig. 8, element 35).
With respect to claim 11, Yoshikawa discloses the operations further comprise: enumerating a list (paragraph 0053, i.e. supplementing printing data) of fully (paragraph 0055, i.e. supplementing nozzle) and partially complementary (paragraph 0108, i.e. substitute process) nozzles for the defective nozzle (Fig. 8, element 35).
With respect to claim 12, Yoshikawa discloses in response to a determination that the list (paragraph 0053, i.e. supplementing printing data) includes one or more fully complementary nozzles (paragraph 0055, i.e. supplementing nozzle), the fully complementary nozzle is randomly selected (paragraph 0113, i.e. different nozzle group) from among the one or more fully complementary nozzles.
With respect to claim 13, Yoshikawa discloses the operations further comprise: accessing a nozzle map (Fig. 8, element Ba) that includes (i) a series of raster rows (Fig. 8, elements L1-L6) and (ii) a series of pass columns (Fig. 8, elements Pass 1 – Pass 8), wherein each raster row is representative of a separate raster line of the image (paragraph 0084), and wherein the series of pass columns is representative of a sequence of passes of a printhead over the medium to print the image (paragraph 0080).
With respect to claim 14, Yoshikawa discloses in the nozzle map (Fig. 8, element Ba), an intersection of a raster row (Fig. 8, one of elements L1-L6) and a pass column (Fig. 8, one of elements Pass 1 – Pass 8) is indicative of a pixel location in the image that is to include ink ejected by one of the plurality of nozzles (paragraph 0095).
With respect to claim 15, Yoshikawa discloses the fully complementary nozzle (paragraph 0055, i.e. supplementing nozzle) or the partially complementary nozzle (paragraph 0108, i.e. substitute process) is selected based on an analysis of pass-nozzle pairs in the nozzle map (paragraph 0109).
Double Patenting
Claims 7-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,507,670. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 10,507,670 claims a similar process. The instant claims are broader in scope than the claims in U.S. Patent No. 10,507,670 because the instant claims remove elements such as the “print job”, “print mode”, and “mask”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since the removal of these elements does not alter the device of the invention as a whole.
Conclusion
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
The remaining references listed on forms 892 and 1449 have been reviewed by the examiner and are considered to be cumulative to or less material than the prior art references relied upon in the rejection above.
/GEOFFREY S MRUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 09/28/2026