DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
The following is a NON-FINAL Office action upon examination of application number 19/208,538 filed on 05/14/2025. In response to the Election/Restriction requirement of 06/11/2026, Applicant, on 08/10/2026 elected Group II, claims 11-16, for examination. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application, of which claims 11-16 have been examined on the merits discussed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 05/14/2025, 07/05/2025, 04/0/2026, and 06/11/2026 have been acknowledged. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Application 19/208,538 filed 05/14/2025 is a Continuation in Part of Application 18/665,835, filed 05/16/2024.
Election/Restrictions
In response to the restriction requirement, Applicant elected Group I, claims 1-12 and 13-20. Claims 21-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The Applicant's response does not point out if the election is with or without traverse. Thus, the required provisional election (see MPEP § 818.01(b)) becomes an election without traverse if accompanied by an incomplete traversal of the requirement for restriction.
Claim Objections
7. Claim 11 is objected to because the following informalities: typographical errors.
Claim 11 recites “A computer-implemented system for determining a condition of network communication comprising: a plurality of sub-user computing devices; a user server electronically connected to the plurality of sub-user computing devices, the user server operative to sense sub-user data of sub-users through the sub-user computing devices; a platform server electronically connected to the user server for determining a condition of state, the platform server configured to: determine a plurality of user parameters from the user comprising: a first object; a first metric; a first statistic measure for the first metric; a first time period; a second statistic measure for the first metric; a second time period; a change value; a first relational operator for comparing the first statistic measure, the second statistic measure and the change value; and receive sub-user data of the sub-users from the user server for the first object; calculate the first statistic measure over the first time period; calculate the second statistic measure over the second time period; perform a first comparison between the first statistic measure, the second statistic measure, and the change value based on the first relational operator; detect a condition of a state of communication in the network based on at least the first comparison; and send the condition of the state of communication to the user server when the condition is detected.” Claim 1 should recite “A computer-implemented system for determining a condition of network communication comprising: a plurality of sub-user computing devices; a user server electronically connected to the plurality of sub-user computing devices, the user server operative to sense sub-user data of sub-users through the sub-user computing devices; a platform server electronically connected to the user server for determining a condition of state, the platform server configured to: determine a plurality of user parameters from the user comprising: a first object; a first metric; a first statistic measure for the first metric; a first time period; a second statistic measure for the first metric; a second time period; a change value; and a first relational operator for comparing the first statistic measure, the second statistic measure and the change value; receive sub-user data of the sub-users from the user server for the first object; calculate the first statistic measure over the first time period; calculate the second statistic measure over the second time period; perform a first comparison between the first statistic measure, the second statistic measure, and the change value based on the first relational operator; detect a condition of a state of communication in the network based on at least the first comparison; and send the condition of the state of communication to the user server when the condition is detected.” A conjunction word (i.e., “and”) should be added before the phrase “a first relational operator for comparing…” and the “and” before the “receive sub-user data…” limitation should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
9. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a scheduler module programmed and operable for in claim 16.
The claim limitations “a scheduler module programmed and operable for” invokes 112(f). Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The Specification describes that the “module” is implemented by the platform server (par. [0192]). Accordingly, the structure corresponding to the “scheduler module programmed and operable for” recited in claim 16 is interpreted as being embodied as a generic computer programmed with software to perform the corresponding functions recited in this claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
11. Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
12. Claim 11 recites “determine a plurality of user parameters from the user comprising: a first object; a first metric; a first statistic measure for the first metric; a first time period; a second statistic measure for the first metric; a second time period…” The phrase “the user” lacks antecedent basis. Claim 11 does not previously recite or introduce “a user.” Although the claim recites “a plurality of sub-user computing devices,” “sub-users,” and “a user server,” the claim does not establish an antecedent for “the user,” therefore rendering the claim indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
13. Claim 11 first recites “determining a condition of state” and subsequently recites “detect a condition of a state of communication in the network based on at least the first comparison; and send the condition of the state of communication to the user server when the condition is detected.” It is unclear whether the initially recited “condition of state” is the same condition subsequently referred to as the “condition of the state of communication.” Moreover, the claim does not identify what constitutes a “condition of state” or a “condition of the state of communication,” or what particular state or condition must exist for the claimed detection to occur. Therefore, the scope of the claimed “condition of state” and “condition of the state of communication” is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
14. Claim 14 recites the phrase “the processor,” which lacks antecedent basis, and therefore renders the claim indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
15. All claims dependent from above rejected claims are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
17. Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-patentable subject matter. The claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The eligibility analysis in support of these findings is provided below, in accordance with MPEP 2106.
With respect to Step 1 of the eligibility inquiry (as explained in MPEP 2106), it is first noted that the system (claims 11-16) is directed to at least one potentially eligible category of subject matter (i.e., machine). Thus, Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility test for claims 11-16 is satisfied.
With respect to Step 2A Prong One, it is next noted that the claims recite an abstract idea that falls into the “Mathematical Concepts” such as mathematical relationships, formulas and calculations, and steps that can be performed in the human mind (including observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), and therefore fall under the “Mental Processes” abstract idea grouping. With respect to independent claim 1, the limitations reciting the abstract idea are indicated in bold below: a plurality of sub-user computing devices; a user server electronically connected to the plurality of sub-user computing devices, the user server operative to sense sub-user data of sub-users through the sub-user computing devices; a platform server electronically connected to the user server for determining a condition of state, the platform server configured to: determine a plurality of user parameters from the user comprising: a first object; a first metric; a first statistic measure for the first metric; a first time period; a second statistic measure for the first metric; a second time period; a change value; a first relational operator for comparing the first statistic measure, the second statistic measure and the change value; and receive sub-user data of the sub-users from the user server for the first object; calculate the first statistic measure over the first time period; calculate the second statistic measure over the second time period; perform a first comparison between the first statistic measure, the second statistic measure, and the change value based on the first relational operator; detect a condition of a state of communication in the network based on at least the first comparison; and send the condition of the state of communication to the user server when the condition is detected. Considered together, these steps set forth an abstract idea of that falls under the “Mathematical Concepts” and “Mental Processes” abstract idea groupings set forth in MPEP 2106. The claim falls under the mathematical concept category because it recites steps requiring calculating statistical measures and comparing those values using a change value and a relational operator to determine a condition. The steps also correspond to observations, evaluations, and judgments that can be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pen and paper.
Therefore, because the limitations above set forth activities falling within the “Mathematical Concepts” and “Mental Processes” abstract idea groupings described in MPEP 2106, the additional elements recited in the claims are further evaluated, individually and in combination, under Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B below.
With respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. With respect to the independent claims, the additional elements are: a plurality of sub-user computing devices, a user server electronically connected to the plurality of sub-user computing devices, the user server operative to sense sub-user data of sub-users through the sub-user computing devices, a platform server electronically connected to the user server, and the network (claim 11). These elements have been considered individually and in combination, but fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they amount to using generic computing elements or instructions (software) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), which merely serves to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (network computing environment). See MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h). Even if the sending step is not deemed part of the abstract idea, this step is at most directed to insignificant extra-solution activity, which is not sufficient to amount to a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g). In addition, these limitations fail to provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field, fail to apply the exception with a particular machine, fail to apply the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, fail to effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing, and fail to apply/use the abstract idea in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, because the Step 2A Prong One and Prong Two analysis resulted in the conclusion that the claims are directed to an abstract idea, additional analysis under Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry must be conducted in order to determine whether any claim element or combination of elements amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to Step 2B of the eligibility inquiry, it has been determined that the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. With respect to the independent claims, the additional elements are: plurality of sub-user computing devices, a user server electronically connected to the plurality of sub-user computing devices, the user server operative to sense sub-user data of sub-users through the sub-user computing devices, a platform server electronically connected to the user server, and the network (claim 11). These elements have been considered individually and in combination, but fail to add significantly more to the claims because they amount to using generic computing elements or instructions (software) to perform the abstract idea, similar to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), which merely serves to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (network computing environment) and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Notably, Applicant’s Specification acknowledges that the claimed invention relies on nothing more than a general purpose computer executing instructions to implement the invention (Specification at paragraph [0087]). Therefore, the additional elements merely describe generic computing elements or computer-executable instructions (software) merely serve to tie the abstract idea to a particular operating environment, which does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. See, e.g., Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. 2347, 110 USPQ2d 1976; Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Even if the sending step is not deemed part of the abstract idea, this step is at most directed to insignificant extra-solution activity, which has been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional, and thus insufficient to add significantly more to the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(d) - Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network).
In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that, as an ordered combination, amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claims 12-16 recite the same abstract ideas as recited in the independent claims, and when evaluated under Step 2A Prong One are found to recite details that narrow the same abstracts idea(s) recited in the independent claims, i.e., activities falling within the Mathematical Concepts” and “Mental Processes” abstract idea groupings as described in MPEP 2106, along with, at most, additional elements that fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more. In particular, dependent claims 12-16 recite the limitations “wherein the first statistic measure is a sum and the second statistic measure is an average,” “wherein the first metric is one of total deliveries, emails sent, click rate, open rate, bot signups, or SMS' blocked,” “determine which algorithm to apply based on the user parameters,” “at least one of an absolute change algorithm and a relative change algorithm, and the change value is an absolute value or a percentage value based on the type of algorithm,” “computing a monitor schedule for determining the condition of state, wherein the monitor schedule is computed based on sub-user data and user data received by the platform server for the first object,” however, these limitations fall under the same “Mathematical Concepts” and “Mental Processes” abstract idea groupings by describing additional mathematical relationships and mental activity that can be accomplished via human observation, judgment, or evaluation. The algorithm library and processor (claim 14), the algorithm library (claim 15) and a scheduler module programmed and operable for (claim 16) have been evaluated as an additional element as well. However, these elements are recited at a high level of generality and fail to yield any discernible improvement to the computer or to any technology, nor set forth any additional function or result that provided meaningful limitation beyond linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (i.e., automated/computing environment), and thus fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The ordered combination of elements in the dependent claims (including the limitations inherited from the parent claim(s)) add nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Accordingly, the subject matter encompassed by the dependent claims fails to amount to a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
For more information, see MPEP 2106.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
20. Claims 11-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ciabarra, JR. et al., Pub. No.: US 2022/0245013 A1 [hereinafter Ciabarra].
As per claim 11, Ciabarra teaches a computer-implemented system for determining a condition of network communication (paragraphs 0008, 0045, 0059, 0185) comprising:
a plurality of sub-user computing devices (paragraph 0059: “The distributed system may include one or more user devices, such as first user device, second user device, nth user device; paragraph 0061: “The one or more user devices (e.g., first user device, second user device, and nth user device) may communicate with the content delivery system to exchange data via one or more communication networks; paragraphs 0007, 0052, 0065, 0117);
a user server electronically connected to the plurality of sub-user computing devices, the user server operative to sense sub-user data of sub-users through the sub-user computing devices (paragraph 0033, discussing that a “client device” may comprise any suitable computing device that can be used for communication. The client device may be a computing device of an administrator of a web server hosting a website; paragraph 0037, discussing that the web server hosting the website may store an identifier of the session and other information associated with the session (e.g., elements or items of the website selected by the user, or information input by the user; paragraph 0045);
a platform server electronically connected to the user server for determining a condition of state, the platform server configured (paragraph 0034, discussing that a server computer may include a powerful computer or cluster of computers. For example, the server computer can be a large mainframe, a minicomputer cluster, or a group of computers functioning as a unit. In some cases, the server computer may function as a web server or a database server. The server computer may include any hardware, software, other logic, or combination of the preceding for servicing the requests from one or more other computers. The term computer system may generally refer to a system including one or more server computers; paragraph 0065, discussing that the distributed system may further include a capture agent(s) that monitors, captures, and stores timing values and certain events that occur on user devices…Capture agent(s) may capture one or more interactions with the webpage that occur on the user device…The capture agent(s) may also capture timing values for different timing metrics for webpages of a website. The capture agent(s) may also capture user activities on specific attributes such as a specific browser or user device…The capture agent(s) may be communicatively coupled (e.g., via one or more networks) to each of one or more user devices. For example, an instance of the capture agent(s) may be communicatively coupled to first user device; paragraph 0066, discussing that the capture agent can be retrieved from a third party server (e.g., from alert system); paragraph 0071, discussing that each of first user device, second user device, nth user device, content delivery system, capture agent(s), and/or alerting system may include one or more computers and/or servers which may be general purpose computers, specialized server computers, server farms, server clusters, distributed servers, or any other appropriate arrangement and/or combination thereof…; paragraph 0185, discussing that the alert system can detect problems with generation and communication of the website from a web server to a user device, including content from any third party server. A client can just specify the metrics to monitor, and the alert system can measure the network activity to detect the specific problem and pinpoint traits (attributes) of the suspect sessions, thereby facilitating a solution by the client; paragraphs 0067,0076, 0342) to:
determine a plurality of user parameters from the user comprising: a first object; a first metric; a first statistic measure for the first metric; a first time period; a second statistic measure for the first metric; a second time period; a change value; a first relational operator for comparing the first statistic measure, the second statistic measure and the change value (paragraph 0006, discussing that for each of the types of web session events, an amount of web session events can be measured (during a time-window) of the respective type for sessions of user devices with the website. It can be determined whether the amount is statistically different than a reference amount, thereby determining one or more anomalous types of web session events…; paragraph 0007, discussing that the alerting system can monitor web session events relating to web sessions of the user devices with a set of webpages of a website. For each of a plurality of time-windows [i.e., a first time period, a second time period], the web session events during the time-window can be used to determine whether the website exhibits anomalous behavior during the time-window. Embodiments may also include identifying a first set of web sessions during a first time-window exhibiting the anomalous behavior. A reference set of web sessions during one or more reference time-windows can be identified that do not exhibit anomalous behavior; paragraph 0052, discussing systems to monitor user actions or performance data on webpages on the website, e.g., monitor user actions for a set of attribute values associated with one or more attributes…To accurately provide alerts about anomalies with a website, a website's performances can be analyzed for a specific time-window against historical performance, including neighboring time-windows; paragraph 0053, discussing identifying anomalies that are associated with specific attributes where the client can select single and/or multiple attributes within a user interface or dashboard provided to the client. In other embodiments, attribute values to be analyzed can be determined based on a correlation to anomalous web sessions events occurring in a time period. Performance of an attribute of the website is captured for a period of time and analyzed against a historical performance data of the corresponding attributes during a similar timeframe in history to identify statistical anomalies associated with the attribute; paragraph 0055, discussing that the alerting system can retrieve a performance metrics [i.e., a first metric] for the specific time-period and compares the performance metrics with the evaluation range. The alerting system may alert a client indicating an anomaly in the website's performance if the performance metrics are out of the evaluation range. The alert to the client may further help identifying and resolving of issues involving the webpages on the website; paragraph 0069, discussing that the client may select attributes and attribute values to analyze a website's performance…The configuration of which attributes to detect may involve detecting anomalies in web session events…The alerting system may retrieve one or more metrics associated with user activities from a capture agent(s); paragraph 0070, discussing that the alerting system can determine a set of time-windows for each of the set of the attribute values and retrieves a set of performance metrics for the time-windows from historical web sessions associated with the attribute values. The alerting system then determines performance ranges based on the set of performance metrics for the time-windows…The alerting system compares the performance metrics for a current time of evaluation with the evaluation range and alerts a client about performance anomalies if the performance metrics are out of the evaluation range; paragraph 0119, discussing that after gathering historical metrics for the specific time-window, the alerting system calculates mean and standard deviation for the historical performance metrics…; paragraph 0122, discussing determining whether the performance metric for the evaluation period is outside the evaluation range…The alerting system can compare the performance metric with upper bound and lower bound of the evaluation range. If the performance metric is higher than the upper bound and lower than the lower bound, then the performance metric is out of the evaluation range; paragraph 0143, discussing that the alerting system determines a coefficient of variation using the set of performance metrics for each of the time-windows…; paragraph 0184, discussing that the anomalous performance can be determined by comparing the metric for the correlated segment during the time-window to a reference metric, e.g., historic values at nearby times and days, also called neighboring times. A significant deviation (e.g., statistically different) from normal may be determined by comparing the difference (e.g., an average difference in the metric to neighboring times) to a threshold; paragraph 0185, discussing that a client can just specify the metrics to monitor, and the alert system can measure the network activity to detect the specific problem; paragraph 0189, discussing that various types of web session events can be analyzed to determine when an anomalous amount of a particular type of event occurs during a time-window. Three example categories of events are errors, user-defined events (e.g., lack of a particular error), clicks, or visit counts to individual web pages. For clicks, the event can be whether a specified number of clicks occurred for a particular object; paragraphs 0094, 0177, 0182 0202);
receive sub-user data of the sub-users from the user server for the first object (paragraph 0052, discussing systems and methods to monitor user actions or performance data on webpages on the website, e.g., monitor user actions for a set of attribute values associated with one or more attributes, where the attributes are related to requests for the website from one or more user devices. Some embodiments can analyze the monitored user actions; paragraph 0070, discussing that the alerting system may analyze in user interactions based on the one or more performance metrics and alert about performance anomalies with the website based on the evaluation; paragraph 0099, discussing that the performance metric for the time of evaluation indicates user activities of the website at the time of evaluation for one or more attribute values; paragraph 0117, discussing that the capture agent(s) may monitor, capture, and store performance measurements for a plurality of timing metrics from plurality of web sessions (on plurality of user devices) involving each of webpages on a regular basis);
calculate the first statistic measure over the first time period (paragraph 0119, discussing that after gathering historical metrics for the specific time-window, the alerting system calculates mean and standard deviation for the historical performance metrics…Additionally, based on the standard deviation, the alerting system identifies upper and lower bounds and variance for the time-window; paragraph 0146, discussing that the alerting system calculates mean and standard deviation for each time-window; paragraph 0243, discussing that the individual measurements for a given sessions can be aggregated to provide a statistical value for the time-window, e.g., a sum, an average etc., as appropriate for the type of performance metric; paragraph 0197);
calculate the second statistic measure over the second time period (paragraph 0159, discussing that the alerting system calculates a set of average values for both the first set of metrics and the second set of metrics; paragraph 0200, discussing that it is determined whether there is a statistical difference between measured amounts and historical data; paragraph 0201, discussing that the reference amount can be determined from the historical amounts during historical time-windows, e.g., as a statistical value (e.g., a mean, median, or mode of the historical amounts, including a weighted average; paragraph 0202, discussing that a statistical difference can be measured by comparing a difference between the measured amount and the reference amount to a threshold, which can be determined using deviations in the historical data. In some embodiments, deviations from other time-windows can be used. The threshold to be used can depend on the reference amount used. For example, the increase relative to a recent time period can indicate an abrupt change, even if the overall amount is not significant compared to other historical time periods);
perform a first comparison between the first statistic measure, the second statistic measure, and the change value based on the first relational operator (paragraph 0070, discussing that the alerting system may analyze in user interactions based on the one or more performance metrics and alert about performance anomalies with the website based on the evaluation. For example, an alerting system may be provided to evaluate and alert about the website's performance. The alerting system, for various attributes related to requests for a website from user devices, determines a set of attribute values for evaluating the website's performance. The alerting system can determine a set of time-windows for each of the set of the attribute values and retrieves a set of performance metrics for the time-windows from historical web sessions associated with the attribute values. The alerting system then determines performance ranges based on the set of performance metrics for the time-windows…The alerting system compares the performance metrics for a current time of evaluation with the evaluation range and alerts a client about performance anomalies if the performance metrics are out of the evaluation range; paragraph 0099, discussing that if the alerting system determines that the performance metric at the time of evaluation is outside the evaluation range; paragraph 0139, discussing analyzing historical performance metrics and comparing a current performance metric with analysis of historical performance metrics; paragraph 0184, discussing that the anomalous performance can be determined by comparing the metric for the correlated segment during the time-window to a reference metric, e.g., historic values at nearby times and days, also called neighboring times. A significant deviation (e.g., statistically different) from normal may be determined by comparing the difference (e.g., an average difference in the metric to neighboring times) to a threshold; paragraph 0190, discussing that the current count can be compared to each of the other counts, and the difference can be compared to a threshold. If the threshold is exceeded for either of the other time periods, then the event type can be flagged as being anomalous during the current period; paragraph 0202, discussing that a statistical difference can be measured by comparing a difference between the measured amount and the reference amount to a threshold, which can be determined using deviations in the historical data. In some embodiments, deviations from other time-windows can be used. The threshold to be used can depend on the reference amount used. For example, the increase relative to a recent time period can indicate an abrupt change, even if the overall amount is not significant compared to other historical time period);
detect a condition of a state of communication in the network based on at least the first comparison (paragraph 0004, discussing that besides detecting a problem, information in the alert can help in determining a cause of the problem (e.g., as a diagnostic), thereby leading to a solution; paragraph 0123, discussing that if the alerting system determines that the performance metric for evaluation period is outside the evaluation range, the alerting system may provide an alert to the client (e.g., an alert or notification sent to the client's device) indicating a performance anomaly. The alert may be provided in various ways, e.g., by transmitting the alert to a client device or by displaying the alert to a client; paragraph 0135, discussing that the alerting system sends an alert to a client device reporting at least one anomaly upon determining that the performance metric is outside the evaluation range…; paragraph 0184, discussing that the anomalous performance can be determined by comparing the metric for the correlated segment during the time-window to a reference metric, e.g., historic values at nearby times and days, also called neighboring times. A significant deviation (e.g., statistically different) from normal may be determined by comparing the difference (e.g., an average difference in the metric to neighboring times) to a threshold; paragraph 0177, discussing that anomalies are detected in web session events, such as errors, clicks, and other events that are being tracked); and
send the condition of the state of communication to the user server when the condition is detected (paragraph 0005, discussing that the alerting system retrieves a performance metric for the specific time-period and compares the performance metrics with the evaluation range. The alerting system alerts a client indicating an anomaly in the website's performance if the performance metrics are out of the evaluation range; paragraph 0052, discussing providing alerts about anomalies with the website based on the analysis; paragraph 0053, discussing that the client is then alerted about the anomalies; paragraph 0090, discussing that the alerting system determines at least one attribute, a time of evaluation (e.g., a current time), and an evaluation time period for evaluating a website's performance…A sensitivity value may be received from a client device. The client or website provider may be provided with a dashboard or a user interface (UI) to select a specific sensitive value. The sensitivity value may be a statistical measure that can control the ability to accurately determine and report performance anomalies. The client may select a sensitive value between 0 and 10 on the user interface or dashboard provided by the client, where 0 may correspond to lowest sensitivity and 10 may correspond to highest sensitivity for receiving performance anomaly alerts. The client may receive alerts from the alerting system in accordance with the selected sensitivity; paragraph 0099, discussing that if the alerting system determines that the performance metric at the time of evaluation is outside the evaluation range then the alerting system may send an alert to a client device indicating at least one anomaly in the website's performance. The alerting system may alert the client over a dashboard or a user interface configured for the client device; paragraph 0123, discussing that if the alerting system determines that the performance metric for evaluation period is outside the evaluation range, the alerting system may provide an alert to the client (e.g., an alert or notification sent to the client's device) indicating a performance anomaly. The alert may be provided in various ways, e.g., by transmitting the alert to a client device or by displaying the alert to a client; paragraph 0135, discussing that the alerting system sends an alert to a client device reporting at least one anomaly upon determining that the performance metric is outside the evaluation range…; paragraphs 0002, 0007).
As per claim 12, Ciabarra teaches the system of claim 11. Ciabarra further teaches wherein the first statistic measure is a sum and the second statistic measure is an average (paragraph 0119, discussing that after gathering historical metrics for the specific time-window, the alerting system calculates mean and standard deviation for the historical performance metrics; paragraph 0146, discussing that the alerting system calculates mean and standard deviation for each time-window from the historical performance metrics; paragraph 0159, discussing that the alerting system calculates a set of average values for both the first set of metrics and the second set of metrics; paragraph 0199, discussing that an amount of web session events of each type is measured during a time-window. Such a measurement can use the capture agent(s) associated with the user devices. For instance, a frustration event (e.g., a number of clicks exceeding a threshold) can be counted to occur 94 times in a particular time period (e.g., from 4:00 PM to 4:05 PM) for all sessions with the website; paragraph 0243, discussing that the individual measurements for a given sessions can be aggregated to provide a statistical value for the time-window, e.g., a sum, an average etc., as appropriate for the type of performance metric).
As per claim 13, Ciabarra teaches the system of claim 11. Ciabarra further teaches wherein the first metric is one of total deliveries, emails sent, click rate, open rate, bot signups, or SMS' blocked (paragraph 0099, discussing that the alerting system then retrieves a performance metric for the time of evaluation from at least one capture agent. The performance metric for the time of evaluation indicates user activities (e.g., conversion rate) of the website at the time of evaluation for one or more attribute values. In the above scenario, if the alerting system determines that the performance metric at the time of evaluation is outside the evaluation range then the alerting system may send an alert to a client device indicating at least one anomaly in the website's performance. The alerting system may alert the client over a dashboard or a user interface configured for the client device; paragraph 0109, discussing that to create an alert, the client may also provide a time-period for an alert. For example, a client may create a five minute alert to monitor performance data (e.g., conversions, checkout rates, or sales number); paragraph 0177, discussing that anomalies are detected in web session events, such as errors, clicks, and other events that are being tracked. There can be different types of web session events, e.g., a particular error, a number of clicks of a button, or a number of visits to individual web pages. An anomaly in a particular type of web session event can be detected for a particular time-window (e.g., a time period of X minutes, which may be during a particular day of week). An anomaly can be detected when an amount of events for the type exceeds a reference amount, which can be determined from occurrences of that type of event during past (historical) time-windows; paragraph 0199, discussing that an amount of web session events of each type is measured during a time-window. Such a measurement can use the capture agent(s) associated with the user devices. For instance, a frustration event (e.g., a number of clicks exceeding a threshold) can be counted to occur 94 times in a particular time period (e.g., from 4:00 PM to 4:05 PM) for all sessions with the website; paragraph 0189).
As per claim 16, Ciabarra teaches the system of claim 11. Ciabarra further teaches further comprising a scheduler module programmed and operable for computing a monitor schedule for determining the condition of state, wherein the monitor schedule is computed based on sub-user data and user data received by the platform server for the first object (paragraph 0004, discussing that the alerting system can determine a set of time-windows for each of the attribute values and retrieve a set of performance metrics for the time-windows from historical web sessions; paragraph 0091, discussing that a client may select one or more attributes from a dashboard presented to the client by the alerting system. The client may also be able to select type of attributes for a specific attribute. Over the dashboard, a client may create an alert to monitor performance metrics or data for specific attribute and attribute value over a certain time period or time-window; paragraph 0093, discussing that once the at least one attribute and attribute values, a time of evaluation, and an evaluation time period for evaluating a website's performance are determined, the alerting system may identify a set of time-windows for the attribute value based on the evaluation time period. The alerting system may identify a set of time-windows for the time of evaluation for each of attribute values. For example, for a time of evaluation of 4:00 PM and the evaluation period of 5 minutes (e.g., 3:55-4:00 PM), the alerting system may identify six five-minute time-windows before and after 3:55-4:00 PM time-window. As shown in FIG. 2A, these time-windows may be 3:40-3:45 PM, 3:45-3:50 PM, 3:50-3:55 PM, 3:55-4:00 PM, 4:00-4:15 PM, 4:15-4:20 PM, and 4:25-4:30 PM; paragraph 0111, discussing that the alerting system determines a set of time-windows for the attribute value based on the evaluation time and evaluation time-period. The same set of time-windows can be used for each attribute value or different time-windows can be used…For an evaluation period of 5 minutes and time of evaluation of 4:00 PM, the alerting system may identify six five-minute time-windows before and after 4:00 PM which may be 3:40-3:45 PM, 3:45-3:50 PM, 3:50-3:55 PM, 3:55-4:00 PM, 4:00-4:15 PM, 4:15-4:20 PM, and 4:25-4:30 PM; paragraph 0199, discussing that an amount of web session events of each type is measured during a time-window. Such a measurement can use the capture agent(s) associated with the user devices. For instance, a frustration event (e.g., a number of clicks exceeding a threshold) can be counted to occur 94 times in a particular time period (e.g., from 4:00 PM to 4:05 PM) for all sessions with the website. As other examples, a number of page reloads can be 143, and a number of sessions having a particular promotion code can be 87. Thus, the amounts of each of the event types being tracked can be determined for a current time-window; paragraph 0126).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
25. Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciabarra in view of Chandaria, Pub. No.: US 2020/0112612 A1, [hereinafter Chandaria].
As per claim 14, Ciabarra teaches the system of claim 11. Ciabarra further teaches an algorithm (paragraph 0182, discussing that the correlation analysis can use various techniques, such as principle component analysis and decision trees, including ensemble techniques; paragraph 0238, discussing that various machine learning model can be used, e.g., logistic regression, decision trees (including various types, such as a gradient boosting machine), support vector machines, and neural networks; paragraph 0262, discussing that as another example, a relative frequency technique can be used. A proportion of the set of anomalous web sessions having the attribute value can be determined. It can then be determined whether the proportion is statistically different than a reference proportion in the reference set of web sessions; paragraph 0281, discussing that it can be determined whether the attribute value may be disproportionately present in the first set of web sessions relative to the reference set of web sessions. In this manner, a segment of one or more anomalous attribute values during the first time-window can be determined. The disproportionate presence can be determined using various techniques described herein, e.g., relative frequency or feature importance; paragraph 0298, discussing that in some embodiments, one or more clustering techniques can be utilized to identify clusters that group multiple metrics tracking aggregated user session and webpage performance data. For instance, a correlation matrix using historical metric data can derive correlations between metrics relating to performance of a website; paragraph 0304, discussing that the collections of nodes can be defined via a modularity-based community algorithm; paragraph 0305, discussing that an unsupervised machine learning (ML) model can implement, for example, one or more clustering techniques as described herein. An example unsupervised ML model can include a K means clustering technique to group metrics as part of one or more clusters. Other example unsupervised clustering algorithms can include hierarchical clustering techniques, Gaussian mixture models, mean shift models, and spectral clustering techniques. Further, other unsupervised ML techniques that are not clustering-specific can be implemented to assist in processing cluster metric data; paragraph 0306, discussing that a clustering algorithm can group together a metric tracking a conversion rate, a metric tracking revenue for the website, and a metric tracking a page load time for a website as corresponding with one another. In this example, correlation matrices can be used as an input to group the metrics. Further, for instance, each of the metrics that are correlated can exceed a threshold deviation from average values within a same time window. The ML model can implement clustering technique(s) to identify the correlation of such metrics and group the metrics in a cluster
Ciabarra does not explicitly teach further comprising an algorithm library, and the processor is configured to determine which algorithm to apply based on the user parameters. However, Chandaria in the analogous art of monitoring systems teaches this concept. Chandaria teaches:
further comprising an algorithm library, and the processor is configured to determine which algorithm to apply based on the user parameters (paragraph 0154, discussing that in some embodiments, predictive analysis in accordance with the present principles includes machine learning in a Cloud/remote server environment which implements a library of algorithms that can be trained in real time with data sets generated at runtime. The results of these algorithms are then analyzed in real time for accuracy and to automatically fine tune parameters. That is, an algorithm that is proven effective can be used to predict the behavior of a device/system or application and to automatically fine tune, for example, operating parameters of a device/system; paragraph 0160, discussing that the monitoring/prediction system illustratively includes a datastore, an algorithms repository, an algorithms training module…The algorithm repository stores algorithms to be applied to the data in the datastore…In some embodiments, a user is able to select which algorithm from the algorithms repository to apply to the data. Alternatively or in addition, in some embodiments an algorithm from the algorithm repository can be automatically selected by the monitoring/machine learning system depending upon which application is to be performed and, as such, which device/system functionality/parameter is to be predicted; paragraph 0162, discussing algorithms stored in the algorithms repository; paragraph 0168, discussing that for automated alerts (related to anomaly detection), the application of statistical methods can be implemented to identify outliers and accurately label them as anomalies. In some embodiments, an Extreme Studentized Deviate (ESD) approach can be implemented to identify outliers. In one particular embodiment, a Seasonal Hybrid ESD (S-H-ESD) is implemented to identify anomalies; paragraph 0161).
Ciabarra is directed towards detecting, diagnosing, and alerting anomalies in network applications. Chandaria describes a monitoring system for providing end to end solution for networks. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards data analysis and monitoring systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ciabarra with Chandaria because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for data analysis and monitoring systems, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system for analyzing data and determining changes), and because modifying Ciabarra to include Chandaria’s features for including an algorithm library and determining which algorithm to apply based on the user parameters, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of enabling application of statistical methods to identify outliers (Chandaria at paragraph 0168); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 15, the Ciabarra-Chandaria combination teaches the system of claim 14. Ciabarra further teaches wherein the algorithm comprises at least one of an absolute change algorithm and a relative change algorithm, and the change value is an absolute value or a percentage value based on the type of algorithm (paragraph 0182, discussing that the relative difference of the proportions in the two populations can be compared to a threshold (e.g., bases on a statistical analysis, such as a standard deviation) to identify a correlation to the anomalous event. In such a case, browser #1 can be identified as an anomalous attribute value. Such a correlation analysis can use various techniques, such as principle component analysis and decision trees, including ensemble techniques, such as gradient boosting; paragraph 0214, discussing that for the relative frequency analysis, a proportion of the set of anomalous web sessions having the attribute value can be determined, and it can be determined whether the proportion is statistically different than a reference proportion in the reference set of web sessions. The reference proportion can correspond to a percentage of normal traffic that has the attribute value, e.g., the percentage of web sessions that use a particular browser; paragraph 0215, discussing that for the feature importance, a score can be determined using a machine learning model for how well the particular attribute value existing in a session predicts whether the sessions will include the anomalous event. The score can be determined based on an accuracy of the model to predict which sessions of a training set include the anomalous event, where sessions in the training set are known to include or not include the anomalous event. Accordingly, the score can be determined for including the attribute value as an input to a machine learning model that predicts whether the web session would include the anomalous type of web session event, where the machine learning model is trained using the set of anomalous web sessions and the reference set of web sessions. The feature importance score can be compared to a threshold to determine whether there is sufficient correlation. As examples, the threshold can be a ranking relative to other attribute values or an absolute score, e.g., how much the accuracy changes when the attribute is included or is not included as an input to the model; paragraph 0262, discussing that as another example, a relative frequency technique can be used. A proportion of the set of anomalous web sessions having the attribute value can be determined. It can then be determined whether the proportion is statistically different than a reference proportion in the reference set of web sessions; paragraph 0281, discussing that it can be determined whether the attribute value may be disproportionately present in the first set of web sessions relative to the reference set of web sessions. In this manner, a segment of one or more anomalous attribute values during the first time-window can be determined. The disproportionate presence can be determined using various techniques described herein, e.g., relative frequency or feature importance; paragraph 0293, discussing that an absolute value for accuracy change can be used as a threshold; paragraph 0297).
Ciabarra does not explicitly teach the algorithm library. However, Chandaria in the analogous art of monitoring systems teaches this concept. Chandaria teaches:
the algorithm library (paragraph 0154, discussing that in some embodiments, predictive analysis in accordance with the present principles includes machine learning in a Cloud/remote server environment which implements a library of algorithms that can be trained in real time with data sets generated at runtime; paragraph 0160, discussing that the monitoring/prediction system illustratively includes a datastore, an algorithms repository, an algorithms training module…The algorithm repository stores algorithms to be applied to the data in the datastore…; paragraph 0162, discussing algorithms stored in the algorithms repository).
Ciabarra is directed towards detecting, diagnosing, and alerting anomalies in network applications. Chandaria describes a monitoring system for providing end to end solution for networks. Therefore, they are deemed to be analogous as they both are directed towards data analysis and monitoring systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ciabarra with Chandaria because the references are analogous art because they are both directed to solutions for data analysis and monitoring systems, which falls within applicant’s field of endeavor (system for analyzing data and determining changes), and because modifying Ciabarra to include Chandaria’s feature for including an algorithm library, in the manner claimed, would serve the motivation of enabling application of statistical methods to identify outliers (Chandaria at paragraph 0168); and further obvious because the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mishra et al., Pub. No.: US 2022/0100721 A1 – describes selection of algorithm parameters for outlier detection. With respect to claims 14 and 15, Mishra further describes that “Algorithm libraries may include a wide variety of machine learning, statistics and data analysis algorithms in addition to outlier detection techniques, such as various types of regression and classification algorithms, neural network algorithms, stochastic gradient descent algorithms, and the like.”
Sriharsha, Pub. No.: US 2021/0117868 A1 – describes an anomaly detector that detects anomalies in sequences of logs.
Ghosh et al., Pub. No.: US 2016/0335649 A1 – describes that content of a monitoring report is generated using data analytics, data processing techniques, statistical techniques, and/or other data manipulation techniques. For example, scores for consecutive periods may be processed to determine the percentage change in the score from a first time period to a second time period, and curve fitting algorithms may be applied to scores for multiple time periods to generate the graphs included in the monitoring report.
Hammond et al., Pub. No.: US 2020/0250583 A1 – describes that the architect module can select topology algorithms to use based on factors such as whether the type of output the current problem has either an estimation output or a discrete output and then factors in other parameters such as performance time to complete the algorithm.
Wang, Jing, and Ioannis Ch Paschalidis. "Statistical traffic anomaly detection in time-varying communication networks." IEEE Transactions on Control of Network Systems 2.2 (2014): 100-111 – describes methods for traffic anomaly detection in communication networks where properties of normal traffic evolve dynamically.
/Darlene Garcia-Guerra/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625