DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. The response to non-final filed on 5/14/2026 has been entered. No claims have been added amended or cancelled. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-10 of U.S. Patent No.US 12,339,915. In view of US 11,004,135 (hereinafter Sandler) Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations in bold are the same and the differences would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art. For instance, US 12,339,915 recites a predicted reward whereas the instant application recites a predicted likelihood. Sandler however does disclose a predicted likelihood (See column 8 line 45- column 9 line 15 note the system selects from multiple models using learning or a bandit model based on the likelihood of selection of the items of interest). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the pertinent at the time the instantly claimed invention was filed to have incorporated the teaching of Sandler into the system of US 12,339,915. The modification would have been obvious because the two references are concerned with the solution to problem of predicting user behavior , therefore there is an implicit motivation to combine these references (i.e. motivation from the references themselves). In other words, the ordinary skilled artisan, during his/her quest for a solution to the cited problem, would look to the cited references at the time the invention was made. Consequently, the ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the cited references since Sandler’s teaching would enable users of the US 12,339,915 system to have more efficient processing.
As for claim 10 Sandler discloses: wherein obtaining the one or more contextual features describing the context of the user query comprises: accessing user features from a user profile associated with a user associated with the client device (See column 6 lines 20-55 and column 7 lines 50-65 note user profiles are associated with historical or behavioral or current context and used as input). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the pertinent at the time the instantly claimed invention was filed to have incorporated the teaching of Sandler into the system of US 12,339,915. The modification would have been obvious because the two references are concerned with the solution to problem of predicting user behavior , therefore there is an implicit motivation to combine these references (i.e. motivation from the references themselves). In other words, the ordinary skilled artisan, during his/her quest for a solution to the cited problem, would look to the cited references at the time the invention was made. Consequently, the ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the cited references since Sandler’s teaching would enable users of the US 12,339,915 system to have more efficient processing.
As for claim 11 Sandler discloses: wherein applying the contextual bandit model to the query features and the contextual features comprises applying the contextual bandit model to select two or more query processing models, the method further comprising: applying each selected query processing model to the user query and the contextual features to identify a set of query results (See column 8 line 45- column 9 line 15 note the system selects from multiple models using learning or a bandit model); and displaying an aggregation of query results from the sets of query results output by the two or more query processing models (See column 9 lines 4-15 note an aggregate is displayed). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the pertinent at the time the instantly claimed invention was filed to have incorporated the teaching of Sandler into the system of US 12,339,915. The modification would have been obvious because the two references are concerned with the solution to problem of predicting user behavior , therefore there is an implicit motivation to combine these references (i.e. motivation from the references themselves). In other words, the ordinary skilled artisan, during his/her quest for a solution to the cited problem, would look to the cited references at the time the invention was made. Consequently, the ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the cited references since Sandler’s teaching would enable users of the US 12,339,915 system to have more efficient processing.
19/208,438 US 12,339,915
1 .A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving, from a client device, a user query for identifying one or more items by an online system, the user query described by one or more query features; obtaining one or more contextual features describing a context of the user query; applying a contextual bandit model to the query features and the contextual features to select a query processing model from a plurality of query processing models, wherein applying the contextual bandit model comprises: outputting, for each query processing model, a predicted likelihood that the user will interact with the query results identified by the query processing model; and selecting the query processing model from the plurality of query processing models based on the predicted likelihoods; applying the selected query processing model to the user query to obtain query results; and transmitting the query results for display on the client device.
1. A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving, from a client device, a user query for identifying one or more items by an online system, the user query described by one or more query features; obtaining one or more contextual features describing a context of the user query, wherein the one or more contextual features comprises: user features describing a user associated with the client device; retailer features describing one or more retailers hosted by the online system; and item features describing one or more items listed on the online system; and applying a contextual bandit model to the query features and the contextual features to select a query processing model from a plurality of query processing models wherein applying the contextual bandit model, further comprises: outputting, for each query processing model, a predicted reward to the online system for query results identified by the query processing model; and selecting the query processing model from the plurality of query processing models based on the predicted rewards; and applying the selected query processing model to the user query to obtain query results; and transmitting the query results for display on the client device.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein receiving the user query comprises receiving: text, audio signals, or visual signals.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein receiving the user query comprises receiving one or more of: text, audio signals, or visual signals.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising: extracting the one or more query features from the user query with: a natural language processing model, a speech recognition model, or an image recognition model.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising: extracting the one or more query features from the user query with one or more of: a natural language processing model, a speech recognition model, or an image recognition model.
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the query processing models are disparately trained.
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the query processing models are disparately trained.
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein applying the selected query processing model comprises: applying the selected query processing model to the user query and the contextual features to obtain the query results.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein applying the selected query processing model comprises: applying the selected query processing model to the user query and the contextual features to obtain the query results.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: ranking the query results based on relevance to the user query, wherein displaying the query results is based on the ranking.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: ranking the query results based on relevance to the user query, wherein displaying the query results is based on the ranking.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the client device, a user selection interacting with an item from the query results; scoring the query processing model based on the user interaction; and
retraining the contextual bandit model based on the score for the query processing model.
8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the client device, a user selection interacting with an item from the query results.
8. The computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein the user selection comprises at least one of: viewing an item from the query results; adding the item to a shopping cart; favoriting the item; or ordering the item.
9. The computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the user selection comprises at least one of: viewing an item from the query results; adding the item to a shopping cart; favoriting the item; or ordering the item.
9. The computer-implemented method of claim 7, further comprising: scoring a reward based on the user selection, wherein retraining the contextual bandit model comprises retraining further based on the reward.
10. The computer-implemented method of claim 8, further comprising: scoring a reward based on the user selection; and training the contextual bandit model based on the reward.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,004,135 (Sandler) in view of US 2019/0080348 (hereinafter SHAH).
As for claim 1 Sandler discloses: 1. A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving, from a client device, a user query for identifying one or more items by an online system, the user query described by one or more query features (See figure 4 note “enter search” this query is received and then recommendations are made based on context); obtaining one or more contextual features describing a context of the user query (See column 6 lines 30-45 note the context of the model selection is based on the context of user query history); applying the selected query processing model to the user query to obtain query results (See column 10 line 40 -column 11 line 5 note the results are the recommendations the system determines based on the user initially looking for items moreover see figure 4 with the search prompt); and transmitting the query results for display on the client device (See column 9 lines 15-40 note while not illustrated when a user enters a query a trigger tells the system to present the trained recommendations within a user specific generated interface).
While Sandler discloses making a selection from a plurality of models (See column 8 line 45- column 9 line 15 note the system selects from multiple models using learning or a bandit model based on the likelihood of selection of the items of interest);, Sandler does not explicitly disclose: applying a contextual bandit model to the query features and the contextual features to select a query processing model from a plurality of query processing models nor wherein applying the contextual bandit model comprises: outputting, for each query processing model, a predicted likelihood that the user will interact with the query results identified by the query processing model and selecting the query processing model from the plurality of query processing models based on the predicted likelihoods. SHAH however discloses: applying a contextual bandit model to the query features and the contextual features to select a query processing model from a plurality of query processing models (See paragraphs 0066 and 0087 note the multi-armed bandit model) wherein applying the contextual bandit model comprises: outputting, for each query processing model, a predicted likelihood that the user will interact with the query results identified by the query processing model (See paragraphs 0022, 0042 and 0054 note the output is based on the predicted click through rate) and selecting the query processing model from the plurality of query processing models based on the predicted likelihoods (See paragraphs 0066 and 0087 note a pull is a selection). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the pertinent at the time the instantly claimed invention was filed to have incorporated the teaching of SHAH into the system of Sandler. The modification would have been obvious because the two references are concerned with the solution to problem of user interactions (See Sandler and SHAH abstract), therefore there is an implicit motivation to combine these references (i.e. motivation from the references themselves). In other words, the ordinary skilled artisan, during his/her quest for a solution to the cited problem, would look to the cited references at the time the invention was made. Consequently, the ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the cited references since SHAH’s teaching would enable users of the Sandler system to have more efficient processing.
As for claim 2 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Sandler discloses: wherein receiving the user query comprises receiving: text, audio signals, or visual signals (See figure 4 the user inputs a query via text).
As for claim 3 the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated and further Sandler discloses: extracting the one or more query features from the user query with: a natural language processing model, a speech recognition model, or an image recognition model (See column 7 lines 40-51 note the system discloses using natural language but note the system can also process images and audio waveform).
As for claim 4 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Sandler discloses: wherein the query processing models are disparately trained (See column 6 line 55- column 7 line 20 note the models can be separately trained).
As for claim 5 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Sandler discloses: wherein applying the selected query processing model comprises: applying the selected query processing model to the user query and the contextual features to obtain the query results (See column 10 line 40 -column 11 line 5 note the results are the recommendations the system determines based on the user initially looking for items).
As for claim 6 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Sandler discloses: ranking the query results based on relevance to the user query, wherein displaying the query results is based on the ranking (See column 8 lines 30-40 note the items are ranking after being selected).
As for claim 7 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Sandler discloses: receiving, from the client device, a user selection interacting with an item from the query results (See column 5 lines 50-60) scoring the querying processing model based on the user interaction and retraining the contextual bandit model based on the score for the query processing model (See column 13 lines 10-30 note the system uses frequency which adds a count/reward for every occurrence and uses the count to predict and then finally display results note the system also trains based on frequency).
As for claim 8 the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated and further Sandler discloses: wherein the user selection comprises at least one of: viewing an item from the query results; adding the item to a shopping cart; favoriting the item; or ordering the item (See figure 1C wherein an item is added to the shopping cart).
As for claim 9 the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated and further Sandler discloses: scoring a reward based on the user selection; wherein retraining the contextual bandit model comprises retraining further based on the reward (See column 13 lines 10-30 note the system uses frequency which adds a count/reward for every occurrence and uses the count to predict and then finally display results note the system also trains based on frequency).
As for claim 10 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Sandler discloses: wherein obtaining the one or more contextual features describing the context of the user query comprises: accessing user features from a user profile associated with a user associated with the client device (See column 6 lines 20-55 and column 7 lines 50-65 note user profiles are associated with historical or behavioral or current context and used as input).
As for claim 11 the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Sandler discloses: wherein applying the contextual bandit model to the query features and the contextual features comprises applying the contextual bandit model to select two or more query processing models, the method further comprising: applying each selected query processing model to the user query and the contextual features to identify a set of query results (See column 8 line 45- column 9 line 15 note the system selects from multiple models using learning or a bandit model); and
displaying an aggregation of query results from the sets of query results output by the two or more query processing models (See column 9 lines 4-15 note an aggregate is displayed).
Claims 12-20 are non-transitory computer readable medium claims substantially corresponding to the method of claims 1, 3-7 and 9-11 and are thus rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 1, 3-7 and 9-11.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 3/30/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sanjiv Shah can be reached on (571) 272-4098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Eliyah S. Harper/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166 July 22, 2026