9207782DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (Pub. No.: US 20230117158 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches user device configured to produce lighting effects of a video offered through a Video On Demand (VOD) service (paragraph [0230], “video or broadcast through a device capable of playing performance data, and the control data is transmitted simultaneously with the playback of the performance data, so that the performance data and the control data are set with the same timing and the to-be-controlled devices are controlled to emit light in accordance with the performance data being played. The control data and the performance data are received through a separate receiving device, and the performance data may be played back on any device capable of video playback, for example, mobile devices, TVs, set-top boxes, desktops, portable computing devices, and the like”), comprising:
a communication unit configured to communicate (paragraph [0060], “, the master device 120 may transmit the converted wireless signal to the first to-be-controlled device 110 in the performance hall 20 using wireless communication (e.g., RF communication)”) with a server (FIG. 2, Master device 120) and a receiving device (FIG. 2, to-be-controlled device 110)“;
a memory (FIG. 2, Data processing device 210 and paragraph [0079], “the data processing device 210 may receive performance data and control data related to the performance data through a physical storage medium including a variety of recording media such as CD, DVD, HD-DVD, and Blu-ray DISC, as well as various types of flash memory”); and
a display (FIG. 2 and paragraph [0078], “the data processing device 210 may include a display device capable of outputting performance data”), and
a processor (FIG. 2 control console device, 130) electrically connected to the communication unit, the memory and the display (FIG. 2), wherein the processor is configured to
acquire content-related information, receive playing time of the video from a user through the display (paragraph [0171], “the data transmission/reception unit 131 may receive the non-audience performance data and transmit the performance data in the form of an internal signal for playback through its own display device for visually playing the performance data including a video”) and paragraph [0139], “a method may be applied, in which control information is not visualized on the video playback screen by performing shifting or magnification and covering the components of the playback device and the frame or playback time indicator”),
request and receive at least one piece of metadata from the server based on the content- related information (paragraph [0139], “The control data may be included in the way of metadata of performance data, subtitle data, muted voice track, or the like”),
identify first metadata corresponding to the playing time among the at least one piece of metadata (paragraph [0189], “control information is not visualized on the video playback screen by performing shifting or magnification and covering the components of the playback device and the frame or playback time indicator. It may be included in a method using metadata, subtitle data, muted voice track, and the like”),
generate a light emission control signal based on the first metadata, and transmit the light emission control signal to the receiving device (paragraph [0062], “The control data may include at least one of a signal for controlling the light emission of a light emitting element).
Regarding claim 3, Choi further teaches the at least one piece of metadata includes at least one piece of color information and at least one timecode (paragraph [0099], “the first and second to-be-controlled devices 110 and 220 may maintain the allocated group-specific light emission state information (e.g., lighting color information) to be empty data, or record only dummy data or temporary color data. That is, the actual group-specific lighting color information may be transmitted in real time while performing an actual performance”).
Regarding claim 4, Choi further teaches the content-related information includes performance information, and the performance information includes at least one of performance ID, performance title, performance date and time, and at least one piece of stage information (paragraph [0135]).
Regarding claim 5, Choi further teaches the at least one piece of metadata is defined in advance for each of the at least one piece of stage information (paragraph [0169], “The data transmission/reception unit 131 may receive performance data from a non-audience performance performed in the performance hall 20. Here, the performance data is data performed in the performance hall 20, and may be performance data including sound, movement, and spatial state generated when performance is being made on a stage”).
Regarding claim 6, Choi teaches a method for producing lighting effects of a video offered through a Video On Demand (VOD) service (paragraph [0230], “video or broadcast through a device capable of playing performance data, and the control data is transmitted simultaneously with the playback of the performance data, so that the performance data and the control data are set with the same timing and the to-be-controlled devices are controlled to emit light in accordance with the performance data being played. The control data and the performance data are received through a separate receiving device, and the performance data may be played back on any device capable of video playback, for example, mobile devices, TVs, set-top boxes, desktops, portable computing devices, and the like”), comprising:
a process of acquiring, by a user device (paragraph [0230], “mobile devices, TVs, set-top boxes, desktops, portable computing devices, and the like”),content-related information and playing time of the video (paragraph [0139], “a method may be applied, in which control information is not visualized on the video playback screen by performing shifting or magnification and covering the components of the playback device and the frame or playback time indicator”);
a process of requesting, by the user device, at least one piece of metadata from a server (FIG. 2, Master device 120) based on the content-related information (paragraph [0060], “, the master device 120 may transmit the converted wireless signal to the first to-be-controlled device 110 in the performance hall 20 using wireless communication (e.g., RF communication)”);
a process of receiving (FIG. 2, to-be-controlled device 110), by the user device, the at least one piece of metadata from the server (FIG. 2, Master device 120) based on the content-related information (paragraph [0060], “, the master device 120 may transmit the converted wireless signal to the first to-be-controlled device 110 in the performance hall 20 using wireless communication (e.g., RF communication)”);
a process of identifying, by the user device, first metadata corresponding to the playing time among the at least one piece of metadata (paragraph [0189], “control information is not visualized on the video playback screen by performing shifting or magnification and covering the components of the playback device and the frame or playback time indicator. It may be included in a method using metadata, subtitle data, muted voice track, and the like”) and generating a light emission control signal based on the first metadata; and a process of transmitting, by the user device, the light emission control signal to a receiving device(paragraph [0062], “The control data may include at least one of a signal for controlling the light emission of a light emitting element), wherein the process of acquiring includes a process of receiving, by the user device, the playing time from a user through a display (paragraph [0171], “the data transmission/reception unit 131 may receive the non-audience performance data and transmit the performance data in the form of an internal signal for playback through its own display device for visually playing the performance data including a video”) .
Regarding claim 8, Choi further teaches the at least one piece of metadata includes at least one piece of color information and at least one timecode (paragraph [0099], “the first and second to-be-controlled devices 110 and 220 may maintain the allocated group-specific light emission state information (e.g., lighting color information) to be empty data, or record only dummy data or temporary color data. That is, the actual group-specific lighting color information may be transmitted in real time while performing an actual performance”).
Regarding claim 9, Choi further teaches the content-related information includes performance information, and the performance information includes at least one of performance ID, performance title, performance date and time, and at least one piece of stage information (paragraph [0135]).
Regarding claim 10, Choi further teaches the at least one piece of metadata is defined in advance for each of the at least one piece of stage information (paragraph [0169], “The data transmission/reception unit 131 may receive performance data from a non-audience performance performed in the performance hall 20. Here, the performance data is data performed in the performance hall 20, and may be performance data including sound, movement, and spatial state generated when performance is being made on a stage”).
Regarding claim 15, Choi teaches a user device configured to produce lighting effects of a live-streamed performance video (paragraph [0230], “The control data and the performance data are received through a separate receiving device, and the performance data may be played back on any device capable of video playback, for example, mobile devices, TVs, set-top boxes, desktops, portable computing devices, and the like”), comprising:
a communication unit configured to communicate (paragraph [0060], “, the master device 120 may transmit the converted wireless signal to the first to-be-controlled device 110 in the performance hall 20 using wireless communication (e.g., RF communication)”) with a server (FIG. 2, Master device 120) and a receiving device (FIG. 2, to-be-controlled device 110)“;
a memory (FIG. 2, Data processing device 210 and paragraph [0079], “the data processing device 210 may receive performance data and control data related to the performance data through a physical storage medium including a variety of recording media such as CD, DVD, HD-DVD, and Blu-ray DISC, as well as various types of flash memory”);
a display (FIG. 2 and paragraph [0078], “the data processing device 210 may include a display device capable of outputting performance data”), and
a processor (FIG. 2 control console device, 130) electrically connected to the communication unit and the memory (FIG. 2), wherein the processor is configured to
acquire performance information and playing time of the performance video (paragraph [0139], “a method may be applied, in which control information is not visualized on the video playback screen by performing shifting or magnification and covering the components of the playback device and the frame or playback time indicator”),
download the first metadata from the server, check stage information of a stage produced in real time during the performance [0169], “The data transmission/reception unit 131 may receive performance data from a non-audience performance performed in the performance hall 20. Here, the performance data is data performed in the performance hall 20, and may be performance data including sound, movement, and spatial state generated when performance is being made on a stage”),
generate a light emission control signal based on the playing time and the first metadata in response to the first stage being produced during the performance, and transmit the light emission control signal to the receiving device (paragraph [0062], “The control data may include at least one of a signal for controlling the light emission of a light emitting element).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the method of Claim 10, comprising “a process of generating, by the user device, the light emission control signal based on newly acquired playing time, upon acquiring the new playing time; and a process of stopping, by the user device, the lighting effects when the video is ended”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Dependent claims 12- 14 are also objected by virtue of its dependency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejections under 35 US.C. $ 102
Regarding amended Claims 1 and 6
Applicant argues that, “Choi does not disclose "receive playing time of the video from a user through the display," as recited in amended independent claim 1 and similarly recited in amended independent claim 6.
The Office Action relies on paragraph [0171] of Choi for the alleged disclosure of receiving playing time through a display. (Office Action, page 5). Respectfully, paragraph [0171] of Choi merely describes performance data being played back through a display device or transmitted to an external playback apparatus. Choi does not disclose a user entering or designating a playing time through a display of a user device”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As Choi teaches the limitation regarding “receive playing time of the video from a user through the display” in paragraph 139 and 171. The limitation “a user entering or designating a playing time through a display of a user device” has been considered but are moot because is not claimed in claim 1 or 6.
Applicant further argues that “Choi does not disclose - request and receive at least one piece of metadata from the server based on the content-related information as recited in amended independent claim 1, and similarly recited in amended independent claim 6”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As Choi teaches in paragraph 139, that “The control data may be included in the way of metadata of performance data, subtitle data, muted voice track, or the like”.
For above mentioned reasons rejection of dependent claims 3-5 and 8-14 are also sustained.
Regarding Independent Claim 15
Applicant argues that, “independent claim 15 has likewise been amended to require that the user device receive the playing time of the performance video from a user through the display. For the reasons discussed above with respect to amended claims 1 and 6, Choi's time-code-based synchronization does not disclose receiving a playing time from a user through a display of the user device. Choi therefore does not anticipate amended claim 15” and Choi does not disclose each and every limitation of amended claim 15, and withdrawal of the rejection of claim 15 is respectfully requested”.
For above mentioned reasons for claim 1 & 6, rejection of independent 15 is also sustained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED M KAISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831