Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive for the current claim set. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Access the Embedded Web Server as System Administrator by Xerox.
1. Xerox discloses an image forming apparatus comprising:
a storage storing an administrator password (pages 2-5, the storage is implicit);
a display (pages 2-6, the display is implicit); and
one or more controllers (pages 2-6, the controller is implicit), wherein:
in a case where an initial password is stored as the administrator password in the storage, the one or more controllers allow the display to display a first screen including: a message that requests a user to proceed a change of the administrator password (pages 2-3; page 4, If you have not changed the default administrator password, you are prompted to change the password when you login as administrator in the Embedded Web Server.); a first button for selecting to proceed to the change of the administrator password (page 5, Select an option: Prompt at Next Login: Select this button to leave the password at the default setting. Change Password / Policy: Select this button to change the password.); and a second button for selecting not to proceed to the change of the administrator password (page 5, Select an option: Prompt at Next Login: Select this button to leave the password at the default setting. Change Password / Policy: Select this button to change the password.); upon meeting a first condition, the one or more controllers allow the display to display a second screen for changing the administrator password (page 5, step 5), upon meeting a second condition, the one or more controllers allow the display to display a third screen (page 5, Prompt at next login); wherein the first condition is that the first button has been selected, the second condition is that the second button has been selected (page 5).
2. Xerox discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising an operation processor, wherein the first condition further includes a case where the operation processor has received entry of the administrator password (pages 4-5).
3. Xerox discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first condition further includes a case where the display displays that the administrator password is still the initial password (page 5, step 5, Note: When you attempt to log in with the default password, the system prompts you with this message: The default password for the admin account is still being used. For greater security, changing the default password is recommended).
4. Xerox discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: in a case where a password different from the initial password is stored as the administrator password in the storage, the one or more controllers allow the display to display the third screen without displaying the first screen (page 4-5).
5. Xerox discloses product support for the AltaLink B80xx series (page 1) and the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, and inherently discloses wherein the third screen is an initial screen on which at least any of functions of copying, faxing, and scanning is selectable as evidenced by Xerox Printer ® AltaLink ® Series Multifunction System Administrator Guide, page 158, in that printing is a form of copying.
6. Xerox discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a password authenticator that authenticates an entered administrator password, wherein the first condition further includes a case where the password authenticator authenticates an administrator based on the initial password that has been entered as the administrator password (page 4-5).
7. Xerox discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second screen includes: an input area for entering a new password as the administrator password; and a third button for selecting the change of the administrator password, wherein: in a case where the new password is entered in the input area, and the third button is selected, the one or more controllers allow the storage to store the new password as the administrator password (pages 4-5, Save).
Claims 8-24 are similar in scope to claims 1-7 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
/JAMES R TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439