DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 is pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/14/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teplitsky (US 2003/0161272 A1) in view of Bansal et al. (US 9,215,214 B2) (hereinafter, “Bansal”).
As to claim 1, Teplitsky discloses a method comprising:
receiving … policy comprising a plurality of rules (“… rules for packet processing are presented to a networking device in priority order. These rules may be presented to the networking device through an interface such as a Command Line Interface, or CLI. Alternatively, the rules may be presented by one or more software applications; these software applications may, in some embodiments, reside at least partially on the networking device itself.” -e.g., see, Teplitsky: [0006]; see also: “… loading a set of prioritized classification rules for classifying network traffic, wherein the set of prioritized rules is listed in an priority ordering, and the set of prioritized rules include a plurality of values, each of the plurality of values corresponding to a parameter used to identify packets;” -e.g., see, claim 1 of Teplitsky; see also: “… prior to loading the set of prioritized rules, receiving the set of prioritized rules from a command line interface.” -e.g., see, claim 4 of Teplitsky; see also: “… a series of prioritized rules 200 are presented to the networking device 100 via the CLI; these rules are presented in order of priority, such that when a packet arrives at the Networking Device from an external interface, the headers of the packet are matched against the rules in the order of priority.” -e.g., see, Teplitsky: [0015]; herein, Teplitsky: teaches a set of classification rules comprising a plurality of rules. These rules are received/loaded (via CLI or a networking application) for classifying/filtering network traffic (i.e., determining how packets are handled in a network security/packet filtering context));
selecting a data structure for searching for rule identifiers of rules, of the plurality of rules, applicable to received packets (“… the forwarding layer includes hardware and/or software designed to perform longest match searches on packets. The prioritized rules are converted into a data structure for the forwarding layer, which may include one or more longest match trees; this transformation ensures that for any given packet entering the networking device, a longest match search performed by the forwarding layer on the data structure is equivalent to a priority order search on the prioritized rules.” -e.g., see, Teplitsky: [0007]; see also: “Embodiments of the invention supplement the Longest Match Tree 300 with Virtual Trees; each of the filters 300 302 304 306 may include one or more Virtual Trees, and each Virtual Tree may be identified by a distinct Virtual Tree Number.” -e.g., see, Teplitsky: [0023]; see also: “When a packet arrives at the forwarding layer 104, a longest match search of the headers of the packet is performed against the Longest Match Tree (LMT) 300. If a value in the LMT is matched, then a corresponding action is taken.” -e.g., see, Teplitsky: [0025]; see also: “… wherein each virtual tree includes one or more entries, the one or more entries including the value, and a pointer, the pointer pointing to one of another virtual tree and an instruction; such that longest match searches performed on the one or more longest match trees are identical to prioritized searches on the set of classification rules.” -e.g., see, claim 1 of Teplitsky; herein, Teplitsky teaches the reference selects (converts) to and employs longest match trees (supplemented with virtual trees) as the data structure specifically for the forwarding layer. These searches on the data structure identify the applicable rules (via longest-match matching on packet header values/fields), thereby determining which rules from the plurality apply to received packets); and
populating the selected data structure base on the plurality of rules (“Embodiments of the invention include algorithms to convert the prioritized rules in the Rules Database 200 to populate Virtual Trees in the Longest Match Tree 300. This ensures that for any given packet entering the forwarding layer 104, longest match searches on the Longest Match Tree 300 produce isomorphic results to a search through the prioritized Rules Database.” -e.g., see, Teplitsky: [0027]; see also: “… populating the one or more longest match trees including inserting a plurality of virtual trees in the one or more longest match trees, each virtual tree of the plurality of virtual trees corresponding to a value from the plurality of values, wherein each virtual tree includes one or more entries, the one or more entries including the value, and a pointer, the pointer pointing to one of another virtual tree and an instruction;” -e.g., see, claim 1 of Teplitsky; herein, Teplitsky teaches longest match trees are populated directly from and based on the plurality of prioritized classification rules. The population process inserts rule driven values and pointers into the data structure so that subsequent searches on received packets produce results equivalent to searching the original policy rules).
Teplitsky doesn’t explicitly disclose “cybersecurity policy” being received.
However, in analogous art, Bansal discloses receiving cybersecurity policy comprising a plurality of rules (“… the process initially receives (at 605) the identity of the set of AppliedTo firewall rules that have been added to the high-level data storage. These rules may be specified in terms of high-level AppliedTo identifiers (e.g., high-level compute constructs, network constructs, and/or security groups) or low-level AppliedTo identifiers (e.g., VNIC and wildcard values).” -e.g., see, Bansal: Fig. 6, col. 16, lines 12-41; see also: “… from a controller, receiving a plurality of firewall rules that includes a first set of firewall rules for enforcing on packets of a first set of data end nodes connected to the firewall enforcing device and a second set of firewall rules for enforcing on packets of a second set of data end nodes not connected to the firewall enforcing device;” -e.g., see, claim 1 of Bansal; herein, Bansal teaches a plurality (sets) of firewall rules received from the controller constitute the cybersecurity policy comprising a plurality of rules; the enforcing device receives the rules (policy) and generates custom local firewall data stores/tables from them for packet enforcement).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was to modify the teaching of Teplitsky as taught by Bansal in order to provide efficient, scalable policy enforcement in virtualized environments with dynamic provisioning and headless operation.
Conclusion
SUMAN DEBNATH
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2495
/S.D/Examiner, Art Unit 2495
/FARID HOMAYOUNMEHR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2495