DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikuma et al. (US 2008/0306379 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Ikuma discloses an ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus comprising (as seen on Figure 1 provided herein): an ultrasound image generator that generates ultrasound image data from reception signals of an ultrasound probe that transmits and receives ultrasound waves to and from a subject (processor #5 for processing data received from probe having transducer array #31); an optical image capturer that generates optical image data by optically imaging puncture
into the subject using a puncture needle (see figure 1 showing endoscope inserted into the body and hence considered as punctured into a human using rigid portion #21; see paragraph 0037); and a hardware processor (processor #5) that simultaneously displays an ultrasound image of the ultrasound image data (see paragraph 0040) and a reference image based on the optical image data (see paragraph 0061 and Abstract), detects a position of a user in an optical image of the optical image data, and sets an orientation of the reference image to be displayed so that the detected position of the user is located on a lower side (see paragraphs 0044 and 0049-0050 and orientation coil #44).
With respect to claim 2, Ikuma discloses the hardware processor (processor #5) performs image analysis on the optical image data to detect the position of the user in the optical image (see paragraphs 0044 and 0049-0050 and orientation coil #44).
With respect to claim 3, Ikuma discloses the optical image capturer includes a first optical image capturer that optically images puncture of the subject with the puncture needle to generate first optical image data, and a second optical image capturer (processor #5 for processing data received from probe having transducer array #31 hence considered as more than one capturer) that optically images puncture of the subject with the puncture needle (see figure 1 showing endoscope inserted into the body and hence considered as punctured into a human using rigid portion #21; see paragraph 0037) in an imaging direction different from an imaging direction of the first optical image capturer to generate second optical image data, and the hardware processor simultaneously displays an ultrasound image of the ultrasound image data and a reference image based on the first optical image data (see paragraphs 0140 and 0191-0192 disclosing multiple imaging data according to a direction per image data), and performs image analysis on at least one of the first optical image data and the second optical image data to detect the position of the user in a first optical image of the first optical image data (see paragraphs 0044 and 0049-0050).
With respect to claim 4, Ikuma discloses wherein the hardware processor detects a position of the puncture needle in the optical image based on pattern information obtained by decoding a symbol included in the optical image of the optical image data, and sets an orientation of the reference image to be displayed such that a position of the user corresponding to the detected position of the puncture needle is located on a lower side (see paragraphs 0044 and 0049-0050).
With respect to claim 5, Ikuma discloses wherein the reference image is the optical image (see paragraphs 0059 and 0262).
With respect to claim 6, Ikuma discloses the reference image is an illustration image indicating positions and directions of the ultrasound probe and the puncture needle in the optical image (see paragraph 0042).
With respect to claim 7, Ikuma discloses wherein the hardware processor acquires the positions and the directions of the ultrasound probe and the puncture needle by performing image analysis on the optical image data, and generates illustration image data of an illustration image indicating positions and orientations of the ultrasound probe and the puncture needle (see paragraphs 0042-0044).
With respect to claim 8, Ikuma discloses the hardware processor performs image analysis on the optical image data to acquire a puncture mode of the puncture based on positions and directions of the ultrasound probe and the puncture needle (see paragraphs 0042-0044), and sets a display element corresponding to the acquired puncture mode to be displayed together with the ultrasound image and the reference image (see paragraphs 0040, 0061 and Abstract).
With respect to claim 9, Ikuma discloses an image display method comprising: ultrasound image generating of generating ultrasound image data from reception signals of an ultrasound probe that transmits and receives ultrasound waves to and from a subject (processor #5 for processing data received from probe having transducer array #31); optical imaging of optically imaging puncture into the subject using a puncture needle to generate optical image data (see figure 1 showing endoscope inserted into the body and hence considered as punctured into a human using rigid portion #21; see paragraph 0037); and controlling of simultaneously displaying an ultrasound image of the ultrasound image data and a reference image based on the optical image data (see paragraphs 0040, 0061 and Abstract), detecting a position of a user in an optical image of the optical image data, and setting an orientation of the reference image to be displayed such that the detected position of the user is located on a lower side (see paragraphs 0044 and 0049-0050 and orientation coil #44).
With respect to claim 10, Ikuma discloses a non-transitory recording medium storing a computer-readable program for a computer of an ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus comprising: an ultrasound image generator that generates ultrasound image data from reception signals of an ultrasound probe that transmits and receives ultrasound waves to and from a subject (processor #5 for processing data received from probe having transducer array #31); and an optical image capturer that optically captures puncture into the subject using a puncture needle to generate optical image data (see figure 1 showing endoscope inserted into the body and hence considered as punctured into a human using rigid portion #21; see paragraph 0037), the program causing the computer to perform controlling of simultaneously displaying an ultrasound image of the ultrasound image data and a reference image based on the optical image data (see paragraphs 0040, 0061 and Abstract), detecting a position of a user in an optical image of the optical image data, and setting an orientation of the reference image to be displayed such that the detected position of the user is located on a lower side (see paragraphs 0044 and 0049-0050 and orientation coil #44).
Conclusion
/DIXOMARA VARGAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798