DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an application filed on 05/14/2025. The applicant submits two Information Disclosure Statements dated 05/14/2025 and 05/18/2026. The applicant does not make a claim to Foreign priority. The applicant does make a claim to Domestic priority to application filed on 08/05/2022, 08/04/2023, and 08/20/2024. Claim 1 is canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 - 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miu US 2017/0187707 in view of Ricci US 2019/0279447.
As per claim 2, A system for accessing onboard operational vehicle subsystem data from a vehicle, the system comprising:
a memory device containing instructions; (Miu paragraph 0071 discloses, “a processor will receive instructions and data from a read-only memory or a random access memory or both. The elements of a computer may include a processor for executing instructions and one or more memories for storing instructions and data.”)
a processor that is communicatively connected to the memory device and that executes the instructions to perform operations comprising: (Miu paragraph 0071 discloses, “a processor will receive instructions and data from a read-only memory or a random access memory or both. The elements of a computer may include a processor for executing instructions and one or more memories for storing instructions and data.”)
obtaining user information that identifies a specific user; (Miu paragraph 0023 discloses, “a user may use the interface 114 to establish an identity or privilege for using a vehicle during a traffic stop if he/she is not the vehicle owner or the user associated with the vehicle registration 114b. For instance, as described more particularly with respect to FIG. 2, an acquaintance of the vehicle owner may be associated with the vehicle owner's account.”)
obtaining verification information from a verification source, wherein the verification information identifies the vehicle and the specific user, and wherein the verification information comprises at least one of vehicle title information or vehicle registration information; ( Miu paragraph 0035 discloses, “during a verification process, when the digital identification 122 may be enabled on the user device 120, a data packet including credential data may be transmitted to the digital identification server 140 to determine whether the digital identification 122 is still valid or includes accurate information, and in response to determining that the digital identification 122 is still valid, the data back include credential data may then be transmitted to the onboard vehicle system 110.” And paragraph 0025 discloses, “In particular, this unlocking mechanism may be combined with a biometric verification, for example, by using a finger-print or a facial portrait. This biometric aspect, when combined with the aspect of validating the digital driver's license, can form a “two-factor” process. First, the person attempting access may have his digital identification document, such as a digital driver's license, validated by the system onboard vehicle, as discussed above.”)
verifying that the specific user is associated with the vehicle based on the verification information; (Miu paragraph 0025 discloses, “In particular, this unlocking mechanism may be combined with a biometric verification, for example, by using a finger-print or a facial portrait. This biometric aspect, when combined with the aspect of validating the digital driver's license, can form a “two-factor” process. First, the person attempting access may have his digital identification document, such as a digital driver's license, validated by the system onboard vehicle, as discussed above.”)
communicatively connecting to the vehicle based on a success of the verifying, whereby an unverified user is prevented from communicatively connecting to the vehicle; (Miu paragraph 0035 discloses, “Alternatively, if the digital identification server 140 determines that the credential data is not valid, then the digital identification 122 may be determined to be invalid, and access to the vehicle may be restricted.”)
obtaining log in credentials, wherein the log in credentials are associated with a subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data of the vehicle; (Ricci paragraph 0025 teaches, “determining vehicle health state of one or more subsystems of a vehicle; determining an overall vehicle health status; and noticing a user if vehicle is unhealthy; seeking authorization from the user to take action if vehicle is unhealthy; and taking action regarding the vehicle health status.”)
logging in to a gateway of the vehicle by an authorization controller, using the log in credentials, wherein access to the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data is provided, whereby access to onboard operational vehicle subsystem data of the vehicle other than the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data is prevented; (Miu paragraph 0059 discloses, “As the connection process is user-centric, the onboard vehicle system 110 may also poll the user, through the user device, information such as password, pass code, or answers to security questions to enable user information to be transmitted from the user device to the onboard vehicle system 110.”) and
providing at least some of the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data to a vehicle user device. (Miu paragraph 0019 discloses, “The onboard vehicle system is a computing device that includes at least one processor and a display (for user interactions). The onboard vehicle system may be incorporated into, or in communication with, for example, a global positioning system (GPS), an On-Star® auto security and navigation system. As illustrated, electronic content stored on the user device 120 is transmitted to the onboard vehicle system 112 such that the electronic content is accessible in lieu of paper documentation.”)
Miu discloses an onboard vehicle digital identification transmission for a vehicle through authenticating who is eligible for access. Miu does not disclose identifying the subsystem of a vehicle. Ricci teaches the access to the subsystem of a vehicle by a party other than the manufacturer or dealership. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Ricci et.al. into the invention of Miu. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate identification of the operation data to make informed decisions to the maintenance and servicing of the vehicle.
As per claim 3, The system of claim 2, wherein the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data comprises at least one of: vehicle subsystem telematics data, vehicle subsystem vehicle movement data, vehicle subsystem vehicle operator inputs, vehicle subsystem settings data, vehicle subsystem functioning data, or vehicle subsystem communications data. (Ricci paragraph 0258 teaches, “These operations may include, but are not limited to, providing information to the user 216, receiving input from the user 216, and controlling the functions or operation of the vehicle 104, etc. Among other things, the user/device interaction subsystem 817 may include a computing system operable to conduct the operations as described herein.”)
Miu discloses an onboard vehicle digital identification transmission for a vehicle through authenticating who is eligible for access. Miu does not disclose identifying the subsystem of a vehicle. Ricci teaches the access to the subsystem of a vehicle by a party other than the manufacturer or dealership. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Ricci et.al. into the invention of Miu. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate identification of the operation data to make informed decisions to the maintenance and servicing of the vehicle.
As per claim 4, The system of claim 3, wherein the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data comprises vehicle subsystem telematics data of the vehicle obtained by a vehicle telematics subsystem, wherein the vehicle subsystem telematics data comprises at least one of: vehicle maintenance requirement data or vehicle servicing data. (Ricci paragraph 0200)
Miu discloses an onboard vehicle digital identification transmission for a vehicle through authenticating who is eligible for access. Miu does not disclose identifying the subsystem of a vehicle. Ricci teaches the access to the subsystem of a vehicle by a party other than the manufacturer or dealership. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Ricci et.al. into the invention of Miu. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate identification of the operation data to make informed decisions to the maintenance and servicing of the vehicle.
As per claim 5, The system of claim 2, wherein the onboard operational vehicle subsystem data is from a vehicle subsystem comprising at least one of: a brake control subsystem, a steering control subsystem, an electronics subsystem, an environment control subsystem, an engine control subsystem, a backup camera subsystem, a suspension control subsystem, a telemetry subsystem, a door lock subsystem, or a transmission control subsystem. (Ricci paragraph 0200)
Miu discloses an onboard vehicle digital identification transmission for a vehicle through authenticating who is eligible for access. Miu does not disclose identifying the subsystem of a vehicle. Ricci teaches the access to the subsystem of a vehicle by a party other than the manufacturer or dealership. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Ricci et.al. into the invention of Miu. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate identification of the operation data to make informed decisions to the maintenance and servicing of the vehicle.
As per claim 6, The system of claim 2, wherein the verification source comprises a department of motor vehicles. (Miu paragraph 0064 discloses, “The process 300B may include verifying the extracted information (326). For instance, after the driver's digital driver's license has been extracted, the user device of a law enforcement may opt to verify the information with an authoritative source, such as a system of records at the department of motor vehicles (or another entity serving as a proxy). In this scenario, the verification may leverage the identity information at the DMV that has been vetted. Similarly, the user device of the law enforcement officer may verify the vehicle registration information or the insurance status information.”)
As per claim 7, The system of claim 2, wherein the verification source comprises an auto dealer. (Miu paragraph 0015 discloses, “Such vehicle information may additionally include maintenance information that are chained in a similar fashion, for example, by a public key of the dealer or auto mechanics or a digital watermark of the merchant. The vehicular information may allow instant visibility into the status and history of the vehicle.”)
As per claim 8, The system of claim 2, wherein the log in credentials are associated with the specific user. (Miu paragraph 0034 discloses, “The digital identification 122 may also include user credential data that are utilized as security features to restrict access to vehicle to authorized users.”)
As per claim 9, The system of claim 2, wherein the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data corresponds to a fee paid by the specific user. (Miu paragraph 0069 discloses, “This information may then be compared to a subscription database (354).”)
As per claim 10, The system of claim 2, wherein the log in credentials comprise a digital certificate. (Miu paragraph 0025 discloses, “In particular, this unlocking mechanism may be combined with a biometric verification, for example, by using a finger-print or a facial portrait. This biometric aspect, when combined with the aspect of validating the digital driver's license, can form a “two-factor” process. First, the person attempting access may have his digital identification document, such as a digital driver's license, validated by the system onboard vehicle, as discussed above.”)
As per claim 11, A computer-implemented method for accessing onboard operational vehicle subsystem data from a vehicle, the method comprising:
obtaining user information that identifies a specific user; (Miu paragraph 0023 discloses, “a user may use the interface 114 to establish an identity or privilege for using a vehicle during a traffic stop if he/she is not the vehicle owner or the user associated with the vehicle registration 114b. For instance, as described more particularly with respect to FIG. 2, an acquaintance of the vehicle owner may be associated with the vehicle owner's account.”)
obtaining verification information from a verification source, wherein the verification information identifies the vehicle and the specific user, and wherein the verification information comprises at least one of vehicle title information or vehicle registration information; ( Miu paragraph 0035 discloses, “during a verification process, when the digital identification 122 may be enabled on the user device 120, a data packet including credential data may be transmitted to the digital identification server 140 to determine whether the digital identification 122 is still valid or includes accurate information, and in response to determining that the digital identification 122 is still valid, the data back include credential data may then be transmitted to the onboard vehicle system 110.” And paragraph 0025 discloses, “In particular, this unlocking mechanism may be combined with a biometric verification, for example, by using a finger-print or a facial portrait. This biometric aspect, when combined with the aspect of validating the digital driver's license, can form a “two-factor” process. First, the person attempting access may have his digital identification document, such as a digital driver's license, validated by the system onboard vehicle, as discussed above.”)
verifying that the specific user is associated with the vehicle based on the verification information; (Miu paragraph 0025 discloses, “In particular, this unlocking mechanism may be combined with a biometric verification, for example, by using a finger-print or a facial portrait. This biometric aspect, when combined with the aspect of validating the digital driver's license, can form a “two-factor” process. First, the person attempting access may have his digital identification document, such as a digital driver's license, validated by the system onboard vehicle, as discussed above.”)
communicatively connecting to the vehicle based on a success of the verifying, whereby an unverified user is prevented from communicatively connecting to the vehicle; (Miu paragraph 0035 discloses, “Alternatively, if the digital identification server 140 determines that the credential data is not valid, then the digital identification 122 may be determined to be invalid, and access to the vehicle may be restricted.”)
obtaining log in credentials, wherein the log in credentials are associated with a subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data of the vehicle; (Ricci paragraph 0025 teaches, “determining vehicle health state of one or more subsystems of a vehicle; determining an overall vehicle health status; and noticing a user if vehicle is unhealthy; seeking authorization from the user to take action if vehicle is unhealthy; and taking action regarding the vehicle health status.”)
logging in to a gateway of the vehicle by an authorization controller, using the log in credentials, wherein access to the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data is provided, whereby access to onboard operational vehicle subsystem data of the vehicle other than the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data is prevented; (Miu paragraph 0059 discloses, “As the connection process is user-centric, the onboard vehicle system 110 may also poll the user, through the user device, information such as password, pass code, or answers to security questions to enable user information to be transmitted from the user device to the onboard vehicle system 110.”) and
providing at least some of the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data to a vehicle user device. (Miu paragraph 0019 discloses, “The onboard vehicle system is a computing device that includes at least one processor and a display (for user interactions). The onboard vehicle system may be incorporated into, or in communication with, for example, a global positioning system (GPS), an On-Star® auto security and navigation system. As illustrated, electronic content stored on the user device 120 is transmitted to the onboard vehicle system 112 such that the electronic content is accessible in lieu of paper documentation.”)
Miu discloses an onboard vehicle digital identification transmission for a vehicle through authenticating who is eligible for access. Miu does not disclose identifying the subsystem of a vehicle. Ricci teaches the access to the subsystem of a vehicle by a party other than the manufacturer or dealership. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Ricci et.al. into the invention of Miu. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate identification of the operation data to make informed decisions to the maintenance and servicing of the vehicle.
As per claim 12, The method of claim 11, wherein the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data comprises at least one of: vehicle subsystem telematics data, vehicle subsystem vehicle movement data, vehicle subsystem vehicle operator inputs, vehicle subsystem settings data, vehicle subsystem functioning data, or vehicle subsystem communications data. (Ricci paragraph 0258 teaches, “These operations may include, but are not limited to, providing information to the user 216, receiving input from the user 216, and controlling the functions or operation of the vehicle 104, etc. Among other things, the user/device interaction subsystem 817 may include a computing system operable to conduct the operations as described herein.”)
Miu discloses an onboard vehicle digital identification transmission for a vehicle through authenticating who is eligible for access. Miu does not disclose identifying the subsystem of a vehicle. Ricci teaches the access to the subsystem of a vehicle by a party other than the manufacturer or dealership. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Ricci et.al. into the invention of Miu. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate identification of the operation data to make informed decisions to the maintenance and servicing of the vehicle.
As per claim 13, The method of claim 12, wherein the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data comprises vehicle subsystem telematics data of the vehicle obtained by a vehicle telematics subsystem, wherein the vehicle subsystem telematics data comprises at least one of: vehicle maintenance requirement data or vehicle servicing data. (Ricci paragraph 0200)
Miu discloses an onboard vehicle digital identification transmission for a vehicle through authenticating who is eligible for access. Miu does not disclose identifying the subsystem of a vehicle. Ricci teaches the access to the subsystem of a vehicle by a party other than the manufacturer or dealership. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Ricci et.al. into the invention of Miu. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate identification of the operation data to make informed decisions to the maintenance and servicing of the vehicle.
As per claim 14, The method of claim 11, wherein the onboard operational vehicle subsystem data is from a vehicle subsystem comprising at least one of: a brake controlsubsystem, a steering control subsystem, an electronics subsystem, an environment control subsystem, an engine control subsystem, a backup camera subsystem, a suspension control subsystem, a telemetry subsystem, a door lock subsystem, or a transmission control subsystem. (Ricci paragraph 0200)
Miu discloses an onboard vehicle digital identification transmission for a vehicle through authenticating who is eligible for access. Miu does not disclose identifying the subsystem of a vehicle. Ricci teaches the access to the subsystem of a vehicle by a party other than the manufacturer or dealership. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Ricci et.al. into the invention of Miu. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate identification of the operation data to make informed decisions to the maintenance and servicing of the vehicle.
As per claim 15, The method of claim 11, wherein the verification source comprises a department of motor vehicles. (Miu paragraph 0064 discloses, “The process 300B may include verifying the extracted information (326). For instance, after the driver's digital driver's license has been extracted, the user device of a law enforcement may opt to verify the information with an authoritative source, such as a system of records at the department of motor vehicles (or another entity serving as a proxy). In this scenario, the verification may leverage the identity information at the DMV that has been vetted. Similarly, the user device of the law enforcement officer may verify the vehicle registration information or the insurance status information.”)
As per claim 16, The method of claim 11, wherein the verification source comprises an auto dealer. (Miu paragraph 0015 discloses, “Such vehicle information may additionally include maintenance information that are chained in a similar fashion, for example, by a public key of the dealer or auto mechanics or a digital watermark of the merchant. The vehicular information may allow instant visibility into the status and history of the vehicle.”)
As per claim 17, The method of claim 11, wherein the log in credentials are associated with the specific user. (Miu paragraph 0034 discloses, “The digital identification 122 may also include user credential data that are utilized as security features to restrict access to vehicle to authorized users.”)
As per claim 18, The method of claim 11, wherein the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data corresponds to a fee paid by the specific user. (Miu paragraph 0069 discloses, “This information may then be compared to a subscription database (354).”)
As per claim 19, The method of claim 11, wherein the log in credentials comprise a digital certificate. (Miu paragraph 0025 discloses, “In particular, this unlocking mechanism may be combined with a biometric verification, for example, by using a finger-print or a facial portrait. This biometric aspect, when combined with the aspect of validating the digital driver's license, can form a “two-factor” process. First, the person attempting access may have his digital identification document, such as a digital driver's license, validated by the system onboard vehicle, as discussed above.”)
As per claim 20, A non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions that, when executed by a processor, perform a method of accessing onboard operational vehicle subsystem data from a vehicle by performing actions comprising:
obtaining user information that identifies a specific user; (Miu paragraph 0023 discloses, “a user may use the interface 114 to establish an identity or privilege for using a vehicle during a traffic stop if he/she is not the vehicle owner or the user associated with the vehicle registration 114b. For instance, as described more particularly with respect to FIG. 2, an acquaintance of the vehicle owner may be associated with the vehicle owner's account.”)
obtaining verification information from a verification source, wherein the verification information identifies the vehicle and the specific user, and wherein the verification information comprises at least one of vehicle title information or vehicle registration information; ( Miu paragraph 0035 discloses, “during a verification process, when the digital identification 122 may be enabled on the user device 120, a data packet including credential data may be transmitted to the digital identification server 140 to determine whether the digital identification 122 is still valid or includes accurate information, and in response to determining that the digital identification 122 is still valid, the data back include credential data may then be transmitted to the onboard vehicle system 110.” And paragraph 0025 discloses, “In particular, this unlocking mechanism may be combined with a biometric verification, for example, by using a finger-print or a facial portrait. This biometric aspect, when combined with the aspect of validating the digital driver's license, can form a “two-factor” process. First, the person attempting access may have his digital identification document, such as a digital driver's license, validated by the system onboard vehicle, as discussed above.”)
verifying that the specific user is associated with the vehicle based on the verification information; (Miu paragraph 0025 discloses, “In particular, this unlocking mechanism may be combined with a biometric verification, for example, by using a finger-print or a facial portrait. This biometric aspect, when combined with the aspect of validating the digital driver's license, can form a “two-factor” process. First, the person attempting access may have his digital identification document, such as a digital driver's license, validated by the system onboard vehicle, as discussed above.”)
communicatively connecting to the vehicle based on a success of the verifying, whereby an unverified user is prevented from communicatively connecting to the vehicle; (Miu paragraph 0035 discloses, “Alternatively, if the digital identification server 140 determines that the credential data is not valid, then the digital identification 122 may be determined to be invalid, and access to the vehicle may be restricted.”)
obtaining log in credentials, wherein the log in credentials are associated with a subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data of the vehicle; (Ricci paragraph 0025 teaches, “determining vehicle health state of one or more subsystems of a vehicle; determining an overall vehicle health status; and noticing a user if vehicle is unhealthy; seeking authorization from the user to take action if vehicle is unhealthy; and taking action regarding the vehicle health status.”)
logging in to a gateway of the vehicle by an authorization controller, using the log in credentials, wherein access to the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data is provided, whereby access to onboard operational vehicle subsystem data of the vehicle other than the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data is prevented; (Miu paragraph 0059 discloses, “As the connection process is user-centric, the onboard vehicle system 110 may also poll the user, through the user device, information such as password, pass code, or answers to security questions to enable user information to be transmitted from the user device to the onboard vehicle system 110.”) and
providing at least some of the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data to a vehicle user device. (Miu paragraph 0019 discloses, “The onboard vehicle system is a computing device that includes at least one processor and a display (for user interactions). The onboard vehicle system may be incorporated into, or in communication with, for example, a global positioning system (GPS), an On-Star® auto security and navigation system. As illustrated, electronic content stored on the user device 120 is transmitted to the onboard vehicle system 112 such that the electronic content is accessible in lieu of paper documentation.”)
Miu discloses an onboard vehicle digital identification transmission for a vehicle through authenticating who is eligible for access. Miu does not disclose identifying the subsystem of a vehicle. Ricci teaches the access to the subsystem of a vehicle by a party other than the manufacturer or dealership. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Ricci et.al. into the invention of Miu. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate identification of the operation data to make informed decisions to the maintenance and servicing of the vehicle.
As per claim 21, The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 20, wherein the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data comprises at least one of: vehicle subsystem telematics data, vehicle subsystem vehicle movement data, vehicle subsystem vehicle operator inputs, vehicle subsystem settings data, vehicle subsystem functioning data, or vehicle subsystem communications data. (Ricci paragraph 0258 teaches, “These operations may include, but are not limited to, providing information to the user 216, receiving input from the user 216, and controlling the functions or operation of the vehicle 104, etc. Among other things, the user/device interaction subsystem 817 may include a computing system operable to conduct the operations as described herein.”)
Miu discloses an onboard vehicle digital identification transmission for a vehicle through authenticating who is eligible for access. Miu does not disclose identifying the subsystem of a vehicle. Ricci teaches the access to the subsystem of a vehicle by a party other than the manufacturer or dealership. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Ricci et.al. into the invention of Miu. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate identification of the operation data to make informed decisions to the maintenance and servicing of the vehicle.
As per claim 22, The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 21, wherein the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data comprises vehicle subsystem telematics data of the vehicle obtained by a vehicle telematics subsystem, wherein the vehicle subsystem telematics data comprises at least one of: vehicle maintenance requirement data or vehicle servicing data. (Ricci paragraph 0200)
Miu discloses an onboard vehicle digital identification transmission for a vehicle through authenticating who is eligible for access. Miu does not disclose identifying the subsystem of a vehicle. Ricci teaches the access to the subsystem of a vehicle by a party other than the manufacturer or dealership. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Ricci et.al. into the invention of Miu. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate identification of the operation data to make informed decisions to the maintenance and servicing of the vehicle.
As per claim 23, The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 20, wherein the onboard operational vehicle subsystem data is from a vehicle subsystem comprising at least one of: a brake control subsystem, a steering control subsystem, an electronics subsystem, an environment control subsystem, an engine control subsystem, a backup camera subsystem, a suspension control subsystem, a telemetry subsystem, a door lock subsystem, or a transmission control subsystem. (Ricci paragraph 0200)
Miu discloses an onboard vehicle digital identification transmission for a vehicle through authenticating who is eligible for access. Miu does not disclose identifying the subsystem of a vehicle. Ricci teaches the access to the subsystem of a vehicle by a party other than the manufacturer or dealership. Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Ricci et.al. into the invention of Miu. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure accurate identification of the operation data to make informed decisions to the maintenance and servicing of the vehicle.
As per claim 24, The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 20, wherein the verification source comprises a department of motor vehicles. (Miu paragraph 0064 discloses, “The process 300B may include verifying the extracted information (326). For instance, after the driver's digital driver's license has been extracted, the user device of a law enforcement may opt to verify the information with an authoritative source, such as a system of records at the department of motor vehicles (or another entity serving as a proxy). In this scenario, the verification may leverage the identity information at the DMV that has been vetted. Similarly, the user device of the law enforcement officer may verify the vehicle registration information or the insurance status information.”)
As per claim 25, The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 20, wherein the verification source comprises an auto dealer. (Miu paragraph 0015 discloses, “Such vehicle information may additionally include maintenance information that are chained in a similar fashion, for example, by a public key of the dealer or auto mechanics or a digital watermark of the merchant. The vehicular information may allow instant visibility into the status and history of the vehicle.”)
As per claim 26, The system of claim 20, wherein the log in credentials are associated with the specific user. (Miu paragraph 0034 discloses, “The digital identification 122 may also include user credential data that are utilized as security features to restrict access to vehicle to authorized users.”)
As per claim 27, The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 20, wherein the subset of onboard operational vehicle subsystem data corresponds to a fee paid by the specific user. (Miu paragraph 0069 discloses, “This information may then be compared to a subscription database (354).”)
As per claim 28, The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 20, wherein the log in credentials comprise a digital certificate. (Miu paragraph 0025 discloses, “In particular, this unlocking mechanism may be combined with a biometric verification, for example, by using a finger-print or a facial portrait. This biometric aspect, when combined with the aspect of validating the digital driver's license, can form a “two-factor” process. First, the person attempting access may have his digital identification document, such as a digital driver's license, validated by the system onboard vehicle, as discussed above.”)
Conclusion
/TYLER D PAIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664