DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 11: Fig.22 in the reply filed on March 4, 2026 is acknowledged.
After a full review of Applicant’s disclosure, Claims 4-6, 11-13, and 17-28 are withdrawn. Claims 4-6 and 11-13 are drawn to non-elected Species 1: Fig.3. Claims 17-28 appear to be drawn to non-elected Species 8: Fig.19; additionally. there is no mention of knit bands anywhere in the instant specification, much less with regard to the elected Species 11: Fig.22. Claims 1-3, 7-10, and 14-16 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-3, 7-10, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huffa (US 2012/0233882).
Regarding Claim 1, Huffa discloses an upper (120) for footwear, comprising: a knitted component (131), comprising: a first portion (i.e. throat portion at 135) comprising an inner region of the upper; a second portion (i.e. peripheral portion at 133) comprising an outer region of the upper (para.41); and a plurality of strand segments (132) that are inlaid in the knitted component (para.40), the plurality of strand segments extending radially-outward from the first portion and into the second portion (as seen in Fig.6).
Regarding Claim 2, Huffa discloses an upper of claim 1, wherein the knitted component further comprises a plurality of knitted courses extending radially-outward from the first portion and toward the second portion, and arranged continuously between opposite ends of the upper (para.44; as seen in Fig.6 & 8B).
Regarding Claim 3, Huffa discloses an upper of claim 1, wherein the plurality of strand segments (132) are at least partially exposed on the upper (as seen in Fig.8B, 132 is exposed between wales).
Regarding Claim 7, Huffa discloses an upper of claim 1, wherein the first portion comprises a throat edge (135) of the upper, and wherein the plurality of strand segments (132) extend radially-outward around the throat edge (as seen in Fig.6).
Regarding Claim 8, Huffa discloses an article of footwear, comprising: an upper (120), comprising: a knitted component (131), comprising: a first portion (i.e. throat portion at 135) comprising an inner region of the upper; a second portion (i.e. peripheral portion at 133) comprising an outer region of the upper (para.41); and a plurality of strand segments (132) that are inlaid in the knitted component (para.40), the plurality of strand segments extending radially-outward from the first portion and into the second portion (as seen in Fig.6).
Regarding Claim 9, Huffa discloses an article of footwear of claim 8, wherein the knitted component further comprises a plurality of knitted courses extending radially-outward from the first portion and toward the second portion, and arranged continuously between opposite ends of the upper (para.44; as seen in Fig.6 & 8B).
Regarding Claim 10, Huffa discloses an article of footwear of claim 8, wherein the plurality of strand segments (132) are at least partially exposed on the upper (as seen in Fig.8B, 132 is exposed between wales).
Regarding Claim 14, Huffa discloses an article of footwear of claim 8, wherein the first portion comprises a throat edge (135) of the upper, and wherein the plurality of strand segments (132) extend radially-outward around the throat edge (as seen in Fig.6).
Regarding Claim 15, Huffa discloses an article of footwear of claim 8, wherein the upper comprises at least one fused area (139; para.51-152).
Regarding Claim 16, Huffa discloses an article of footwear of claim 8, wherein the knitted component comprises one or more fusible yarns (139; para.51)(as seen in Fig.8B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732