DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action that has been issued in response to patent application, 19/207,905, filed on 05/14/2025. Claims 1-10 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claims 1 and 9-10 are independent claims.
Priority
The application claims foreign priority of JAPAN 2024-088861 filed on 05/31/2024.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 05/14/2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS' s) submitted on 05/14/2025 is in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herder (US Publication No. 2017/0141920 A1) in view of Conrado (US Publication No. 2008/0152146 A1)
Regarding Claim 1:
Herder discloses:
A usage right verification system comprising: a content use apparatus that acquires biometric information of a user(Herder, [0057], the information system 15 is protected by a security mechanism that permits access only once the subject has been authenticated as an individual authorized to use the information system 15. [0058], the authentication process, the subject 11 is presented to a transducer 12, which obtains a biometric.),
a usage right presentation proxy apparatus that stores a key parameter in association with the biometric information of the user(Herder, [0078], the biometric information 43 of the subject 41, and the biometric public key 37 of the individual, the computing facility then performs the function of key recovery 46. The process of key recovery 46 entails computing a candidate value for the secret key 47. [0103], the computing facility receives a biometric public key from a storage facility as described above in connection with FIG. 5. That is, the computing facility of the authentication system receives the product of the processes of FIG. 5. The storage facility may be, for example, a database controlled by a biometric certificate authority, or a dongle or cryptographic token, or a local memory, [0110], one embodiment of the invention provides a database of public keys that each characterize the biometric of an individual.);
and a content management apparatus that stores a public key for digital signature information of the user generated based on the biometric information of the user(Herder, [0109], One such embodiment includes a server for storing a hash of the secret number along with the biometric public keys. [0110], one embodiment of the invention provides a database of public keys that each characterize the biometric of an individual. [0113], Two particular uses are shown in FIGS. 7 and 8: secure communications, and message signing.),
wherein the content use apparatus transmits the acquired biometric information of the user and the usage right information of the content to the usage right presentation proxy apparatus(Herder, [0107], the subject to use any or all of these input mechanisms to provide the required assurance data. For example, if a biometric public key was created using both an iris scan and a fingerprint, then an authentication device that performs the method of FIG. 6 must incorporate both iris and fingerprint scanners. [0103], the authentication system receives the product of the processes of FIG. 5. The storage facility may be, for example, a database controlled by a biometric certificate authority, or a dongle or cryptographic token, or a local memory, such as a non-transitory data store within the computing facility itself. In process 65 [0110], one obtains the appropriate biometric from the person. Finally, one validates the obtained biometric against the public key),
the usage right presentation proxy apparatus generates digital signature information of the user based on the transmitted biometric information of the user and a key parameter corresponding to the biometric information(Herder, [0113], Two particular uses are shown in FIGS. 7 and 8: secure communications, and message signing.[0110], public keys that each characterize the biometric of an individual. [0104], the subject is authenticated as the individual),
the digital signature information has been added(Herder, [0113], secure communications, and message signing.)
Herder does not disclose:
storing usage right information of content, and using the content
and transmits signed usage right information in which to the usage right information to the content management apparatus
and the content management apparatus verifies the digital signature information of the user by using the corresponding public key based on the signed usage right information
Conrado discloses:
storing usage right information of content, and using the content(Conrad, [0002], Content rights typically contains rules (e.g. play, copy, distribute etc.) and necessary cryptographic keys [0048], Each content right contains the content ID and content key(s) that enable access to cryptographically protected content items…[0049], A user right indicates whether a user is allowed to use a content right to access a content item. [0074], Alice 401 is allowed to access the content item on the compliant device 402. );
and transmits signed usage right information in which to the usage right information to the content management apparatus(Conrado, [0003], the content provider digitally signs the content rights before they are distributed, [0048], The content provider 109 who issues the content right 111 also signs it. [0050], content rights may only be transferred to compliant devices. Further, the transfer of content rights between devices requires secure communication. [0072], The compliant device 402 verifies that Alice 401 can use the user right 408. [0073], The compliant device verifies (step 410) that the content provider was allowed to sign the content right. Thus, the device checks the signature of the content right 409),
and the content management apparatus verifies the digital signature information of the user by using the corresponding public key based on the signed usage right information(Conrado, [0072], The compliant device 402 verifies (step 403) that the user ID certificate 404 is valid by checking the signature using the built-in public key in the compliant device. [0073], The compliant device verifies (step 410) that the content provider was allowed to sign the content right. Thus, the device checks the signature of the content right 409).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Herder's Public/Private Key Biometric Authentication System by enhancing Herder's systems for associating authenticated users with signed usage-right information and verifying such rights prior to providing access to protected content to ensure that access to content is controlled based on both user authentication and validated content-usage rights as taught by Conrado in order to enhance secure management and enforcement of content-access permissions.
The motivation is to ensure that successfully authenticated users are granted access only to content for which they possess valid and verifiable usage rights, thereby improving protection against unauthorized content access and distribution.
Regarding Claim 2:
The usage right verification system according to claim 1, Herder in view of Conrado disclose wherein the content management apparatus transmits the content corresponding to the usage right information to the content use apparatus when the content management apparatus succeeds in verifying the digital signature information of the user(Conrado, [0072], The compliant device 402 verifies (step 403) that the user ID certificate 404 is valid by checking the signature using the built-in public key in the compliant device, Alice 401 will also have to authenticate herself by proving she knows the secret key corresponding to the public key comprised in the user ID certificate. [0073], verifies (step 410) that the content provider was allowed to sign the content right. Thus, the device checks the signature of the content right 409 using the public key comprised in the content ID certificate 411. To do this, the compliant device must, by using its built-in public key, first verify (step 412) the content ID certificate by checking the signature of the content ID. [0074], Alice 401 is allowed to access the content item on the compliant device 402.) .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Herder's Public/Private Key Biometric Authentication System by enhancing Herder's systems for transmitting content to an authenticated user following successful verification of digital signature information to ensure that protected content is provided only to users whose rights and credentials have been successfully validated as taught by Conrado in order to enhance secure and authorized access to protected content resources.
The motivation is to ensure that protected content is accessible only after successful verification of the user's authorization and associated rights information.
Regarding Claim 3:
The usage right verification system according to claim 1, Herder in view of Conrado disclose further comprising a decision-making apparatus that decides whether the usage right presentation proxy apparatus may transmit the signed usage right information to the content management apparatus based on majority decision of a plurality of decision-making units(Conrado, [0072], The compliant device 402 verifies (step 403) that the user ID certificate 404 is valid by checking the signature using the built-in public key in the compliant device… The compliant device 402 verifies that Alice 401 can use the user right 408. [0073], the device checks the signature of the content right 409 using the public key comprised in the content ID certificate 411. [0074], If there is a match, Alice 401 is allowed to access the content item on the compliant device 402. If any of the above steps fail, Alice will not be given access to the content. [0054], Certificate validation implies that at least the integrity (using the signature) and the authenticity).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Herder's Public/Private Key Biometric Authentication System by enhancing Herder's systems for determining whether protected content access should be authorized based on verification results to ensure that content access decisions are made only after validating rights and authorization information as taught by Conrado in order to enhance control and enforcement of content usage permissions.
The motivation is to ensure that content access is granted only when the associated authorization information and usage rights have been successfully validated
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herder (US Publication No. 2017/0141920 A1) in view of Conrado(US Publication No. 2008/0152146 A1) in further view of Polyakov(US Publication No. 20210399874 A1)
Regarding Claim 4:
Herder in view of Conrado discloses:
The usage right verification system according to claim 3..
Herder in view of Conrado disclose wherein the decision-making unit includes a distributed key storage unit configured to store a distributed key(Herder, [0103], The storage facility may be, for example, a database controlled by a biometric certificate authority, or a dongle or cryptographic token, or a local memory…)
and generates digital signature information of the user based on the transmitted biometric information of the user and the decrypted key parameter(Herder, [0113], Two particular uses are shown in FIGS. 7 and 8: secure communications, and message signing. [0104], subject is authenticated as the individual. [0105], compares the candidate biometric data of the individual with the captured biometric data [0110], public keys that each characterize the biometric of an individual. [0103], calculates a candidate value for the secret number using the biometric public key and the confident subset.).
in response to a request from the usage right presentation proxy apparatus, and the usage right presentation proxy apparatus restores a decryption key by using the transmitted distributed key(Herder, [0110], First, one obtains the public key of that person from the database. [0103], the computing facility calculates a candidate value for the secret number using the biometric public key and the confident subset.)
and a presentation determination unit configured to determine whether transmission of signed usage right information is possible(Conrado, [0072], The compliant device 402 verifies (step 403) that the user ID certificate 404 is valid by checking the signature using the built-in public key in the compliant device. Alice 401 will also have to authenticate herself by proving she knows the secret key corresponding to the public key comprised in the user ID certificate.),
the presentation determination unit of each of the decision-making units transmits the distributed key of the distributed key storage unit to the usage right presentation proxy apparatus(Conrado, [0072], the compliant device verifies (step 407) the signature of the user right 408, to ensure that the user right is valid. To do this, the compliant device checks the User Right Authority (URA) field in the content, [0074], the device computes a fingerprint of the content item and compares it with the fingerprint in the content ID certificate 411. If there is a match, Alice 401 is allowed to access the content item on the compliant device 40)
based on a result of the determination of the possibility(Conrado, [0074], the device computes a fingerprint of the content item and compares it with the fingerprint in the content ID certificate 411. If there is a match, Alice 401 is allowed to access the content item on the compliant device 402. If any of the above steps fail, Alice will not be given access to the content.)
Herder in view of Conrado do not disclose:
decrypts an encrypted key parameter by using the restored decryption key
Polyakov discloses:
decrypts an encrypted key parameter by using the restored decryption key(Polyakov [0003], An encrypted computational result may be decrypted using a similar interactive procedure where all parties collaborate, each party contributing a partial decryption using its secret key share, until the entire result is decrypted...),
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Herder's Public/Private Key Biometric Authentication System by enhancing Herder's systems for using distributed cryptographic key shares to reconstruct a decryption key and decrypt encrypted key material during digital signature generation to ensure that cryptographic operations can be performed collaboratively without exposing the underlying secret key material as taught by Polyakov in order to enhance the security, confidentiality, and resilience of cryptographic key management and digital signature generation.
The motivation is to ensure that decryption keys are securely reconstructed from distributed key shares without revealing the underlying secret keys, thereby improving the security and integrity of cryptographic operations while reducing the risk of key compromise.
Regarding Claim 5:
The usage right verification system according to claim 1, Herder in view of Conrado disclose wherein the content management apparatus stores a public key for digital signature information of the user(Conrado [0045], All compliant devices has access to the public key of the SA. Typically, the SA public key is built-in into the hardware of each compliant device 102. With this public key, a compliant device can verify any certificate that has been issued by the SA 101. At the next level in the hierarchy, a Certificate Authority (CA) 103, [0072], The compliant device 402 verifies that Alice 401 can use the user right 408. This is done by comparing the user ID, i.e. a user public key, in the user right with the user ID on Alice's user ID certificate 404.),
a public key for digital signature information of the content management apparatus(Conrado [0045], All compliant devices has access to the public key of the SA. Typically, the SA public key is built-in into the hardware of each compliant device 102. With this public key, a compliant device can verify any certificate that has been issued by the SA 101. At the next level in the hierarchy, a Certificate Authority (CA) 103, [0073], the public key comprised in the content ID certificate 411. ),
and a public key for digital signature information of a content creator(Conrado, [0048], the public key comprised in the content ID certificate 411. [0073], the signature of the content right 409 using the public key ),
and the content management apparatus performs first verification on the digital signature information of the user by using the corresponding public key(Conrado, [0073], the device checks the signature of the content right 409 using the public key comprised in the content ID certificate 411.),
performs second verification on the digital signature information of the content management apparatus by using the corresponding public key(Conrado, [0073], The compliant device verifies (step 410) that the content provider was allowed to sign the content right. Thus, the device checks the signature of the content right 409 using the public key comprised in the content ID certificate 411.),
and performs third verification on the digital signature information of the content creator by using the corresponding public key based on the signed usage right information(Conrado, [0048], The content provider 109 who issues the content right 111 also signs it.[0073], the device checks the signature of the content right 409 using the public key…),,
and transmits content corresponding to the usage right information to the content use apparatus if the first verification, the second verification, and the third verification are successful(Conrado, [0074], the device computes a fingerprint of the content item and compares it with the fingerprint in the content ID certificate 411. If there is a match, Alice 401 is allowed to access the content item on the compliant device 402. If any of the above steps fail, Alice will not be given access to the content.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Herder's Public/Private Key Biometric Authentication System by enhancing Herder's systems for verifying multiple digital signatures using corresponding public keys associated with different entities to ensure the authenticity and integrity of user credentials, content rights, and content-provider authorizations as taught by Conrado in order to enhance trustworthiness and security of content-right verification operations.
The motivation is to ensure that multiple independently generated credentials and content-right records are authenticated prior to granting access to protected content.
Regarding Claim 6:
The usage right verification system according to claim 1, Herder in view of Conrado disclose wherein the content management apparatus stores list information including usage right information of valid content, and determines whether a usage right of the signed usage right information is valid based on the list information(Conrado, [0048], Each content right contains the content ID and content key(s) that enable access to cryptographically protected content items… [0055], The CA is equipped with a database stored in a storage medium 207… The CA searches (step 208) for the fingerprint of the content item to be introduced in the database of fingerprints of existing commercial content).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Herder's Public/Private Key Biometric Authentication System by enhancing Herder's systems for maintaining stored rights information and validating rights against stored records to ensure that only valid and authorized usage rights are honored during content-access decisions as taught by Conrado in order to enhance accuracy and reliability of rights-management and authorization determinations.
The motivation is to ensure that authorization decisions are based upon verified rights information maintained in trusted records.
Regarding Claim 7:
The usage right verification system according to claim 1, Herder in view of Conrado disclose wherein the content use apparatus receives and simultaneously reproduces content transmitted from the usage right presentation proxy apparatus without storing the content in the content use apparatus(Conrado, [0074], Alice 401 is allowed to access the content item on the compliant device 402. [0002], . Content rights typically contains rules (e.g. play, copy, distribute etc.))
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Herder's Public/Private Key Biometric Authentication System by enhancing Herder's systems for providing content to authenticated users after successful rights verification to ensure that protected content is made available only to users possessing valid credentials and usage rights as taught by Conrado in order to enhance secure delivery and controlled use of protected content.
The motivation is to ensure that content is delivered only to authenticated and authorized users while preventing unauthorized access to protected content.
Regarding Claim 8:
The usage right verification system according to claim 1, Herder in view of Conrado disclose wherein the content management apparatus deletes digital signature information of the user and digital signature information of the content management apparatus from the signed usage right information, updates details of the signed usage right information, and transmits updated usage right information in which the digital signature information has been added to the updated usage right information to the content use apparatus(Conrado, [0048], content right contains the content ID and content key(s) that enable access to cryptographically protected content items with which the content right is associated (which association is made effective by means of the content ID in the content right, since it is compared to the content ID). [0050], content rights may only be transferred to compliant devices. [0057], content ID certificate is sent (step 209) to the compliant device 20. [0003], the content provider digitally signs the content rights before they are distributed. [0048], The content provider 109 who issues the content right 111 also signs it.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Herder's Public/Private Key Biometric Authentication System by enhancing Herder's systems for transmitting digitally signed rights information that may be updated and redistributed following authorization processing to ensure that content-right information remains current, authenticated, and enforceable throughout its lifecycle as taught by Conrado in order to enhance management and distribution of authorized content-usage information.
The motivation is to ensure that modified or updated rights information maintains its authenticity and can continue to be reliably enforced by receiving systems.
Regarding Claim 9:
Herder discloses:
A usage right verification method for a usage right verification system including: a content use apparatus that acquires biometric information of a user (Herder, [0057], the information system 15 is protected by a security mechanism that permits access only once the subject has been authenticated as an individual authorized to use the information system 15. [0058], the authentication process, the subject 11 is presented to a transducer 12, which obtains a biometric.),
a usage right presentation proxy apparatus that stores a key parameter in association with the biometric information of the user (Herder, [0078], the biometric information 43 of the subject 41, and the biometric public key 37 of the individual, the computing facility then performs the function of key recovery 46. The process of key recovery 46 entails computing a candidate value for the secret key 47. [0103], the computing facility receives a biometric public key from a storage facility as described above in connection with FIG. 5. That is, the computing facility of the authentication system receives the product of the processes of FIG. 5. The storage facility may be, for example, a database controlled by a biometric certificate authority, or a dongle or cryptographic token, or a local memory, [0110], one embodiment of the invention provides a database of public keys that each characterize the biometric of an individual.);
and a content management apparatus that stores a public key for digital signature information of the user generated based on the biometric information of the user (Herder, [0109], One such embodiment includes a server for storing a hash of the secret number along with the biometric public keys. [0110], one embodiment of the invention provides a database of public keys that each characterize the biometric of an individual. [0113], Two particular uses are shown in FIGS. 7 and 8: secure communications, and message signing.),
the usage right verification method comprising: transmitting, by the content use apparatus, the acquired biometric information of the user and the usage right information of the content to the usage right presentation proxy apparatus (Herder, [0107], the subject to use any or all of these input mechanisms to provide the required assurance data. For example, if a biometric public key was created using both an iris scan and a fingerprint, then an authentication device that performs the method of FIG. 6 must incorporate both iris and fingerprint scanners. [0103], the authentication system receives the product of the processes of FIG. 5. The storage facility may be, for example, a database controlled by a biometric certificate authority, or a dongle or cryptographic token, or a local memory, such as a non-transitory data store within the computing facility itself. In process 65 [0110], one obtains the appropriate biometric from the person. Finally, one validates the obtained biometric against the public key),
generating, by the usage right presentation proxy apparatus, digital signature information of the user based on the transmitted biometric information of the user and a key parameter corresponding to the biometric information (Herder, [0113], Two particular uses are shown in FIGS. 7 and 8: secure communications, and message signing.[0110], public keys that each characterize the biometric of an individual. [0104], the subject is authenticated as the individual),
the digital signature information has been added (Herder, [0113], secure communications, and message signing.)
Herder does not disclose:
storing usage right information of content, and using the content
and transmitting signed usage right information in which to the usage right information to the content management apparatus
and verifying, by the content management apparatus, the digital signature information of the user by using the corresponding public key based on the signed usage right information
Conrado discloses:
storing usage right information of content, and using the content (Conrad, [0002], Content rights typically contains rules (e.g. play, copy, distribute etc.) and necessary cryptographic keys [0048], Each content right contains the content ID and content key(s) that enable access to cryptographically protected content items…[0049], A user right indicates whether a user is allowed to use a content right to access a content item. [0074], Alice 401 is allowed to access the content item on the compliant device 402. );
and transmitting signed usage right information in which to the usage right information to the content management apparatus (Conrado, [0003], the content provider digitally signs the content rights before they are distributed, [0048], The content provider 109 who issues the content right 111 also signs it. [0050], content rights may only be transferred to compliant devices. Further, the transfer of content rights between devices requires secure communication. [0072], The compliant device 402 verifies that Alice 401 can use the user right 408. [0073], The compliant device verifies (step 410) that the content provider was allowed to sign the content right. Thus, the device checks the signature of the content right 409);
and verifying, by the content management apparatus, the digital signature information of the user by using the corresponding public key based on the signed usage right information (Conrado, [0072], The compliant device 402 verifies (step 403) that the user ID certificate 404 is valid by checking the signature using the built-in public key in the compliant device. [0073], The compliant device verifies (step 410) that the content provider was allowed to sign the content right. Thus, the device checks the signature of the content right 409).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Herder's Public/Private Key Biometric Authentication System by enhancing Herder's systems for associating authenticated users with signed usage-right information and verifying such rights prior to providing access to protected content to ensure that access to content is controlled based on both user authentication and validated content-usage rights as taught by Conrado in order to enhance secure management and enforcement of content-access permissions.
The motivation is to ensure that successfully authenticated users are granted access only to content for which they possess valid and verifiable usage rights, thereby improving protection against unauthorized content access and distribution.
Regarding Claim 10:
Herder discloses:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program of a usage right verification system including: a content use apparatus that acquires biometric information of a user (Herder, [0057], the information system 15 is protected by a security mechanism that permits access only once the subject has been authenticated as an individual authorized to use the information system 15. [0058], the authentication process, the subject 11 is presented to a transducer 12, which obtains a biometric.),
a usage right presentation proxy apparatus that stores a key parameter in association with the biometric information of the user (Herder, [0078], the biometric information 43 of the subject 41, and the biometric public key 37 of the individual, the computing facility then performs the function of key recovery 46. The process of key recovery 46 entails computing a candidate value for the secret key 47. [0103], the computing facility receives a biometric public key from a storage facility as described above in connection with FIG. 5. That is, the computing facility of the authentication system receives the product of the processes of FIG. 5. The storage facility may be, for example, a database controlled by a biometric certificate authority, or a dongle or cryptographic token, or a local memory, [0110], one embodiment of the invention provides a database of public keys that each characterize the biometric of an individual.);
and a content management apparatus that stores a public key for digital signature information of the user generated based on the biometric information of the user (Herder, [0109], One such embodiment includes a server for storing a hash of the secret number along with the biometric public keys. [0110], one embodiment of the invention provides a database of public keys that each characterize the biometric of an individual. [0113], Two particular uses are shown in FIGS. 7 and 8: secure communications, and message signing.),
the program causing a computer to perform processes of: transmitting, by the content use apparatus, the acquired biometric information of the user and the usage right information of the content to the usage right presentation proxy apparatus (Herder, [0107], the subject to use any or all of these input mechanisms to provide the required assurance data. For example, if a biometric public key was created using both an iris scan and a fingerprint, then an authentication device that performs the method of FIG. 6 must incorporate both iris and fingerprint scanners. [0103], the authentication system receives the product of the processes of FIG. 5. The storage facility may be, for example, a database controlled by a biometric certificate authority, or a dongle or cryptographic token, or a local memory, such as a non-transitory data store within the computing facility itself. In process 65 [0110], one obtains the appropriate biometric from the person. Finally, one validates the obtained biometric against the public key);
generating, by the usage right presentation proxy apparatus, digital signature information of the user based on the transmitted biometric information of the user and a key parameter corresponding to the biometric information (Herder, [0113], Two particular uses are shown in FIGS. 7 and 8: secure communications, and message signing.[0110], public keys that each characterize the biometric of an individual. [0104], the subject is authenticated as the individual),
the digital signature information has been added (Herder, [0113], secure communications, and message signing.)
Herder does not disclose:
storing usage right information of content, and using the content
and transmitting signed usage right information in which the digital signature information has been added to the usage right information to the content management apparatus
and verifying, by the content management apparatus, the digital signature information of the user by using the corresponding public key based on the signed usage right information
Conrado discloses:
storing usage right information of content, and using the content (Conrad, [0002], Content rights typically contains rules (e.g. play, copy, distribute etc.) and necessary cryptographic keys [0048], Each content right contains the content ID and content key(s) that enable access to cryptographically protected content items…[0049], A user right indicates whether a user is allowed to use a content right to access a content item. [0074], Alice 401 is allowed to access the content item on the compliant device 402. );
and transmitting signed usage right information in which the digital signature information has been added to the usage right information to the content management apparatus (Conrado, [0003], the content provider digitally signs the content rights before they are distributed, [0048], The content provider 109 who issues the content right 111 also signs it. [0050], content rights may only be transferred to compliant devices. Further, the transfer of content rights between devices requires secure communication. [0072], The compliant device 402 verifies that Alice 401 can use the user right 408. [0073], The compliant device verifies (step 410) that the content provider was allowed to sign the content right. Thus, the device checks the signature of the content right 409);
and verifying, by the content management apparatus, the digital signature information of the user by using the corresponding public key based on the signed usage right information (Conrado, [0072], The compliant device 402 verifies (step 403) that the user ID certificate 404 is valid by checking the signature using the built-in public key in the compliant device. [0073], The compliant device verifies (step 410) that the content provider was allowed to sign the content right. Thus, the device checks the signature of the content right 409).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Herder's Public/Private Key Biometric Authentication System by enhancing Herder's systems for associating authenticated users with signed usage-right information and verifying such rights prior to providing access to protected content to ensure that access to content is controlled based on both user authentication and validated content-usage rights as taught by Conrado in order to enhance secure management and enforcement of content-access permissions.
The motivation is to ensure that successfully authenticated users are granted access only to content for which they possess valid and verifiable usage rights, thereby improving protection against unauthorized content access and distribution.
Conclusion
/MAYASA SHAAWAT/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/William J. Goodchild/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433