DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communications filed 05/14/2025 (claimed priority date 05/31/2022):
Claims 1-16 have been examined.
Legend: “Under BRI” = “under broadest reasonable interpretation;”
“[Prior Art/Analogous/Non-Analogous Art Reference] discloses through the invention” means “See/read entire document;” Paragraph [No..] = e.g., Para [0005] = paragraph 5; P = page, e.g., p4 = page 4; C = column, e.g. c3 = column 3;
Ln = line, e.g., ln25 = line 25; ln25-36 = lines 25 through 36.
Drawings
1. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “camera,” claimed in claim 1, its position/placement/location relative to the claimed/specified “human-powered vehicle,” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
1.1 The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(b) because they are incomplete. The drawings do not present the claimed “camera,” specified “camera 32A,” particularly where it is positioned/placed/located/attached to/fixed to/mounted onto relative to the claimed/specified “human-powered vehicle 2”. The fig. 3-4 only present the claimed/specified “camera 32A” as a part of detector, as the camera electrically connected to the electronic controller, however, where it is unclear where it is positioned/placed/located/attached to/mounted onto relative to the claimed/specified “human-powered vehicle.” Clarification is required.
37 CFR 1.83(b) reads as follows: When the invention consists of an improvement on an old machine the drawing must when possible exhibit, in one or more views, the improved portion itself, disconnected from the old structure, and also in another view, so much only of the old structure as will suffice to show the connection of the invention therewith.
Claim Interpretation
1.1 This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step,” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “informing unit,” “assist driving unit,” in claims 2-7.
Per fig. 2-3, Para [0014, 0016, 0030, 0078, 0088, 0091, 0119, 0125] of the specification, at least as published/originally filed, “informing unit IU,” “assist driving unit DU” appear to be structure elements/components of a bigger structure(s).
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1.1 Claims 1-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
1.2 Claim 1 recites the limitations/features “a camera configured to capture a real-time image of at least one of a forward view, a rearward view, a right view, and a left view of the human-powered vehicle;” “the camera being electrically connected to the electronic controller,” wherein the specification does not provide any details/description/support, etc., for a position/placement/location of the claimed/specified “camera” relative to the claimed/specified “human-powered vehicle.” Clarification is required.
1.3 Claims 2-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because of their dependencies on rejected independent claim 1.
2.1 Claims 1-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
2.2 Claim 1 recites the limitations/features “a camera configured to capture a real-time image of at least one of a forward view, a rearward view, a right view, and a left view of the human-powered vehicle;” “the camera being electrically connected to the electronic controller,” which is unclear to understand where and/or how the claimed/specified “camera” is being positioned/placed/located/fixed to/mounted onto relative to the claimed/specified “human-powered vehicle,” which renders the claim indefinite. Clarification is required.
It is also unclear to understand where and how, or along which direction, relative to movement of the claimed/specified “human-powered vehicle,” the claimed/specified “road objects” are to be detected by the claimed/specified “camera” being positioned/placed/located/fixed to/mounted onto the claimed/specified “human-powered vehicle,” which renders the claim indefinite. Clarification is required.
Additionally, the specification does not provide any details/description/support, etc., for a position/placement/location of the claimed/specified “camera” relative to the claimed/specified “human-powered vehicle.” Clarification is required.
For the purpose of this examination, in view of the specification, and under BRI, the Examiner will interpret the claimed/specified “camera” as a well – known in the art “video camera,” or plural “video cameras” attached to a moving vehicle/bicycle as the vehicle/bike moves through an environment, with each camera capturing directed towards a particular angle such that the combined cameras are able to capture a complete 360 degree view of the surrounding environment; one or more cameras used that use a panoramic lens, a 360 degree view lens, a fish-eye lens, and/or other types of lenses that may be able to capture varying amounts of the surrounding environment with varying degrees of pixel accuracy; a single video camera that utilizes a 360 degree view lens used to capture the surrounding environment.
2.3 Claims 2-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, because of their dependencies on rejected independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-3 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STEPHENS (US20230202608) in view of Espeset (US20160379415).
As per claim 1, STEPHENS discloses through the invention (see entire document) a control device (fig. 2, Para [0057, 0069, 0072, 0079, 0118, 0136]) for a human-powered vehicle (fig. 1-2, Para [0043, 0053, 0056-0057]), comprising:
an electronic controller (fig. 2, Para [0057, 0069, 0072, 0079, 0118, 0136]) configured to obtain driving-environment information relating to driving environment of the human-powered vehicle (fig. 1, Para [0036, 0042-0043, 0045]), the driving-environment information including road object information relating to road objects (fig. 7, 10, Para [0014-0016, 0043, 0073-0074, 0084, 0093, 0101-0106, 0113, 0128, 0137-0167]), the electronic controller being configured to control an electric component based on the driving-environment information (fig. 7, 10, 12-14, Para [0021-0022, 0068, 0095, 0267, 0160, 0180, 0191, 0193, 0210-0214, 0219-020, 0249, 0265, 0282-0283, 0293-0294, 0298, 0302, 0306, 0308]) ;
a detector, the electronic controller being configured to obtain the driving-environment information based on a detection result of the detector (fig. 2, 5-7, Para [0009, 0014-0016, 0046-0047, 0070-0078]), the detector including a camera configured to capture a real-time image of at least one of a rearward view of the human-powered vehicle (Para [0164]); and
the camera being electrically connected to the electronic controller (Para [0164]).
STEPHENS does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing, a camera configured to capture a real-time image of at least one of a forward view, a rearward view, a right view, and a left view of the human-powered vehicle; the camera being electrically connected to the electronic controller, the electronic controller being configured to receive the real-time image from the camera.
However, Espeset teaches these limitations/features through the invention (see entire document), particularly in fig. 8, 10-12, 14-19 Para [0142-0143] – teaching one or more video cameras used, with each video camera capturing a portion of the surrounding environment; the video camera(s) attached to a moving vehicle (e.g. cars, bicycles, humans, boats, planes, or flying drones, etc.) as the vehicle moves through an environment, with each camera capturing directed towards a particular angle such that the combined cameras are able to capture a complete 360 degree view of the surrounding environment; one or more cameras used that use a panoramic lens, a 360 degree view lens, a fish-eye lens, and/or other types of lenses that may be able to capture varying amounts of the surrounding environment with varying degrees of pixel accuracy; a single video camera that utilizes a 360 degree view lens used to capture the surrounding environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of U.S. Patent No.: 12330735 by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Espeset, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to generate a 360 degree mixed virtual reality environment that provides a 360 degree view of an environment (see entire Espeset document, particularly abstract).
As per claim 2, STEPHENS further discloses through the invention (see entire document) electric component that includes at least one of an informing unit, an assist driving unit, a gear-changing device, a braking device, a rider-posture changing device, and a light emitting device, and electronic controller configured to control the at least one of the informing unit, the assist driving unit, the gear-changing device, the braking device, the rider-posture changing device, and the light emitting device based on the driving-environment information (fig. 2, Para [0037, 0068, 0070, 0107-0109, 0115, 0120, 00126-0127, 0135-0136, 0204, 0221-0222]).
As per claim 3, STEPHENS further discloses through the invention (see entire document) electric component that includes an informing unit configured to inform a user that the driving-environment information meets a condition, and electronic controller configured to control the informing unit to inform the user that the driving-environment information meets the condition if the driving-environment information meets the condition (fig. 2, Para [0068, 0107, 0115, 0120]).
As per claim 12, STEPHENS further discloses through the invention (see entire document) electric component that includes a rider-posture changing device, and electronic controller configured to control the rider-posture changing device to change a state of the rider-posture changing device if a road object distance defined from the control device to a road object which is included in the road object information and which is within a predetermined distance from the control device is equal to or below a road object threshold (Para [0056, 0073, 0121, 0133, 0269, 0273-0275, 0286]).
As per claim 13, STEPHENS further discloses through the invention (see entire document) electronic controller configured to control the rider-posture changing device to change the state of the rider-posture changing device to a predetermined state if the road object distance is equal to or below the road object threshold (Para [0056, 0073, 0121, 0133, 0269, 0273-0275, 0286]).
As per claim 14, STEPHENS further discloses through the invention (see entire document) electric component that includes a light emitting device, and electronic controller configured to control the light emitting device to change a state of the light emitting device if a road object distance defined from the control device to a road object which is included in the road object information and which is within a predetermined distance from the control device is equal to or below a road object threshold (fig. 2, Para [0036, 0042-0043, 0045, 0055-0056, 0073, 0076, 0082, 0098-0100, 0107-0109, 0115, 0121, 0133, 0269, 0271, 0273-0275, 0288]).
As per claim 15, STEPHENS further discloses through the invention (see entire document) electronic controller configured to control the light emitting device to change the state of the light emitting device to a predetermined state if the road object distance is equal to or below the road object threshold (Para [0036, 0042-0043, 0045, 0055-0056, 0073, 0076, 0082, 0098-0100, 0107-0109, 0115, 0121, 0133, 0269, 0271, 0273-0275, 0288]).
As per claim 16, STEPHENS further discloses through the invention (see entire document) road object information that relates to at least one of non-living objects which are on roadways, and living objects which are on roadways (Para [0074, 0093, 0113, 0171, 0188, 0211]).
2. Claims 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of STEPHENS and Espeset, further in view of BIDERMAN (CA3162488A1), and further in view of Yamazaki (US20190300109).
As per claim 4, STEPHENS does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing, driving-environment information that includes traffic information relating to traffic, electric component that includes an assist driving unit, and the electronic controller configured to control the assist driving unit to change an assist ratio if the traffic information is equal to or below a traffic-state threshold, the assist ratio being a ratio of assist force applied by the assist driving unit to pedaling force applied by a user.
However, BIDERMAN discloses these limitations/features through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0017, 0105, 0111-0112, 0120, 0130, 0134, 0151, 0204, 0210, 0217, 0223, 0299, 0322, 0392-0393, 0732] – teaching collecting data from source external to the electrically motorized wheel that includes data from a road traffic sensor; calculating, estimating gear ratio based on the collected sensor data.
Yamazaki, in turn, discloses through the invention, (see entire document), particularly in Para [0062] – teaching reducing changing of gear ratio during the gear shifting operation; possibility to reduce shock during a gear shifting operation and reduce changing of gear ratio during the gear shifting operation.
Additionally, in regards to the fact that an excessive number of references has been combined, the Examiner kindly presents that “… reliance on a large number of references in a rejection does not, without more, weigh against the obviousness of the claimed invention.” See In re Gorman, 933 F.2d 982, 18 USPQ2d 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of STEPHENS by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by BIDERMAN, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to estimate/calculate gear ratio based on sensor data (see entire BIDERMAN document, particularly Para [0322]); and
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Yamazaki, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to reduce shock during a gear shifting operation; reduce changing of gear ratio during the gear shifting operation (see entire Yamazaki document, particularly Para [0062]).
As per claim 5, STEPHENS does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing, electronic controller configured to control the assist driving unit to decrease the assist ratio if the traffic information is equal to or below the traffic-state threshold.
However, BIDERMAN discloses these limitations/features through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0017, 0105, 0111-0112, 0120, 0130, 0134, 0151, 0204, 0210, 0217, 0223, 0299, 0322, 0392-0393, 0732].
Yamazaki, in turn, discloses these limitations/features through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of STEPHENS by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by BIDERMAN, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to estimate/calculate gear ratio based on sensor data (see entire BIDERMAN document, particularly Para [0322]); and
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Yamazaki, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to reduce shock during a gear shifting operation; reduce changing of gear ratio during the gear shifting operation (see entire Yamazaki document, particularly Para [0062]).
As per claim 6, STEPHENS does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing, electric component that includes an assist driving unit, and electronic controller configured to control the assist driving unit to change an assist ratio if a road object distance defined from the control device to a road object which is included in the road object information and which is within a predetermined distance from the control device is equal to or below a road object threshold, the assist ratio being a ratio of assist force applied by the assist driving unit to pedaling force applied by a user.
However, BIDERMAN discloses these limitations/features through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0299, 0712-0713, 0731-0732, 0746, 0748, 0759, 0768, 0788].
Yamazaki, in turn, discloses these limitations/features through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of STEPHENS by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by BIDERMAN, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to estimate/calculate gear ratio based on sensor data (see entire BIDERMAN document, particularly Para [0322]); and
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Yamazaki, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to reduce shock during a gear shifting operation; reduce changing of gear ratio during the gear shifting operation (see entire Yamazaki document, particularly Para [0062]).
As per claim 7, STEPHENS does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing, electronic controller configured to control the assist driving unit to decrease the assist ratio if the road object distance is equal to or below the road object threshold.
However, BIDERMAN discloses these limitations/features through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0299, 0712-0713, 0731-0732, 0746, 0748, 0759, 0768, 0788].
Yamazaki, in turn, discloses these limitations/features through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of STEPHENS by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by BIDERMAN, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to estimate/calculate gear ratio based on sensor data (see entire BIDERMAN document, particularly Para [0322]); and
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Yamazaki, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to reduce shock during a gear shifting operation; reduce changing of gear ratio during the gear shifting operation (see entire Yamazaki document, particularly Para [0062]).
As per claim 8, STEPHENS does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing, electric component that includes a gear-changing device, and the electronic controller configured to control the gear-changing device to change a gear ratio if a road object distance defined from the control device to a road object which is included in the road object information and which is within a predetermined distance from the control device is equal to or below a road object threshold.
However, BIDERMAN discloses these limitations/features through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0120, 0299, 0322, 0392-0393] – teaching collecting data from source external to the electrically motorized wheel that includes data from a road traffic sensor; calculating, estimating gear ratio based on the collected sensor data.
Yamazaki, in turn, discloses through the invention, (see entire document), particularly in Para [0062] – teaching reducing changing of gear ratio during the gear shifting operation; possibility to reduce shock during a gear shifting operation and reduce changing of gear ratio during the gear shifting operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of STEPHENS by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by BIDERMAN, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to estimate/calculate gear ratio based on sensor data (see entire BIDERMAN document, particularly Para [0322]); and
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Yamazaki, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to reduce shock during a gear shifting operation; reduce changing of gear ratio during the gear shifting operation (see entire Yamazaki document, particularly Para [0062]).
As per claim 9, STEPHENS does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing, electronic controller configured to control the gear-changing device to downshift if the road object distance is equal to or below the road object threshold.
However, BIDERMAN discloses these limitations/features through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0120, 0299, 0322, 0392-0393] – teaching collecting data from source external to the electrically motorized wheel that includes data from a road traffic sensor; calculating, estimating gear ratio based on the collected sensor data.
Yamazaki, in turn, discloses through the invention, (see entire document), particularly in Para [0062] – teaching reducing changing of gear ratio during the gear shifting operation; possibility to reduce shock during a gear shifting operation and reduce changing of gear ratio during the gear shifting operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of STEPHENS by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by BIDERMAN, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to estimate/calculate gear ratio based on sensor data (see entire BIDERMAN document, particularly Para [0322]); and
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Yamazaki, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to reduce shock during a gear shifting operation; reduce changing of gear ratio during the gear shifting operation (see entire Yamazaki document, particularly Para [0062]).
As per claim 10, STEPHENS does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing, electric component that includes a braking device, and electronic controller configured to control the braking device to change braking force if a road object distance defined from the control device to a road object which is included in the road object information and which is within a predetermined distance from the control device is equal to or below a road object threshold.
However, BIDERMAN discloses these limitations/features through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0238, 0315, 0404, 0690, 0718, 0757, 0782, 0784].
Yamazaki, in turn, discloses these limitations/features through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of STEPHENS by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by BIDERMAN, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to estimate/calculate gear ratio based on sensor data (see entire BIDERMAN document, particularly Para [0322]); and
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Yamazaki, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to reduce shock during a gear shifting operation; reduce changing of gear ratio during the gear shifting operation (see entire Yamazaki document, particularly Para [0062]).
As per claim 11, STEPHENS does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing, electronic controller configured to control the braking device to increase the braking force if the road object distance is equal to or below the road object threshold.
However, BIDERMAN discloses these limitations/features through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0238, 0315, 0404, 0690, 0718, 0757, 0782, 0784].
Yamazaki, in turn, discloses these limitations/features through the invention (see entire document), particularly in Para [0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of STEPHENS by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by BIDERMAN, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to estimate/calculate gear ratio based on sensor data (see entire BIDERMAN document, particularly Para [0322]); and
by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Yamazaki, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to reduce shock during a gear shifting operation; reduce changing of gear ratio during the gear shifting operation (see entire Yamazaki document, particularly Para [0062]).
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 27 of U.S. Patent No.: 12330735 in view of Espeset (US20160379415).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
it is obvious that narrower claim combination of narrower claims 1 and 27 of U.S. Patent No.: 12330735 covers broader claim 1 of the instant application.
U.S. Patent No.: 12330735 does not explicitly disclose through the invention, or is missing, a camera configured to capture a real-time image of at least one of a forward view, a rearward view, a right view, and a left view of the human-powered vehicle; the camera being electrically connected to the electronic controller, the electronic controller being configured to receive the real-time image from the camera.
However, Espeset teaches these limitations/features through the invention (see entire document), particularly in fig. 8, 10-12, 14-19 Para [0142-0143] – teaching one or more video cameras used, with each video camera capturing a portion of the surrounding environment; the video camera(s) attached to a moving vehicle (e.g. cars, bicycles, humans, boats, planes, or flying drones, etc.) as the vehicle moves through an environment, with each camera capturing directed towards a particular angle such that the combined cameras are able to capture a complete 360 degree view of the surrounding environment; one or more cameras used that use a panoramic lens, a 360 degree view lens, a fish-eye lens, and/or other types of lenses that may be able to capture varying amounts of the surrounding environment with varying degrees of pixel accuracy; a single video camera that utilizes a 360 degree view lens used to capture the surrounding environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, who is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of U.S. Patent No.: 12330735 by incorporating, applying and utilizing the above steps, technique and features as taught by Espeset, who is in the same field of endeavor. A person of ordinary skill, ordinary creativity would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of and/or in order to generate a 360 degree mixed virtual reality environment that provides a 360 degree view of an environment (see entire Espeset document, particularly abstract).
1.1 Claims 2-16 rejected under the nonstatutory double patenting rejections, because of their dependencies on rejected independent claim 1.
RELEVANT PRIOR ART THAT WAS CITED BUT NOT APPLIED
The following relevant prior art references that were found, by the Examiner while performing initial and/or additional search, cited but not applied:
Yu (CN104590479A) - (see entire Yu document, particularly abstract - teaching a transmission device for bicycle, bicycle, the bicycle speed changing method and device, wherein the bicycle speed changing device comprises: an information collecting module for collecting the current bicycle riding information corresponding to the control plate; for storing the collected information, the communication module that sends the gear ratio into the corresponding control signal, and sends the control signal to the transmission, a communication module for transmitting information to the server through the preset APP to make the server according to information and the APP from the preset user information calculate the gear ratio, and receiving from the server by predetermined APP gear ratio and transmission gear ratio to a control board, a transmission for automatic adjustable gear according to the received control signal; realizing under the condition of non-active control that automatically adjusts the speed change gear according to the user condition, road condition and other information so that the user can always maintain an optimal driving state.
Kao (US5295727) - (see entire Kao document, particularly abstract - teaching a bicycle seat adjusting device, particularly a device to adjust the seat forward or backward and to adjust its inclination degree, comprising an adjusting shaft placed within an U-shaped support at the upper end of seat post so that the adjusting shaft can be locked by two retainers on opposite sides; the adjusting shaft designed with radial positioning holes for fitting an adjusting lever so that turning of the adjusting lever can tighten or loosen the retainers for fitting or adjusting of the seat to a desired position);
SMITS (WO2019059759A1) - (see entire SMITS document, particularly abstract - teaching a bicycle trainer comprising a seat, handlebars and rotatable pedals, and an electronically variable brake acting directly or indirectly on the rotatable pedals with a braking resistance that depends on a predetermined setting of a computer-controller, which predetermined setting is variable and depends on selected parameters to reflect simulated cycling conditions comprising at least one of a road, wind conditions and a cyclist, wherein the bicycle trainer excludes a flywheel and includes a variable-ratio transmission system and that the predetermined setting of the braking resistance also depends on a setting or change of setting of the variable-ratio transmission system so as to simulate a level of inertia or change of inertia as experienced by an outdoor cyclist when changing the variable-ratio transmission system);
WU XIN (CN213473362U) - (see entire WU XIN document, particularly abstract - teaching utility model that belongs to the technical field of scooters, and particularly relates to a scooter frame and a scooter with the same, the scooter frame that comprises a bracket, a seat and an adjusting mechanism, the seat arranged for a user to sit, the seat connected to the bracket through the adjusting mechanism, and the adjusting mechanism arranged on the bracket; the adjusting mechanism arranged to change the position of the seat relative to the bracket in the horizontal direction so as to meet the requirements of different users; according to the bicycle frame, the seat connected to the bracket through the adjusting mechanism, the position of the seat relative to the bracket in the horizontal direction is changed through the adjusting mechanism, so that the gravity center position of the whole bicycle frame is changed, and the relative position between the seat and the bracket is matched with users with different body types, heights and body defects; the user that can drive the scooter in the most comfortable sitting posture, and the experience feeling and the comfort degree of the user improved; and after adjustment of the adjusting mechanism, the requirements of different road conditions for the gravity center position that can be met, and the stability of the scooter in the running process improved).
Conclusion
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/YURI KAN, P.E./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662