DETAILED ACTION
The status of the claims for this application is as follows.
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 7-13 are currently pending.
Claims 2, 3, and 6 are canceled.
Requirement for Information Under Rule 1.105
Applicant and the assignee of this application are required under 37 CFR 1.105 to provide the following information that the examiner has determined is reasonably necessary to the examination of this application. In response to this requirement, please provide a copy of each of the following items of art referred to in the specification and the claim, that is, "ASME B16.5 Class 150" and “ASME B16.5 Class 300”, that were relied upon at the time of the filling of this instant application. A complete reply to the enclosed Office action must include a complete reply to this requirement. The time period for reply to this requirement coincides with the time period for reply to the enclosed Office action.
Applicant in their reply filed on 04/06/2026, page 7, line 23 through page 8, line 3, indicated that tables from the above standards were supplied with their response. However, the examiner could not locate/identify said tables. Accordingly, the request for information has not been fulfilled. If the request for information is not supplied/fulfilled with the response to this instant Office action then applicant’s response to this instant Office action will be held as non-compliant and/or non-responsive.
Drawings
The drawings were supplied on 04/06/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Applicant’s amendments to the drawings make moot the previous drawing objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 9 recite “selected from a group of nominal pipe sizes associated with a piping standard”. The claim language is unclear because the claim does not specify which standard, what portion of which standard, or for what pipe size, material, and so on.
Claims 1 and 9 recite “wherein the first pipe flange and the second pipe flange are sized to correspond to one of a first pressure class of the piping standard for the pipe size of the pipe or a second pressure class of the piping standard for the pipe size”.
The claim language is unclear because the claim does not specify which standard and which class, what portion of which standard, or for what pipe size, material, and so on. The claims have been rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wagner (EP 0974781).
At the outset the applicant is reminded that:
1. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
2. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Re Clm 1: Wagner discloses a bleed ring (see Figs. 1-4 and the Fig. above and see [0015 and 0016]) comprising:
an annular body (the body of 1) defining
a substantially cylindrical outer surface (see Fig. 2, the surface outside of 1001, and note that the structure is circular in nature),
a substantially cylindrical inner surface (see Fig. 2, the structure is circular in nature),
a first coupling surface (3) extending between the outer surface and the inner surface, and
a second coupling surface (4) substantially opposing the first coupling surface;
a plurality of scalloped cavities (of the 2001s) in the outer surface, each of the scalloped cavities being provided in the form of a substantially cylindrical bore (see above, as the 2001s each have a substantially cylindrical shape) inset into the outer surface; and one or more tap (23) extending from the outer surface to (“to” in this instance, being defined as a direction towards something) the inner surface (see Fig. 2);
wherein the inner surface has a diameter corresponding (corresponding being defined as similar to) to a pipe size selected from a group of nominal pipe sizes associated with a piping standard (any nominal pipe size similar to the inner surface);
wherein the outer surface has a diameter (for example, see Figs. 1-4) configured to fit within a first arrangement of flange bolts corresponding to a first pressure class of the piping standard for the pipe size; and
wherein the plurality of scalloped cavities (for example, see Figs. 1-4) are configured to align with a second arrangement of flange bolts corresponding to a second pressure class of the piping standard for the pipe size.
Re Clm 4: Wagner discloses a centerline of each of the scalloped cavities is substantially parallel to a centerline of the annular body (see above).
As for claim 5: the device of Wagner is made to or is capable of “wherein the first arrangement of flange bolts comprises an arrangement corresponding (corresponding being defined as similar to) to the pipe size according to ASME B16.5 Class 300 and the second arrangement of flange bolts comprises an arrangement corresponding (corresponding being defined as similar to) to the pipe size according to ASMEB 16.5 Class 150.
The recitation “wherein the first arrangement of flange bolts comprises an arrangement corresponding to the pipe size according to ASME B16.5 Class 300 and the second arrangement of flange bolts comprises an arrangement corresponding to the pipe size according to ASMEB 16.5 Class 150.” is a process which can be used to make the product claimed. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art was made by a different process”. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 946, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Re Clm 7: Wagner discloses wherein the one or more tap is configured for coupling with an instrument ([see 0020]) selected from the group consisting of a sensor, a gauge, a drain (electrical), a vent, a sample valve, and an anode rod.
Re Clm 9: Wagner discloses a method for coupling elements in a piping system (see Figs. 1-4 and the Fig. above and see [0015 and 0016]), the method comprising:
arranging an annular body (the body of 1) between a first pipe flange (2 or 13) and a second pipe flange (the other 2 and the other 13, respectively),
the annular body defining a substantially cylindrical inner surface (see Fig. 2, the structure is circular in nature) having a diameter corresponding (corresponding being defined as similar to) to a pipe size selected from a group of nominal pipe sizes associated with a piping standard (any nominal pipe size similar to the inner surface) and
a cylindrical outer surface (see Fig. 2, the outer surface and note that the structure is circular in nature) including
a plurality of scalloped cavities formed therein (of the 2001s),
wherein each of the scalloped cavities is provided in the form of a substantially cylindrical bore inset into the outer surface (see above, as the 2001s each have a substantially cylindrical shape),
wherein a first coupling surface (3) extending between the outer surface and the inner surface is arranged against the first pipe flange (see Figs. 1-4), and
wherein a second coupling (4) surface substantially opposing the first coupling surface is arranged against the second pipe flange (see Figs. 1-4); and
coupling the first pipe flange to the second pipe flange using a plurality of flange bolts (see Figs. 1-4)
wherein the annular body comprises one or more tap (23) extending between the outer surface and the inner surface (223 extends between the outer surface and the inner surface, see Fig. 2);
wherein the first pipe flange and the second pipe flange are sized to correspond to one of a first pressure class (any pressure class that it is similar to) of the piping standard for the pipe size of the pipe or a second pressure class (any pressure class that it is similar to) of the piping standard for the pipe size;
wherein the outer surface has a diameter configured such that, where the first pipe flange and the second pipe flange are sized to correspond to the first pressure class (see Figs. 1 and 2 and [0015], the first pressure class for the smaller bolt configuration) of the pipe size (see Figs. 1 and 2 and [0015]), and the plurality of flange bolts couple the first pipe flange to the second pipe flange in a first arrangement corresponding to the first pressure class, coupling the first pipe flange to the second pipe flange comprises fitting the outer surface within the first arrangement of the plurality of flange bolts;
and wherein the plurality of scalloped cavities (the cavities below/within 1001) are configured such that, where the first pipe flange and the second pipe flange are sized to correspond to the second pressure class (see Figs. 3 and 4 and [0015], the second pressure class for the larger bolt configuration) of the pipe size (see Figs. 3 and 4 and [0015]), and the plurality of flange bolts couple the first pipe flange to the second pipe flange in a second arrangement corresponding to the second pressure class, coupling the first pipe flange to the second pipe flange comprises aligning the plurality of scalloped cavities with the second arrangement of the plurality of flange bolts.
As for claim 10: the device of Wagner is made to or is capable of “wherein the first arrangement of flange bolts comprises an arrangement corresponding (corresponding being defined as similar to) to the pipe size according to ASME B16.5 Class 300 (any arrangement similar to the pipe size according to ASME B16.5 Class 300) and the second arrangement of flange bolts comprises an arrangement corresponding (corresponding being defined as similar to) to the pipe size according to ASMEB 16.5 Class 150 (any arrangement similar to the pipe size according to ASMEB 16.5 Class 150).
Re Clm 11: Wagner discloses wherein the method comprises coupling an instrument ([see 0020]), the electrical earthing) to the one or more tap.
Re Clm 12: Wagner discloses wherein the instrument is selected from the group consisting of a sensor, a gauge, a drain (electrical), a vent, a sample valve, and an anode rod.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner (EP 0974781) as applied to claim(s) 1-7 and 9-12 above.
Re Clm 8: Wagner discloses wherein the one or more tap is at least partially threaded and is configured to correspondingly receive a threaded coupler of the instrument ([see 0020] and fig. 2).
Wagner fails to explicitly disclose threads. However, Wagner in paragraph 0020 indicates that “One of the extensions 20 has in its surface 22 a receiving bore 23 arranged essentially radially to the valve housing 1 as a fastening means for attaching an electrical earthing connection (not shown).” and in Fig. 2 appears to illustrate a threaded hole at 23.
Threads are a known means of attaching members together for the purpose of making a firm and secure connection between mating parts. The examiner is taking Official notice that a member or members can have threads so that they can be threaded together for the purpose of making a firm and secure connection between mating parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention at the time the invention was made to have modified the device of Wagner, to have employed threads, with a reasonable expectation of success because threads are a known means of attaching members together for the purpose of making a firm and secure connection between mating parts.
Re Clm 13: Wagner discloses wherein the one or more tap and the instrument comprises a coupler; and wherein coupling the instrument to the one or more tap comprises engaging the coupler of the instrument with the one or more tap ([see 0020] and fig. 2).
Wagner fails to explicitly disclose threads. However, Wagner in paragraph 0020 indicates that “One of the extensions 20 has in its surface 22 a receiving bore 23 arranged essentially radially to the valve housing 1 as a fastening means for attaching an electrical earthing connection (not shown).” and in Fig. 2 appears to illustrate a threaded hole at 23.
Threads are a known means of attaching members together for the purpose of making a firm and secure connection between mating parts. The examiner is taking Official notice that a member or members can have threads so that they can be threaded together for the purpose of making a firm and secure connection between mating parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention at the time the invention was made to have modified the device of Wagner, to have employed threads, with a reasonable expectation of success because threads are a known means of attaching members together for the purpose of making a firm and secure connection between mating parts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have made moot the previous 112 rejections.
Applicant argues, on page 11 in line 1 through page 15 the last line, that Wagner does not disclose a bleed ring because the structure and function are different from applicant’s invention, one would not consider or use Wagner’s invention as a bleed ring, Wagner does not disclose “one or more tap extending from the outer surface the inner surface”, Wagner’s scalps are different than applicant’s and Wagner fails to disclose “a plurality of scalloped cavities in the outer surface, each of the scalloped cavities being provided in the form of a substantially cylindrical bore“. Wagner at 1001 does not have a substantially cylindrical outer surface.
This is not persuasive.
Wagner does disclose a bleed ring because Wagner discloses all of the claimed physical structures presented as a bleed ring, even if Wagner has alternative functions. Wagner does disclose that element 23 is one or more tap that extends in a direction from the outer surface towards the inner surface. Wagner’s scalps are the same as that which is claimed and Wagner has a plurality of scalloped cavities, at the 2001s, in the outer surface, where each of the scalloped cavities are provided in the form of a substantially cylindrical bore and this shape can handle a plurality of bolt configurations. Applicant is reminded that it is implorer to impart limitations from the specification into the claim(s). Applicant has not defined, in the claims, as to what constitutes as a cylindrical shape and how such a cylindrical shape is then substantially cylindrical, accordingly, giving the claims the broadest reasonable interpretation, Wagner discloses a substantially cylindrical outer surface at 1001.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES ALBERT LINFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3679
08/25/2026
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679