DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,335,556. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For instance, not the following similarities between instant application claim 1 and US Pat. 12,335,556 claim 1.
Instant Application Claim 1
US Pat. 12,335,556 Claim 1
A device, comprising: a housing; radiofrequency (RF) communication circuitry configured to receive an over-the-air signal and select a frequency band from the signal; and
A device, comprising: a housing; … radiofrequency (RF) communication circuitry configured to receive an over-the-air broadcast digital television signal and select a frequency band from the broadcast digital television signal;
processing circuitry communicatively coupled with the RF communication circuitry, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
processing circuitry communicatively coupled with the RF communication circuitry … wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
receive, from a mobile device over a secure wireless communication connection between the device and a mobile device different from a connection over which the over-the-air signal is received, a user selection of content to be obtained;
receive, from a mobile device over a secure wireless communication connection between the device and a mobile device different from a connection over which the over-the-air broadcast digital television signal is received, a user selection of broadcast digital television content to be obtained;
control, based on the user selection, the RF communication circuitry to select the frequency band corresponding to the content from the signal;
control, based on the user selection, the RF communication circuitry to select the frequency band corresponding to the broadcast digital television content from the broadcast digital television signal;
receive encoded content from the RF communication circuitry via a digital bitstream; and decode the digital bitstream to obtain the content in response to the user selection.”
receive encoded broadcast digital content from the RF communication circuitry via a digital bitstream; and decode the digital bitstream to obtain the broadcast digital television content in response to the user selection.
Since claim 1 in the instant application is a broader recitation of claim 1 in Pat. 12,335,556 it would have been obvious to modify claim 1 in Pat. 12,335,556 to get claim 1 in the instant application.
Claim 2 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 2.
Claim 3 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 3.
Claim 4 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 4.
Claim 5 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 5.
Claim 6 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 6.
Claim 7 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 7.
Claim 8 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 8.
Claim 9 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 9.
Claim 10 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 10.
Claim 11 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 11.
Claim 12 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 12.
Claim 13 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 13.
Claim 14 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 14.
Claim 15 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 15.
Claim 16 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 16.
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-13, 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,962,829. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For instance, not the following similarities between instant application claim 1 and US Pat. 11,962,829 claims 1, 7.
Instant Application Claim 1
US Pat. 11,962,829 Claims 1 and 7
A device, comprising: a housing; radiofrequency (RF) communication circuitry configured to receive an over-the-air signal and select a frequency band from the signal; and
A system in a vehicle, comprising: a first device that includes: a housing; … radiofrequency (RF) communication circuitry configured to select a frequency band from the broadcast digital television signal; (Claim 1)
processing circuitry communicatively coupled with the RF communication circuitry, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to control the RF communication circuitry at the future time to select the frequency band. (Claim 7)
receive, from a mobile device over a secure wireless communication connection between the device and a mobile device different from a connection over which the over-the-air signal is received, a user selection of content to be obtained;
receive, from a mobile device over a second secure wireless communication connection between the first device and the mobile device, a user selection of broadcast digital television content to be obtained; (Claim 1)
control, based on the user selection, the RF communication circuitry to select the frequency band corresponding to the content from the signal;
a user selection of broadcast digital television content to be obtained; control the first wireless communication circuitry to transmit a request via the first secure wireless communication connection to the second device to control the RF communication circuitry in the second device to select the frequency band corresponding to the broadcast digital television content from the broadcast digital television signal; (Claim 1)
receive encoded content from the RF communication circuitry via a digital bitstream; and decode the digital bitstream to obtain the content in response to the user selection.”
receive encoded broadcast digital content obtained by the RF communication circuitry in the second device via a digital bitstream over the first secure communication connection; and decode the digital bitstream to obtain the broadcast digital television content in response to the user selection. (Claim 1)
Since claim 1 in the instant application is a broader recitation of claim 1 in Pat. 11,962,829 it would have been obvious to modify claim 1 in Pat. 11,962,829 to get claim 1 in the instant application.
Claim 2 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 4.
Claim 3 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 5.
Claim 4 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 6.
Claim 5 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 7.
Claim 6 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 8.
Claim 7 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 9.
Claim 8 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 10.
Claim 9 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 1.
Claim 10 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 11.
Claim 11 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 12.
Claim 12 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 13, 19.
Claim 13 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 17.
Claim 14 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 18.
Claim 15 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 19.
Claim 16 of the instant application corresponds to patented claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “receive, from a mobile device over a secure wireless communication connection between the device and a mobile device different from a connection over which the over-the-air signal is received, a user selection of content to be obtained”, however it is unclear if the second recitation of “a mobile device” is referring to the same mobile device or a different mobile device. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “receiving, by a device, from a mobile device over a secure wireless communication connection between the device and a mobile device different from a connection over which an over-the-air signal is able to be received by the device, a user selection of content to be obtained” however it is unclear if the second recitation of “a mobile device” is referring to the same mobile device or a different mobile device. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 12-13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schedivy (US Pub. 2006/0075436) in view of Majid (US Pub. 2016/0353152) and in further view of Sprenger et al. (US Pub. 2018/0167670), herein referenced as Schedivy, Majid, and Sprenger, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Schedivy discloses “A device, comprising: … radiofrequency (RF) communication circuitry configured to receive an over-the-air signal and select a frequency band from the signal… ([0034], Fig. 3A, i.e., television tuner module includes an antenna for receiving television signals from a signal source such as a ground-based antenna or satellite); and
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: receive, from a mobile device over a … wireless communication connection between the device and a mobile device different from a connection over which the over-the-air signal is received, a user selection of content to be obtained ([0009], [0019], [0034]-[0035], Fig. 1A, 3A, i.e., the television tuner module receives control signals from a remote control and includes wireless communication circuitry for radio frequency signals, infrared signals, wireless signals, e.g., IEEE 802.11 or, short-range wireless signals, e.g., BlueTooth);
control, based on the user selection, the RF communication circuitry to select the frequency band corresponding to the content from the signal ([0034]-[0035], Fig. 1A, i.e., a user uses the remote control for controlling the television tuner module, including tuning selected frequencies);
receive encoded content from the RF communication circuitry via a digital bitstream…” ([0031], [0034]-[0035], Fig. 3A, i.e., receiving television).
Schedivy discloses a plug-in television tuner module, however fails to explicitly disclose a device, comprising: a housing; processing circuitry communicatively coupled with the RF communication circuitry; decode the digital bitstream to obtain the content in response to the user selection.
Majid teaches the technique of providing a device, comprising: a housing ([0014]-[0015], Figs. 1-2, i.e., tuner device includes a housing); processing circuitry communicatively coupled with the RF communication circuitry ([0026]-[0029], Fig. 4, i.e., tuner device includes a processing module coupled to a tuner); decode the digital bitstream to obtain the content in response to the user selection ([0012], [0024], [0026]-[0029], [0031], Fig. 4, i.e., decoder module for decoding a bitstream that may be encoded).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing a device, comprising: a housing; processing circuitry communicatively coupled with the RF communication circuitry; decode the digital bitstream to obtain the content in response to the user selection as taught by Majid, to improve the vehicle plug-in television tuner module system of Schedivy for the predictable result of providing a protective case and enabling execution of functions of the tuner device and decoding the digital bitstream.
The combination fails to explicitly disclose a secure wireless communication connection.
Sprenger teaches the technique of providing a secure wireless communication connection ([0027], [0065], Claim 3). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing a secure wireless communication connection as taught by Sprenger, to improve the vehicle plug-in television tuner module system of Schedivy for the predictable result of providing protected communications between devices.
Regarding claim 2, Schedivy fails to disclose “wherein the signal is an Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) 1.0 signal or an ATSC 3.0 signal.”
Majid teaches the technique of providing wherein the signal is an Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) 1.0 signal or an ATSC 3.0 signal ([0012], [0014], [0057], i.e., the digital terrestrial television signal is an Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) signal). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein the signal is an Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) 1.0 signal or an ATSC 3.0 signal as taught by Majid, to improve the vehicle plug-in television tuner module system of Schedivy for the predictable result of using well-known standardized format to deliver HDTV picture quality and improved audio.
Regarding claim 3, Schedivy discloses “wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: transmit the content to one or more electrical systems of a vehicle through an automotive-specific connector.” ([0030]-[0032], [0034]-[0035], [0038]-[0039], Figs. 1A, 3B-C, i.e., transmitting broadcast television content to the overhead device of vehicle for display).
Regarding claim 6, Schedivy discloses “wireless communication circuitry communicatively coupled with the processing circuitry, the wireless communication circuitry configured to establish the … wireless communication connection between the wireless communication circuitry and the mobile device.” ([0009], [0019], [0034], Fig. 3A, i.e., the television tuner module receives control signals from a remote control and includes wireless communication circuitry for radio frequency signals, infrared signals, wireless signals, e.g., IEEE 802.11 or, short-range wireless signals, e.g., BlueTooth).
The combination fails to explicitly disclose a secure wireless communication connection.
Sprenger teaches the technique of providing a secure wireless communication connection ([0027], [0065], Claim 3). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing a secure wireless communication connection as taught by Sprenger, to improve the vehicle plug-in television tuner module system of Schedivy for the predictable result of providing protected communications between devices.
Regarding claim 7, Schedivy fails to disclose “wherein the processing circuitry includes one or more Motion Picture Expert Group (MPEG) decoders, the processing circuitry configured to decode the digital bitstream using an MPEG decoder of the one or more MPEG decoders.”
Majid teaches the technique of providing wherein the processing circuitry includes one or more Motion Picture Expert Group (MPEG) decoders, the processing circuitry configured to decode the digital bitstream using an MPEG decoder of the one or more MPEG decoders ([0020], [0024], [0026]-[0029], [0031], Claim 22, Fig. 4, i.e., decoder module for decoding a MPEG bitstream). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein the processing circuitry includes one or more Motion Picture Expert Group (MPEG) decoders, the processing circuitry configured to decode the digital bitstream using an MPEG decoder of the one or more MPEG decoders as taught by Majid, to improve the vehicle plug-in television tuner module system of Schedivy for the predictable result of decoding the digital bitstream in a ubiquitous standardized format.
Regarding claim 8, Schedivy discloses “wherein the device is configured to receive electrical power from a vehicle through an automotive-specific connector.” ([0032], [0039], Figs. 2, 4A, i.e., television tuner module includes connections for power).
Regarding claim 9, Schedivy fails to disclose “a connector positioned on the housing and electrically coupled with the RF communication circuitry, the connector configured for connection of an RF antenna, the RF communication circuitry configured to receive the signal through the connector.”
Majid teaches the technique of providing a connector positioned on the housing and electrically coupled with the RF communication circuitry, the connector configured for connection of an RF antenna, the RF communication circuitry configured to receive the signal through the connector ([0014]-[0015], [0026], Fig. 1, i.e., antenna configuration 106 may include an external antenna). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing a connector positioned on the housing and electrically coupled with the RF communication circuitry, the connector configured for connection of an RF antenna, the RF communication circuitry configured to receive the signal through the connector as taught by Majid, to improve the vehicle plug-in television tuner module system of Schedivy for the predictable result of providing an easily replaceable external antenna.
Regarding claim 10, Schedivy fails to disclose “cellular communication circuitry communicatively coupled with the processing circuitry, the cellular communication circuitry configured to communicate cellular data with one or more cellular communication systems.”
Majid teaches the technique of providing cellular communication circuitry communicatively coupled with the processing circuitry, the cellular communication circuitry configured to communicate cellular data with one or more cellular communication systems ([0023], i.e., television signal tuner device may have a wireless communication module that may use 3GPP Long Term Evolution/Long Term Evolution-Advanced (LTE/LTE-A)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing cellular communication circuitry communicatively coupled with the processing circuitry, the cellular communication circuitry configured to communicate cellular data with one or more cellular communication systems as taught by Majid, to improve the vehicle plug-in television tuner module system of Schedivy for the predictable result of receiving communications from a reliable, widely used network system.
Regarding claim 12, Schedivy discloses “A method, comprising: receiving, by a device, from a mobile device over a… wireless communication connection between the device and a mobile device different from a connection over which an over-the-air signal is able to be received by the device, a user selection of content to be obtained ([0009], [0019], [0034]-[0035], Fig. 1A, 3A, i.e., the television tuner module receives control signals from a remote control and includes wireless communication circuitry for radio frequency signals, infrared signals, wireless signals, e.g., IEEE 802.11 or, short-range wireless signals, e.g., BlueTooth);
receiving, by radiofrequency (RF) communication circuitry of the device, the over-the-air signal ([0034], Fig. 3A, i.e., television tuner module includes an antenna for receiving television signals from a signal source such as a ground-based antenna or satellite);
based on the user selection, selecting, by the RF communication circuitry, a frequency band corresponding to the content from the signal ([0034]-[0035], Fig. 1A, i.e., a user uses the remote control for controlling the television tuner module, including tuning selected frequencies);
receiving encoded digital content from the RF communication circuitry via a digital bitstream…” ([0034]-[0035], Fig. 3A, i.e., receiving television signal).
Schedivy discloses a plug-in television tuner module, however fails to explicitly disclose decoding the digital bitstream to obtain the content in response to the user selection.
Majid teaches the technique of decoding the digital bitstream to obtain the content in response to the user selection ([0012], [0024], [0026]-[0029], [0031], Fig. 4, i.e., decoder module for decoding a bitstream that may be encoded). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of decoding the digital bitstream to obtain the content in response to the user selection as taught by Majid, to improve the vehicle plug-in television tuner module system of Schedivy for the predictable result of enabling execution of functions of the tuner device and decoding the digital bitstream.
The combination fails to explicitly disclose a secure wireless communication connection.
Sprenger teaches the technique of providing a secure wireless communication connection ([0027], [0065], Claim 3). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing a secure wireless communication connection as taught by Sprenger, to improve the vehicle plug-in television tuner module system of Schedivy for the predictable result of providing protected communications between devices.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 6.
Claims 4-5, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schedivy in view of Majid, Sprenger, and in further view of Pan (US Pub. 2015/0100983), herein referenced as Pan.
Regarding claim 4, the combination fails to disclose “memory communicatively coupled to the processing circuitry, the processing circuitry configured to: store, at a first time, the content in the memory in response to the user selection; receive, at a second time, a request for the content; and transmit the content in response to the request.”
Pan teaches the technique of providing memory communicatively coupled to the processing circuitry, the processing circuitry configured to: store, at a first time, the content in the memory in response to the user selection ([0060]-[0061], Figs. 1, 10, 15-16); receive, at a second time, a request for the content; and transmit the content in response to the request ([0065], [0069], Figs. 12, 15-16, i.e., users may select a newly recorded category which includes recorded TV programs in an earlier time and rendering a recorded program).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing memory communicatively coupled to the processing circuitry, the processing circuitry configured to: store, at a first time, the content in the memory in response to the user selection; receive, at a second time, a request for the content; and transmit the content in response to the request as taught by Pan, to improve the vehicle plug-in television tuner module system of Schedivy for the predictable result of providing the user the convenience of selectively scheduling recording of programs ahead of time.
Regarding claim 5, Schedivy discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to control the RF communication circuitry at the … time to select the frequency band ([0031], [0034]-[0035]), however the combination fails to explicitly disclose “obtain scheduling information indicating defined times at which media content will be encoded in the signal; and determine, based on the scheduling information, a future time at which the content will be encoded in the signal, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to control the RF communication circuitry at the future time to select the frequency band.”
Pan teaches the technique of obtaining scheduling information indicating defined times at which media content will be encoded in the signal; and determine, based on the scheduling information, a future time at which the content will be encoded in the signal ([0060]-[0061], Fig. 10, i.e., user may select from a menu a scheduled program for recording. In response to user selection, processor 108B schedules a recording action and executes the action accordingly in a later time). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of obtaining scheduling information indicating defined times at which media content will be encoded in the signal; and determine, based on the scheduling information, a future time at which the content will be encoded in the signal as taught by Pan, to improve the vehicle plug-in television tuner module system of Schedivy for the predictable result of providing the user the convenience of selectively scheduling recording of programs ahead of time.
Therefore, the combination teaches “obtain scheduling information indicating defined times at which media content will be encoded in the signal; and determine, based on the scheduling information, a future time at which the content will be encoded in the signal, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to control the RF communication circuitry at the future time to select the frequency band.”
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 5.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schedivy in view of Majid, Sprenger, and in further view of Shan et al. (US Pub. 2017/0026684), herein referenced Shan.
Regarding claim 11, the combination fails to disclose “wherein the user selection is received through an automotive-specific connector.”
Shan teaches the technique of providing wherein the user selection is received through an automotive-specific connector 0001], [0073], [0081], [0098]-[0099], Fig. 1, i.e., interface component 172 can be used to affect functions and setting or parameters of the one or both of the portable system 110 and the host device 150 based on user input). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein the user selection is received through an automotive-specific connector as taught by Shan, to improve the vehicle plug-in television tuner module system of Schedivy for the predictable result of providing the user the convenience using either the vehicle interface or portable device.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER Q HUERTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 July 10, 2026