Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 11 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huh et al (US 2022/0029280 A1), hereinafter Huh. (Applicant’s cited prior art).
Regarding claim 1, Huh (Figures 1, 4 and 6) teaches an electronic device comprising:
a housing comprising a first plate arranged in a first direction, a second plate arranged in a second direction opposite to the first direction, and a side-surface member comprising a bezel surrounding at least a portion of a space between the first plate and the second plate;
a display module 210 including a display comprising at least one dielectric layer arranged in the second direction in at least a partial area of the first plate; and
an antenna disposed on the dielectric layer 100 (Figures 1 and 4),
wherein the antenna comprises:
an antenna member comprising an array of a plurality of mesh-shaped conductive patterns 112 and 135;
at least one antenna pattern 112 formed on the antenna member; and
at least one first dummy pattern 135 arranged symmetrically in a direction perpendicular to polarization generated from the antenna pattern and arranged to be spaced apart from the antenna pattern.
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1, Huh (Figure 4) teaches that the first dummy pattern 135 is arranged symmetrically in a state aligned with the antenna pattern 112 and is spaced apart from the antenna pattern.
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 2, Huh (Figure 4) teaches that the first dummy pattern 135 includes a conductive pattern and is configured to absorb surface waves generated in the direction perpendicular to the polarization of the antenna pattern.
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 1, Huh (Figure 4) teaches that the first dummy pattern 135 includes an electrically insulated floating dummy pattern.
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1, Huh (Figure 4) teaches that the first dummy pattern 135 has a pattern shape of a polygonal patch type.
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 1, Huh (Figure 4) teaches that a second dummy pattern 135 is formed at one side of the first dummy pattern in a polarization direction of the antenna pattern.
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 9, Huh (Figure 4) teaches that a third dummy pattern 135 is formed at an other side of the first dummy pattern 135 in the polarization direction of the antenna pattern.
Regarding claim 16, Huh (Figures 1, 4 and 6) teaches an antenna disposed in a display module 210 of an electronic device, comprising:
an antenna member comprising an array of a plurality of mesh-shaped conductive patterns 112 and 135;
at least one antenna pattern 112 formed on the antenna member; and
at least one dummy pattern 135 arranged symmetrically in a direction perpendicular to polarization generated from the antenna pattern and arranged to be spaced apart from the antenna pattern.
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 16, Huh (Figure 4) teaches that the dummy pattern 135 is symmetrically aligned with and spaced apart from the antenna pattern in a direction perpendicular to the polarization of the antenna pattern.
Regarding claim 18, as applied to claim 17, Huh (Figure 4) teaches that the dummy pattern 135 includes a conductive pattern and is configured to absorb surface waves generated in the direction perpendicular to the polarization of the antenna pattern.
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 16, Huh (Figure 4) teaches that the dummy pattern 135 includes an electrically insulated floating dummy pattern.
Claims 1-3, 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 2022/0263224 A1), hereinafter Kim. (Applicant’s cited prior art).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic device 400 comprising:
a housing comprising a first plate arranged in a first direction, a second plate arranged in a second direction opposite to the first direction, and a side- surface member comprising a bezel surrounding at least a portion of a space between the first plate and the second plate;
a display module including a display 410 comprising at least one dielectric layer 105 arranged in the second direction in at least a partial area of the first plate; and
an antenna 100 disposed on the dielectric layer,
wherein the antenna comprises:
an antenna member comprising an array of a plurality of mesh-shaped conductive patterns 120, 141 and 142;
at least one antenna pattern 120 formed on the antenna member; and
at least one first dummy pattern 141 arranged symmetrically in a direction perpendicular to polarization generated from the antenna pattern and arranged to be spaced apart from the antenna pattern.
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1, Kim (Figure 1) teaches that the first dummy pattern 141 is arranged symmetrically in a state aligned with the antenna pattern 120 and is spaced apart from the antenna pattern.
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 2, Kim (Figure 1) teaches that the first dummy pattern 141 includes a conductive pattern and is configured to absorb surface waves generated in the direction perpendicular to the polarization of the antenna pattern.
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1, Kim (Figure 1) teaches that the first dummy pattern 141 has a pattern shape of a polygonal patch type.
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 1, Kim (Figure 1) teaches that, based on the polarization of the antenna pattern being generated to slant at an inclination of about 45 degrees, the at least one first dummy pattern 141 is arranged in a direction perpendicular to the slanted polarization of the antenna pattern.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huh.
Regarding claim 14, Huh teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, except explicitly mention that the dielectric layer comprises a film comprising an insulating material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the dielectric layer to comprise a film having an insulating material, doing so would block unintended electrical paths between conductive material lines as well as improving mechanical and thermal stability.
Regrading claim 15, Huh teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, except explicitly mention that the display module comprises the dielectric layer comprising a first surface arranged in the first direction and a second surface arranged in a second direction opposite to the first direction; a polarizing layer attached to the first plate and being in contact with the first surface of the dielectric layer; and a display panel attached to the second surface of the dielectric layer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the display module to comprise the dielectric layer comprising a first surface arranged in the first direction and a second surface arranged in a second direction opposite to the first direction; a polarizing layer attached to the first plate and being in contact with the first surface of the dielectric layer; and a display panel attached to the second surface of the dielectric layer since such arrangement is considered to be well known display features.
Regarding claim 20, Huh teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 16, except explicitly mention that the dummy pattern 135 includes a dummy pattern grounded to a ground pattern portion by a ground line. It is common practice and well known in the art to ground the dummy pattern in order to establish a fixed potential and preventing unpredictable floating nodes that can inductively couple noise.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, neither Huh nor Kim specifically teach that the first dummy pattern includes a dummy pattern grounded to a ground pattern portion by a ground line.
Claim 6 would have been found allowable for at least the reason for depending on claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, neither Huh nor Kim specifically teach that the first dummy pattern has a pattern shape having an opening formed in an internal space central area.
Regarding claim 10, Huh fails to specifically teach that the second dummy pattern is electrically connected to the first dummy pattern by a first conductive connection line.
Regarding claim 12, Huh fails to further teach that the third dummy pattern is electrically connected to the first dummy pattern by a second conductive connection line.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al (US 2022/0269319 A1) discloses a display device with conductive mesh antenna and dummy patterns.
Hong et al (WO 2020/204613 A1) discloses a display device with conductive mesh antenna and dummy patterns.
/HOANG V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845