DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities: improper claim structure. First off, the claim seems to have a typo in the form of “filer”, specifically in “deriving the first filer shape”, and will be interpreted as “the first filter shape”. Additionally, curly brackets are being used for further specifying limitation language. It is unclear if the language within the curly brackets are meant to further limit the claim language or to summarize the claim language. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Instant Application: 19/207,248
Patent No. 12,581,085
1. A method for decoding video data, comprising: receiving a video bitstream including a current image frame and a first syntax element for a cross-component sample offset (CCSO) mode indicating whether to generate a first sample offset of a first color sample of the current image frame based on one or more luma samples; when the first syntax element indicates that the CCSO mode is enabled: identifying a plurality of candidate luma sets in a filter range, wherein the filter range includes a first luma sample collocated with the first color sample and a plurality of neighboring luma samples of the first luma sample, and each candidate luma set includes a plurality of respective luma samples having positions that are symmetric with respect to a first position of the first luma sample, and wherein each luma sample located in the filter range is used in at least one of the plurality of candidate luma sets; selecting a set of target luma samples from the plurality of candidate luma sets; and applying a loop filter to combine the set of target luma samples to generate the first sample offset of the first color sample; and reconstructing the current image frame at least by adjusting the first color sample based on the first sample offset.
1. A method for decoding video data, comprising: receiving a video bitstream including a current image frame, a first syntax element for a cross-component sample offset (CCSO) mode indicating whether to generate a first sample offset of a first color sample of the current image frame based on one or more luma samples, and a second syntax element for defining a filter shape of a loop filter applied in the CCSO mode; when the first syntax element indicates that CCSO mode is enabled: based on the second syntax element, identifying a set of luma samples including a first luma sample collocated with the first color sample and a plurality of neighboring luma samples of the first luma sample; and applying the loop filter to combine the set of luma samples to generate the first sample offset of the first color sample; and reconstructing the current image frame at least by adjusting the first color sample based on the first sample offset.
Claim 2 (and similarly claimed independent claims) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,581,085. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both deal with receiving a video bitstream with a first syntax element for a cross-component sample offset (CCSO) mode indicating whether to generate a first sample offset of a first color sample based on one or more luma samples and applying loop filter to combine the set of target luma samples to generate the first sample offset of a first color sample and reconstructing the current image frame at least by adjusting the first color sample based on the first sample offset.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zheng et al. (“Zheng”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2026/0067454).
It is to be noted that the information provided by Zheng is also supported in the provision application of 63/689,028, filed Aug. 30, 2024.
In regards to claim 1, Zheng teaches a method for decoding video data, comprising:
receiving a video bitstream including a current image frame (See ¶0003, 0026-0027 and 0044) and a first syntax element for a cross-component sample offset (CCSO) mode indicating whether to generate a first sample offset of a first color sample of the current image frame based on one or more luma samples (See ¶0024-0025, 0072-0075, 0083, 0095, 0102 in view of FIG. 9);
when the first syntax element indicates that the CCSO mode is enabled:
identifying a plurality of candidate luma sets in a filter range, wherein the filter range includes a first luma sample collocated with the first color sample and a plurality of neighboring luma samples of the first luma sample, and each candidate luma set includes a plurality of respective luma samples having positions that are symmetric with respect to a first position of the first luma sample (See ¶0025, 0070, 0074, 0086), and
wherein each luma sample located in the filter range is used in at least one of the plurality of candidate luma sets (See ¶0074-0089 wherein a set of filters may be used with corresponding luma pixels);
selecting a set of target luma samples from the plurality of candidate luma sets (See for example 0086 wherein six optional filter shapes exists [are selectable or set], thus allowing for a plurality of candidate luma sets through such selection); and
applying a loop filter to combine the set of target luma samples to generate the first sample offset of the first color sample (See for example ¶0024 wherein CCSO is considered to be a type of in-loop filter, this is taken in view of 0074-0089 wherein it is described further); and
reconstructing the current image frame at least by adjusting the first color sample based on the first sample offset (See ¶0025, 0073 and 0083-0086).
In regards to claim 2, Zheng teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the filter range has a predefined dimension defined based on one or more range limits, and the one or more range limits include at least one of a horizontal neighboring sample number (N) and a vertical sample number (M) (See ¶0086 wherein optional filter shapes exist, these of course would have corresponding range limits in either horizontal and/or vertical sample numbers as a shape would require a limit in direction).
In regards to claim 19, the claim is rejected under the same basis as claim 1 by Zheng, wherein the processor and memory are taught as seen in ¶0042, 0049, 0101, 0110 and 0123-0126.
In regards to claim 20, the claim is rejected under the same basis as claim 1 by Zheng, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium are taught as seen in ¶0042, 0049, 0101, 0110 and 0123-0126.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (“Zheng”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2026/0067454) in view of Zhao et al. (“Zhao”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2024/0357091).
It is to be noted that the information provided by Zheng is also supported in the provision application of 63/689,028, filed Aug. 30, 2024.
In regards to claim 3, Zheng fails to teach the method of claim 2, wherein a first range shape of the filter range is rectangular, and each luma sample of the plurality of candidate luma sets has a sample position (x, y) with respect to the first luma sample, where x and y are integers, |x|≤N, and |y|≤M.
In a similar endeavor Zhao teaches wherein a first range shape of the filter range is rectangular, and each luma sample of the plurality of candidate luma sets has a sample position (x, y) with respect to the first luma sample, where x and y are integers, |x|≤N, and |y|≤M (See ¶0074 in view of FIG. 4C).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Zhao into Zheng because it allows for various filter shapes for a specific amount of samples, adding for a variable set of samples to be used by the filter as seen in at least ¶0074.
Claim(s) 4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (“Zheng”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2026/0067454) in view of Yin et al. (“Yin”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2024/0244201).
In regards to claim 4, Zheng fails to teach the method of claim 2, wherein a first range shape of the filter range is diamond-shaped, and each luma sample of the plurality of candidate luma sets has a sample position (x, y) with respect to the first luma sample, where x and y are integers and |x/N|+|y/M|≤1.
In a similar endeavor Yin teaches wherein a first range shape of the filter range is diamond-shaped, and each luma sample of the plurality of candidate luma sets has a sample position (x, y) with respect to the first luma sample, where x and y are integers and |x/N|+|y/M|≤1 (See ¶0183-0184 in view of FIG. 7 and 8).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Yin into Zheng because it allows for representation of neighboring samples to be shaped as described in at least ¶0180.
In regards to claim 6, Zheng fails to teach the method of claim 1, wherein the filter range has a first range shape, the method further comprising: identifying a set of predefined range shapes, wherein the video bitstream further includes a second syntax element including a range shape index selecting one of the set of predefined range shapes as the first range shape on one of a sequence, frame, or filtering unit level.
In a similar endeavor Yin teaches wherein the filter range has a first range shape, the method further comprising: identifying a set of predefined range shapes, wherein the video bitstream further includes a second syntax element including a range shape index selecting one of the set of predefined range shapes as the first range shape on one of a sequence, frame, or filtering unit level (See ¶0374).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Yin into Zheng because it allows for representation of neighboring samples to be shaped as described in at least ¶0180.
In regards to claim 7, Zheng fails to teach the method of claim 1, wherein the set of target luma samples are arranged according to a first filter shape, the method further comprising: identifying a set of predefined filter shapes, wherein the video bitstream further includes a third syntax element including a filter shape index selecting one of the set of predefined filter shapes as the first filter shape on one of a sequence, frame, or filtering unit level.
In a similar endeavor Yin teaches wherein the set of target luma samples are arranged according to a first filter shape, the method further comprising: identifying a set of predefined filter shapes, wherein the video bitstream further includes a third syntax element including a filter shape index selecting one of the set of predefined filter shapes as the first filter shape on one of a sequence, frame, or filtering unit level (See ¶0374).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Yin into Zheng because it allows for representation of neighboring samples to be shaped as described in at least ¶0180.
In regards to claim 8, Zheng fails to teach the method of claim 1, wherein the filter range has a first range shape, and the set of target luma samples are arranged according to a first filter shape, the method further comprising: deriving the first range shape {based on a reference area of the current coding block}, wherein the first range shape is not signaled in the video bitstream.
In a similar endeavor Yin teaches wherein the filter range has a first range shape, and the set of target luma samples are arranged according to a first filter shape, the method further comprising: deriving the first range shape {based on a reference area of the current coding block}, wherein the first range shape is not signaled in the video bitstream (See ¶0179 wherein filter shapes may be signaled, inherited or even derived on-the-fly [thus not signaled]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Yin into Zheng because it allows for representation of neighboring samples to be shaped as described in at least ¶0180.
In regards to claim 9, Zheng fails to teach the method of claim 1, wherein the set of target luma samples and the first luma sample are arranged according to a first filter shape, and the first filter shape is not signaled in the video bitstream, the method further comprising: deriving the first filer shape {based on a reference area of the current coding block}.
In a similar endeavor Yin teaches wherein the set of target luma samples and the first luma sample are arranged according to a first filter shape, and the first filter shape is not signaled in the video bitstream, the method further comprising: deriving the first filer shape {based on a reference area of the current coding block} (See ¶0179 wherein filter shapes may be signaled, inherited or even derived on-the-fly [thus not signaled]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Yin into Zheng because it allows for representation of neighboring samples to be shaped as described in at least ¶0180.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (“Zheng”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2026/0067454) in view of Taquet et al. (“Taquet”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2022/0078415).
In regards to claim 11, Zheng fails to teach the method of claim 1, wherein for each candidate luma set, the plurality of respective luma samples include more than two respective luma samples.
In a similar endeavor Taquet teaches wherein for each candidate luma set, the plurality of respective luma samples include more than two respective luma samples (See ¶0080-0082 in view of FIG. 4B and 16A-16B).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Taquet into Zheng because it allows for improvement in coding efficiency and quality as described in at least ¶0002 through the use of filters.
In regards to claim 12, Zheng fails to teach the method of claim 1, wherein the set of target luma samples includes a first subset of target luma samples and a second subset of target luma samples, and applying the loop filter to combine the set of target luma samples including the first luma sample to generate the first sample offset of the first color sample further comprising: combining the first subset of target luma samples to provide a first target luma value; combining the second subset of target luma samples to provide a second target luma value; combining the first target luma value, the second target luma value, and the first luma sample to generate the first sample offset.
In a similar endeavor Taquet teaches wherein the set of target luma samples includes a first subset of target luma samples and a second subset of target luma samples, and applying the loop filter to combine the set of target luma samples including the first luma sample to generate the first sample offset of the first color sample further comprising: combining the first subset of target luma samples to provide a first target luma value; combining the second subset of target luma samples to provide a second target luma value; combining the first target luma value, the second target luma value, and the first luma sample to generate the first sample offset (See ¶0010-0012 in view of 0142-0145).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Taquet into Zheng because it allows for improvement in coding efficiency and quality as described in at least ¶0002 through the use of filters.
In regards to claim 13, Zheng fails to teach teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the first subset of target luma samples includes a top left luma sample, a top luma sample, and a top right luma sample, and the second subset of target luma samples includes a bottom left luma sample, a bottom luma sample, and a bottom right luma sample.
In a similar endeavor Taquet teaches wherein the first subset of target luma samples includes a top left luma sample, a top luma sample, and a top right luma sample, and the second subset of target luma samples includes a bottom left luma sample, a bottom luma sample, and a bottom right luma sample (See ¶0080-0082 in view of FIG. 4B and 16A-16B).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Taquet into Zheng because it allows for improvement in coding efficiency and quality as described in at least ¶0002 through the use of filters.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (“Zheng”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2026/0067454) in view of Andersson et al. (“Ande”) (U.S. PG Publication No. 2023/0164312).
In regards to claim 14, Zheng fails to teach the method of claim 12, wherein the first subset of target luma samples includes a top left luma sample, a left luma sample, and a bottom left luma sample, and the second subset of target luma samples includes a top right luma sample, a right sample, and a bottom right luma sample.
In a similar endeavor Ande teaches wherein the first subset of target luma samples includes a top left luma sample, a left luma sample, and a bottom left luma sample, and the second subset of target luma samples includes a top right luma sample, a right sample, and a bottom right luma sample (See ¶0006 in view of FIG. 1-11).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Ande into Zheng because it allows for increased efficiency through the use of filters by lowering the error propagation between reconstructed image components so far as described in at least ¶0005.
In regards to claim 15, Zheng fails to teach the method of claim 12, wherein the first subset of target luma samples includes a top left luma sample, a left luma sample, and a top luma sample, and the second subset of target luma samples includes a right luma sample, a bottom sample, and a bottom right luma sample.
In a similar endeavor Ande teaches wherein the first subset of target luma samples includes a top left luma sample, a left luma sample, and a top luma sample, and the second subset of target luma samples includes a right luma sample, a bottom sample, and a bottom right luma sample (See ¶0006 in view of FIG. 1-11).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Ande into Zheng because it allows for increased efficiency through the use of filters by lowering the error propagation between reconstructed image components so far as described in at least ¶0005.
In regards to claim 16, Zheng fails to teach the method of claim 12, wherein the first subset of target luma samples includes a top right luma sample, a top luma sample, and a right luma sample, and the second subset of target luma samples includes a bottom left luma sample, a left luma sample, and a bottom luma sample.
In a similar endeavor Ande teaches wherein the first subset of target luma samples includes a top right luma sample, a top luma sample, and a right luma sample, and the second subset of target luma samples includes a bottom left luma sample, a left luma sample, and a bottom luma sample (See ¶0006 in view of FIG. 1-11).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Ande into Zheng because it allows for increased efficiency through the use of filters by lowering the error propagation between reconstructed image components so far as described in at least ¶0005.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10, 17 and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
EDEMIO NAVAS JR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2483
/EDEMIO NAVAS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483