DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on 14 May 2025.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 21 October 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 21 October 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. PCT/CN2015/100336, filed on 31 December 2015.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Mobility Management Method for Low Overhead State
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The Abstract contains phrases, “Embodiments of the present disclosure…” in line 1. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The Abstract should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “This disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “This disclosure describes,” etc.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 3-4, 8, 10-11, 16 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 2 recites the limitation “being”. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to amend to remove “being”. Please apply to claims 3, 10 and 18 as well.
Claim 1, line 5 recites the limitation “to be”. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to amend to remove “to be’. Please apply to claim 11 as well.
Claim 16, line 3 recites the pronoun “that”. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to amend and remove the pronoun “that”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Dependent claims 2, 5, 6-7, 9, 12 and 13-14 are also objected to since they are dependent upon the objected claims set forth above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11-13, 15 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-7, 9 and 13-14 of U.S. Patent No. [11,589,272 B2], hereinafter Li ‘272. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11-13, 15 and 19 of the instant application are the same scope as claims 1, 5-7, 9 and 13-14 of Li ‘272.
Regarding Claim 1 of the instant application, Li ‘272 discloses a method, comprising:
when a terminal being in a connected mode, receiving a first message from a first base station, wherein the first message comprises a long source identifier and a short source identifier, wherein each of the long source identifier and the short source identifier identifies the terminal, and the first message triggers the terminal entering a low-overhead state, wherein the low-overhead state is a state in which a connection context of the terminal is stored in the terminal, and a cell reselection mobility is supported; and (See Claim 1, lines 2-19)
sending one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier to a second base station. (See Claim 1)
Regarding Claim 4 of the instant application, Li ‘272 discloses the method, before sending one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier to the second base station, comprising:
receiving indication information from the second base station; and (See Claim 1, lines 14-16)
determining, according to the indication information, which one of the long source identifier and the short source identifier is to be sent to the second base station. (See Claim 5, lines 2-6)
Regarding Claim 5 of the instant application, Li ‘272 discloses the method, wherein the indication information is a system message. (See Claim 1, lines 18-19)
Regarding Claim 6 of the instant application, Li ‘272 discloses the method, wherein the long source identifier and the short source identifier are independent of each other; or (See Claim 7)
the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier. (See Claim 6)
Regarding Claim 8 of the instant application, Li ‘272 discloses an apparatus, comprising at least one circuitry configured to:
when a terminal being in a connected mode, receive a first message from a first base station, wherein the first message comprises a long source identifier and a short source identifier, wherein each of the long source identifier and the short source identifier identifies the terminal, and the first message triggers the terminal entering a low-overhead state, wherein the low-overhead state is a state in which a connection context of the terminal is stored in the terminal, and a cell reselection mobility is supported; and (See Claim 9, lines 6-17)
send one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier to a second base station. (See Claim 9)
Regarding Claim 11 of the instant application, Li ‘272 discloses the apparatus, wherein before sending one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier to the second base station, the apparatus is further configured to receive indication information from the second base station; and (See claim 9, lines 19-20)
determine, according to the indication information, which one of the long source identifier and the short source identifier is to be sent to the second base station. (See Claim 9, lines 18-22)
Regarding Claim 12 of the instant application, Li ‘272 discloses the apparatus, wherein the indication information is a system message. (See Claim 9, lines 22-23)
Regarding Claim 13 of the instant application, Li ‘272 discloses the apparatus, wherein the long source identifier and the short source identifier are independent of each other; or (See Claim 7)
the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier. (See Claim 6)
Regarding Claim 15 of the instant application, Li ‘272 discloses an apparatus, comprising at least one circuitry configured to:
send a first message to a terminal in a connected mode, wherein the first message comprises a long source identifier and a short source identifier, wherein each of the long source identifier and the short source identifier identifies the terminal, and the first message triggers the terminal entering a low-overhead state, wherein the low-overhead state is a state in which a connection context of the terminal is stored, and a cell reselection mobility is supported; and (See Claim 9, lines 6-12)
receive a second message from a second base station, wherein the second message carries one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier. (See Claim 13, lines 13-15)
Regarding Claim 19 of the instant application, Li ‘272 discloses the apparatus, wherein the long source identifier and the short source identifier are independent of each other; or (See Claim 15)
the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier. (See Claim 14)
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-7, 9 and 13-14 of U.S. Patent No. [12,335,793 B2], hereinafter Li ‘793, in view of Rayavarapu et al (EP 2 645 804 A1), hereinafter Rayavarapu. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11-13, 15 and 19 of the instant application are the same scope as claims 1-11 of Li ‘793.
Regarding Claim 1 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses a method, comprising:
when a terminal being in a connected mode, receiving a first message from a first base station, wherein the first message comprises a long source identifier and a short source identifier, wherein each of the long source identifier and the short source identifier identifies the terminal (See Claim 1, lines 1-7), wherein the low-overhead state is a state in which a connection context of the terminal is stored in the terminal, and a cell reselection mobility is supported; and (See Claim 1, lines 9-12)
sending one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier to a second base station. (See Claim 1, lines 19-20)
Although Li ‘793 discloses receiving a first message from a first base station as set forth above,
Li ‘793 does not explicitly disclose “and the first message triggers the terminal entering a low-overhead state”.
However, Rayavarapu discloses a method, comprising:
and the first message triggers the terminal entering a low-overhead state (see paragraph 149; and the first message/message triggers/triggering the terminal/(UE 101) entering a low-overhead state/suspend state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “and the first message triggers the terminal entering a low-overhead state” as taught by Li ‘793 in the system of Rayavarapu to provide power efficiencies that improve when attempting to deliver seamless user or service experience at the application level via the communication network (see page 4, paragraph 7 of Rayavarapu).
Regarding Claim 2 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses the method, wherein the first message further comprises a control instruction indicating the terminal to enter the low-overhead state. (See Claim 2)
Regarding Claim 3 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses the method, wherein sending one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier to the second base station comprises:
in response to a preset condition being satisfied, sending one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier to the second base station;
wherein the preset condition comprises:
a second cell on which the terminal currently camps does not belong to a specified cell set, wherein the second cell belongs to the second base station; or
the second cell and a first cell do not belong to a same preset area or a same base station, wherein the first cell belongs to the first base station; or
the terminal needs to send uplink data. (See Claim 3)
Regarding Claim 4 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses the method, before sending one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier to the second base station, comprising:
receiving indication information from the second base station; and
determining, according to the indication information, which one of the long source identifier and the short source identifier is to be sent to the second base station. (See Claims 6, lines 16-21)
Regarding Claim 5 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses the method, wherein the indication information is a system message. (See Claim 4)
Regarding Claim 6 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses the method, wherein the long source identifier and the short source identifier are independent of each other; or
the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier. (See Claim 5)
Regarding Claim 8 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses an apparatus, comprising at least one circuitry configured to:
when a terminal being in a connected mode, receive a first message from a first base station, wherein the first message comprises a long source identifier and a short source identifier, wherein each of the long source identifier and the short source identifier identifies the terminal (see Claim 6, lines 5-10), wherein the low-overhead state is a state in which a connection context of the terminal is stored in the terminal, and a cell reselection mobility is supported; and (See Claim 6, lines 12-15)
send one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier to a second base station (See Claim 6, lines 22-23).
Although Li ‘793 discloses receiving a first message from a first base station as set forth above,
Li ‘793 does not explicitly disclose “and the first message triggers the terminal entering a low-overhead state”.
However, Rayavarapu discloses an apparatus, comprising:
and the first message triggers the terminal entering a low-overhead state (see paragraph 149; and the first message/message triggers/triggering the terminal/(UE 101) entering a low-overhead state/suspend state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “and the first message triggers the terminal entering a low-overhead state” as taught by Li ‘793 in the system of Rayavarapu to provide power efficiencies that improve when attempting to deliver seamless user or service experience at the application level via the communication network (see page 4, paragraph 7 of Rayavarapu).
Regarding Claim 9 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses the apparatus, wherein the first message further comprises a control instruction indicating the terminal to enter the low-overhead state. (See Claim 7)
Regarding Claim 10 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses the apparatus, wherein the apparatus is configured to send one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier to the second base station in response to a preset condition being satisfied;
wherein the preset condition comprises:
a second cell on which the terminal currently camps does not belong to a specified cell set, wherein the second cell belongs to the second base station; or
the second cell and a first cell do not belong to a same preset area or a same base station, wherein the first cell belongs to the first base station; or
the terminal needs to send uplink data. (See Claim 8)
Regarding Claim 11 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses the apparatus, wherein before sending one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier to the second base station, the apparatus is further configured to receive indication information from the second base station; and
determine, according to the indication information, which one of the long source identifier and the short source identifier is to be sent to the second base station. (See Claims 6, lines 16-21)
Regarding Claim 12 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses the apparatus, wherein the indication information is a system message. (See Claim 9)
Regarding Claim 13 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses the apparatus, wherein the long source identifier and the short source identifier are independent of each other; or
the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier. (See Claim 10)
Regarding Claim 15 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses an apparatus, comprising at least one circuitry configured to:
send a first message to a terminal in a connected mode, wherein the first message comprises a long source identifier and a short source identifier, wherein each of the long source identifier and the short source identifier identifies the terminal (See Claim 6, lines 5-10), wherein the low-overhead state is a state in which a connection context of the terminal is stored, and a cell reselection mobility is supported; and (See Claim 6, lines 12-15)
receive a second message from a second base station, wherein the second message carries one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier. (See Claim 11, lines 15-17)
Although Li ‘793 discloses receiving a first message from a first base station as set forth above,
Li ‘793 does not explicitly disclose “and the first message triggers the terminal entering a low-overhead state”.
However, Rayavarapu discloses an apparatus, comprising:
and the first message triggers the terminal entering a low-overhead state (see paragraph 149; and the first message/message triggers/triggering the terminal/(UE 101) entering a low-overhead state/suspend state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “and the first message triggers the terminal entering a low-overhead state” as taught by Li ‘793 in the system of Rayavarapu to provide power efficiencies that improve when attempting to deliver seamless user or service experience at the application level via the communication network (see page 4, paragraph 7 of Rayavarapu).
Regarding Claim 16 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses the apparatus, further configured to:
determine, according to the one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier, and according to an identifier of a second cell identifier, that a serving cell on which the terminal currently camps is the second cell. (See Claim 11, lines 20-23)
Regarding Claim 17 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses the apparatus, wherein the first message further comprises a control instruction indicating the terminal to enter the low-overhead state. (See Claim 7)
Regarding Claim 18 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses the apparatus, wherein the second message is received in response to a preset condition being satisfied, wherein the preset condition comprises:
a second cell on which the terminal currently camps does not belong to a specified cell set, wherein the second cell belongs to the second base station; or
the second cell and a first cell do not belong to a same preset area or a same base station, wherein the first cell belongs to the first base station; or
the terminal needs to send uplink data. (See Claim 8)
Regarding Claim 19 of the instant application, Li ‘793 discloses the apparatus, wherein the long source identifier and the short source identifier are independent of each other; or
the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier. (See Claim 10)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, 14-15, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rayavarapu et al (EP 2 645 804 A1), hereinafter Rayavarapu [provided in the IDS dated 10/21/2025] in view of Jung et al (US 2010/0130205 A1), hereinafter Jung.
Regarding Claim 1, Rayavarapu discloses a method, comprising:
when a terminal being in a connected mode (see Figure 20 and page 17, paragraph 144; when a terminal/(UE 101) being in a connected mode/RRC connection), receiving a first message from a first base station (see Figure 20 and page 17, paragraph 144; receiving/sends a first message/message from a first base station/eNB-1 102a), wherein the first message comprises a long source identifier and a short source identifier (see Figure 20 and paragraph 184; wherein the first message/message comprises a long source identifier/(last used cell identity) and a short source identifier/C-RNTI), and the first message triggers the terminal entering a low-overhead state (see paragraph 149; and the first message/message triggers/triggering the terminal/(UE 101) entering a low-overhead state/suspend state), wherein the low-overhead state is a state in which a connection context of the terminal is stored in the terminal (see Figure 8, step C and pages 16-17, paragraph 140 and pages 18-19, paragraph 149; wherein the low-overhead state/(suspended RRC connection) is a state/(suspended RRC connection) in which a connection context/(context information) of the terminal/(UE 101) is stored/stored in the terminal/UE 101), and a cell reselection mobility is supported (see page 13, paragraph 118 and page 17, paragraph 142 and page 19, paragraph 152 and pages 37-38, paragraph 222; and a cell reselection/reselection mobility/(process handling mobility) is supported); and
sending the short source identifier to a second base station (see paragraph 222; sending/(UE sends) the short source identifier/C-RNTI to a second base station/current camped cell of eNB 102b).
Although Rayavarapu discloses the first message comprises a long source identifier and a short source identifier as set forth above,
Rayavarapu does not explicitly disclose “wherein each of the long source identifier and the short source identifier identifies the terminal”.
However, Jung discloses a method, comprising:
wherein each of the long source identifier and the short source identifier identifies the terminal (see paragraph 97; wherein each of the long source identifier/IMSI and the short identifier/(P-RNTI) identifies/identity the terminal/UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein each of the long source identifier and the short source identifier identifies the terminal” as taught by Jung in the system of Rayavarapu to provide a method for reestablishing RRC connection and selecting a cell capable of improving success probability of RRC connection reestablishment procedure (see page 2, paragraph 28 of Jung).
Regarding Claim 2, Rayavarapu discloses the method, wherein the first message further comprises a control instruction indicating the terminal to enter the low-overhead state (see paragraph 149; wherein the first message/message further comprises a control/command instruction/instruct indicating the terminal/(UE 101) to enter the low-overhead state/suspend state).
Regarding Claim 3, Rayavarapu discloses the method, wherein sending one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier to the second base station comprises:
in response to a preset condition being satisfied (see paragraph 222, step 2; in response to a preset condition being satisfied/UE 101 has pending uplink transmission), sending one of the short source identifier to the second base station (see paragraph 222; sending/sends one of the short source identifier/C-RNTI to the second base station/current camped cell of eNB 102b);
wherein the preset condition comprises:
the terminal needs to send uplink data (see paragraph 222, step 2; the terminal/(UE 101) needs to send uplink/uplink data/transmission).
Regarding Claim 7, Rayavarapu discloses the method, wherein the first message is a first radio resource control (RRC) message (see Figure 20 and page 17, paragraph 144; wherein the first message/message is a first radio resource control (RRC) message/RRC); and
the sending one of the short source identifier to the second base station (see paragraph 222; the sending/sends one of the short source identifier/C-RNTI to the second base station/current camped cell of eNB 102b), comprises:
sending a second RRC message to the second base station (see Figure 20 and page 15, paragraphs 133-135; sending/iniatie a second RRC message/(RRC connection Reactivation Request) to the second base station/eNB 102b), wherein the second message comprises one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier (see Figure 32 and paragraph 221 and paragraph 222, step 4a; wherein the second message/(new or modified message) comprises one of the long source identifier/C-RNTI or the short source identifier/Source Physical Cell Identity).
Regarding Claim 8, Rayavarapu discloses an apparatus, comprising at least one circuitry configured to:
when a terminal being in a connected mode (see Figure 20 and page 17, paragraph 144; when a terminal/(UE 101) being in a connected mode/RRC connection), receive a first message from a first base station (see Figure 20 and page 17, paragraph 144; receiving/sends a first message/message from a first base station/eNB-1 102a), wherein the first message comprises a long source identifier and a short source identifier (see Figure 20 and paragraph 184; wherein the first message/message comprises a long source identifier/(last used cell identity) and a short source identifier/C-RNTI), and the first message triggers the terminal entering a low-overhead state (see paragraph 149; and the first message/message triggers/triggering the terminal/(UE 101) entering a low-overhead state/suspend state), wherein the low-overhead state is a state in which a connection context of the terminal is stored in the terminal (see Figure 8, step C and pages 16-17, paragraph 140 and pages 18-19, paragraph 149; wherein the low-overhead state/(suspended RRC connection) is a state/(suspended RRC connection) in which a connection context/(context information) of the terminal/(UE 101) is stored/stored in the terminal/UE 101), and a cell reselection mobility is supported (see page 13, paragraph 118 and page 17, paragraph 142 and page 19, paragraph 152 and pages 37-38, paragraph 222; and a cell reselection/reselection mobility/(process handling mobility) is supported); and
send one of the short source identifier to a second base station (see paragraph 222; send/(UE sends) one of the short source identifier/C-RNTI to a second base station/current camped cell of eNB 102b).
Although Rayavarapu discloses the first message comprises a long source identifier and a short source identifier as set forth above,
Rayavarapu does not explicitly disclose “wherein each of the long source identifier and the short source identifier identifies the terminal”.
However, Jung discloses an apparatus, comprising at least one circuitry configured to:
wherein each of the long source identifier and the short source identifier identifies the terminal (see paragraph 97; wherein each of the long source identifier/IMSI and the short identifier/(P-RNTI) identifies/identity the terminal/UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein each of the long source identifier and the short source identifier identifies the terminal” as taught by Jung in the system of Rayavarapu to provide a method for reestablishing RRC connection and selecting a cell capable of improving success probability of RRC connection reestablishment procedure (see page 2, paragraph 28 of Jung).
Regarding Claim 9, Rayavarapu discloses the apparatus, wherein the first message further comprises a control instruction indicating the terminal to enter the low-overhead state (see paragraph 149; wherein the first message/message further comprises a control/command instruction/instruct indicating the terminal/(UE 101) to enter the low-overhead state/suspend state).
Regarding Claim 10, Rayavarapu discloses the apparatus, wherein the apparatus is configured to send one of the short source identifier to the second base station (see paragraph 222; is configured to send/(UE sends) one of the short source identifier/C-RNTI to a second base station/current camped cell of eNB 102b) in response to a preset condition being satisfied (see paragraph 222, step 2; in response to a preset condition being satisfied/UE 101 has pending uplink transmission);
wherein the preset condition comprises:
the terminal needs to send uplink data (see paragraph 222, step 2; the terminal/(UE 101) needs to send uplink/uplink data/transmission).
Regarding Claim 14, Rayavarapu discloses the apparatus, wherein the first message is a first radio resource control (RRC) message (see Figure 20 and page 17, paragraph 144; wherein the first message/message is a first radio resource control (RRC) message/RRC); and
the apparatus is configured to send a second RRC message to the short source identifier (see Figure 20 and page 15, paragraphs 133-135; the apparatus is configured to send/initiate a second RRC message/(RRC connection Reactivation Request) to the short source identifier/Source Physical Cell Identity).
Regarding Claim 15, Rayavarapu discloses an apparatus, comprising at least one circuitry configured to:
send a first message to a terminal in a connected mode (see Figure 20 and page 17, paragraph 144; send/sends a first message/message to a terminal/(UE 101) in a connected mode/RRC connection), wherein the first message comprises a long source identifier and a short source identifier (see Figure 20 and paragraph 184; wherein the first message/message comprises a long source identifier/(last used cell identity) and a short source identifier/C-RNTI), and the first message triggers the terminal entering a low-overhead state (see paragraph 149; and the first message/message triggers/triggering the terminal/(UE 101) entering a low-overhead state/suspend state), wherein the low-overhead state is a state in which a connection context of the terminal is stored see Figure 8, step C and pages 16-17, paragraph 140 and pages 18-19, paragraph 149; wherein the low-overhead state/(suspended RRC connection) is a state/(suspended RRC connection) in which a connection context/(context information) of the terminal/(UE 101) is stored/stored in the terminal/UE 101), and a cell reselection mobility is supported (see page 13, paragraph 118 and page 17, paragraph 142 and page 19, paragraph 152 and pages 37-38, paragraph 222; and a cell reselection/reselection mobility/(process handling mobility) is supported); and
receive a second message from a second base station (see Figure 20 and paragraph 121 and paragraph 122, step 4b; receive a second message/(new or modified message) from a second base station/eNB 102b), wherein the second message carries one of the long source identifier or the short source identifier (see Figure 32 and paragraph 221 and paragraph 222, step 4a; wherein the second message/(new or modified message) carries one of the long source identifier/C-RNTI or the short source identifier/Source Physical Cell Identity).
Although Rayavarapu discloses the first message comprises a long source identifier and a short source identifier as set forth above,
Rayavarapu does not explicitly disclose “wherein each of the long source identifier and the short source identifier identifies the terminal”.
However, Jung discloses an apparatus, comprising at least one circuitry configured to:
wherein each of the long source identifier and the short source identifier identifies the terminal (see paragraph 97; wherein each of the long source identifier/IMSI and the short identifier/(P-RNTI) identifies/identity the terminal/UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein each of the long source identifier and the short source identifier identifies the terminal” as taught by Jung in the system of Rayavarapu to provide a method for reestablishing RRC connection and selecting a cell capable of improving success probability of RRC connection reestablishment procedure (see page 2, paragraph 28 of Jung).
Regarding Claim 17, Rayavarapu discloses the apparatus, wherein the first message further comprises a control instruction indicating the terminal to enter the low-overhead state (see paragraph 149; wherein the first message/message further comprises a control/command instruction/instruct indicating the terminal/(UE 101) to enter the low-overhead state/suspend state).
Regarding Claim 18, Rayavarapu discloses the apparatus, wherein the second message is received (see paragraph 222; wherein the second message/C-RNTI) is received/UE sends) in response to a preset condition being satisfied (see paragraph 222, step 2; in response to a preset condition being satisfied/UE 101 has pending uplink transmission), wherein the preset condition comprises:
the terminal needs to send uplink data (see paragraph 222, step 2; the terminal/(UE 101) needs to send uplink/uplink data/transmission).
Regarding Claim 20, Rayavarapu discloses the apparatus, wherein the first message is a first radio resource control (RRC) message (see Figure 20 and page 17, paragraph 144; wherein the first message/message is a first radio resource control (RRC) message/RRC).
Claims 6, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rayavarapu in view of Jung and further in view of Gosselin (US 2014/0274000 A1), hereinafter Gosselin.
Regarding Claim 6, Although the combination of Rayavarapu and Jung discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Rayavarapu and Jung does not explicitly disclose “the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier”.
However, Gosselin discloses the method, the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier (see Figures 3-4 and page 3, paragraph 31, lines 9-12; the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier/the area code is partial information of the MDN)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier” as taught by Gosselin in the combined system of Rayavarapu and Jung for delivering richer types of caller data to mobile devices (see page 1, paragraph 1, lines 20-21 of Gosselin).
Regarding Claim 13, Although the combination of Rayavarapu and Jung discloses the apparatus as set forth above,
The combination of Rayavarapu and Jung does not explicitly disclose “the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier”.
However, Gosselin discloses the apparatus, the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier (see Figures 3-4 and page 3, paragraph 31, lines 9-12; the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier/the area code is partial information of the MDN)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier” as taught by Gosselin in the combined system of Rayavarapu and Jung for delivering richer types of caller data to mobile devices (see page 1, paragraph 1, lines 20-21 of Gosselin).
Regarding Claim 19, Although the combination of Rayavarapu and Jung discloses the apparatus as set forth above,
The combination of Rayavarapu and Jung does not explicitly disclose “the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier”.
However, Gosselin discloses the apparatus, the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier (see Figures 3-4 and page 3, paragraph 31, lines 9-12; the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier/the area code is partial information of the MDN)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the short source identifier originates from a portion of the long source identifier” as taught by Gosselin in the combined system of Rayavarapu and Jung for delivering richer types of caller data to mobile devices (see page 1, paragraph 1, lines 20-21 of Gosselin).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 11-12 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maveddat et al (US 2006/0111112 A1) discloses Mobility Management Apparatus and Methods. Specifically, see Figure 1A and paragraphs 81-82.
/L.A.M/ Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469