DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/14/2025 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grave (US 20210153322 A1).
With regards to claim 1. Grave disclose(s):
A light source (figs 1-3 and 5-6 ) comprising:
a substrate (see s1-s3 on top of substrate means; fig 1; see [0006]);
a first light-emitting unit (S2) disposed on the substrate and comprising one first light-emitting element or a plurality of first light-emitting elements connected in series (see multiple Dx in series);
a second light-emitting unit (S1) disposed on the substrate and comprising a plurality of second light-emitting elements connected in series (see multiple Dred), the number of the plurality of second light-emitting elements being greater than the number of the one or plurality of first light- emitting elements (see number of Dred being greater than Dx);
a power supply (6.6V; fig 6) configured to supply electric power to the one or plurality of first light-emitting elements and the plurality of second light-emitting elements (see 6.6V powering S1 and S2);
and one or more drivers (LR1-LR2) configured to cause the one or plurality of first light-emitting elements (Dred) and the plurality of second light-emitting elements (Dx) to emit light of predetermined brightnesses ([0030]), wherein
the first light-emitting unit (S2) and the second light-emitting unit (S1) are connected in parallel (see S2 and S1 in parallel) to each other with respect to the power supply (6.6V; fig 6),
a first light emission peak wavelength of each of the one or plurality of first light- emitting elements is different from a second light emission peak wavelength of each of the plurality of second light-emitting elements (see S2 being different color to red lights S1; [0029]; the examiner takes the position that different colors involve different “light emission peak wavelength”),
a second forward voltage of each of the plurality of second light-emitting elements (see forward voltage being 2V for Dred; [0034]) is lower than a first forward voltage of each of the one or plurality of first light-emitting elements (see forward voltage being 3V for Dx; [0034]), and
an absolute value of a difference between a first voltage, which is a forward voltage of the first light-emitting unit, and a second voltage, which is a forward voltage of the second light-emitting unit, is lower than the second forward voltage of each of the second light- emitting elements (see [0022] for total forward voltage being within different by a “negligible amount”; see [0014] for difference being 0.1V, which is lower than 2V of Dred [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 8-12, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grave (US 20210153322 A1) in view of Adams (US 20240138320 A1).
With regards to claim 2. Grave disclose(s):
The light source according to claim 1,
wherein the first voltage is different and can be lower than the second voltage (see [0022] for total forward voltage being within different by a “negligible amount”; see [0014] for difference being 0.1V, which is lower than 2V of Dred [0034]) (see 3V for each of the 8 Dx in fig 2 which involves ~24V; fig 2; [0034]; see [0018] for values of each of the 12 Dred in fig 2),
Grave does not disclose(s):
wherein the first voltage is lower than the second voltage, and
the one or more drivers are configured to control a first duty cycle for the one or plurality of first light-emitting elements and a second duty cycle for the plurality of second light-emitting elements, such that the first duty cycle is lower than the second duty cycle.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have configured the first voltage is lower than the second voltage as proposed by different values of forward voltages of Dred of Grave [0018], since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Further, configuring forward voltages of Dred (of second light-emitting unit S1) being e.g. 2.05V would yield the predictable results of the second voltage being 2.05V*12=24.6V in S1 fig 2 which is higher than the first voltage of S2 being 3V*8=24V.
Grave as modified does not disclose(s):
the one or more drivers are configured to control a first duty cycle for the one or plurality of first light-emitting elements and a second duty cycle for the plurality of second light-emitting elements, such that the first duty cycle is lower than the second duty cycle.
Adams teaches:
the one or more drivers are configured to control a first duty cycle for the one or plurality of first light-emitting elements (see PWM signal from 1304 to 1322; fig 13; [0177]) and a second duty cycle for the plurality of second light-emitting elements (see PWM signal from 1304 to 1380; fig 13), such that the first duty cycle is lower than the second duty cycle (see color mixing based on PWM modulation of each light unit in [0178-0179]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Grave by implementing the one or more drivers are configured to control a first duty cycle for the one or plurality of first light-emitting elements and a second duty cycle for the plurality of second light-emitting elements, such that the first duty cycle is lower than the second duty cycle as disclosed by Adams in order to improve color mixing as taught/suggested by Adams ([0180]). Furthermore, targeting a certain color with the modulation of Adams would yield the predictable result of one of the channels having a different current and therefore duty cycles higher/lower than the other one.
With regards to claim 3. Grave as modified disclose(s):
The light source according to claim 2,
Adams further discloses:
wherein a total current value of the one or plurality of first light-emitting elements is smaller than a total current value of the plurality of second light-emitting elements (see variable current values of each channel in [0180]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have configured the device/method/system of Grave by implementing the total current value of the one or plurality of first light-emitting elements is smaller than a total current value of the plurality of second light-emitting elements as disclosed by Adams in order to target a color while improving color mixing as taught/suggested by Adams ([0180]). Furthermore, targeting a certain color with the modulation of Adams would yield the predictable result of one of the channels having higher/lower currents by each channel.
With regards to claim 4. Grave as modified disclose(s):
The light source according to claim 2,
Adams further discloses:
wherein the second duty cycle is equal to or less than 20 times the first duty cycle.
(see variable current values of each channel in [0180]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have configured the device/method/system of Grave by configuring second duty cycle is equal to or less than 20 times the first duty cycle as disclosed by Adams in order to target a color while improving color mixing as taught/suggested by Adams ([0180]). Furthermore, targeting a certain color with the modulation of Adams would yield the predictable result of one of the channels having higher/lower currents by each channel.
With regards to claim 5. Grave as modified disclose(s):
The light source according to claim 2,
Grave further discloses:
wherein the first light-emitting unit comprises the plurality of first light-emitting elements, the first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit are configured with a plurality of light-emitting devices arranged in a first direction on the substrate, each of the plurality of light-emitting devices comprising one of the plurality of first light-emitting elements and one of the plurality of second light-emitting elements, and in each of the plurality of light-emitting devices, the one of the first light-emitting elements and the one of the second light-emitting elements are arranged in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (see multiple light emitting units such S1-S3 in parallel being oriented in one direction in fig 1; see fig 3 for single light emitting unit having multiple light emitting elements).
With regards to claim 8. Grave as modified disclose(s):
The light source according to claim 2,
Grave further disclose(s):
wherein the first light-emitting unit (S2; fig 1) comprises the plurality of first tight-emitting elements, the first light-emitting unit (S2) and the second light-emitting unit (S1) are configured with a plurality of light-emitting devices (see Dred and Dx) arranged in a first direction on the substrate (see fig 3 for arrangement), each of the plurality of light-emitting devices comprising a first predetermined number of the plurality of first light-emitting elements (Dx) and a second predetermined number of the plurality of second light-emitting elements (Dred), the first predetermined number and the second predetermined number being a same number equal to or greater than two, and in each of the plurality of light-emitting devices (see Dred in each S1 being the same), the first predetermined number of the first light-emitting elements and the second predetermined number of the second light- emitting elements are arranged in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction see direction in fig 1.
With regards to claim 9. Grave as modified disclose(s):
The light source according to claim 1,
wherein the second voltage is different and can be lower than the first voltage (see [0022] for total forward voltage being within different by a “negligible amount”; see [0014] for difference being 0.1V, which is lower than 2V or 3V of Dred or Dx [0034]) (see 3V for each of the 8 Dx in fig 2 which involves ~24V; fig 2; [0034]; see [0018] for values of each of the 12 Dred in fig 2),
Grave does not disclose(s):
wherein the second voltage is lower than the first voltage, and
the one or more drivers are configured to control at least one of a first duty cycle for the one or plurality of first light-emitting elements and a second duty cycle for the plurality of second light-emitting elements, such that the second duty cycle is lower than the first duty cycle.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have configured the second voltage is lower than the first voltage as proposed by different values of forward voltages of Dred of Grave [0018], since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Further, configuring forward voltages of Dred (of second light-emitting unit S1) being e.g. 1.95V would yield the predictable results of the second voltage being 1.95V*12=23.4V in S1 fig 2 which is lower than the first voltage of S2 being 3V*8=24V.
Grave as modified does not disclose(s):
the one or more drivers are configured to control at least one of a first duty cycle for the one or plurality of first light-emitting elements and a second duty cycle for the plurality of second light-emitting elements, such that the second duty cycle is lower than the first duty cycle.
Adams teaches:
the one or more drivers are configured to control at least one of a first duty cycle for the one or plurality of first light-emitting elements and a second duty cycle for the plurality of second light-emitting elements (see PWM signal from 1304 to 1380; fig 13), such that the second duty cycle is lower than the first duty cycle (see color mixing based on PWM modulation of each light unit in [0178-0179])
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Grave by implementing the one or more drivers are configured to control at least one of a first duty cycle for the one or plurality of first light-emitting elements and a second duty cycle for the plurality of second light-emitting elements, such that the second duty cycle is lower than the first duty cycle as disclosed by Adams in order to improve color mixing as taught/suggested by Adams ([0180]). Furthermore, targeting a certain color with the modulation of Adams would yield the predictable result of one of the channels having a different current and therefore duty cycles higher/lower than the other one.
With regards to claim 10. Grave as modified disclose(s):
The light source according to claim 9,
Adams further discloses:
wherein a total current value of the plurality of second light-emitting elements is smaller than a total current value of the one or plurality of first light-emitting elements (see variable current values of each channel in [0180]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have configured the device/method/system of Grave by implementing the total current value of the one or plurality of first light-emitting elements is smaller than a total current value of the plurality of second light-emitting elements as disclosed by Adams in order to target a color while improving color mixing as taught/suggested by Adams ([0180]). Furthermore, targeting a certain color with the modulation of Adams would yield the predictable result of one of the channels having higher/lower currents by each channel.
With regards to claim 11. Grave as modified disclose(s):
The light source according to claim 9,
wherein the first duty cycle is equal to or less than 20 times the second duty cycle.
(see variable current values of each channel in [0180]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have configured the device/method/system of Grave by configuring the first duty cycle is equal to or less than 20 times the second duty cycle disclosed by Adams in order to target a color while improving color mixing as taught/suggested by Adams ([0180]). Furthermore, targeting a certain color with the modulation of Adams would yield the predictable result of one of the channels having higher/lower currents by each channel.
With regards to claim 12. Grave as modified disclose(s):
The light source according to claim 9,
Grave further discloses:
wherein the first light-emitting unit comprises the plurality of first light-emitting elements, the first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit are configured with a plurality of light-emitting devices arranged in a first direction on the substrate, each of the plurality of light-emitting devices comprising one of the first light-emitting elements and one of the second light-emitting elements, and in each of the plurality of light-emitting devices, the one of the first light-emitting elements and the one of the second light-emitting elements are arranged in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (see multiple light emitting units such S1-S3 in parallel being oriented in one direction in fig 1; see fig 3 for single light emitting unit having multiple light emitting elements).
With regards to claim 15. Grave as modified disclose(s):
The light source according to claim 8,
Grave further discloses:
wherein the first light-emitting unit (S2) comprises the plurality of first light-emitting elements (Dx), the first light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit (S1) are configured with a plurality of light-emitting devices arranged in a first direction on the substrate (see substrate in fig 3), each of the plurality of light-emitting devices comprising a first predetermined number of the plurality of first light-emitting elements (Dx) and a second predetermined number of the plurality of second light-emitting elements (Dred), the first predetermined number and the second predetermined number being a same number equal to or greater than two (see 3 Dred and 2 Dx; fig 1), and in each of the plurality of light-emitting devices (each of S1-S3), the first predetermined number of the first light-emitting elements and the second predetermined number of the second light- emitting elements are arranged in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (see direction of elements in fig 1).
With regards to claim 16. Grave as modified disclose(s):
The light source according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of the first light-emitting units are connected in parallel to each other with respect to the power supply (see multiple S2 in parallel), and in each of the plurality of first light-emitting units, the number of the one or plurality of first light-emitting elements connected in series (see 8 S2 in fig 2) is larger than the number of the plurality of first light-emitting units connected in parallel (see example of 2 groups of s1-s3 in fig 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6, 7, 13, 14, and 17 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KRICK (FR 3131500 A1) discloses: A light-emitting diode, LED, is a semiconductor electronic component capable of emitting light of a predetermined wavelength when an electrical voltage at least equal to a threshold value is applied to its terminals. Beyond this threshold value called direct voltage, the intensity of the luminous flux emitted by an LED generally increases proportionally with the average intensity of the electrical supply current. The forward voltage varies between LEDs of different colors, and the current intensities required to emit a light flux of approximately equal intensity also vary between LEDs of different colors. For example, to emit a white light beam using an RGB module which includes an LED emitting red light, R, an LED emitting green light, G (“Green”), and an LED emitting blue light , B, the electrical currents passing through the three LEDs must have very different intensities to produce a homogeneous white beam. As an indication, the intensity of current which will pass through the red LED will be approximately 30mA (Vf = 2.2.V), while the intensity of the electric current which will pass through the green LED will be 5 mA (Vf = 2.9V) and the intensity of the electric current which will pass through the blue LED will be 10mA (Vf=2.8V).
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844