Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raij, US PGPUB 20220026723 in view of Choi et al., KR 20150081761 hereinafter referenced as Choi.
As to claim 1, Raij discloses an accessory configured to mount a wearable device (head strap assembly 40, fig. 3),
the accessory comprising: a first support (e.g., mask 56, fig. 3); and
cradling frames extending side by side from the first support (e.g., interface frame 50, fig. 3),
wherein the cradling frames are configured to dispose a display of the wearable device adjacent to the first support by receiving a corresponding one of wearing frames of the wearable device (FIG. 4 is a rear view of an embodiment of the visualization device 12. In the illustrated embodiment, the housing 18 includes a panel 110 that extends between a first peripheral portion 112 (e.g., end portion; lateral portion) and a second peripheral portion 114 (e.g., end portion; lateral portion) of the housing 18).
Raij does not explicitly disclose the interface frame as a cradle frame.
However, in the same endeavor, Choi discloses a cradle frame used with head-mounting display (Referring to FIG. 4A, the electronic device 410 may be a head mounted device (HMD) including a cradle, and the display unit can be mounted on the cradle or separated from the cradle. An image is displayed on the screen of the display unit mounted on the mount, and the displayed image is transmitted to the user's eyes through the lens unit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the disclosure of Raji to further include Choi’s cradle, in order to provide optimal performance and improving usability.
As to claim 15, Raij discloses an electronic device, comprising: a wearable device configured to be worn on a body of a user by including a display and wearing frames extending from the display (e.g., system 10 with visualization device 12 and an interface device 14, fig. 2); and
an accessory configured to be worn on the body of the user and configured to mount the wearable device (the interface device 14, fig. 2),
wherein the accessory comprising: a first support, and cradling frames extending side by side from the first support (e.g., mask 56 and interface frame 50 respectively, fig. 3),
wherein the cradling frames are configured to dispose the display of the wearable device adjacent to the first support by receiving a corresponding one of wearing frames of the wearable device (FIG. 4 is a rear view of an embodiment of the visualization device 12. In the illustrated embodiment, the housing 18 includes a panel 110 that extends between a first peripheral portion 112 (e.g., end portion; lateral portion) and a second peripheral portion 114 (e.g., end portion; lateral portion) of the housing 18), and
wherein in a state in which the wearable device is mounted on the accessory, the accessory is configured to be worn on the body of the user to align at least a portion of the display in a direction toward a face of the user (as shown in fig. 3, in an embodiment, the head strap assembly 40 includes a mask 56 that is configured to contact a forehead of the head of the user to facilitate alignment and/or securement of the interface device 14 to the head of the user).
Raij does not explicitly disclose the interface frame as a cradle frame.
However, in the same endeavor, Choi discloses a cradle frame used with head-mounting display (Referring to FIG. 4A, the electronic device 410 may be a head mounted device (HMD) including a cradle, and the display unit can be mounted on the cradle or separated from the cradle. An image is displayed on the screen of the display unit mounted on the mount, and the displayed image is transmitted to the user's eyes through the lens unit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the disclosure of Raji to further include Choi’s cradle, in order to provide optimal performance and improving usability.
As to claim 2, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the accessory of claim 1. The combination further discloses a first cushion member provided on an inner surface of the first support and configured to contact a user's body (Raji, as shown in fig. 3, in an embodiment, the head strap assembly 40 includes a mask 56 that is configured to contact a forehead of the head of the user to facilitate alignment and/or securement of the interface device 14 to the head of the user).
As to claim 3, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the accessory of claim 1. The combination further discloses a second support coupled to an end portion of the cradling frames, wherein the first support, the cradling frames, and the second support are arranged to form a closed loop shape (Raji, as shown in fig. 3, in an embodiment, the head strap assembly 40 includes a mask 56 that is configured to contact a forehead of the head of the user to facilitate alignment and/or securement of the interface device 14 to the head of the user).
As to claim 4, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the accessory of claim 3. The combination further discloses at least one of the cradling frames is configured to slide with respect to the second support (Raji, [0065] additionally or alternatively, initiating a corrective action may include increasing the magnetic coupling force between the electromagnets 124 and the reaction plates 74, such that the user may not decouple (e.g., or to require more force to decouple) the visualization device 12 from the interface device 14).
As to claim 5, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the accessory of claim 3. The combination further discloses a battery received in the second support, wherein the accessory is configured to supply power from the battery to the wearable device (Raji, e.g., battery 128, fig. 4).
As to claim 6, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the accessory of claim 3. The combination further discloses a second cushion member provided on an inner surface of the second support and configured to contact a user's body (Raij, e.g., the back inner side of the strap assembly of 40, fig. 2).
As to claim 7, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the accessory of claim 1. The combination further discloses binding grooves provided in the cradling frames, wherein the binding grooves are configured to receive or dispose at least a portion of any one of the wearing frames of the wearable device (Raij, [0036] As discussed in detail below, the support ribs 94 are configured to engage with corresponding support grooves 100 (see, e.g., FIG. 4) formed within the housing 18 of the visualization device 12 to facilitate coupling of the visualization device 12 to the interface frame 50 of the interface device 14).
As to claim 8, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the accessory of claim 7. The combination further discloses a pressing member disposed on one of the binding grooves, wherein the pressing member is configured to maintain a state in which any one of the wearing frames of the wearable device is disposed in the binding groove (Raij, [0072] For example, upon determining that the user has transitioned the visualization device 12 to the storage configuration 254, the control system 200 may transition the frontal electromagnets 266 to an energized state to secure the visualization device 12 in the receptacle 250).
As to claim 9, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the accessory of claim 8. The combination further discloses a pair of pressing members, wherein the accessory is configured to receive or dispose a portion of any one of the wearing frames of the wearable device between the pair of pressing members (Raij, [0065] In an embodiment, the visualization device 12 may include a button 240 (e.g., see FIG. 4) or other contact sensor that, when depressed or contacted by the user, initiates the correction action).
As to claim 10, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the accessory of claim 7. The combination further discloses a permanent magnet disposed adjacent to one of the binding grooves, wherein the permanent magnet on the one binding groove is configured to generate an attraction force with any one of the wearing frames of the wearable device (Raij, [0048] The permanent magnets 168 may be configured to engage with corresponding reaction plates 74 of the interface device 14 when the user transitions the visualization device 12 from the disengaged configuration 38 to the engaged configuration 36).
As to claim 11, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the accessory of claim 7. The combination further discloses at least one contact terminal exposed inside one of the binding grooves, wherein the contact terminal is configured to electrically contact any one of the wearing frames of the wearable device (Raij, [0025] In an embodiment, the electromagnets may be electrically coupled to a controller of the AR/VR system and/or to a controller of the amusement park attraction having the AR/VR system).
As to claim 12, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the accessory of claim 7. The combination further discloses an avoidance recess formed in at least one of the cradling frames and provided on one side of one of the binding grooves; and a cable configured to be electrically connected to any one of the wearing frames of the wearable device through the avoidance recess (Raij, [0036] As discussed in detail below, the support ribs 94 are configured to engage with corresponding support grooves 100 (see, e.g., FIG. 4) formed within the housing 18 of the visualization device 12 to facilitate coupling of the visualization device 12 to the interface frame 50 of the interface device 14).
As to claim 13, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the accessory of claim 12. The combination further discloses a second support coupled to an end portion of the cradling frames and, together with the first support and the cradling frames, forming a closed loop shape; and a battery received in the second support, wherein the cable is configured to extend from the second support and supply power between the battery and one of the wearing frames (Raij, e.g., the back inner side of the strap assembly of 40, fig. 2).
As to claim 14, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the accessory of claim 1. The combination further discloses the cradling frames further include: a guide frame extending from the first support, and a slide frame coupled to the guide frame, and wherein the slide frame is configured to slide closer to or farther from the first support while being guided by the guide frame (Raij, [0033] The head strap assembly 40 includes one or more first attachment features 58 configured to engage with respective second attachment features 60 of the interface frame 50).
As to claim 16, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 15. The combination further discloses the accessory further comprises a first cushion member provided on an inner surface of the first support and configured to contact a user's body (Raji, as shown in fig. 3, in an embodiment, the head strap assembly 40 includes a mask 56 that is configured to contact a forehead of the head of the user to facilitate alignment and/or securement of the interface device 14 to the head of the user).
As to claim 17, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 15. The combination further discloses the accessory further comprises: a second support coupled to an end portion of the cradling frames, and wherein the first support, the cradling frames, and the second support are arranged to form a closed loop shape (Raji, as shown in fig. 3, in an embodiment, the head strap assembly 40 includes a mask 56 that is configured to contact a forehead of the head of the user to facilitate alignment and/or securement of the interface device 14 to the head of the user).
As to claim 18, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 17. The combination further discloses at least one of the cradling frames is configured to slide with respect to the second support (Raji, [0065] additionally or alternatively, initiating a corrective action may include increasing the magnetic coupling force between the electromagnets 124 and the reaction plates 74, such that the user may not decouple (e.g., or to require more force to decouple) the visualization device 12 from the interface device 14).
As to claim 19, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 15. The combination further discloses the accessory includes binding grooves, and wherein the binding grooves are provided in outer surfaces of the cradling frames (Raij, [0036] In an embodiment, the body portion 62 includes a plurality of support ribs 94 that protrude from an outer surface 96 of the body portion 62. Particularly, the body portion 62 may include a first support rib 98 that extends from the first peripheral end 64 and a second support rib that extends from the second peripheral end 66).
As to claim 20, the combination of Raij and Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 19. The combination further discloses the binding grooves are exposed to external spaces in opposite directions on the accessory (Raij, [0041] In the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 4, the support grooves 100 that are formed within the peripheral portions 112, 114 of the housing 18 extend along at least a portion of a lateral surface 136 of the housing 18).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoon et al., US PGPUB 20160128209 discloses a body-wearable electronic device according to one of various embodiments of the present disclosure includes: a wearing member which can be worn on the user's body; and at least one main unit configured to be attached to and detached from the wearing member, and can be variously implemented according to embodiments.
/SAHLU OKEBATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625 2/7/2026