DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on May 14, 2025. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 13 includes a large space between clauses of the body of the claim; this space should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4: There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the tubing head” in line 1. For the purposes of examination, the “tubing head” is being treated as the same feature as the “head” in line 11 of claim 1.
Regarding claims 4-7: Claim 1 is directed to “A hanger assembly” and recites “a head” in line 11 merely to further define the “lock ring”. However, claims 4-7 are specifically directed to further details of this head. It is unclear how details of the head further limit the hanger assembly itself. Correction and clarification are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nguyen (US 2010/0206588).
Regarding claims 1 and 13: Nguyen discloses a hanger assembly 26, 40, 42, 44 comprising:
a cylindrical body 42/44 comprising a top end A (see reproduction of Figure 3 below), a bottom end B (see reproduction of Figure 3 below), an outside surface C (see reproduction of Figure 3 below), and a bore defined by axis 49 defined therethrough forming an inside surface;
a lock ring 54 comprising:
an annular shape Fig 1, 3, [0033] having an upper end D (see reproduction of Figure 3 below) that is closest to the top end of the cylindrical body Fig 3 and a lower end E (see reproduction of Figure 3 below) that is closest to the bottom end of the cylindrical body;
an inside surface F (see reproduction of Figure 3 below) that contacts a portion of the outside surface of the cylindrical body Fig 3; and
an outside surface G (see reproduction of Figure 3 below) having a diameter that is greatest at the lower end and smallest at the upper end Fig 3,
wherein the lock ring is configured to fit within a load shoulder 58 of a head 22/24 to form a seal;
a tapered piston seal ring 56 disposed above the lock ring Fig 3, the tapered piston seal ring comprising:
an annular shape Fig 1, 3 having an upper end H (see reproduction of Figure 3 below) that is closest to the top end of the cylindrical body and a lower end I (see reproduction of Figure 3 below) that partially fits into a space between the inside surface of the lock ring and the outside surface of the cylindrical body at J (see reproduction of Figure 3 below).
Regarding claim 2: The hanger assembly further comprising a stationary seal 60 having an annular shape having an upper end that is closest to the top end of the cylindrical body Fig 3 and a lower end that seats against the upper end of the tapered piston seal ring at a first position Fig 3.
Regarding claim 3: Wherein the tapered piston seal ring is configured to move downwardly such that the tapered piston seal ring is spaced from the stationary seal at a second position [0034], [0033], Fig 3, 4.
Regarding claim 13: Nguyen discloses a method sealing the above hanger assembly in the head, comprising:
providing the hanger assembly;
landing the hanger assembly into the tubing head such that the hanger assembly rests on the load shoulder Fig 3; and
actuating the tapered piston seal ring towards the lock ring to contact the lock ring and urge the lock ring to fit within the load shoulder to thereby seal the hanger assembly to the head [0035], Fig 4.
Regarding claim 14: Wherein the head is a tubing head 24 – tubing spool, and further wherein the step of actuating comprises applying pressure through a port defined in the tubing head in a region immediately above the tapered piston seal ring [0035] – above piston surface K (see reproduction of Figure 3 below).
Regarding claim 15: Wherein the step of applying pressure comprises applying hydraulic fluid through the port defined in the tubing head [0035].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Quebe (US 4,202,410).
Regarding claim 4: Nguyen discloses that the tubing head includes a first port hole 69 extending substantially horizontally through the tubing head that terminates above the tapered piston seal ring Fig 2, [0035] – above piston surface K (see reproduction of Figure 3 above).
Nguyen discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the port hole being threaded.
Quebe discloses a tubing head 32 that includes multiple threaded ports 126 for example for supply hydraulic fluid to the head.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Nguyen so that the port hole was threaded, as taught by Quebe, in order to have been able to attached needed fittings to the port hole 4:32-51.
Regarding claim 5: Wherein the first threaded port hole is configured to receive hydraulic fluid [0035] of Nguyen.
Regarding claim 6: Nguyen discloses testing seals in the wellhead assembly [0048] as well as multiple port holes but fails to disclose that the tubing head includes a second threaded port hole extending substantially angularly through the tubing head that terminates at the load shoulder.
Quebe also disclose that one of the threaded port holes extends angularly through the tubing head, port 68 – Fig 2, and terminates adjacent a load shoulder 60 – Fig 2. This port is used to test the seals of the tubing head 2:48-68.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Nguyen to include a second threaded port hole that extends substantially angularly through the tubing head that terminates at the load shoulder, as taught by Quebe, in order to have been able to pressure test seals of the hanger assembly 2:48-68 and thus achieve the predictable results of ensuring that the hanger assembly would not fail under production conditions.
Regarding claim 7: Wherein the second port is configured to test the seal 2:48-68 of Quebe.
Regarding claim 16: Nguyen discloses testing seals in the wellhead assembly [0048] as well as multiple port holes but fails to disclose that the tubing head includes a second threaded port hole extending substantially angularly through the tubing head that terminates at the load shoulder, wherein the second port is configured to test whether hydraulic fluid is exiting from the second port.
Quebe also disclose that one of the threaded port holes extends angularly through the tubing head, port 68 – Fig 2, and terminates adjacent a load shoulder 60 – Fig 2. This port is used to test the seals of the tubing head 2:48-68.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Nguyen to include a second threaded port hole that extends substantially angularly through the tubing head that terminates at the load shoulder, as taught by Quebe, in order to have been able to pressure test seals of the hanger assembly 2:48-68 and thus achieve the predictable results of ensuring that the hanger assembly would not fail under production conditions.
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Quebe and Guidry (US 2011/0024108).
Regarding claim 8: Nguyen discloses a wellhead assembly 12 comprising:
a head 22/24 comprising:
a cylindrical body Fig 2 and 3 having a hollowed interior Fig 2 and 3 and comprising a top end Fig 2 and 3, a bottom end Fig 2 and 3, an outside surface Fig 2 and 3, and an inside surface Fig 2 and 3; and
an upper flange area Fig 2 and 3 located at the top end of the cylindrical body and comprising:
a first port hole 69 running from the outside surface to the inside surface Fig 2 and 3, wherein the first port hole is oriented at an about 90 o angle with respect to the hollowed interior of the cylindrical body Fig 2 and 3; and
a load shoulder 58 located along the inside surface of the cylindrical body and comprising a diameter that is greater than a diameter of the inside surface of the cylindrical body Fig 2 and 3; and
a hanger assembly 26, 40, 42, 44 comprising:
a cylindrical body 42/44 comprising a top end A (see reproduction of Figure 3 above), a bottom end B (see reproduction of Figure 3 above), an outside surface C (see reproduction of Figure 3 above), and a bore defined by axis 49 defined therethrough forming an inside surface;
a lock ring 54 comprising:
an annular shape Fig 1, 3, [0033] having an upper end D (see reproduction of Figure 3 above) that is closest to the top end of the cylindrical body Fig 3 and a lower end E (see reproduction of Figure 3 above) that is closest to the bottom end of the cylindrical body;
an inside surface F (see reproduction of Figure 3 above) that contacts a portion of the outside surface of the cylindrical body Fig 3; and
an outside surface G (see reproduction of Figure 3 above) having a diameter that is greatest at the lower end and smallest at the upper end Fig 3,
wherein the lock ring is configured to fit within a load shoulder 58 of a head 22/24 to form a seal;
a tapered piston seal ring 56 disposed above the lock ring Fig 3, the tapered piston seal ring comprising:
an annular shape Fig 1, 3 having an upper end H (see reproduction of Figure 3 above) that is closest to the top end of the cylindrical body and a lower end I (see reproduction of Figure 3 above) that partially fits into a space between the inside surface of the lock ring and the outside surface of the cylindrical body at J (see reproduction of Figure 3 above).
Nguyen discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the first port hole being threaded and being and configured to threadably connect to a threaded fitting and the head including a second threaded port hole running from the outside surface to the inside surface and configured to threadably connect to a lockdown screw, wherein the second threaded port hole is oriented at an angle ranging from about 10° to about 80° with respect to the hollowed interior of the cylindrical body.
Quebe discloses a tubing head 32 that includes multiple threaded ports 126 for example for supply hydraulic fluid to the head. The threaded port is configured to be connected to a threaded fitting 4:32-51.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Nguyen so that the port hole was threaded, as taught by Quebe, in order to have been able to attached needed fittings to the port hole 4:32-51.
Nguyen, as modified, discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the head including a second threaded port hole running from the outside surface to the inside surface and configured to threadably connect to a lockdown screw, wherein the second threaded port hole is oriented at an angle ranging from about 10° to about 80° with respect to the hollowed interior of the cylindrical body. Nguyen does discloses testing seals in the wellhead assembly [0048] as well as multiple port holes.
Quebe also disclose that one of the threaded port holes extends angularly through the tubing head, port 68 – Fig 2, and terminates adjacent a load shoulder 60 – Fig 2. This port is used to test the seals of the tubing head 2:48-68.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Nguyen to include a second threaded port hole that extends at an angle ranging from about 10° to about 80° with respect to the hollowed interior of the cylindrical body, as taught by Quebe, in order to have been able to pressure test seals of the hanger assembly 2:48-68 and thus achieve the predictable results of ensuring that the hanger assembly would not fail under production conditions.
Nguyen, as modified, discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the second threaded port hole being configured to threadably connect to a lockdown screw.
Guidry discloses a tubing head that includes multiple threaded port holes including test port 70. Test port 70 includes a lockdown screw 40.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Nguyen so that the second port hole, used for pressure testing, was configured to connect to a lockdown screw, as taught by Guidry, in order to have included a means for securing the hanger assembly in the head while still allowing for both the seals and the lockdown screw to be pressure tested [0020], [0025].
Regarding claim 9: The hanger assembly further comprising a stationary seal 60 of Nguyen having an annular shape having an upper end that is closest to the top end of the cylindrical body Fig 3 of Nguyen and a lower end that seats against the upper end of the tapered piston seal ring at a first position Fig 3 of Nguyen.
Regarding claim 10: Wherein the tapered piston seal ring is configured to move downwardly such that the tapered piston seal ring is spaced from the stationary seal at a second position [0034], [0033], Fig 3, 4 of Nguyen.
Regarding claim 11: Wherein the first threaded port hole is configured to receive hydraulic fluid [0035] of Nguyen.
Regarding claim 12: Wherein the second threaded port hole is configured to test the seal testing seals – [0048] of Nguyen, threaded port hole for testing – 2:48-68 of Quebe.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER H GAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
JHG
1/29/2026