DETAILED ACTION
Priority
It is noted that while subject matter of the independent claims 1 and 11 is supported by the parent application 18/135,703, the subject matter of the dependent claims is not supported by the parent application and the provisional application. Therefore, dependent claims do not get the priority date of the provisional application of 04/18/2022 and only get the priority date of the filing of the instant application on 05/14/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
As to claims 5-6 and 15-16, it appears that the subject matter of claim 5 has no particular linkage to any of the steps of claim 1 and appears to be a completely unrelated concept that exists on its own, rendering the scope of the claim indefinite. Claim 6 fails to provide linkage and thus is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knoppert (US 2021/0339134 A1) in view of Gonnen et al. (US 2018/0059885 A1) in view of Wu (US 2020/0044993 A1) and in further view of Parr et al. (US 2020/0153766 A1).
As to claim 1, Knoppert teaches a computer-implemented method for enhancing user interaction within a conversational interface (Figs. 9-11), the method comprising:
displaying, by a computing device, a chat input field in a graphical user interface [a communication streaming user interface that allows an end user to perform chat and other functions at the portable information handling system without interruption of gaming content at the peripheral display] (par. [0012]);
detecting, via the touchscreen input, a swipe-left gesture across the chat input field [step 116, Fig. 11, par. [0043]);
in response to detecting the swipe-left gesture, retrieving a previously transmitted message associated with the user (par. [0043]); and
displaying the previously transmitted message in the chat input field (Fig. 11);
flagging the chat input field as being in an edit mode (par. [0043]); and
upon receiving a modified message input, transmitting the modified message (par. [0043]).
Knoppert fails to teach detecting, via a touchscreen input, a swipe-right gesture across the chat input field; in response to detecting the swipe-right gesture, retrieving a predicted response based on a prior conversation history and user-specific context; and auto-filling the chat input field with the predicted response. Knoppert also fails to expressly teach that the modified message is transmitted along with an indicator that the message is an edit to the previously transmitted message.
Gonnen is directed to accessing and selecting emoticons, content, and mood messages during chat sessions (abstract). In particular. Gonnen teaches detecting, via a touchscreen input, a swipe-right gesture across the chat input field (par. [0030], Fig. 3); in response to detecting the swipe-right gesture, retrieving a possible response [emoticon library 250] (Fig. 4A, par. [0030]); and auto-filling the chat input field with the selected response [adding user selected emoticon 251 to the chat field 210A] (Fig. 5, par. [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of Knoppert by detecting, via a touchscreen input, a swipe-right gesture across the chat input field; in response to detecting the swipe-right gesture, retrieving a possible response; and auto-filling the chat input field with the selected response, in order to allow the user to insert content within a chat session that is selected from a displayed list (par. [0004] in Gonnen).
However, Gonnen fails to teach that the retrieved information includes a predicted response based on a prior conversation history and user-specific context; and that the selected emoticon 251 is the predicted response.
Wu is directed to generating responses in automated chatting (abstract). In particular, Wu teaches retrieving a predicted response based on a prior conversation history and user-specific context [determine a plurality of candidate responses to the message based on chat context and historical dialog] (par. [0058]-[0059], [0111], Figs. 4 and 9); and auto-filling the chat input field with the predicted response (Fig. 6, par. [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of Knoppert in view of Gonnen by augmenting the emoticon library of Gonnen to include a list of candidate responses to a message and auto-filling the chat input field with the predicted response that is either selected by the user of Gonnen or automatically inserted in the chat input field in order to make user’s response to appear more professional and better explain what the user meant by their response that is more than just an emoji reply (Fig. 6 in Wu).
Parr is directed to real-time interactive communications system (abstract). In particular, as related to modifying the message input in Knoppert, Parr teaches that the modified message is transmitted along with an indicator that the message is an edit to the previously transmitted message [text 151C indicates that the message is “edited”] (Fig. 10, par. [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of Knoppert by having the modified message of Knoppert transmitted along with an indicator that the message is an edit to the previously transmitted message in order to visually indicate to the participants of the chat that the message was modified.
As to claim 7, Knoppert in view of Gonnen and Wu teaches that the predictive response is selected from a ranked list based on natural language history and prior message frequency (par. [0058]-[0059], [0111], Figs. 4 and 9 in Wu).
As to claim 8, Knoppert in view of Gonnen and Wu teaches detecting a tap or text modification after a swipe-right to confirm or customize the predicted response before submission (par. [0045], Fig. 3 in Wu).
As to claim 9, Knoppert teaches that the edit mode comprises a visual label displayed in proximity to the input field and disabling predictive autofill while in edit mode (Fig. 11).
As to claim 10, Knoppert in view of Gonnen, Wu, and Parr teaches logging each gesture event with a corresponding message ID and timestamp for session continuity and audit tracking [tracking function in Parr] (par. [0066]-[0072], [0131]-[0133]).
As to claim 11, Knoppert in view of Gonnen, Wu, and Parr teaches a system for gesture-based chat control (Fig. 7 in Knoppert) comprising:
a user device with a touchscreen, a memory, and a processor (Fig. 7 in Knoppert);
a graphical user interface with a chat input field (Figs. 9-11 in Knoppert);
a gesture recognition module; a predictive response engine; a message recall module; and a transmission module [software modules] (claim 1 in Knoppert) configured perform the functionality as discussed per claim 1 above.
As to claims 18-20, Knoppert in view of Gonnen, Wu, and Parr teaches all the elements, as discussed per corresponding method claims 8-10 above.
Claims 2-6 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knoppert in view of Gonnen et al. in view of Wu in view of Parr et al. and in further view of Burckel (US 2022/0179552 A1).
As to claim 2, Knoppert in view of Gonnen teaches detecting a touch performing a gesture associated with an emotional reaction on a message bubble [detecting user selecting emoticon 251 in Gonnen] (par. [0032]).
Knoppert in view of Gonnen, Wu, and Parr fails to teach detecting a held touch on the chat history region to prevent scrolling, and concurrently detecting a second touch.
Burckel is directed to gesture-based menuless command interface (abstract). In particular, Burckel teaches detecting a held touch on the message history region to prevent scrolling, and concurrently detecting a second touch [two-finger grab, two-finger hold] (par. [0232], Fig. 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of Knoppert in view of Gonnen, Wu, and Parr by detecting a held touch on the chat history region to prevent scrolling, and concurrently detecting a second touch, in order to manipulate the chat session with fingers where taps, swipes, and holds are programmed to perform a specific set of commands without using traditional menus.
As to claim 3, Knoppert in view of Gonnen, Wu, Parr, and Burckel teaches that the emotional reaction is determined based on the gesture, the gesture comprising: a single swipe up for 'thumbs up', double swipe up for 'love it', single swipe down for 'thumbs down', double swipe down for 'hate it', semicircle down for 'sad', and semicircle up for 'happy' [Burckel teaches implementing fingertip-gesture drag event processing where gestures are associated with events that are triggered] (par. [0327], Fig. 58) while Gonnen teaches emoticons (Figs. 4A and 4B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of Knoppert in view of Gonnen, Wu, and Parr by implementing emoticons of Gonnen as events programmed as fingertip-gesture drag commands of Burckel in order to replace the action of selecting emoticon in Gonnen with the action of fingertip-gesture drag as part of menuless command interface depicted in Burckel.
As to claim 4, Knoppert in view of Gonnen teaches displaying an icon or emoji adjacent to the message bubble corresponding to the identified emotional reaction (Fig. 5 in Gonnen).
As to claim 5, Knoppert in view of Gonnen, Wu, Parr, and Burckel teaches presenting a property suggestion in a real estate application context and detecting a swipe-right or swipe-left gesture over a property card (par. [0239], Fig. 15 in Burckel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of Knoppert in view of Gonnen, Wu, and Parr by presenting a property suggestion in a real estate application context and detecting a swipe-right or swipe-left gesture over a property card, in order to manipulate the chat session with fingers where taps, swipes, and holds are programmed to perform a specific set of commands without using traditional menus.
As to claim 6, Knoppert in view of Gonnen, Wu, Parr, and Burckel teaches that a swipe-right indicates a positive preference and a swipe-left indicates a negative preference, and wherein subsequent property recommendations are adjusted based on the user's indicated preferences [Parr teaches recording user preferences when interacting with chat messages and adjusting recommendations based on preferences] (par. [0101], [0105], [0117], Figs. 5B and 5D).
As to claims 12-16, Knoppert in view of Gonnen, Wu, Parr, and Burckel teaches all the elements, as discussed per corresponding method claims 2-6 above.
As to claim 17, Knoppert in view of Gonnen, Wu, and Parr teaches all the elements except that the gesture recognition module distinguishes between single, double, and semicircular gestures based on velocity and trajectory profiles.
Burckel teaches distinguishing between single, double, and semicircular gestures based on velocity and trajectory profiles (par. [0232]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of Knoppert in view of Gonnen, Wu, and Parr by distinguishes between single, double, and semicircular gestures based on velocity and trajectory profiles in order to determine user intent and execute appropriate command.
Conclusion
/OLEG SURVILLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457