DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With regard to claim 1:
Step 2A, Prong One:
The claim recites the following limitations which are drawn towards an abstract idea:
and collectively execute a set of local query operational instructions on at least a portion of the ingested data set to produce a local partial query response (recites mental process steps of performing evaluations/analysis/calculations on data which can include mathematical functions);
and
and a query planning subsystem operable to: generate the set of local query operational instructions, the set of intermediate query operational instructions, and the set of global query operational instructions (recites mental process steps of evaluation and judgement including formulating a plan or order of operations/instructions to perform);
As seen from above, the identified limitations recite concepts associated with an abstract idea and thus the respective claim recites a judicial exception (see 2106.04(a)) and thus requires further analysis as discussed below.
Step 2A, Prong Two:
The following limitations have been identified as being additional elements as discussed below.
a database system comprises: a load and store sub-system that includes: a data input module operable to ingest a data set (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of data gathering or receiving information, see MPEP 2106.05(g));
short term storage operable to temporarily store the data set to produce an ingested data set; and long term storage operable to store the ingested data set (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of storing data in memory, see MPEP 2106.05(g));
a query execution sub-system that includes: a plurality of local query engines (recites apply-it limitations of reciting generic computer components as a tool to implement the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f)) operable to:
collectively obtain the ingested data set (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of data gathering or receiving information, see MPEP 2106.05(g));
a plurality of intermediate query engines … (recites apply-it limitations of reciting generic computer components as a tool to implement the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f));
and a global query engine … (recites apply-it limitations of reciting generic computer components as a tool to implement the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f));
assign the set of local query operational instructions to a set of local query engines of the plurality of local query engines; assign the set of intermediate query operational instructions to a set intermediate query engines of the plurality of intermediate query engines; and assign the set of global query operational instructions to the global query engine (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of transmitting information, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
As seen from the above discussion, the identified limitations did not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d)). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements recite generic computer elements at a high-level of generality to perform/implement the abstract idea as well as various generic functions of retrieving and storing information as well as transmitting information.
Step 2B:
Below is the analysis of the claims:
a database system comprises: a load and store sub-system that includes: a data input module operable to ingest a data set (recites well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of data gathering or receiving information, see MPEP 2106.05(d));
short term storage operable to temporarily store the data set to produce an ingested data set; and long term storage operable to store the ingested data set (recites well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of storing data in memory, see MPEP 2106.05(d));
a query execution sub-system that includes: a plurality of local query engines (recites apply-it limitations of reciting generic computer components as a tool to implement the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f)) operable to:
collectively obtain the ingested data set (recites well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of data gathering or receiving information, see MPEP 2106.05(d));
a plurality of intermediate query engines … (recites apply-it limitations of reciting generic computer components as a tool to implement the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f));
and a global query engine … (recites apply-it limitations of reciting generic computer components as a tool to implement the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f));
assign the set of local query operational instructions to a set of local query engines of the plurality of local query engines; assign the set of intermediate query operational instructions to a set intermediate query engines of the plurality of intermediate query engines; and assign the set of global query operational instructions to the global query engine (recites well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of transmitting information, see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
As seen from above, the respective claim elements taken individually do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. When taken as a whole (in combination), the claim also does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements generic computer elements at a high-level of generality to perform/implement the abstract idea as well as various generic functions of retrieving and storing information as well as transmitting information.
With regard to claim 2, this claim recites wherein the data set comprises: a batch load data set; or a streaming data set (recites field of use limitations describing the intended means/format of the data that is gathered/acquired, see MPEP 2106.05(h), and adds no meaningful limitation beyond that of the abstract idea as discussed above).
With regard to claim 3, this claim recites wherein the data input module comprises: a batch interface for receiving the batch load data set; and a streaming interface for receiving the streaming data set (recites apply-it limitations of describing generic computer elements for generic computer functions of being able to receive particular data via computerized interfaces, see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
With regard to 4, this claim recites wherein the load and store sub-system further comprises: a short term storage processing module operable to process the data set to produce a formatted data set (recites mental process steps of converting data from one format to another), wherein the short term storage operable to temporarily store the formatted data set as the ingested data set (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of storing information which amounts to well-understood, routine, and conventional information of storing information, see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
With regard to claim 5, this claim recites wherein the load and store sub-system further comprises: a long term storage processing module operable to process the ingested data set to produce a formatted ingested data set (recites mental process steps of converting data from one format to another), wherein the long term storage operable to store the formatted ingested data set (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of storing information which amounts to well-understood, routine, and conventional information of storing information, see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
With regard to claim 6, this claim recites wherein the plurality of local query engines, the plurality of intermediate query engines, and the global query engine store one or more of: intermediate data, pipeline data, and result data (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of storing information which amounts to well-understood, routine, and conventional information of storing information, see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
With regard to claim 7, this claim recites wherein the query planning subsystem is operable to generate the set of local query operational instructions, the set of intermediate query operational instructions, and the set of global query operational instructions by: obtaining a query (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of receiving information which amounts to well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of receiving information, see MPEP 2106.05(d));
generating an initial query plan; optimizing the initial query plan based at least in part on database system data to produce an optimized query plan; and parsing the optimized query plan to assign operational instructions of the optimized query plan as the set of local query operational instructions, the set of intermediate query operational instructions, and the set of global query operational instructions (recites mental process steps of evaluation and judgement including formulating a plan or order of operations/instructions to perform).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang et al [US 2017/0083588 A1] in view of Oberbrekling et al [US 2018/0074786 A1].
With regard to claim 1, Lang teaches a database system comprises: a data input module operable to ingest a data set (see paragraphs [0045], [0047], [0060]-[0061], and [0063]; the system is able to have a sub-system component with memory that can receive/load data and be able to perform operations on the ingested data to form intermediate results;
“For example, the query partitioner 310 may partition the query 104 based upon the number, kinds, and sequence of operators comprising the query 104; e.g., a query 104 specified in SQL may be partitioned into a first query portion 206 comprising a “SELECT NAME, DATE FROM RECORDS” operation that projects selected records from a data set;”, para 45; Examiner Note (EN): projecting from a dataset is similar to ingesting data since both relate to the receiving of data from a dataset);
a query execution sub-system that includes: a plurality of local query engines operable to: collectively obtain the ingested data set; and collectively execute a set of local query operational instructions on at least a portion of the ingested data set to produce a local partial query response (see paragraphs [0045], [0047], and [0061]; the system can have multiple query engines that obtain portions of the data set and can execute respective query instructions to form local query response;
“For instance, the data set 102 may be distributed over the node set 106, and respective nodes 106 may apply a query operator to the subset of the data set 102 that is stored by and/or accessible to the node 106. In this model, the nodes 108 selected from the node set 106 may be arranged as a processing chain or pipeline; e.g., a node 108 may receive a first intermediate result 214 produced by a previous selected node 108 by performing a previous query portion 206 of the query 104, may execute the query instruction set 212 over the first intermediate result 214 to produce a second intermediate query result 214, and may transmit the second intermediate query result 214 to a next selected node 322 of the node set 108.”, para 61);
a plurality of intermediate query engines operable to collectively execute a set of intermediate query operational instructions on at least a portion of the local partial query response to produce an intermediate query response (see [0045], [0047], and [0061]; the system can have a processing chain/pipeline with earlier stages/nodes sending results to a second set of query engines/nodes that perform additional operations in accordance with an instruction set to produce a intermediate query response;
“For instance, the data set 102 may be distributed over the node set 106, and respective nodes 106 may apply a query operator to the subset of the data set 102 that is stored by and/or accessible to the node 106. In this model, the nodes 108 selected from the node set 106 may be arranged as a processing chain or pipeline; e.g., a node 108 may receive a first intermediate result 214 produced by a previous selected node 108 by performing a previous query portion 206 of the query 104, may execute the query instruction set 212 over the first intermediate result 214 to produce a second intermediate query result 214, and may transmit the second intermediate query result 214 to a next selected node 322 of the node set 108.”, para 61);
and a global query engine operable to execute a set of global query operational instructions on at least a portion of the intermediate partial query response to produce a query result (see paragraphs [0027], [0036], and [0037], and [0061]; the system can have a processing chain/pipeline with that can cumulate to a final node receiving that forms the final query result/response;
“For instance, the data set 102 may be distributed over the node set 106, and respective nodes 106 may apply a query operator to the subset of the data set 102 that is stored by and/or accessible to the node 106. In this model, the nodes 108 selected from the node set 106 may be arranged as a processing chain or pipeline; e.g., a node 108 may receive a first intermediate result 214 produced by a previous selected node 108 by performing a previous query portion 206 of the query 104, may execute the query instruction set 212 over the first intermediate result 214 to produce a second intermediate query result 214, and may transmit the second intermediate query result 214 to a next selected node 322 of the node set 108.”, para 61;
“The third selected node 108 receives the intermediate results 214 from the other selected nodes 108, executes the query instruction set 212 for the third selected node 108 that implements the ORDER BY operation on the collection of intermediate results 214, and provides a query result 118 that fulfills the query 104.”);
and a query planning subsystem operable to: generate the set of local query operational instructions, the set of intermediate query operational instructions, and the set of global query operational instructions; assign the set of local query operational instructions to a set of local query engines of the plurality of local query engines; assign the set of intermediate query operational instructions to a set intermediate query engines of the plurality of intermediate query engines; and assign the set of global query operational instructions to the global query engine (see Figure 2 and paragraph [0036]; the system query instructions are generated and sent to the assigned/chosen node/query engine;
“For the respective query portions 206 and the selected node 108 that is chosen therefor, a query instruction set 212 is generated 210, wherein the query instruction set 212, when executed by the selected node 108, causes the selected node 108 to implement the query portion 206 of the query 104. Additionally, if the query portion 206 produces an intermediate result 214—such as a selection of records (e.g., SQL WHERE, or MapReduce Map) to which a subsequent query portion 206 is to be applied (e.g., SQL SELECT, or MapReduce Reduce), the execution of the query instruction set 212 also causes the selected node 108 to transmit 216 the intermediate result 214 to a next selected node 108 that applies the subsequent query portion 206 to the intermediate result 214. After the custom instruction set 212 is generated 210 for a selected query portion 206, the query instruction set 210 is transmitted to the selected node 108. The selected nodes 108 are then instructed to invoke the query instruction sets 210, which causes the set of selected nodes 108 to execute the query instruction sets 210 that, together, cause the selected nodes 108 to perform the entire query 104 in a distributed manner”, para 36).
Lang does not appear to explicitly teach:
a load and store sub-system that includes:
short term storage operable to temporarily store the data set to produce an ingested data set;
and long term storage operable to store the ingested data set.
Oberbrekling teaches a load and store sub-system that includes: short term storage operable to temporarily store the data set to produce an ingested data set; and long term storage operable to store the ingested data set (see paragraphs [0039], [0037], [0053], [0055], [0063], and [0068]; the system can have an ingest subsystem that allows for the short term storage of data as well as have long term storage for the data after it has been ingested;
“In certain embodiments of the present disclosure, prior to loading data into a data warehouse (or other data target) the data is processed through a pipeline (also referred to herein as a semantic pipeline) which includes various processing stages. In some embodiments, the pipeline can include an ingest stage, prepare stage, profile stage, transform stage, and publish stage.”, para 37;
“The distributed storage system 105 provides a temporary storage space for ingested data files, which can then also provide storage of intermediate processing files, and for temporary storage of results prior to publication.”, para 39;
“The publishing sub-system can deliver the processed data to one or more data targets. A data target may correspond to a place where the processed data can be sent. The place may be, for example, a location in memory, a computing system, a database, or a system that provides a service.”, para 53).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the distributed query processing system of Lang by including a load/ingest sub-system can that uses both temporary and non-temporary storage as taught by Oberbrekling in order to allow the system to be able to receive new data and store that data in quicker volatile memory for temporary storage and any subsequent operations before sending the data to more permanent but slower storage for other downstream processes while ensuring no data loss if the node losses power since ingested data is not in any temporary or volatile storage.
With regard to claim 2, Lang in view of Oberbrekling teach wherein the data set comprises: a batch load data set; or a streaming data set (see Oberbrekling, paragraph [0179]; see Lang, paragraph [0033]; the data set can be from a data stream or batch data set).
With regard to claim 3, Lang in view of Oberbrekling teach wherein the data input module comprises: a batch interface for receiving the batch load data set; and a streaming interface for receiving the streaming data set (see Lang, paragraph [0033]; the system can receive batch or streaming data).
With regard to claim 4, Lang in view of Oberbrekling teach wherein the load and store sub-system further comprises: a short term storage processing module operable to process the data set to produce a formatted data set, wherein the short term storage operable to temporarily store the formatted data set as the ingested data set (see Oberbrekling, paragraph [0063]; the system can produce a formatted data set).
With regard to claim 5, Lang in view of Oberbrekling teach wherein the load and store sub-system further comprises: a long term storage processing module operable to process the ingested data set to produce a formatted ingested data set, wherein the long term storage operable to store the formatted ingested data set (see Oberbrekling, paragraphs [0039], [0040], [0053], and [0059]; the system includes other modules/sub-systems includes mean to process the ingested data to produce/transform/format the data and be able to store the results).
With regard to claim 6, Lang in view of Oberbrekling teach wherein the plurality of local query engines, the plurality of intermediate query engines, and the global query engine store one or more of: intermediate data, pipeline data, and result data (see Lang, paragraphs [0046] and [0027]; see Oberbrekling, paragraph [0053]; the various pipelined engines can store their resultant/intermediate data).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang et al [US 2017/0083588 A1] in view of Oberbrekling et al [US 2018/0074786 A1] in further view of McKenna [US 2015/0154256 A1].
With regard to claim 7, Lang in view of Oberbrekling teach all the claim limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Lang in view of Oberbrekling teach query execution but do not appear to explicitly teach:
wherein the query planning subsystem is operable to generate the set of local query operational instructions, the set of intermediate query operational instructions, and the set of global query operational instructions by:
obtaining a query;
generating an initial query plan;
optimizing the initial query plan based at least in part on database system data to produce an optimized query plan;
and parsing the optimized query plan to assign operational instructions of the optimized query plan as the set of local query operational instructions, the set of intermediate query operational instructions, and the set of global query operational instructions.
McKenna teach obtaining a query; generating an initial query plan; optimizing the initial query plan based at least in part on database system data to produce an optimized query plan (see Figures 2 and 3; see paragraphs [0047]-[0049], [0074], [0002], and [0038]; the system has means to obtain a query and generate a query plan that can be optimized).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the distributed query processing system of Lang in view of Oberbrekling by including providing a query planner and query optimizer as taught by McKenna in order to determine the optimal or best possible sequence of instructions/operations to execute a query so that the system would be able to minimize processor processing time by having an optimal plan that performs/executes the query in an efficient manner.
Lang in view of Oberbrekling in further view of McKenna teach wherein the query planning subsystem is operable to generate the set of local query operational instructions, the set of intermediate query operational instructions, and the set of global query operational instructions by: obtaining a query; generating an initial query plan; optimizing the initial query plan based at least in part on database system data to produce an optimized query plan; and parsing the optimized query plan to assign operational instructions of the optimized query plan as the set of local query operational instructions, the set of intermediate query operational instructions, and the set of global query operational instructions (see McKenna, see Figures 2 and 3; see paragraphs [0047]-[0049], [0074], [0002], and [0038]; see Lang, Figure 2 and paragraphs [0045] and [0036]; system query instructions are generated and sent to the assigned/chosen node/query engine).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barsness et al [US 2017/0168748 A1] teaches at Figure 1 and paragraphs [0026] and [0029] that various compute nodes can be chained/pipelined together with results/output (partial response) from one stage being sent to another stage for further processing while considering processing resources for where various processing elements (engines) and respective operators should be allocated.
/MARC S SOMERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159 2/10/2026