DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group A Species III (example 3) in the reply filed on 8/5/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant failed to elect from the other groups as seen in the Restriction Requirement mailed on 6/17/26, where one species of each group must be elected. However, in order to advance prosecution, the examiner has examined the claims.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on page 1, the corresponding patent number for the parent application must be added.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,577. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the limitations recited in claims 1, 11, and 18 of the instant application are also recited in the combination of claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,324,577. The difference in the terminology used would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 9-13, 15, 17-20, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by anticipated Trenhaile (2009/0156997).
Trenhaile discloses the following claimed limitations:Claim 1: A method of repairing tissue of a patient, the method comprising: securing at least one suture (one suture seen in Fig. 1-2 and 5-6) to at least one initial point of the patient (Fig. 1-2 and 5-6, [0027, and [0032-33]); coupling the at least one suture to a repair matrix (120, 220) (Fig. 2 and 5-6) comprising a scaffold portion (the patch, 122) (Fig. 2 and 5-6) and an inflatable
Claim 2: wherein the scaffold portion abuts the inflatable
Claim 3: wherein the inflatable
Claim 5: wherein inflating
Claim 6: wherein the inflatable
Claim 9: wherein the repair matrix defines a longitudinal axis (Fig. 4-7), the repair matrix further comprises a plurality of suture channels (channels where suture passes through) generally parallel with the longitudinal axis (Fig. 4-7), each suture passing through at least one of the suture channels (Fig. 4-7).
Claim 10: further comprising ejecting the repair matrix from an inserter, the repair matrix expanding after being ejected (Fig. 1-4 and [0032-33]).
Claims 11-13, 15, and 17: Trenhaile discloses all the limitations as discussed above
Claims 18-20 and 23: Trenhaile discloses all the limitations as discussed above
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trenhaile (2009/0156997) in view of Sengun et al. (2017/0273680).
Trenhaile discloses the claimed invention except for the material used for the scaffold being collagen.
Sengun a tissue repairing device which includes a scaffold portion which can be made of collagen ([0064] and [0219]),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the scaffold portion of Trenhaile out of collagen, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 8, 16, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trenhaile (2009/0156997) in view of Raju (2008/0051627).
Trenhaile teaches all the claimed limitations discussed above however, Trenhaile does not disclose adding a drug to the inflatable portion.
Raju discloses an inflatable balloon that contains therapeutic ingredients like drugs where the inflatable portion being configured to elute the drug to the patient ([0053]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Trenhaile with a drug in view of the teachings of Raju, in order to treat the tissue directly with a slow release of the medication closer to the site of implantation ([0053]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 14, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art appears to teach some of the claimed limitations.
/DIANNE DORNBUSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771