DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe (JP-2020029033-A) published 27 February 2020.
As to claim 1, Watanabe teaches a 3D shaping inkjet ink (Abstract: “A three-dimensional molding material set of this invention includes: slurry containing ceramic particles, an ultraviolet curing agent, and a solvent; and an ink1 containing a photo-initiator and a coloring agent.” Watanabe’s ink is applied by inkjet as described at Page 19 Paragraphs 2-3: “An ink jet head 5 for discharging ink 4 toward the slurry in the modeling-side slurry storage tank 1 is provided on the modeling-side slurry storage tank 1.”) comprising: a ceramic component (Watanabe’s material includes, a slurry containing ceramic particles); and a curable binder component (See Page 7 line 19: “The ink contains a photopolymerization initiator and a coloring agent, and further has other components as necessary.”), wherein the curable binder component is a component that can be degreased at a degreasing percentage (this limitation is a material property of the claimed material. The standard by which material properties interpreted and examined is found in MPEP § 2112.01: “Composition claims — if the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties” Because the claimed composition is taught by Watanabe, Watanabe’s composition is interpreted as having the same properties. Watanabe addresses degreasing at page 17 under the heading “Heating step and heating means.”) at which, when a degreased body is obtained by degreasing a 3D object formed by curing the 3D shaping inkjet ink, a shape of the degreased body is maintained (this limitation is the intended consequence of the use of the claimed composition. Intended use limitations are interpreted in view of MPEP § 2114: “If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art structure inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus.” As noted above, as described in MPEP § 2112.01, if the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties. Thus, the composition of Watanabe is considered to have the same functional properties as the claimed composition since the physical composition as claimed is taught by Watanabe. Note that Watanabe teaches the shape of the device is maintained after heating. See Page 23 lines 16-17 which teaches Example 1: “and no shape collapse occurred. The three-dimensional structure 1 was excellent in strength and dimensional accuracy. “), and the curable binder component contains a plurality of types of polymerizable compounds (on Page 5 under the heading, “Radical photopolymerizable compound”, Watanabe teaches: “Examples of the photoradical polymerizable compound include a polymerizable compound having an acryl group (acryloyl group). Examples of the polymerizable compound having an acrylic group include a monofunctional polymerizable compound and a polyfunctional polymerizable compound as an acrylic monomer. These may be used alone or in combination of two or more.”).
As to claim 2, Watanabe teaches the 3D shaping inkjet ink as set forth in claim 1, wherein a content of the ceramic component in the 3D shaping inkjet ink is 10 vol% or more and 50 vol% or less (Page 4 lines 28-29: “The content of the ceramic particles is preferably from 40% by mass to 70% by mass with respect to 100% by mass of the slurry.”).
As to claim 3, Watanabe teaches the 3D shaping inkjet ink as set forth in claim 1, wherein the plurality of types of polymerizable compounds are components with which the 3D object shrinks without cracking when the 3D object is degreased (this is an intended result of the use of the composition as claimed. It is considered as a material property. See Examiner’s above interpretation of intended use and material properties. Refer to MPEP §§ 2112.01 and 2114. As the composition of Watanabe meets the claimed composition, Watanabe is considered to meet all material properties and accordingly all intended results of the use of the composition.).
As to claim 4, Watanabe teaches the 3D shaping inkjet ink as set forth in claim 1, wherein the plurality of types of polymerizable compounds have a degreasing percentage of 80 wt% or more and 90 wt% or less when a degreasing temperature is 320°C or higher and 350°C or lower (this is an intended result of the use of the composition as claimed. It is considered as a material property. See Examiner’s above interpretation of intended use and material properties. Refer to MPEP §§ 2112.01 and 2114. As the composition of Watanabe meets the claimed composition, Watanabe is considered to meet all material properties and accordingly all intended results of the use of the composition. ).
As to claim 5, Watanabe teaches the 3D shaping inkjet ink as set forth in claim 1, wherein the plurality of types of polymerizable compounds include a monomer and an oligomer (on Pages 5-6 under the heading, “Radical photopolymerizable compound”, Watanabe teaches: “Examples of the photoradical polymerizable compound include a polymerizable compound having an acryl group (acryloyl group). Examples of the polymerizable compound having an acrylic group include a monofunctional polymerizable compound and a polyfunctional polymerizable compound as an acrylic monomer. These may be used alone or in combination of two or more. Further, the monofunctional polymerizable compound and the polyfunctional polymerizable compound may be in a mixed state or in an oligomer state chemically bonded to each other. The radical polymerizable compound is preferably a compound (oligomer or polymer) in a state of being chemically bonded to some extent from the viewpoint that polymerization shrinkage can be suppressed.” [emphasis added]).
As to claim 6, Watanabe teaches the 3D shaping inkjet ink as set forth in claim 1, wherein the plurality of types of polymerizable compounds include a monofunctional polymerizable compound and a polyfunctional polymerizable compound (See Page 6 under the headings, “Monofunctional polymerizable compound” and “Polyfunctional polymerizable compound”).
As to claim 7, Watanabe teaches the 3D shaping inkjet ink as set forth in claim 1, wherein the plurality of types of polymerizable compounds include: at least one monofunctional monomer selected from the group consisting of benzyl acrylate, phenoxyethyl acrylate, and 2-(2-ethoxyethoxy)ethyl acrylate; and a polyfunctional urethane acrylate-based oligomer (On page 6 under the heading “Monofunctional polymerizable compound”: “Examples of the monofunctional acrylic compound include alkyl acrylates such as methyl acrylate, ethyl acrylate, isopropyl acrylate, t-butyl acrylate, n-butyl acrylate, isobutyl acrylate, butoxyethyl acrylate, and 2-ethylhexyl acrylate; Hydroxyalkyl acrylates such as 3-hydroxypropyl acrylate, 2-hydroxy-1,3-diacryloxypropane and hydroxypropyl acrylate; tetrahydrofurfuryl acrylate, glycidyl acrylate, ethylene glycol acrylate, 2-methoxyethyl acrylate, benzyl acrylate, epoxy Acrylate, urethane acrylate and the like can be mentioned. These may be used alone or in combination of two or more.” Under the heading “Polyfunctional polymerizable compound”: “Examples of the polyfunctional acrylic compound include diethylene glycol diacrylate, 1,3-butylene glycol diacrylate, 1,4-butylene glycol diacrylate, tetraethylene glycol diacrylate, urethane diacrylate, and bisphenol A diglycidyl acrylate. These may be used alone or in combination of two or more.” [emphasis added]).
As to claim 8, Watanabe teaches the 3D shaping inkjet ink as set forth in claim 2, wherein the plurality of types of polymerizable compounds are components with which the 3D object shrinks without cracking when the 3D object is degreased (this is an intended result of the use of the composition as claimed. It is considered as a material property. See Examiner’s above interpretation of intended use and material properties. Refer to MPEP §§ 2112.01 and 2114. As the composition of Watanabe meets the claimed composition, Watanabe is considered to meet all material properties and accordingly all intended results of the use of the composition.).
As to claim 9, Watanabe teaches the 3D shaping inkjet ink as set forth in claim 2, wherein the plurality of types of polymerizable compounds have a degreasing percentage of 80 wt% or more and 90 wt% or less when a degreasing temperature is 320°C or higher and 350°C or lower (this is an intended result of the use of the composition as claimed. It is considered as a material property. See Examiner’s above interpretation of intended use and material properties. Refer to MPEP §§ 2112.01 and 2114. As the composition of Watanabe meets the claimed composition, Watanabe is considered to meet all material properties and accordingly all intended results of the use of the composition. ).
As to claim 10, Watanabe teaches the 3D shaping inkjet ink as set forth in claim 3, wherein the plurality of types of polymerizable compounds have a degreasing percentage of 80 wt% or more and 90 wt% or less when a degreasing temperature is 320°C or higher and 350°C or lower (this is an intended result of the use of the composition as claimed. It is considered as a material property. See Examiner’s above interpretation of intended use and material properties. Refer to MPEP §§ 2112.01 and 2114. As the composition of Watanabe meets the claimed composition, Watanabe is considered to meet all material properties and accordingly all intended results of the use of the composition. ).
As to claim 11, Watanabe teaches the 3D shaping inkjet ink as set forth in claim 2, wherein the plurality of types of polymerizable compounds include a monomer and an oligomer (on Pages 5-6 under the heading, “Radical photopolymerizable compound”, Watanabe teaches: “Examples of the photoradical polymerizable compound include a polymerizable compound having an acryl group (acryloyl group). Examples of the polymerizable compound having an acrylic group include a monofunctional polymerizable compound and a polyfunctional polymerizable compound as an acrylic monomer. These may be used alone or in combination of two or more. Further, the monofunctional polymerizable compound and the polyfunctional polymerizable compound may be in a mixed state or in an oligomer state chemically bonded to each other. The radical polymerizable compound is preferably a compound (oligomer or polymer) in a state of being chemically bonded to some extent from the viewpoint that polymerization shrinkage can be suppressed.” [emphasis added]).
As to claim 12, Watanabe teaches the 3D shaping inkjet ink as set forth in claim 2, wherein the plurality of types of polymerizable compounds include a monofunctional polymerizable compound and a polyfunctional polymerizable compound (See Page 6 under the headings, “Monofunctional polymerizable compound” and “Polyfunctional polymerizable compound”).
As to claim 13, Watanabe teaches the 3D shaping inkjet ink as set forth in claim 2, wherein the plurality of types of polymerizable compounds include: at least one monofunctional monomer selected from the group consisting of benzyl acrylate, phenoxyethyl acrylate, and 2-(2-ethoxyethoxy)ethyl acrylate; and a polyfunctional urethane acrylate-based oligomer (On page 6 under the heading “Monofunctional polymerizable compound”: “Examples of the monofunctional acrylic compound include alkyl acrylates such as methyl acrylate, ethyl acrylate, isopropyl acrylate, t-butyl acrylate, n-butyl acrylate, isobutyl acrylate, butoxyethyl acrylate, and 2-ethylhexyl acrylate; Hydroxyalkyl acrylates such as 3-hydroxypropyl acrylate, 2-hydroxy-1,3-diacryloxypropane and hydroxypropyl acrylate; tetrahydrofurfuryl acrylate, glycidyl acrylate, ethylene glycol acrylate, 2-methoxyethyl acrylate, benzyl acrylate, epoxy Acrylate, urethane acrylate and the like can be mentioned. These may be used alone or in combination of two or more.” Under the heading “Polyfunctional polymerizable compound”: “Examples of the polyfunctional acrylic compound include diethylene glycol diacrylate, 1,3-butylene glycol diacrylate, 1,4-butylene glycol diacrylate, tetraethylene glycol diacrylate, urethane diacrylate, and bisphenol A diglycidyl acrylate. These may be used alone or in combination of two or more.” [emphasis added]).
Conclusion
/JACOB J CIGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 6 February 2026
1 Note that Watanabe describes the “ink” as a component of the “molding material.” Examiner considers the entire “molding material” to be the claimed “ink.”